Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Waiting for Summer's Return

Bethany House Waiting for Summer's Return

After losing her husband and children to typhoid, Summer Steadman moves to the Mennonite community of Gaeddert, Kansas, to be near their graves. Widower Peter Ollenberger hires her to teach his son, in spite of censure for helping an "outsider." Will Peter marry Summer just to give his boy a mother---or does he really love her? 352 pages, softcover from Bethany.
Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Waiting for Summer's Return
Review 1 for Waiting for Summer's Return
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well Written

Date:November 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lisa
Location:Kansas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I'm not really into "romance" books because so often the plot is shallow and predictable and unrealistic. It's been a LONG time since I've read some good Christian fiction and this book exceeded my expectations. It was so well written...the author had very good descriptive words that made Summer, Peter and Thomas become so real to the reader. As I said previously, I stay away from "romance" novels, but this love story was so well written I found myself getting caught up in it! Great job Kim!! As a fellow Kansan, I'm proud of you!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Waiting for Summer's Return
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

lovely and touching

Date:July 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Larik
Location:San Antonio, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book, such a gentle smooth healing from loosing all the children and finding hope in God and true love with a gentle strong and patient man. its a great read for all, but especially if you lost someone dear to you, it will help you sort it all in your head and let your heart be healed and look passed your pain and loss to the brighter future with the One by our side that can heal all hurts and give great rewards.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Waiting for Summer's Return
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debbie Wood
Wonderful book! I would recommend it to everyone! I did not want to put it down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Waiting for Summer's Return
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mary Becknal
Good easy read. Seems well researched asto history and interestingly presented. Goodstory as to how God still has plans for us nomatter how much we want to give up or what circumstance has turned our life upside down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Waiting for Summer's Return
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2010
THe title did not make since until the end. This was a well written story with just a good "feel good" story line. The details to the time setting were also very well done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Waiting for Summer's Return
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Teresa
I've read several of her books. This one has to be the best so far. I especially enjoyed the way she dealt with sorrow and tragedy realistically. She didn't sugar coat it with the somewhat typical Christian view of toughing it out. Her characters felt their losses and lived through their emotions. Loved the use of scripture!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Waiting for Summer's Return
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2009
I fell in the love with the characters from the begining. This was a great read and the end left me wanting more. If you loved this one you need to read the sequel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Waiting for Summer's Return
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Vanita
The story was good. The author used German language for some words, but it was translated. I wish I knew this before buying, I don't care for books like that. Nothing against the book though. My mom enjoyed it, and the different language did not bother her. Took me awhile to finish the book. Overall a good story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Waiting for Summer's Return
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
preachersilverswife
This is a wonderful book from start to finsh. The faith the author shows through the charcters is great, Love it.....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Waiting for Summer's Return
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Darlene Breining
This was a wonderful story. I wonder what the next book is another part of this series about Summer, Peter and his son.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Waiting for Summer's Return
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Susan Conrad
This is a wonderful, heartwarming book. Enjoyed it very much. The author uses many Bible verses , perfect for each situation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Waiting for Summer's Return
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Barbara Metzger
Summer's return is an awesome book. I didn't want to put it down. It kept my interest up as each of the characters were kind and interacted with each other. Their reliance on God reinforced how we all need to seek His will in our lives. That we all need Him to find our way even now in our troubled world.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Waiting for Summer's Return
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jennings Taylor
I enjoyed this book and didn't go to bed until I finished it this morning.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Waiting for Summer's Return
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Dorothy Turner
I loved the book couldnt put it downLove the auther I read all of her booksKept them coming
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Waiting for Summer's Return
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jessie Welty
I enjoyed the book very much. When summer went back to boson I had an idea that she would come back to Kansas and I wasn't disappointed. Thank you very much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Waiting for Summer's Return
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lois A Sofield
I am almost finished reading this book. It is very well written but I am still not sure if they will marry or not. I have work to do or I would be reading right now. Very very Good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Waiting for Summer's Return
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2008
This was a good novel. I hated to see it come to an end. I like books like this that are from times past too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Waiting for Summer's Return
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
M. Simmons
This book was so well written, the characterswere people I wanted to become aquainted with.I wish for a second book as I did not want this one to end.Now I look for other novels by the author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Waiting for Summer's Return
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 13, 2007
Customer Avatar
Marjorie Walsworth
Good reading. I enjoyed Kim Vogel Sawyer's Amish stories more, but this is a heart warming story, too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Waiting for Summer's Return
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2007
Customer Avatar
Julie Rundle-LaForce
Excellent! A book you don't want to put down. What a faithful man Peter Ollenberger is! Oh if we all couldbe more like him!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>