Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House How God Makes Babies

Bethany House How God Makes Babies

An age-appropriate introduction to basic sexuality, helping children ages 6-9 understand that God created males and females differently and with a purpose. Hardcover.
Average Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for How God Makes Babies
Review 1 for How God Makes Babies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Keeping it Biblical, Keeping it Real

Date:July 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jim Burns is dedicated to equipping parents with the tools they need to educate their children about sexuality with a firmly Christian worldview. Well known for his resources such as The Purity Code for teenagers, Burns has now turned his hand to colorful, age appropriate resources for children.
How God Makes Babies is his offering for the 6-9 age group, though some parents may choose to read only parts of this book to their children or delay reading it with their children until they are older – depending upon their life circumstances and individual children.
Opening with a special note to parents Burns states:
“Studies show that when children receive values-centered sex education at home, they are less likely to become sexually promiscuous and more likely to have a healthy view of their bodies and relationships.”
This is certainly one key reason why some gentle sex education should take place even in the younger age groups. There are many others as well – glorifying God through our obedience to His plan for sex, educating our children so that they are prepared to resist inappropriate sexual activity that they may otherwise fall prey to due to ignorance, and many others.
God’s plan for sex should be treated respectfully and in age appropriate ways – thankfully How God Makes Babies certainly makes this task easier for parents by being able to open a book, read, and discuss it with their children. I had read through parts of this book with my oldest daughter when she was younger (6 or 7), but I didn’t read through the entire book with her until she showed signs that she needed to understand a fuller picture of human reproduction.
Our discussions together had slowly been becoming more detailed – particularly as she began reading the Bible independently each day. Her questions from Bible readings naturally led into some gentle explanations. We have always told our children in very simple terms that mommies and daddies cuddle together in a special way that only married people do, and that is where babies come from.
When my eight-year-old told me that bulls jump on top of mommy cows and stretch out their pee-pees inside of them (courtesy of a similarly aged relative of ours – sweet girl – and I didn’t mind at all), I knew we had to get a bit more detailed in our talks together. I wanted to be the one to provide the more nitty-gritty details, not someone else. How God Makes Babies provided us with the next step to take in our discussions.
Filled with birth color photographs, How God Makes Babies always places sexuality firmly within the realm of marriage as a normal expression of marital love, for which I am very thankful. Simple anatomical drawings illustrate the differences between boys and girls while using correct anatomical terminology. Protecting your private parts from inappropriate touches is briefly covered. A straightforward, facts focused explanation of the act of marital intimacy and conception is provided along with photos of sperm and egg coming together and the newly dividing embryo. Developmental stages of a baby in-utero are illustrated and described, followed by a description of birth, and explanations of how a new baby changes a family. There are also provisions made for diverse families that may be made up of different configurations than two parents and children (homosexual families are not depicted). Adoption is also covered.
This is absolutely a fabulous book for when you are ready to share more deeply about sexuality with your children. It can be tempting to put off these conversations, but they are vitally necessary to imbue children with a proper, God-honoring view of sexuality. Remember – sex is not bad, it’s a natural part of life, don’t be afraid of sharing about its proper, God-appointed role in life with your little ones.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for How God Makes Babies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 23, 2010
How God Makes Babies, Jim BurnsThe second in the series, geared for ages 6 -9 this book has equally stunning photography and is easy to read. Again, However I dont find it age appropriate for my 8 year old daughter. I am still not comfortable discussing with her all aspects of sexuality. I do however love the fact that the author supports through this book the aspect of sexual purity until marriage. This is stated more than once. He does an excellent job of addressing the issue of sexual abuse in a non-threatening way so as to teach children that these part were specifically and specially designed for the marriage relationship only. I will be using parts of this book now with my daughter and other parts a little later.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for How God Makes Babies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2009
Great book for the curious early elementary school aged child. I like how it shows the size of a growing baby in comparison to food items (one month = cheerio, six months = coconut). My son and daughter loved the book and we had great conversations surrounding it. I received this book free from Bethany House.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for How God Makes Babies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joesette
This is a wonderfully written book! The author tastefully tackles this sensitive subject with just the right amount of information. God and his plan for procreations is covered throughout!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for How God Makes Babies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Pixley
This is a good book for a curious youngster who wants to know exactly HOW God makes babies but isn't yet ready for technical information or drawings. There are photos that show married people and photos that show a mommy with her children, but the photos are super simple and carry the theme of sex is for MARRIAGE and part of God's plan for families. There is a Bible verse for each stage of information, and I felt comfortable using it to answer my 8 year old's questions. YES, actually tells how sex occurs, but the line about sex was super tactful, simple, clear and non-descriptive. This book is not just about how babies develop and are born.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for How God Makes Babies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle Smith
The second 47 page volume, How God Makes Babies (for ages 6-9) understandably discusses the topics introduced in the first volume in more detail. The wonderful photography continues to complement the well-worded text. Making love continues to be used as the preferred terminology and introduced is Gods plan of waiting to share your private parts until marriage. Prevention of abuse is also a theme in this volume, although not covered within the volume intended for younger children.Fetal development is given more detail in this volume, as is infant care. I especially love the photography of actual newborn infants in this volume! I further appreciated the inclusion of midwives with doctors in the discussion of childbirth as well as the suggestion that breastfeeding is the normal way that God has created for infants to receive nourishment. A modest photograph of an infant nursing is featured on that page, and formula is presented as another option. Gods role in forming families as well as individuals is continued and adoption is introduced as another way in which families may be formed. Scripture is interspersed throughout this volume. Warm, approachable, honest, well-written, beautifully photographed.I already own a couple of different volumes which cover this subject, yet Burns are the ones I now prefer. As a former natural childbirth educator and home educating mother of five, I have previously seen a few different resources as well as formed a few personal opinions on how to best encourage a healthy understanding of Gods role in forming humans and healthy reproductive education. I am glad to have found these volumes and I recommend them for Christian homes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for How God Makes Babies
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
colleenb
I received two books from this series. The frist book "God made your body" was more age appropriate for my children and we enjoyed.The second book, "How God Makes Babies", I didnt read to my children. With it being for a little older, I didnt think this was quite appropriate yet. I do think it will be good to read once they are more informed on their bodies. I did read the whole book to myself. I think this is a great book for tactfully teaching your kids about their genetalia and how babies are made. It talks about a man and woman getting married, and that husbands and wives may want to start a family and have a babies. It is more in depth than the first book about describing the male and female body parts. It touched on a bit of keeping your private parts private. It discusses how babies are created from fertilization through child birth. It also nicely touches on becoming a family and how some babies are adopted. I can definitly see reading this as my kids are older and need to know more. Seeing I am somewhat uncomfortable with this topic it will probably be at the older of the age range for this book(6-9yrs).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for How God Makes Babies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2009
This is a very age-appropriate book about how God makes babies. The pictures are beautiful and the words are very easy to understand for children ages 6-9. It's a great way to openly talk with your children about God's unique design and his plan for families.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for How God Makes Babies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Crystal
This book is so beautiful! With each turn of the page, your child will experience lovely full color photos of children of every age and some adults too. This book is targeting children ages 6-9. The text of the book is very age appropriate and easy to understand. It covers Gods plan for marriage and sex. It tells how boys and girls are different and shows a simple drawing of the womb and little boys reproductive organs. It also lets children know that those parts are private and how to say stop if someone touches them in a bad way. Wonderful photos of an embryo and a sonogram picture along with scripture let your child know how special he or she is. I think the neatest thing in the book is how they can give kids the idea of how big the baby is at one, three, and six months! It is hard for a child to understand how large a baby is at various stages and this can simplify things. Then the book lets us see what newborns are like, what they need, how they eat, etc. It lets children know some of the changes to expect in their growing family. I also appreciate the page that tells about adoption. I am adopted and I think this is a neat way to tell children that this option to growing a family exists. As a mother to a 5 year old, I am excited to have this book to share with her soon! Whether you are expecting a new baby or not, even if your child is older than 9, I think this would be a good book to share with them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for How God Makes Babies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Trisha Turner
This is another of several books in the Pure Foundations series by Bethany House Publishers. These books are geared towards specific aged children with this particular book being for 6-9 yr. olds.I really like the books descriptions of how A husband and wife show their love for each other in many ways. It doesnt just start right out with sex; it talks about living together, encouraging each other, praying together. All of these are values we want to teach our children from a very early age.This book addresses the fact that both boys and girls have private parts that are not to be touched except for by a Dr. during a check up or when you are young by a mom or dad helping to keep you clean. I like that the book does say that no matter who it is, touching of private parts in not acceptable and you should tell a trusted grown up right away. Unfortunately, in this day an age, anyone can be a sexual predator so this is an important lesson to teach kids.I love that in the description of the birth it talks about both a doctor and a midwife as a person that helps deliver the baby as well as talking about baby getting nourishment from a mothers breast as well as that sometimes a baby needs formula. I appreciate that the book has a picture of a breastfeeding baby as most books will show a baby being fed from a bottle.This book also addresses adoption and how it fits into Gods plan. Overall this book is a great resource for parents trying to teach their children about sex in a healthy way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for How God Makes Babies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2009
How God Makes Babies is written in the same engaging style as the previous book. It is a 47 page book intended for 6-9 year old children. In this book, Jim Burns covers many subjects, some of which were covered in the previous book: marriage, physical differences between boys and girls, preventing abuse, conception, in utero development, labor and birth, newborn care, families, and adoption. This book provides information from a Biblical perspective to begin a healthy discussion between parents and children.My only concern with How God Makes Babies is that I don't think 6 year olds need to know how parents make babies yet. I realize that each family will have different circumstances and views on this subject, so it is something each set of parents must decide for their own children. While much of this information would be appropriate for 6 year olds, there are a few pages that I would not read until my children were approaching ten or eleven.Those who send their children to school may have to cover the information sooner than those who homeschool. If I were sending my children to school, I would make certain the information was given by me BEFORE it was covered in a class.This book is a perfect size to hold and share with your children. Most of the illustrations are beautiful photographs of families and children. The pages also have cheerful color-blocked text boxes on white pages. The pictures are a delight to children and adults. The books are beautifully designed, and well-written.I recommend this book, although I think parents should use their own judgement on what age to share them with their children. Do not just buy a book, see "ages 5-7" on it, and read it to your 5 year old because that's what the book says. Read the book yourself, pray about it, and then determine if your child is ready for it yet. Every child is different, every situation is different -- let God lead you in your parenting decisions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.