Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Destiny Image The God Chasers

Destiny Image The God Chasers

What are God Chasers? God Chasers are people whose passion for God's presence press them to chase the impossible in hopes that the uncatchable might catch them! Throughout the pages of history, chasers such as Moses, David, Paul, Job, A.W. Tozer, Leonard Ravenhill, and countless others shared one common bond - an insatiable hunger to know their Lord. Add your name to the list and become a God chaser. Who knows? You might be one whom God catches!
Average Customer Rating:
3.808 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
7
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The God Chasers
Review 1 for The God Chasers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary H
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super Good Book needs to be read by every member in a church congregation... It will change your life !!!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The God Chasers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rob
It is important to note that this book is written to the modern, lukewarm church as a tool to awaken hunger for God. I believe God uses prophetic messages such as this to stir us to passion for Jesus. That is the intention and that it does very well. It is not meant to be a theological treatis. It is transcribed from the author's sermons so it reads very conversationally. Don't miss the message of this book! God, out of His grace, pursues us and has drawn near to us first, but He stirs something in our hearts that cause us to seek after Him and to hunger for Him to awaken us from apathy.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The God Chasers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
maryann
i was surprised to see a few very negative reviews on this book.i find the book to be very helpful in my walk. if i got anything out of the book, it is that God is not some belief you take off the shelf when you need Him or want to chat...HE IS GOD! and should be treated as such, with respect and awe. If you are content with the status quo christianity that is out there, this book will shake you, revive you, change you and wake you up to what christianity really is.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The God Chasers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
Robyn Polecat
i have read this book before, it is an excellent book, and a very easy read. i did lose my copy so that is why i ordered a new one. instead of only one copy though i ordered two, so my boyfriend and i could read it together
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The God Chasers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jan Smith
This is a book I just couldn't put down. If you are truly hungry for intimacy with God you need to read this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The God Chasers
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
Linda Cook
If Tenney's book calls God's children to love Him with all their heart,then he is on target. When the Istraelites got close to GOD they said "don't let HIM talk to us or we will die".When Isaiah got close to GOD, he said "Woe is me". When Peter realized who JESUS is he said "go away from me LORD, for I am a sinful man." When John got close to GOD "he fell at his feet as though dead". GOD did say "if you seek me with all your heart, you will find ME". Go ahead and chase GOD, THE GREAT I AM, but if HE lets you even come close,know this...your sin will be exposed. Search the scriptures and see if this is not so. After Isaiahs' sin was atoned for, GOD said "Who will go for US" and Isaiah said "Send me". JESUS said to "count the cost",in every case...it cost them their lives. Paul said "I am crucified with CHRIST. I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I live, I live by faith in the SON OF GOD who loves me and gave HIS life for me. My concern about this book, is that the Author does not tell the reader that GOD is a consuming fire. GOD will burn away your sin. Just ask Isaiah.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The God Chasers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jon Fagundes
GREAT BOOK!If your tired of "playing" church and entertaining "man pleasing" services read this book.Give yourself time to digest each chapter.Your life will be changed forever!!!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The God Chasers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2005
Customer Avatar
Chris Silva
Be forewarned this book isn't for casual reading; give yourself time for prayer and reflection. Tommy Tenney has challenged my faith in new and much needed ways. Its honesty calling the reader to repent and cry out to God is truly refreshing, and since reading it my walk with the Lord has never been closer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The God Chasers
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2004
Customer Avatar
B. Roy
Repetitive and lacking in substance. Christians ought to think and study for themselves rather than subject themselves to vacuous and theologically unsound writing such as this. A major disappointment.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The God Chasers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2002
Customer Avatar
Lisa Wisby
This is a wonderful book! I see nothing wrong with being a God Chaser. It is sad that so many Christians today are satisfied with what they have been taught, that they desire no more of God. We as Christians should desire more of God moving in our lives everyday! So that the lost would desire to know who this Jesus is! Most Christians today act just like the rest of the world. Why would the world desire to know who this Jesus is? Much less have a relationship with him. Most Christians today don't have a relationship with Jesus, they just have head knowledge, and that's the problem. CHRISTIANS! Most Christians did not have a problem with Harry Potter! They see nothing wrong with Witchcraft. It's sad that Satan has deceived the Christian. We get the lost in the church and show them just how worldly we really are! Why don't we wake up Christians and get a little excited? Its okay, there is nothing wrong with being a God Chaser. Get real, have a relationship with the One and Only JESUS! Be happy your not going to HELL! Lets chase after Gods heart. Stop complaining about something good for a change. If you want to complain about an author and book here is one for you "Joanna K. Rowlings." And you better get ready Christian this religion will be in our schools soon "Wicken." We Christians sometimes love to embrace sin. God have mercy on us. I'm a God Chaser and proud of it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The God Chasers
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2002
Customer Avatar
Charles
"For by grace are ye saved throughfaith; and that not of yourselves, it is the gift of God-not of works, lest any man should boast." (Ephesians 2:8,9)"As it is written: There is none righteous, no, not one: The is none who understands, there is none who seeks after God." (Romans 3:10,11)"that he who hath begun a good work in you will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ" (Philippians 1:6)"For whom he did foreknow, he also did predestinate to be conformed to the image of his son, that he might be the firstborn among many brethren. Moreover, whom he did predestinate, them he also called; and whom he called, them he also justified; and whom he justified, them he also glorified."(Romans 8:29,30) IF you read any of these titles please keep the above scripture in mind (and many many others) as you do so. May you come to the awareness that WE DO NOT CHASE GOD, GOD HAS CHOSEN TO CHASE AFTER US.In Christs' Name,Charles
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The God Chasers
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:November 15, 2001
Customer Avatar
Michelle
While the title of the book is promising, The God Chasers lacks depth. Tenney says that we need God over and over, but does not go further than that. He also says little about actual God chasers. While his point should be taken that we do need God's manifest presence in our churches, The Pursuit of God by A.W. Tozer is a better way to find how to build that relationship.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The God Chasers
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 17, 2001
Customer Avatar
P David Durksen
This book is a disappointment. Tenney's theology is weak and he spends chapter after chapter saying the same thing poorly. The whole effort is disorganized and caters to a mindset that isn't willing to study the Bible for itself.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The God Chasers
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2001
Customer Avatar
Molly Black
In this book Mr. Tenney refers to the New Testament as "dusty old stories" and refers to the epistles as "old love letters." Maybe Mr. Tenney skipped over Hebrews 4:12, which says "The word of God is living and active..." This book is modern heresy.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The God Chasers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 29, 2001
Customer Avatar
Sharon
Excellent book for anyone who wants more of God. I can't wait to read it again and I'm ordering a copy or my daughter.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The God Chasers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2001
Customer Avatar
Barb
Please just read it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The God Chasers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2000
Customer Avatar
Nick Brackett
This is the book to read if you know that there is more to the Christian life than what you have aleady experienced. Tommy Tenney does an excellent job of showing us all how to pursue God with great passion and desire. This book will change your life!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The God Chasers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2000
Customer Avatar
Joyce
This book challenges you to have a more intense hunger and a passion for God.It takes running after God's heart with everything you have. I recommend anyone that wants more of a hunger and wants to see God to read this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The God Chasers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2000
Customer Avatar
Joyce
This is a book that will really wake you up and give you a hunger to reach God and see His glory with all you have. To follow hard after God's own heart with all you have.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The God Chasers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2000
Customer Avatar
Felix Anderson
A must read for those who are tired of religion, hungry for a more intimate relationship with their Creator and KNOW in their spirit that there is more to GOD than they currently have. We must acknowledge that our GOD is bigger than the Bible!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>