Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Master Books The Lie: Evolution - eBook

Master Books The Lie: Evolution - eBook

The Bible prophetically warns that in the last days false teachers will introduce destructive lies among the people. Their purpose is to bring God's truth into disrepute and to exploit believers by telling them made-up and imagined stories (see 2 Peter 2:1-3). Such a lie is among us - that lie is evolution!

Today many laypeople, ministers and Christian educators are powerless in their presentation of the gospel. They have rejected Genesis, the foundation of biblical doctrine. They have believed the modern origins myth - evolution.

This book is for you if:
  • You believe that Genesis is not important to presenting the gospel
  • You believe that what you think about Genesis does not affect you personally
  • You believe that evolution can be made to fit the Bible
  • You are a witnessing Christian seeking to bring the gospel to this spiritually drifting world
  • Average Customer Rating:
    4.533 out of 5
    4.5
     out of 
    5
    (15 Reviews) 15
    Open Ratings Snapshot
    Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
    5 stars
    11
    4 stars
    3
    3 stars
    0
    2 stars
    0
    1 star
    1
    9 out of 1090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
    Customer Reviews for The Lie: Evolution - eBook
    Review 1 for The Lie: Evolution - eBook
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Great read!

    Date:August 5, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    simon94
    Location:The Netherlands
    Age:18-24
    Gender:male
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Although I am not from the USA I enjoyed this book which discusses some problems which are in the USA now.
    What I like about the book is the strong apologetic in it. That we should stand firm on our Biblical foundation and never step on any other ground than the Biblical foundation.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 2 for The Lie: Evolution - eBook
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    good info

    Date:February 6, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    SC2424
    Location:Vermont
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    <i>The Lie</i> by Ken Ham is a book with the subtitle on the cover: THE LIE: Evolution/Millions of Years. Now, I'm not going to review the entire creation vs evolution debate. I personally believe in Biblical truth and creationism, so my theology is similar to this book's author. I WILL say that the book has good information in it for someone wanting to learn more about creationism and Biblical truth, as well as lots of supports and examples about creationism. Unfortunately I did find this book to be rather dry -- and I felt like I was reading through a series of essays, rather than one flowing thought. I had to make myself read it--but I'm not sure the author was looking for readability so much as for getting out his information. So -- it'd be worth it for you to read, but maybe not an easy/enjoyable read.
    The content isn't just limited to the origins debate, but also touches on different topics which are affected by what you believe as origins/truth. Topics such as people groups, marriage, morality, etc.
    I'd recommend this book because of the subject matter, though it is a bit tiresome to read through in entirety. Maybe just reading a chapter a week or every few days would've been easier. It's a book we'll probably keep and use again in the future.
    I received a copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review. I was not required to write a positive review.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 3 for The Lie: Evolution - eBook
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Comprehensive look at an important issue!

    Date:January 29, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    April E
    Location:KS
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Ken Ham wrote The Lie to help Christians understand the Creation/Evolution issue. With evolution being the only option taught in most schools, Christian students are finding it difficult to reconcile their education with their faith. The majority of those students dismiss the Biblical account of creation as false, thereby undermining the very first book of the Bible, and its subsequent authority in their lives. Is it any wonder that by the time they graduate from college, most have walked away from their faith and Christian upbringing completely?
    The Lie takes a very comprehensive look at the Creation vs. Evolution discussion, argument-by-argument. Ken Ham points out the fallacies in the evolution arguments and helps validate the Biblical account of creation with both logic and science. This is not an easy book to read. While his explanations are expressed well and are not difficult to understand, it is still a heavy topic. It is written at an adult level -- for upper-level high school students, college students, and adults. This isn't something you can just hand to a junior high student or most high school students. Even if you have older students reading it, expect to be available for many in-depth conversations as they process the information. As a busy Mom, I've found it difficult to find time to read this book with the concentration it requires. It's been a slow process of reading it in bits of pieces in quiet moments. Of course, being pregnant doesn't help me focus on the book.
    With all that said, I do believe this is a very important book for every Christian to read. With all the cultural attacks on the Bible and its teachings, Christians should carefully consider this particular issue and its effects on their view of the Bible's reliability and authority.
    This book was provided to me free, in exchange for an honest review. No other compensation was given.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 4 for The Lie: Evolution - eBook
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Observational Science & Historical Science defined

    Date:January 19, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    Heather
    Location:AK
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    25 years later, this book still rings true and is even more important to read today as evolution and millions of years is taught as "fact". Over the last several decades, schools and society in general have been steering people to look within themselves for some type of enlightenment. Accepting that there truly is a God who is Creator of all means accepting individual responsibility for our sinful lives. It would mean acknowledging that God really did set beneficial rules in the beginning. Our choice to not obey and follow His guidelines means eternal separation from the most High Lord of all life. Ken Ham brings lies we are told to light and stresses the additional concerns we should have over Christians buying into these lies.
    While I didn't read the original The Lie book, it seems that one of the most important additions to this book is found in addressing Christians who are compromising the Truth; those trying to make evolution fit into the Scriptures. There is no possible way for evolution and Biblical Creation to mesh. The most pointed fact is found on the 6th day of creation, when God created man in His own image (not in the image of an ape or pond scum). There was no death before sin, thus no death before Adam disobeyed God. Trying to fit millions of years into 6 days just doesn't work because there was no sin/death before Adam and Eve's devastating choice. In addition, God ended each day commenting that His creation was "good", culminating in it was "very good." God would never call sin or any of it's horrific after-affects good; thus there was no sin/no death/no millions of years.
    Differentiating between OBSERVABLE science and HISTORICAL science is something that is left severely understated (or missing completely) in many circles (Christian and secular). How many times have I heard or read the argument that someone is "all about science" so to them that is the end-all to the Creation vs evolution debate! Just being able to give someone the definition of what observable and historical science mean is a huge first step to understanding how "science" itself is defined and how it relates to the past. I love that this is explained and expanded on in this book. It's something we need to not only know for ourselves but is of utmost importance to teach this differentiation to our children so they understand and will know how to defend the Bible/Biblical Creation against attacks to God's truths.
    One quote that stood out is, "The public has genuinely been misled into thinking that evolution is only scientific and belief in God is only religious." (pg 72/73) Ken Ham explains this in much more detail than I could. Even secular museums displaying fossils, plants, and animal specimens are merely displaying evidences that they are interpreting based on "evolutionary beliefs"; a hypothesis of what could have happened. The same fossils, plants, and animal specimens could be on display in a Creation museum with interpretations based on the Biblical details of Creation, the sinful fall of mankind and and resulting corruption of everything in this world, the worldwide flood of Noah's day (with resulting upheavals/carving-out of the global surface and laying down of massive amounts of rocks layers/fossil-creation), etc. Interpretation is all relative to the glasses you are looking through. No one is here now to tell us all about the beginning of creation/time itself, but God was there and as Creator He has left us with THE record of the history of the world.
    This is an excellent book to begin with or to read in addition to other Biblical-creation based books. Expand your knowledge on the subject and don't be the one to shrug your shoulders or walk away the next time someone throws the "well, I just believe in science" card on the table. Evolution and millions of years isn't observable, testable science. It's a theory that has no proof; just many voices that try to fit pieces together in an effort to push the one true God they don't want to acknowledge out of the picture. If you look at the same 'evidences' through the light of what God tells us happened in the last 6,000 years, there is ample proof (using the same 'evidences') that what God said happened did happen.
    Psalm 11:3 "If the foundations are destroyed, what can the righteous do?" Our battle today isn't just evolution/millions of years versus Creation. The Christians who are trying to fit evolution into the Bible are ultimately destroying the foundations of God's Word. His Word is infallible. What He says is truth and when you mess with God's Word you are causing people to question that anything in the Bible is true. Don't be the one to corrupt His Word with lies or you could be the one to lead others on a wide path away from the God who created and loves them.
    +3points
    3of 3voted this as helpful.
    Review 5 for The Lie: Evolution - eBook
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    BOOK HELPS ONE UNDERSTAND THE TRUTH

    Date:January 8, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    ROCKY
    Location:QUAD-CITIES, IOWA
    Age:55-65
    Gender:male
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    AS A PARENT WE HAD TO TEACH OUR CHILDREN THE TRUTH CONTAINED IN GOD'S WORD. WHEN YOU HAVE THE CORRECT STARTING POINT, CREATION ABOUT 6,050 YEARS AGO AND A GLOBAL FLOOD CIRCA 4,100 YEARS AGO EVERYTHING MAKES SENSE. THIS BOOK IS VERY INFORMATIVE AND WE WANTED EACH ONE OF OUR CHILDREN AND THEIR FAMILIES TO HAVE A COPY
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 6 for The Lie: Evolution - eBook
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    FULL of Information

    Date:December 23, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    Schelastic Edu Ctr
    Location:Arlington, Texas
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Ken Ham’s book The Lie: Evolution/Millions of Years, in itself is no lie at all. Now for those who would enjoy a good battle in arguing points about evolution vs. creation, this is not the review for you. I am a firm believer in the divine Word of God because of personal experiences that cannot be refuted by anyone; therefore, if the Word of God says it I believe it because it has been proven true over and over again in my life. That being said, Ken Ham’s scriptural backing along with his historical research has made this book a strong resource for me and surely others wanting to dive into the divine truth about our world and educate themselves. With an amazing history behind him (which is run through at the end of this 25th anniversary edition book) and what seems an amazing progressive future ahead Ken and Answers in Genesis, his ministry, is opening the eyes of many creationists and evolutionists alike.
    I liked this book for more reasons than one. It is an interesting and simple read making it easy for students to begin investigating the topic, in-depth, as early as junior high school. It also has many other resources in its bibliography to expand the study to include the perspectives of other authors, historians, and others writing on the other topics included such as abortion, biblical authority, and religion. As an educator, I teach the importance of coming to a conclusion of your own and investigating on your own, instead of blindly believing what you hear. This book allows you to do so as it presents all sides of the argument, making them plain to see and provides enough for you to think things through yourself. I have no doubt that if you are seeking a book discussing evolution vs. creation you will not be disappointed.
    This book is published by Master Books, a division of New Leaf Publishing Group. Master Books provided this book free for review. I was not required to give a positive review- only an honest review.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 7 for The Lie: Evolution - eBook
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    The Lie

    Date:November 23, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    shadow hunter
    Age:18-24
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Value: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Obviously this book is explaining why evolution cannot be true. To remain impartial I won't discus my own beliefs concerning the creation of the earth.
    For that reason my review will be relatively short. Over-all it was well-written, but extremely boring to read. I've never been a big fan of religious books so that definitely influences my review, However I would definitely recommend this if you were a die-hard christian. It brought up some interesting points (which I won't tell for fear of giving spoilers) I think most Christians would love to explore.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 8 for The Lie: Evolution - eBook
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Ken Ham effectively exposes "The Lie" of evolution

    Date:November 18, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    RDrisk5150
    Location:Oklahoma City, OK
    Age:55-65
    Gender:male
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Ken Ham first wrote “The Lie” twenty-five years ago. This is an updated edition of that book. Mr. Ham is head of ‘Answers in Genesis’, a group of people dedicated to the truth of the Word of God, particularly the first eleven chapters of it. The title of the book “The Lie” refers to the theory of evolution and/or the idea that it took millions or billions of years to get where we are today.
    Mr. Ham writes that Christianity is under attack. If non-believers can foster doubt about the first book of the Bible, it is easier then for them to call into question the rest of God’s Word. “The Lie” says that most every conflict between believers and non-believers stems from a question of authority. It is a case of ‘man’s word vs. God’s Word”.
    Much of our society’s thinking today is based on relative morality, “…that is, a person can do what he likes and is answerable to no one but himself as long as the majority of people can be persuaded that their interests are not being threatened” (p. 34). God has placed a set of standards into our hands in the form of the Bible, therefore, we see the idea of ‘man’s word vs. God’s Word’ played out daily in our culture.
    Mr. Ham believes, rightly so, that there is a religion (a belief system), called evolution, being taught in our public schools today. It is a religion whose faith is in the belief that the universe did not need a creator. They believe that the universe somehow created itself; and it is with this presupposition that they evaluate the universe. Granted, Christians begin with the presupposition that God created the universe; but Christians have a record of our origins written by the only one who was there, the Creator.
    Mr. Ham cautions believers never to give up their presuppositions when debating or discussing with non-believers or skeptics. He says that there is no neutral ground; everyone comes to the discussion with presuppositions based on whatever he or she holds to be authoritative.
    Mr. Ham believes that much of Christianity’s energy is being squandered in addressing the symptoms of godless worldviews (i.e. same sex marriage, abortion, permissiveness, moral relativism, racism) when we should be challenging the foundations of their worldview, and the basis of their authority. One major lesson presented in “The Lie” is that Christians, young and old, need to be taught why they believe what they believe and how to defend that belief. “…always being prepared to make a defense to anyone who asks you for a reason for the hope that is in you…” (I Peter 3:15 ESV).
    The reasons and reasoning in this book are sound. I encourage every Christian to read it, it will strengthen the Christian’s faith in the historicity of the Bible by showing that the first chapters of Genesis, which concern the origins of the universe, can be taken as written and do not have to be altered to fit a secular-naturalistic-humanistic concept of evolution.
    [I was given a copy of this book to review. The opinions stated here are expressly mine unless otherwise note.]
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 9 for The Lie: Evolution - eBook
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    For God uses the 'foolish' to confound the "wise".

    Date:November 16, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    Sufficient in Jesus
    Age:18-24
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Let me say that the world will call us all fools for denying its false gods. However, we know that our God is God of Heaven and Of Earth, and all treasures of Wisdom and Knowledge are hid in Him. When we learn of God we will truly be wise. The attack on Creation is an example of wisdom from God versus the words of sinful rebellious man. Christians who insist on believing what God's Wisdom says about Creation instead of mans reason says about naturalism, millions of years, evolution will be called fools.
    The Lie: Evolution was written by Mr. Ken Ham, twenty five years ago and now republished by Master books, a division of New Leaf Publishing Group, offered free for review. The new edition has matured, Mr. Ham says, and I think that is a perfect word for it. In the first edition, Mr. Ham used evidential apologetics- trying to convince people of creation by the record God left of His handiwork in genetics, the fossil record, and all the other evidence. The problem with this approach is that you can present all the evidence for Noah's flood, and Creation, yet people will still say "Well I didn't hear any evidence for Creation. So much for that." This is what happened to Mr. Ham on a radio show. The ultimate problem was the glasses the man was wearing- his presuppositions. He had so many presuppositions that he could only interpret the evidence inline with his presuppositions. The presuppositions would not let him see any thing other. Now, presuppositions are not the problem. We all have them. We need them. However- they must be presuppositions based on the Word of God, the Truth. When we start with Biblical glasses, we will consistently explain everything from a Biblical perspective. When they start with godless glasses, they will devise a godless explanation for everything, because they must, or they would have to give up their godless glasses. As one evolutionist said- "We cannot allow a Divine Foot in the door...."
    This is so exciting- to realize that evolution does not own the evidence. Evolutionists have the same evidence we have- they are interpreting it differently. As Mr. Ham says "Many documentaries are shown on TV supposedly giving evidence for evolution, but if one turns the sound off, the same evidence can be explained in terms of Creation, and then observational science used to confirm this."
    Why does all this matter? Why should we be willing to look like fools to the world by denying the gods of our age: "science", "evolution", "millions and billions of years ago"? Why not satisfy our intellectual pride and be normal- adding evolution to the Bible? Surely that will produce good kids who can still succeed in the ways of the world? How close to the evolutionary cliff can we drive before we fall into godlessness? The back cover of the book says it all. Churches that accept evolution/ millions of years of death and suffering as God's way of creating are denying the full authority and accuracy of the Bible from the first verse.
    Most Christians, my family included before we met AIG and its books, thought we needed evolution because "it is science- and we need to teach our children science." A good portion of our problem is that we don't understand the real nature of science. That hampers us as Christians, and allows evolution an easy victory because evolutionists claim they are scientific.
    I was on the National Science Teachers Association last week, to see what they think of Creationists, Home educated children, and Ken Ham. None of those words are viewed in a favorable light on that place. A very interesting observation is the frequency of times "what do I do with a Creationist student in my classroom?" appeared as a question in the forum on the NSTA and NEA National Educators association. The answer that the more experienced teachers seemed to give most often was to redirect the student by telling them that "CREATION IS RELIGION. EVOLUTION IS SCIENCE. WE MUST NOT COMPARE THEM" The strongest answer they have to give to creationists is the idea that Creation science is religion and naturalism/ evolution is science? Knowing that we can now focus on figuring out a response to this charge of the false dichotomy- the idea that religion and science NEVER meet. Thankfully, Ken Ham's newly revised and Expanded THE LIE Evolution/ Millions of Years contains two chapters on this very thing.
    As Mr. Ham says, "When lecturing in schools and colleges, sometimes I like to ask the students what can be learned from a fossil deposit. I ask the students whether all the animals and plants contained in the deposits lived together, died together, or were buried together. I warn them to make sure that the answer they give me is consistent with true scientific research. As they think about it, they come to realize that they do not know if the animals lived together... they do not know if they died together. All they really know is that they were buried together." We need to know the true nature of science, what it can tell us and what it cannot. Then we can use science for the Glory of God.
    Mr Ham is the founder and president of the ministry Answers In Genesis, which offers many FREE BOOKS books to read online, including four that I own after I read a good deal of them for free- The Answers Book One, Two and Three, each 300 page book containing 20 or more answers to questions about Creation, Science, God and the Bible. Answers in Genesis also offers hundreds of Free Videos and lectures online in their video section,and hundreds of articles on hundreds of topics- medicine to geology. Visit, read a lot, read often, and you will have been educated in Science and Creation- as well as logic and how to respond to critics in their feedback section.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 10 for The Lie: Evolution - eBook
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Must Read for Everyone

    Date:November 9, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    Kristinbest
    Location:Florida
    Age:25-34
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Ken Ham has done it again. He wrote an awesome book about the lie of evolution/million of years. The Lie: Evolution/Million of Years is an eye opener to say the least.
    This book was an eye opener for me. I have struggled with the idea of Evolution/Millions of years. Since I became a Christian about 12 years ago and began to understand that what the Bible said was the truth and what I learned in school about evolution was a lie. I knew that we weren't from Apes and when I would question my science teachers they never had a response. I used to just shake my head and say okay.
    I think everyone should read this book. I was shocked to learn that some pastors didn't think that Genesis was the truth and the start of our history. Some believe that its either poetry or just a cute story. I would love to meet Ken Ham in person because I would love to discuss this book with him and thank him for writing it.
    Creation the way the Bible says is how it happened and when the time comes I hope more people believe that cause I think they will have to answer to the maker why they don't. I personally believe in the whole Bible and I don't try to question it but pray that I can understand it fully one day.
    I pray that more people take the time to read this profound book and understand it and then go to their Bible and read Genesis and believe.
    *Disclaimer: I was given this book for my honest review from Master Books division of New Leaf Publishing Group
    -1point
    0of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 11 for The Lie: Evolution - eBook
    This review is fromThe Lie: Evolution.
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:May 6, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Z. A. Canter
    This is an excellent book that puts the whole evolution controversy into view. The battle has never been science vs. religion, it is religion vs. Religion. The author shows the roots of the philosophical issues that are the foundations of Creation and evolution. This book is a must-have for anyone who claims that they believe in the Word of God!
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 12 for The Lie: Evolution - eBook
    This review is fromThe Lie: Evolution.
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:May 21, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    Anthony Shuler
    This book is not really an apologetic but rather a review the error of evolution. For a critique of evolution see The New Answers Book by Ken Ham.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 13 for The Lie: Evolution - eBook
    This review is fromThe Lie: Evolution.
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:January 21, 2007
    Customer Avatar
    Rick Richters
    Excellent. Ken Ham hits the nail on the head. Here is the question Ken poses: Who are you going to believe - God or Man? God is an eyewitness to creation and man can choose to believe Holy Spirit inspired scriptures or believe guesses (lies) made by people who hate God. Evolution is an anti-God belief system. Why would a believer go there?
    0points
    1of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 14 for The Lie: Evolution - eBook
    This review is fromThe Lie: Evolution.
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:November 8, 2005
    Customer Avatar
    Velma
    Ken Ham gets to the heart of the matter - which is the fact that distilling the facts taught in the Bible are harmful to the believablility of the Bible as a whole. There are NO transitional fossils to prove Evolution. Mistakes and outright frauds have been perpetuated on all of society, our children in particular - that is the lie. I highly recommend this book - and get to an Answers in Genesis seminar when one comes to your area. I would even travel a great distance to be in one. Check out the website too: answersingenesis.org You will find answers to your many questions.
    +1point
    2of 3voted this as helpful.
    Review 15 for The Lie: Evolution - eBook
    This review is fromThe Lie: Evolution.
    Overall Rating: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5

    Date:February 15, 2005
    Customer Avatar
    Zachary
    Not nearly enough evidence given. Only states his side in detail. Ignores many facts about astronomy and science that resonably conclude the theory of six epochs instead of days.
    -10points
    2of 14voted this as helpful.