Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House A Lady of Secret Devotion, Ladies of Liberty Series #3

Bethany House A Lady of Secret Devotion, Ladies of Liberty Series #3

Cassandra Stover can't believe her luck when she becomes the companion to Mrs. Jameston, a wealthy society woman. Not only can she help her widowed mother and sister, but Cassie genuinely comes to care for the elderly woman who treats her like family. Enter Mark Langford, an insurance investigator, and everything changes for her.

When Mark reveals that he is investigating Sebastian Jameston, the son of Cassandra's employer, she agrees to pretend they are courting so he can stay in close proximity to the family. Motivated by her devotion to Mrs. Jameston and her own suspicion regarding Sebastian, will the game of pretense that Cassie and Mark embark upon allow a tentative love to grow...especially when unexpected danger puts them both at risk?

Average Customer Rating:
4.462 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Lady of Secret Devotion, Ladies of Liberty Series #3
Review 1 for A Lady of Secret Devotion, Ladies of Liberty Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cassie Stover needs a job. When she becomes a companion to a elderly woman a Mrs. Jameston, Cassie believes that her prayers have been answered. However when the woman's son, Sebastian moves back into his mother's house, trouble follows him.
Mark Langford knows that Sebastian Jameston murdered his best friend and that he is responsible for a number of thefts on the nearby docks.When he meets Cassie and finds that she is employed at the Jameston estate he makes a daring proposal to her.
I love the character of Cassie. She is honest and open and speaks what's on her mind. She daydreams and loves to read. She has so much personality. She was really fun to read about. There were a few places that I had to laugh out loud at the things that she did, but my favorite was when she was running down the train platform yelling at Mark that she loved him, as he was leaning out the train window trying to understand what she was saying. It was written so well that I could see it in my head.
I thought Mark was a good fit for Cassie, and I could see that if they were real people they could be together.
Out of the three books in this series this was by far my favorite.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Lady of Secret Devotion, Ladies of Liberty Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Awesome!

Date:July 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A wonderful read! I enjoyed the entire series! However one thing that bummed me out in this read was that after Mark got saved and gave his life to God there was no more mention of his new faith! I was hoping that he would tell Cassie about his new found faith, but it never came up again! Overall though this book was very action packed and had an amazing story! I really liked Cassie (I think she might be favorite character out of the entire series)!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Lady of Secret Devotion, Ladies of Liberty Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2009
This whole series was great! Tracie Peterson is one of the greatest writers I've come across in a long time! Anything by her I would recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Lady of Secret Devotion, Ladies of Liberty Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Pia Atwal
The book was an amazing read. It at some parts reminded me of Janette Oke's novel "Love Takes a Wing," but I still loved every bit of the book. Tracie Patterson has an amazing gift to keep you reading her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Lady of Secret Devotion, Ladies of Liberty Series #3
This review is fromA Lady of Secret Devotion,Ladies of Liberty Series #3 Large Print.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Creative Madness Mama
Another work of poetry in the form of prose from beloved author Tracie Peterson. In this story there were bits that dragged for me a little bit, but I absolutely love the story overall. This is the third book in the Ladies of Liberty series, yet all the stories stand alone with unconnected characters.Years ago, when I first read the Yukon Quest 3-in-1 I was shocked at how vividly Tracie could present a villain and at how I could really feel a strong animosity toward a fictitious character. Well, in the novel those similar feelings were brought back to face this "bad guy" as well. The cruelty is so real that it is palpable.I did feel in this story that the main character's faith was too strong and unwavering to be real, but it is just a story, and she is a perfect example of how one's faith should be. Through out this story we are given examples of love lost and found and growth within personal relationships to God. One of things that I found most intriguing to read in a character's plot was about a struggle to find God on his own, rather than just experiencing God through a friend or neighbor.It is amazing what lessons can be learned through a bit of fiction.This is a story that I would recommend for someone who enjoys the writings of Tracie Peterson and other authors like her. It is a good story that you can reflect a lot of what is going on inside yourself and evaluate your reactions to the various events through out and see how you may be growing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Lady of Secret Devotion, Ladies of Liberty Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Claudia Martis
Hi, This book was a blessing to me. it came in just on the right moment. It made me believe again and to understand the ways God can work through. God is Good. It is a nice and understandable book. I'd like the way the author write and explain the matters. It is romantic but in a save way. And have a Godly perspective of life. For me it was very great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Lady of Secret Devotion, Ladies of Liberty Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Amy K.
I really enjoyed this book: the situations, the caring, the captivation, acceptance, and love. I wish everyone could be like them. More books like these, please!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Lady of Secret Devotion, Ladies of Liberty Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Nicole Smith
This was really good book and very easy to get interested in. Enjoyed the plot and the characters were welldeveloped. Great ending! Very sweet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Lady of Secret Devotion, Ladies of Liberty Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2008
The Ladies of Liberty series has been a delight to read. While each book in the series can be read by itself, it is very refreshing to see a bunch of strong women in a time where women were seen and not heard. I really liked Cassandra's character. She was a faithful companion and not afraid to speak her mind. She's a very good and clean character but neither is she too perfect to be unbelievable. Her chemistry with Mark is excellent. I enjoyed watching their relationship grow throughout the story. Wow, Sebastian is one of the worse villains I have ever read in a book. Just the way he treated his mother was absolutely horrible. I'm glad that while she was not able to change his ways, she did not approve of him and was even disgusted with him. I'm tired of reading in novels where the mother is oblivious to the faults of her children and then blames others for their wrongdoings. It was refreshing to see that she realized that she had helped with his downfall and that also she wasn't going to put up with his dastardly shenanigans. This has been my favorite series of all of Tracie Peterson's books and this novel makes an excellent addition to the collection. I am hoping that there will be another lady to read about in the near future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Lady of Secret Devotion, Ladies of Liberty Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Peters
Tracie Peterson has not disappointed me yet. Awesome read very strong in having faith in God in any situation. You'll not be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Lady of Secret Devotion, Ladies of Liberty Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sarah Murray
This one was my favorite. The suspense and Mrs.Jameston's quick wit made for delightful reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Lady of Secret Devotion, Ladies of Liberty Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
Fern Johnson
As always Tracie Peterson has wonderful characters. She paints excellent word pictures of the time, and setting. The story moved right along and I enjoyed the intrigue and mystery as well as the romance of the characters. Her inclusion of Christian values in a way that added to the story was very pleasing. She obviously is very familiar with the historical period and the social mores of the time, which makes for added interest. A great read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Lady of Secret Devotion, Ladies of Liberty Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cay
I started the book yesterday and finished it tonight! Could not put it down! The best of the Ladies of Liberties so far. The thing I really like was that the hero and heroin are between 25 and 35, a bit older than your aveage charater age. The plot was a little predictable, but it didn't stall or become dull anywhere.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.