Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Dawn's Prelude, Song of Alaska Series #1

Bethany House Dawn's Prelude, Song of Alaska Series #1

When widowed Lydia Sellers inherits her husband's entire estate, her adult stepchildren battle to regain the fortune for themselves. Putting memories behind, Lydia travels to Alaska to visit her aunt, where she meets sawmill owner Kjell Bjorklund---and discovers she's pregnant with her dead husband's child. What will happen when his family learns about the baby? 368 pages, softcover from Bethany.
Average Customer Rating:
4.903 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dawn's Prelude, Song of Alaska Series #1
Review 1 for Dawn's Prelude, Song of Alaska Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
pattycake
Location:mpls, mn
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy books by Tracie Peterson. She has several series of books that are very good. I can pick up any of her books and feel relaxed after reading them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dawn's Prelude, Song of Alaska Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tragedy That Leads to a Life restored

Date:January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
AJH
Location:CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was beautifully written. Tracie's books are always top on my list. A friend of mine read this with me and it meant a lot to her, cause she really truly related to Lydia in her life. Lydia goes through so much and she questions why God would allow it. And even as you read you begin to wonder why would He. But you are reminded that God's ways are not ours and through those tragedies comes a life and possibly many lives that are restored, touched, and changed. There love, romance, some on the edge of your seat moments and of course always an opening for a new story to emerge. Great book, must read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dawn's Prelude, Song of Alaska Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2010
Sometimes life is never as it seems it should be. We dream of a perfect life and then life deals us a less desired life. Life is sometimes just hard for no apparent reason. That is what happened to Lydia Gray. Lydia had a harsh life. At the tender age of a young teen,when she should be joyful and fresh, she is forced to marry a man who is not the man she dreamed of. Her father had a business arrangement with this fellow and Lydia was part of the deal. She was a step-mother to children who hated her. Each day was sorrow for her.Although Lydia stopped believing God loved her, He never left her side. The name, "Dawn's Prelude" is perfect for this book. As Lydia thinks her life is over, it is just beginning. Her husband and father are both killed in a horrific accident. She is left to deal with her step-children who want her out and want to keep the family fortune. But surprises await them too. There are twists and turns in this book that keep you turning pages.Lydia leaves her home for Sitka, Alaska, where she finds her aunt's love and acceptance. Although Sitka is home now for Lydia, her father's family is in search of her, and with that comes danger. There is more to Lydia's life than her past. God has much in store for this beautiful woman. She has much to give and share with others. Come visit Sitka, Alaska and see God move and bring healing to Lydia. There is excitement here in this wild land. This is definitely a summer read for you. I loved each page! I loved the characters that were a light to Lydia, giving her the love she so desired. Lydia is a tender hearted woman in need and the Lord shows her He can make her whole and break those chains that held her down for years. Lydia finds freedom in Sitka and she finds more than she ever dreamed!This book was a gift from Bethany House for it's review.robinsnest66.blogspot.com
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dawn's Prelude, Song of Alaska Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
pinkgirl
very good book. i loved the characters and the many discussions about salvation and the Lord. the only thing I didn't like was Lydia's loss of memory and how she barely remembered anything. But very good book. read it!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dawn's Prelude, Song of Alaska Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Claudette Kleckner
Dawn's Prelude was a very good book to read. I loved the characters and the story they told. I didn't want it to end. Tracie Peterson writes such great books about Alaska, Montana etc. Each of these were wonderful to read. thankscjkleckner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dawn's Prelude, Song of Alaska Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lisa7491
I really enjoyed the book and am currently reading the second book in the series. It is the first series of Traci Peterson I have read that is not a collaboration with another author and I will be buying more of her books for sure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dawn's Prelude, Song of Alaska Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bobbie Barfield
I always enjoy books by Tracie Peterson - both books in this series were very good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dawn's Prelude, Song of Alaska Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Suzy Mackey
I loved this book and author. First book I have read by her, I was searching for a new author to read and was glad to discover her. I have already purchased more books by her and am excited to get started reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dawn's Prelude, Song of Alaska Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2010
Tracie Peterson has managed to catch my attention from the first page and kept me totally interested right to the end. This is a great read! I'm excitedly awaiting the next one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dawn's Prelude, Song of Alaska Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
jane lindly
When I read my first Tracie pterson book I loved it. but as I read more of her books I learn each one gets better and better. Dawn's prelude is my Favorite!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dawn's Prelude, Song of Alaska Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Emilee
This is an awesome read, it's typical Tracie Peterson! I loved it! There is suspense, murder, and excitement. I have to admit I read the last chapter when it got too suspenseful for me. I'm curious as to why Lydia and Kjell have different last names on the Christianbook.com description than in the actual book?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dawn's Prelude, Song of Alaska Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 25, 2009
I have only read a couple of Tracie Petersons books so far and I am rapidly becoming a fan of her work. I so enjoy the depth of her stories and the beautiful settings. Dawns Prelude has everything I was hoping it would have. I love the rugged, yet beautiful town of Sitka, Alaska. I loved the feeling of tranquility and peace Tracie created when Lydia arrived in Sitka. I found the beginning of the book was a bit slow, but once Lydia made her great escape to Alaska, the book picked up and I had a hard time putting it down. The new discovery Lydia makes added another layer of hope and suspense to this already very exciting story.This story was a bit dark, but through all the struggles, Tracie always infused a feeling of hope that made me want to keep reading. She made the good characters very likable and the bad guys easy to hate; well, hate maybe too strong, but I sure did not like them. I like historical fiction that has a relaxing feeling to it with a bit of suspense. Dawns Prelude is a wonderful book that I enjoyed very much. If Tracie Petersons books are always this good, I will be a big fan very soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dawn's Prelude, Song of Alaska Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2009
Lydia is forced into an arranged marriage at the age of 16 as a business deal for her father. She endures 12 years of abuse before her husband is killed in an accident along with her father. Her adult stepchildren are anxious to get rid of her. At the reading of the will they are all surprised to learn that she has all the power over the assets. Her lawyer fears for her safety and assists her in escaping to Alaska to live with her aunt to start a new life. The Grays sons are determined to get back what they believe belongs to them and will go to any lengths to achieve their goals. Their evil plot against her disrupts Lydias new life and new love. She must once again struggle to be free.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dawn's Prelude, Song of Alaska Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patricia
Lydia Sellers has never known happiness, at least not since her arranged marriage. But the death of her abusive husband stands to change everything. Through a moment of moral clarity by her father, and her own desire to pick up the pieces of her life, Lydia moves to Alaska where her remaining family is. She is determined to never marry again, but the immediate kindness of a stranger looks to change her thinking. But Lydia is in for some big surprises that will tie her closer than ever to her abusive husband's family, and is she ready when her past catches up to her?Peterson's start to the new Song of Alaska series is instantly engaging. Within the first chapters I was already invested in Lydia's fears and feeling the anxiety of living in the world of the Sellers family. Even scenes that had potential to feel soap-opera-like maintained a style and stayed believable. The good characters are genuinely good and relatable. The evil characters are equally as well written; never once did I feel sympathy for the bad, or distain for the good. The budding romance between Lydia and Kjell is sweet, moves decently, and satisfying. Sometimes the Christian reference becomes heavy handed and unfortunately slowing down the story, and making the dialogue seem repetitive. However, this must forgiven as it is the genre of the novel.Overall, this is a great start to a series that is set up to be very exciting. What pleased me most was that a lot happens in this novel and I was worried that major issues would remain unresolved, however; Peterson manages to wrap up the events of the novel in a gratifying way, and yet I am still interested in continuing the series. My recommendation would be to read the "I loved it! What is next?" choices first, and then return to Dawn's Prelude, as the novel is fairly short (about 200 pages). This will give time for the next book to come out in the series, as it looks like they will be published fairly close to each other.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dawn's Prelude, Song of Alaska Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Penny Hardaway
What a wonderful story. Tracie Peterson is the best. I have loved everything she has written.It's hard to accept men being as evil as Lydia's husband and his grown sons were. But I know there really are people in the world who are that evil.The book was full of the romance, adventure, and mystery I have come to expect from Ms. Peterson. I eagerly await book 2 in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dawn's Prelude, Song of Alaska Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Corrinne Gilbert
I love Tracie Peterson books and am anxious for the next in the series to come out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dawn's Prelude, Song of Alaska Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2009
Tracie Peterson is one of the best selling authors in the Christian Historical fiction genre. In her latest series Tracie has again shown her worth. I think this is possibly the finest, "edgiest" work she has written yet. If you are wanting a Christian book that still has bite to it this is THE ONE you'll want to pick up. It might be a quick weekend read for some, but it will make a lasting impression, and you'll remember this book for a while. It was a delightful, suspenseful and yet sobering novel. I was immediately pulled into the characters lives and thoughts. Every emotion Lydia felt i felt right alongside her. I was so tied to the characters that I HATED to see Dawn's Prelude end! Whether this is the first Tracie Peterson book or you've been a reader of her's for a while you will not be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dawn's Prelude, Song of Alaska Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2009
Tracie Peterson does it again! Dawns Prelude is the first book in her new series, The Song of Alaska. Peterson is truly gifted at writing Christian historical fiction. Her novels are thoroughly captivating with depth, beauty and historical accuracy. Dawns Prelude is no different. It is set mostly in the rugged Alaskan territory in the 1870s, with interesting characters, a strong storyline, and vivid landscape descriptions. Once again with a Peterson novel, I found myself to be enthralled with the story and couldnt put it down. It had elements of darkness and evil, love and romance, and hope and healing. Questions of faith are answered with honesty, in a real, not preachy sort of way. In short, I loved it and cant wait for the next installment!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dawn's Prelude, Song of Alaska Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
This story was truly fabulous in every way. I sensed the peril and the helplessness the characters experienced as much as I felt the tenderness and love. This is probably Tracie's best book yet. Her plotting is sheer perfection and the pace was satisfying. There was a suspenseful element to the story that made me not want to sleep until the situation was resolved and the people were safe. There was a secondary character that was compassionate, too. I worried for her and her lifeless marriage and started to sweat when temptation literally nipped at her corsette.I love it when an author makes me care enough to worry about the characters. Of course, the romantic element was amazing and probably the best part of the book. When the sparks flew my heart felt ablaze along with the people in love. Trust is so hard for some people to experience after years of abuse and mistreatment. The hero in this story was the perfect person to reestablish that missing link and give the heroine hope. He was also smart enough to allow the heroine to come to him. Sigh, that was soooo romantic!Ah, this was such a good read! In fact, it's making my favorite books of 2009 list. I would've read it straight through but life got in the way. It was very hard to put down and the story kept calling me to pick it up again and finish. I'm glad I did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dawn's Prelude, Song of Alaska Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2009
This book kept one interested from page one to the end. I can hardly wait for the next book. I hope Evie will find happiness for the bravery she did for Lydie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>