Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Where Willows Grow, softcover

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Bethany House Where Willows Grow, softcover

In 1936 Spencer, Kansas, Anna Mae Phipps is struggling with the Depression, the drought, and a husband whose actions she can't understand. When Anna finds out that she is pregnant with their third child, her husband announces that he is leaving to build a castle.in Kansas. After days go by with no word from either one of them, each wonder if this is the beginning of the end of their marriage. Can their love conquer all, or is something else working to destroy their relationship? "Where Willows Grow" is a story that takes readers on a journey of struggles caused by lack and the promise of what hope, endurance, and love can bring. Kim Vogel Sawyer, softcover, 348 pages.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Where Willows Grow, softcover
Review 1 for Where Willows Grow, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mysti
Location:Scarborough, Ontario
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lovely storyline by Kim Vogel Sawyer. This book is well written and has all the intrigue, suspense and drama to make it a very good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Where Willows Grow, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2010
This book was excellent! Three-dimensional characters, compelling story, very good pacing. I've read other books by Mrs. Sawyer and she is an amazing author! Her books are "clean" and yet very compelling. I didn't want to put it down. The only negative thing I can say is that it kept me up far too late at night! =)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Where Willows Grow, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mikayla
This book was amazing! You touched and felt what the characters touched and felt, lived and breathed what the characters lived and breathed, and pinched and scraped with them to get through life in the middle of the Depression. Being in portrayed in Kansas, it really gave it a family, farmy feel that brought me even closer. Kim's style was wonderful the way it showed everybodys thoughts and feelings, you wouldn't have felt as close to the character if it wasn't that way, and Jack would have been kept a secret until the end, which would have taken out one of the major parts of the book. Among all the others charcters, Anna mae touch my heart, I seriously could not put it down, even when reading by candle light when our power was out!I can't decribe anymore without giving it away, so you will have to read it for your self. All I can say is I LOVED this book like all the other Kim Vogel Sawyer books I've read = ).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Where Willows Grow, softcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2008
This is a very good book and another book about things from times past. It is a book that you really hate to put down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Where Willows Grow, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Helen
When I read this book I felt like I was a part of it. This author pulls me so thoroughly into the story I can smell the smells, hear the sounds, and see the sights. I highly recommend anything she writes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Where Willows Grow, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2007
Customer Avatar
Brenda Lott
My favorite book this summer so far. I simply loved this book! I loved the setting--drought stricken Kansas in 1936. Genuine and good-hearted characters made me care about Anna Mae and Harley who are trying to survive the drought and pay taxes, but just barely scrapping by to hold their farm together. With a baby on the way and their 5 year old Marjorie to feed, Harley leaves in hopes of finding work to send money back to Anna Mae, despite her strong protests. My heart swelled with love for these "salt of the earth" people. Anna's strong faith and God's continual provision gave her hope in their helpless situation, regardless of the outcome. When months go by and Anna doesn't hear from Harley, she remains steadfast, even though her heart is breaking. Complicating matters further, her childhood friend, Jack fancies himself in love with her, and sets out to convince her that Harley will never return.It was hard for me to put this book down, and turn out the light because I wanted to find out how Anna would handle each turn of events that plagued her. Very convincing plot and well crafted, real characters made this book so appealing. Don't miss it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Where Willows Grow, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2007
This book has Kim Sawyers signature depth of characterization. As the reader, I quickly fell in love with Anna and her struggles. The characters were rich and diverse. Harley is a man who has pulled himself up and works hard to support his family. Jack has a successful dairy farm, but is focused on the love thats been denied him. Dirk is a man who will teach Harley what sacrifice is about. And Anna is a woman trying to make the best of an impossible situation. I also love the way Kim makes the setting come alive. She pulls together unknown pieces of Kansas history that add richness and depth to the plot. I also enjoyed the fact that this book was set during the Depression. This has been a time period that has been overlooked by many historical authors, yet Kim makes it come to life in a manner that kept me engaged from page one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Where Willows Grow, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2007
I loved this book! The story kept me interested, and Kim Vogel Sawyer's descriptions of her characters and the settings easily painted a "mental picture" for me as I read. Most of all, this book shows how the Lord can turn "hopeless" situations into HOPEFUL ones! I would highly recommend this book, and look forward to reading more of Kim's work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Where Willows Grow, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kait
I loved this book. I felt like the characters were real. I got to know them and care about them. When they cried, I cried. When they laughed, I laughed. I didn't want to see the book end because I didn't want to say goodbye. And I loved how the characters grew even though everything was so hard for them. They found their strength in God, just like we always need to. I really enjoyed this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Where Willows Grow, softcover
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
marcell
I was disappointed in this book. I loved Waiting for Summer, and was expecting more. I didn't care for or really about the characters and I didn't care for the jumping from Anna Mae to Harley every other chapter. It was irritating. Being a woman I am interested in stories about women and their struggles. Harley wasn't the least bit interesting to me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Where Willows Grow, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2007
What a lovely tale of love, hope, hardship, faith, and finding God! This book is a pleasure to read. As always, Mrs. Sawyer keeps the focus on Christ. The struggles and hopes of all the characters are so real and believable. I especially loved the Christ-like character of Dirk. I agree with the reviewer who would like to see a sequel that focuses on Jack. I am eagerly awaiting Mrs. Sawyer's next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Where Willows Grow, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 4, 2007
Customer Avatar
Melanie Dickerson
Kim Vogel Sawyer brings us another touching, insightful story, this time set in the Depression in drought-stricken Kansas. Using believable characters, she weaves a tale of Gods provision and the redemption of broken dreams. Anna Mae loves her husband, but its been a while since she and Harley shared much more than frustration. Theyre on the brink of losing the farm they both dearly love because of the severe drought and the depressed economy. Out of desperation, Harley decides to take a WPA job, which will mean leaving his wife and two little girls. Anna Mae, unhappy about the situation, doesnt even say good-bye to her husband, and they part in anger.Far away from her husband, Anna Maes situation seems to go from bad to worse, especially when lifelong neighbor, Jack, decides he still loves Anna Mae and it would be best if her son-of-a-sharecropper husband didnt return at all.This book delivers quite an emotional punch and will touch your heart, as true love, in all its many forms, wins out in the end. Dont miss it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Where Willows Grow, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 4, 2007
Customer Avatar
Andee
The story opens with Anna Mae, a young wife struggling to raise her family in the lean, dry years of the Depression, discovering that the road of life just got considerably rougher. Already raising two children, she faces another pregnancy. On top of that, her husband, Harley, is talking of getting a distant job which would leave her alone on their failing Kansas farm until he could return. Annie is tough, but a strange turn of circumstances leads to her feel abandoned by the man she loves, while the only help she gets with the farm forces her to face trouble that nearly turns her world upside-down. But she is never alone, as her faith in God rises with the intensity of her struggles. Author Kim Sawyer touches upon real life issues with an honesty that refreshes, but in the tradition of Janette Oke, Where Willows Grow remains family-friendly with a satisfyingly good ending. I was rooting for Anna from page one. Kims secondary characters will not disappoint, either.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Where Willows Grow, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 4, 2007
Customer Avatar
Norma Branson
I was born in 1938 and when I was young my parents told me a lot about the depression so I could identify with a lot of the heartaches and frustrations for the characters in Where Willows Grow. It was almost like I was reading about my own parents! Kim brings her characters "to life" and you can easily identify with them. I would love to read about Jack and where his life goes. Could we have a sequel with Jack being the main character? This is one of the books you hate to see end because you have grown to love the characters--they are so real!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Where Willows Grow, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2007
This book is a story of enduring love during the Depression period of our country's history. Anna Mae and Harley Phipps are barely surviving on the farm her parents left her. Harley travels across the state of Kansas, against his wife's wishes, to work on a WPA project of building a castle to make money for food and taxes. Several events occur to keep them from receiving letters from each other, leading to more hurt feelings. They are both involved in harmful accidents which God can use for good if they will let Him. The blurb on the back of the book says "Her heart aches for his return, but is the distance between them measured by more than miles?" I hope you will order this book and find out the answer for yourself. If you are like me, you will be happy at the joyful ending, but sad that your visit with these heartwarming characters is at an end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Where Willows Grow, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
Harriet Klausner
In 1936 Spencer, Kansas, Anna Mae Phipps feels all alone in the world as the family farm is dying due to the drought and her beloved spouse Harley has left their home to work construction for the federal governments Works in Progress Administration. She feels isolated and abandoned as she has no husband, no mule, an infant Marjorie, an older preadolescent child Dorothy, and a third on the way. Anna Mae fears that Harley will not come back to her and the kids; if he does he probably will not find them on the farm that they will surely lose.Harley misses his family as he loves his wife and two children. He desperately needs to bring in income to put food on the table and keep a roof over their heads; that is why he sold their last mule and took a crazy job on the other side of the state building a castle in Lindsborg. He left his spouse angry with him, but he knows the corn cannot grow and if it did who could afford to buy it. He plans to make enough money so that he can come home to his family on their farm.WHERE WILLOWS GROW is a strong Americana family drama that focuses on the impact of the Depression in Kansas. Readers will feel Anna Maes sense of desertion and hopelessness while also knowing how much Harley misses her and their children, but feels he must do what is needed to insure his family is fed and sheltered. Though the economic climax seems to simple, historical fiction readers will appreciate Kim Vogel Sawyers deep look at what a 1930s family did to survive on a drought ridden Plains.Harriet Klausner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.