Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Morning's Refrain, Song of Alaska Series #2

Bethany House Morning's Refrain, Song of Alaska Series #2

As dark family secrets threaten the tranquility of the life he's come to love, Dalton Bjorklund must make difficult choices about the future. To complicate matters, Phoebe Robbins falls into his life quite literally when Dalton rescues her after she falls overboard in the Sitka Harbor. He quickly loses his heart.

But Dalton is not the only one who decides to seek Phoebe's attentions--his best friend, Yuri, decides to court her when Dalton must travel from Sitka. But when Dalton realizes the depth of his love for Phoebe and returns, the two friends find that their battle for Phoebe's affection is only the start of the problems that face them.

Average Customer Rating:
4.111 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Morning's Refrain, Song of Alaska Series #2
Review 1 for Morning's Refrain, Song of Alaska Series #2
This review is fromMorning's Refrain, Song of Alaska Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
M Anne Law
Location:Southeastern PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed the descriptions of the area (Alaska) and the character interactions.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Morning's Refrain, Song of Alaska Series #2
This review is fromMorning's Refrain, Song of Alaska Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brenda Rosenthal
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Well written characters, however, more details of Phoebe's faith journey would be good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Morning's Refrain, Song of Alaska Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nancy Jean Smith
Wonderful continuation of the first book in the series! Tracie Peterson did a wonderful job of bringing Dalton to life as an adult and the story with his family and his love for Phoebe. Loved this story and am so happy that I can read such wonderful stories well written and so filled with Christ in each page!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Morning's Refrain, Song of Alaska Series #2
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
anna Mae Aukema
I was disappointed with this book in that it turned out to be a very boring, predictable story. I have read almost all of Ms Peterson's works and I usually am quite entertained and enlightened by the stories she weaves in her books. This one left a lot to be desired. Hopefully, the next book in this series will liven things up.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Morning's Refrain, Song of Alaska Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 4, 2010
I read #1 and 2 and could not put either down easily until they were finished. I am eagerly anticipating reading the third book in this series. I appreciated how the author wove the gospel and living one's faith into the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Morning's Refrain, Song of Alaska Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Katharine Macdonald
Really enjoyed catching up with this storyline, had to go back and remind myself a bit from Book 2 as it had been a while, but once that was done, this book was great, good story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Morning's Refrain, Song of Alaska Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Eleanor Nichols
This is the second book in this series, and both books were excellent. The story line kept you always interested, and it was hard to put the books down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Morning's Refrain, Song of Alaska Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Edith Earnest
Love all of Peterson's writings esp. her Alaska series. Very interesting from beginning to end. Brings to light the many hardships our forefathers and mothers endured to make our life what it is today. Women in those days sure had it bad. How did they survive?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Morning's Refrain, Song of Alaska Series #2
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carol
I thought this book was a very good book once I started reading it and was excited to see how the story turned out. I am a pretty big fan of Tracie Peterson's books however this book really disappointed me. When I came to this one part of the book where it revealed that Evie's husband who had actually passed on had another lover who was a man, I was disappointed that Tracie didn't explain that this was not right but rather seemed to allow readers to just accept this as a fact of life. I wasn't entirely sure but it almost seemed like she condoned it. I was very disappointed especially because this was all happenning while Evie was married to this man. I didn't think this part was at all relevant and was hoping that if this was important to the storyline that Tracie would at least expound on whether this was or wasn't acceptable. I truly hope that some of her other newer books will be better as I really like her old ones!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Morning's Refrain, Song of Alaska Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brenda Turpin
Was a great book! Enjoyed the plot and how it allworked out to God's glory!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Morning's Refrain, Song of Alaska Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
C.L. Alley Howard
Morning Refrain was entertaining, but rather disjointed. Dalton and Evie facing their siblings, Britta's hiking incident, Phoebe and Dalton's quick wedding, Yuri's gambling/drinking felt almost stuck in the plot; rather than flowing like a story. Tracie does deliver a full story with each book and that is a plus for series writing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Morning's Refrain, Song of Alaska Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jeanette Johnson
As usual Traci Peterson wrote a great story. Will be anxious for her next one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Morning's Refrain, Song of Alaska Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Janet Peterson
As usual, I am never disappointed with Tracie Peteron's books. This one keeps you intrigued from the beginning with a dear woman forced into a measurable, abusive marriage. Then circumstances suddenly change which opens up a new escape to Sitka. Yet, those who wish her deathly harm, God is with her and her new husband through trials that threaten their family. God continues to help her trust Him in everything...mystery and courage troughout. Jan Peterson, Mesa, AZ
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Morning's Refrain, Song of Alaska Series #2
This review is fromMorning's Refrain, Song of Alaska Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:May 2, 2010
Sadly lacking!I enjoyed the first of this series, and picked the squeal expectantly.I was much disappointed and was glad I borrowed this from the library and not paid for it.Sorry Tracie, but I was left wanting in this very typical girl meets boy and fall in love at first sight novel with no real depth in character or in story line. I actually skimmed through chapters just to finish the book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Morning's Refrain, Song of Alaska Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pauline Luechauer
It is refreshing to read a novel whose author does not think she/he has to use questionable language/plots to capture and keep the readers' attention. This was a page turner from the first page to the last... and I kept hoping for more. Thank you Tracie Peterson for your contributions to good, clean literature. I am searching for more of your titles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Morning's Refrain, Song of Alaska Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Darlene Dye
was a very good book i couldnt hardly put it down.I cant hardly wait for next
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Morning's Refrain, Song of Alaska Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan D Peters
Tracie Peterson has another great series. I appreciate how she makes just enough references to Book 1 to refresh my memory without overdoing it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Morning's Refrain, Song of Alaska Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sharon Jones
Tracie Peterson is a wonderful Christian author. I love Alaska and her books that take place in Alaska have been spell binding for me. I can't put them down. I hope she writes more based on Alaska.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.