Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Master Books How Do We Know the Bible is True? - eBook

Master Books How Do We Know the Bible is True? - eBook

Have you ever been asked a question that makes you doubt your Christian faith? Something that makes you consider whether or not the Bible is true? Today there are untold voices calling for our attention, and so many of these mock or belittle our faith. From coworkers, those in the media, and even some Christians, the tone has become one of reproach, disparaging the character of God and undermining the authority of the Bible. Here is a book to help bring clarity in a world filled with increasingly vague notions of truth!
Average Customer Rating:
4.438 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 16100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for How Do We Know the Bible is True? - eBook
Review 1 for How Do We Know the Bible is True? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good starting point

Date:February 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kristenph
Location:North Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How Do We Know the Bible is True? is a compilation of treatises on difficult topics by various authors. It was edited by Ken Ham and Bodie Hodge and published by Master Books, a division of New Leaf Publishing Group.
When I ordered the book, I thought it was going to be a whole book that focused on proving the truth of the Bible. It is in a broad sense, but delves into a variety of different subtopics. Some of the chapter titles include:
Is the Old Testment Reliable?
Did the Physical Resurrection of Christ Really Happen?
Did Moses Write Genesis?
Did Miracles Really Happen?
All of those topics do deal with the broad subject of the authority of Scripture, but explore the arguments for and against the each of the questions.
I found the book interesting, but it wasn’t the type of book I can read straight though. (That’s part of the reason for the LONG delay in this review.) I think it is particularly helpful in pointing out the reasons someone might disagree with the Bible’s authority. I have a rather conservative upcoming and still hold to a literal interpretation of scriptures. (For those that are supposed to be literal anyway. Some of the Bible is obviously figurative language. The question for the ages is which is which.) I do think this book helped me to see some of the arguments for different interpretations and also why I do not agree with them.
I do not think this would be a good book to hand to a non-Christian to prove to them the Bible is true. I’m not sure that actually exists, but this book is definitely written with a believer in mind. It’s meant to strengthen existing faith and provide information to help a Christian to defend his faith.
I would recommend this book to others and plan to have my 9th grade son read it. He is always asking difficult questions and I think this book will help to answer some of them.
Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book for the purpose of this review. I was not compensated for this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for How Do We Know the Bible is True? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Informative but dry at times

Date:July 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Homeschoolin Mama
Location:KS
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How Do We Know the Bible is True? General Editors Ken Ham & Bodie Hodge along with 15 other writers (Master Books) is an Apologetic style book that contains essays on over 20 relevant topics on questions that are often asked. I must admit that I had a hard time getting into the first couple of chapters, at times it was way over my head, however I was able to get the gist of what was being said. I was only able to read this book a few pages at a time due to trying to absorb all the information and input from the various authors. Also once you get use to one writers style, you are on to another writer and getting use to their style of writing. Some were engaging while others leaned toward the dry side. Personally, I feel that this book would be good for a High School or College student interested in Biblical Theology. I did find certain parts interesting like How to Properly View Evidence by Ken Ham, What is Wrong with Atheism by Jason Lisle, Evolution - The Anti-Science? also by Jason Lisle, Is the Perpetual Virginity of Mary a Biblical View? by Bodie Hodge, and Polygamy in the Light of Scripture by Roger Patterson (this topic was especially interesting to me given all the recent TV programs covering this topic). I plan to put this book in our home library and have it available to my son when he is older as a reference type book. I do like that the Bible is referred to through out the book, to back up what the author is saying.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from New Leaf Publishing Group's blogging for books program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 225: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for How Do We Know the Bible is True? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
David Shaw
Location:Tecumseh, OK
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is important for a believer to have a strong belief in the Bible. We must adhere to its teachings and proclaim them every chance we get. That means that we must believe that what we find in Scripture is directly from God. When we talk to an unbeliever about the Bible we must give a clear defense of why we believe the Bible is God’s very word (I Peter 3:15).
In the book How Do We Know the Bible is True? Volume 1 is a resource that covers many areas concerning Scripture and shows us how the Bible is the only true word of God. The authors discuss topics ranging from how we can trust both testaments in Scripture, evolution, the resurrection, polygamy and other religions to name a few.
These guys write in a clear and convincing manner. You don’t have to have attended seminary to understand how the authors explain these complex topics (which many other books like these can be to academic). You will find yourself uses the arguments in this book in your discussions with others about the Bible.
If you want a resource to deepen your belief in the Bible then pick this book up.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for How Do We Know the Bible is True? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Book Our Children Need Before They Leave Home

Date:May 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jimmy Reagan
Location:West Union, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It’s not academic analysis but real life that confronts us in “How Do We Know The Bible Is True? Volume 1″, edited by Ken Ham and Brodie Hodge. Yes, it passes the academic test, but it wants us to be able to face an antagonistic world. It addresses the questions the world is asking Christians today. Not only do we have little effect on a world for which we have no answers, but these are the type of questions that pull our children away from Christianity.
The chapters are 28 relevant questions answered by various authors. The first one had me hooked as it answered the question “How Do We Know The Bible Is True?” How would you answer that question? We might answer “by faith”, but that means nothing to the non-Christian. Here and at other places in the book the laws of logic are brought to bear. What could be better in a world that says we believe the Bible against reason. Find out here that though faith will never be taken out of the equation, our belief is not against reason!
In chapters on the reliability of the Old and New Testament we get answers (really good answers) to questions Christian young folks hear on college campuses or at the workplace. I heard these things attacked when I went to the University of Tennessee several years ago and I had to dig hard. I want my children to read this before they get in such a situation. I saw others then have their faith crumble as they had no answers to such things. But there are answers, and this book lays them out beautifully.
Some questions are not as critical as others–like the 3 days of Christ in the Tomb and so which day was Christ crucified on, or issues like polygamy. Others are great! People throw up Bible contradictions, or who wrote Genesis, or how to view evidence. In several places you will learn that carbon dating doesn’t prove a thing because of the assumptions made, that the assumption of uniformity is not legitimate on the part of evolutionists, or best of all, the strongest arguments that evolutionists make is only possible if God exists. You’ve got to read about that great fact.
I highly recommend this book. If Christian young people mastered the contents of this book, far fewer of them would drift away. May the Lord use this book to that end.
I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for How Do We Know the Bible is True? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent apologetics tool

Date:May 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Daniel Mount
Location:Avery's Creek, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How Do We Know the Bible is True? Volume 1 is, at heart, an apologetics book. It seeks to equip Christians to defend the faith. Eighteen authors contribute twenty-eight chapters covering a broad variety of apologetics-related issues.
Issues core to the faith, like the reliability of the Old and New Testaments, and the doctrine of the Trinity are also covered. But these chapters are interspersed with more focused, niche chapters. To say that the book is deeply diverse and varied is perhaps an understatement; a chapter on hermeneutics sits next to a chapter on the Da Vinci Code, and a chapter on the moral incoherence of evolution sits next to a chapter on polygamy. Many books must be read consecutively to be understood; it is entirely possible that this book is better understood if not read consecutively!
However, that is not to say that a consecutive reading of the book is a strain. While there may be a certain logic to grouping big-picture topics and focused, niche topics into their own sections, alternating between focused and broad topics actually offers a rather pleasant change of pace.
Naturally, given the life-work of the editors, a number of the chapters focus on defending the Bible's account of Creation. But with chapters on polygamy, the doctrine of the Trinity, the Da Vinci Code, Laminin, the perpetual virginity of Mary, and whether other religious writings can be from God, the book contains enough new material to commend its purchase to those who already own several of Ham's previous Creation Science books.
In the chapter on "How Did We Get the Bible in English," chapter author Herb Samworth accepts a number of the principles and assumptions of modern textual criticism; however, his treatment is more balanced than many, as he acknowledges an ongoing controversy over the critical text's reliability.
How Do We Know the Bible is True? Volume 1 is a fascinating read, and highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for How Do We Know the Bible is True? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Decent Addition to Apologetic Literature

Date:February 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Emusic82
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ken Ham and Bodie Hodge's new book How Do We Know The Bible Is True? is an interesting addition to apologetics references. The book is designed as a series of questions and answers from several experts in various fields, from biblical scholars and archeologists to philosophy professors. While I disagreed with several points in the introduction to the book, some of the articles proved very useful.
Ken Ham in his introduction argues that the creation story in Genesis "is the foundational history for all Christian doctrine, including the Gospel." Not only does this statement make a very broad assumption, but it gives no theological evidence for it's claim. In my estimation and according to other well known authors I have read, the only fundamental portion of the creation narrative that has any bearing on the gospel is the creation of Adam and Eve, and their fall to sin. Ham's blind assertion also gives him the passion to defend his Answers in Genesis ministry to the point of ostricizing scientists and believers alike that might find a more liberal interpretation of the Gospel but experience God's grace.
There are also some segments of the book that dip into theological debate using literary or philosophical techniques. On the surface, these would seem to argue their point quite accurately. But as is the case with so many other areas of church history, this dismisses a rich body of commentary, church fathers and traditions that have viewed these theological topics for centuries. One such theological question is perpetual virginity of Mary. This is one of the many Marian doctrines of the Catholic church, and while it is easy for protestants to wave these off as "extrabiblical," church fathers dating back to the third century defended those views. This was also around the time that the church decided to establish the cannon of scripture. I think the topic deserves more than an 8 page chapter towards the end of the book.
There are many segments, however that are helpful, such as the reliability of the Old and New Testaments. Debating biblical issues with those in the academic community can be effectively won with archeological, literary and historical evidence.
Overall, I think this book provides a good basis for people wanting to understand a basic level of apologetics. Unfortunately, most subjects are treated through surface level responses. Anyone interested in going deeper, or having more arrows in their quiver will need to go elsewhere.
I was provided a free copy of this book through New Leaf Publishing's book review program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for How Do We Know the Bible is True? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Not Great

Date:December 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cheryl Cope
Location:Nashville, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It must be emphasized that this book is in the field of apologetics. Merely because of that fact alone I must say that it was not “entertaining” or “light”. I don’t have a lot of other books in that particular narrow field so I can’t compare it to other apologetic works so keep that in mind as you read my review.
First, what I liked about it. I liked the fact that there were many different contributing authors. Not only were they experts on the chapter they wrote about but it made it more interesting to read different author’s styles of writing. I liked the many, varied topics included and different approaches to the arguments (one being archeology). It seemed to me that they left “no stone unturned” in the list of topics/arguments included.
This book used logic, reason, and debate in its arguments. There was nothing experiential about it at all. Not surprising, given the topic. Their logic and reasoning seemed sound and biblical to me. I found no fault with it. But I did find it boring, I think in part because I don’t need to be convinced of anything—-I have no lingering doubts as to the truth of the Bible.
For someone who may have some lingering doubts about the inerrancy of the Bible, supposed contradictions in the Bible, the reality of miracles or things like that, this book is just what you need. The authors arguments were sound and very thorough. There was much more here than simply, “because the Bible says so.”
If your faith is under attack, for example if you are a young college student at a secular school, this book may be helpful for you. If you are teaching your own children or young people (junior high age and up) at church this book may be helpful for you .
Even though the title may have alluded that this book may be good to give to unbelievers I don’t think that would be a good idea. People generally can’t be “argued” into the kingdom of God. No matter how well thought out, how true and how well presented the arguments in this book may be, if someone doesn’t want to believe it, they will find some excuse to not believe it. In fact, I believe it would help to send them in the opposite direction. This could possibly be alleviated to some extent if much much prayer were included on your part (the giver of the book), but unless God specifically tells you to give this book to an unbeliever, don’t do it.
To sum up: this book is good for struggling believers, young believers, possibly new believers, believers that teach those categories or if you happen to really like apologetics.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from New Leaf Publishing Group’s blogging for books program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 225: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for How Do We Know the Bible is True? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent resource for home library!

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
STheis
Location:Central Minnesota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How do we know the Bible is true?
Are there contradictions in the Bible?
Is there purpose and meaning in life?
Is the age of the Earth a salvation issue?
My 14 year old son and I have been reading How Do We Know the Bible is True? together since the beginning of the school year. We decided to do this book instead of our regular curriculum.
How Do We Know the Bible is True? is a book of questions and answers by many different authors. Ken Ham and Bodie Hodge are the general editors, and they have done a fantastic job of putting the book together in a logical/sequential fashion. This book speaks to the logical side of my brain, that part of my brain that still longs to do lengthy mathematical proofs. A question is presented, answered/proven, and from then on it is assumed to be true as a basis for answering further questions. This makes complete sense and avoids unnecessary repetition.
Most of the time I read a chapter first, write some study questions, then my son reads it and answers the questions. This works well because I can integrate it right into his SOS curriculum (by creating a custom subject). It also works well because I can see how much he grasps or doesn't grasp. There have been a few times when I haven't had a chance to get it done before he is assigned the book. It is a great reward to hear him say, "Oh Mom, you definitely have to read this chapter. You are going to love it!" (As if I wouldn't be reading it.) Or, "This is my favorite chapter yet!" (Yes, he said that more than once).
Don't get me wrong, it's not an easy read. My 14 year old loves to argue. In an effort to nudge him in the direction of learning debate, I found this book to be an excellent resource for presenting the polite way to argue. If you can get your brain in the right mood, the book is easy to read. Each chapter swells with information and is presented at a fast pace. The authors do not necessarily write out counter-arguments, however it is understood they are writing to answer common objections. Once I pointed out this writing style to my son, he got the hang of it very quickly.
This book would make an excellent resource for your home library. It is full of information and more information and information on where to get MORE information! And it's only Volume 1...there's even more to come! Oh, and I am very pleased to add that the Gospel is presented clearly, making this also a good book to share with your skeptical friends who have questions that may seem difficult to answer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for How Do We Know the Bible is True? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome resource for Christians with questions

Date:November 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
OhioSarah
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How Do We Know the Bible is True? is a book that is written in essay format to provide answers to some of Christianity’s pressing questions such as:
Is the Trinity thee different Gods? by Jobe Martin
Laminin and the Cross by Georgia Purdom
What about the factual claims in the Da Vinci Code? by Tim Chaffey
Is the perpetual virginity of Mary a Biblical View? by Bodie Hodge
Is the age of the earth a salvation issue? by Ken Ham and Bodie Hodge
and more
The first couple chapters, to me, were somewhat technical and it took a few re-readings of sentences for me to grasp everything that was being discussed in relation to the questions but after that the rest of the book was smooth sailing. It isn’t a book though that you will find yourself snuggling up under a warm blanket at night and relaxing with – full of facts and Biblical answers to questions that Christians and non believers have – it is one that needs your full attention.
I found the information such as the historical accuracies regarding the Old and New Testaments to be very enlightening, such as I had no idea that at one time archaeologist and historians claimed that King David never existed until evidence was found that proved the Bible to be true once again. I really did find myself enjoying this book even though the information in it can be heavy at times, it’s a definite must read for Christians who are seeking answers or for those who are Christians who don’t believe in the Bible or non believers who want answers but aren’t finding them in today’s modern church.
Whether you’ve been a Christian for years or are just starting out on your walk with Christ these well researched and documented essays will have you getting out your Bible and getting some answers to questions that have longed plagued Christianity. It isn’t a denominational book – it’s written for all denominations and I really liked the sensitivity that was given in dealing with Mary’s perpetual virginity or not.
**I was given a copy of this book from New Leaf Publishing in exchange for my honest review, no other compensation was given.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for How Do We Know the Bible is True? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic book!

Date:November 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Very Blessed Mamma
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have you ever started reading a book and you just couldn't get into it? Have you ever plowed through it anyways and ended up thinking it was one of the best books you have ever read?
That's what happened to me with this book. I started reading it with my children as part of their school, but when we finished the first chapter we were like, huh? What does that even mean? lol
Ya, we were lost. We went on to the next chapter, and we were still lost. So I stopped reading this with my kids. It was above their ability to understand. (Some of it was above my ability too. lol)
I didn't pick this back up for a little while, but I knew I needed to read it so I could write a well informed review.
As I started reading the 3rd chapter, I was like, hey, this is getting easier to understand. As I kept reading on I really started getting into the book. It became a book that I wanted to read.
How Do We Know The Bible Is True is a fantastic book that really helps you understand how to defend your faith and the Bible.
Some questions you will find answered in this book are:
Is the Bible totally without error?
Did the resurrection really happen?
How do we know that the 66 books of the Bible are from God?
Does the Bible contradict itself?
How were people saved before Jesus came?
What is the purpose and meaning of life?
Did miracles really happen?
Was Genesis derived from ancient myths?
How should we interpret the Bible; should Genesis be literal?
Do you have to believe in a young earth to be saved?
Some things that I particularly liked in this book are:
In the book it is stated that we should always use Scripture to interpret Scripture. What this means is that if you think there is a contradiction in Scripture, use the rest of Scripture to find out what it really means. Something may sound a little off but Scripture can't contradict itself, so really dig in to the Word and you will find the answers.
I really liked how this book sticks to the Bible and the Bible alone. I like that it teaches us that if an outside writing contradicts Scripture, then it is always the outside writing that is in error, not the Scripture.
For example, the view of Mary being a perpetual virgin is not found anywhere in Scripture. In fact Scripture says exactly the opposite.
So where did this view even come from? It came from an apocryphal book called The Protoevangelium of James. This is one of those things that you really have to look at. Both views can't be true. Mary couldn't have been a perpetual virgin and not a perpetual virgin. It was either one or the other. But how do you know which one is true? Well, remember that Scripture does not contradict itself, so if an outside writing says something different than Scripture, then the outside writing must be the one in error.
A lot of outside writings confirm Scripture, but if they don't, then they are the ones in error, not the Scripture. This is something very important to remember because if you believe one outside writing to be true over the Bible, then how do you know that any of the Scripture is really true? Either it is all true, or it is not. You can't pick and choose what you will believe. You can't believe some of Scripture, the stuff you like, and then choose to believe something else in other areas. You can't make the Scriptures fit your beliefs.
Something else that really stood out to me was the books description of the apparent contradiction of salvation by faith or works. Romans 4:2-3 and James 2:21,24 seem to contradict one another.
One seems to say salvation is by faith alone, and the other seems to say it is by works. But as we know, Scripture can't contradict itself, so we really need to look at the rest of Scripture to find out if they really contradict one another. This is one area where reading a little deeper can help you understand that these two verses do not really contradict one another. "Romans 4 is teaching about justification before God; by faith alone Abraham was considered righteous before God. But James 2 is teaching about justification before men; by works (as a result of faith) Abraham was considered righteous before men. There is no contradiction. I can't believe I didn't see this before. One is talking about justification before God. Our justification before God is by faith alone, but men see our works."
I have read over these verses and I don't know if I am seeing exactly what the author is saying. I don't see where James 2 exactly says that it is justification before men, but I do know that Scripture can not contradict itself and it clearly states in other ares that you are justified by faith alone. Romans 10:9 says:
That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved.
I won't keep on. I could go on forever......This book really made me think. It is a book that I will keep on my shelves and that will be required reading for my kids when they get older.
I highly encourage you to read this book. It is great. I got a pleasant surprise when I finished the book and saw that the afterword was written by one of my favorite pastors and authors, John MacArthur.
I really think you will love this book as much as I did. I will admit that there is some content in this book that went over my head, but all in all, i loved this book. It was really helpful. I feel better equipped to defend my faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for How Do We Know the Bible is True? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Creation Apologetics as Foundation to Bible

Date:October 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Heather
Location:WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the reasons we opted to homeschool our children was to instill in them the significance and truth of God's Word. We didn't want them continuously exposed to the theory of evolution without seeing the flip side of the coin. Evolution is taught as a fact in most schools, when it is nothing more than a theory; a theory that takes more faith to believe in than the Biblical account of creation.
Creation and apologetics are a passion in our family. We want not only to read God's Word, but be able to defend it; that others would come to see who our Creator and Savior really is. When I saw "How Do We Know the Bible is True?" available, it was one of those books that stood out. Knowing what Ken Ham stands for Biblically, I knew this would be a book worth reading.
In fact, Ken Ham and Bodie Hodge are more editor than chief authors. They both have chapters included, but there are actually 28 chapters/articles written by multiple studied pastors/scholars. Each chapter focuses on different aspects of the Bible, such as the history, authors, archaeological evidences, inspiration of God, interpretation, inerrancy of scripture, and questions that non-believers and Christian leaders alike would bring up to question regarding it's accuracy/authenticity.
There are a couple chapters written by Jason Lisle that are very informative but had me feeling like I needed to spend more time on his presentation to wrap my mind around his thought processes. We actually have his book, The Ultimate Proof of Creation, but I have yet to read it through. He was at our church last winter and hearing him speak helped with understanding his writing style.
This is a wonderfully put together book with solid answers based on a literal God-inspired Scripture. The various authors come from the same viewpoint, making the topics flow smoothly and giving the reader a lot to hold dear (and share)!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for How Do We Know the Bible is True? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent Resource

Date:October 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
IntelMin
Location:Belleville, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Answers in Genesis, in keeping with their effort to provide believers with salient, easy to read yet powerful books on defending the faith, have provided yet another excellent timely resource with their book How Do We Know the Bible is True? In an age where the validity, reliability and applicability of God’s Word is under increasingly constant attack both from within and without the body of Christ, there is a great need for material to not only provide a response to critics of scripture, but to also affirm what believers should already know to be true, namely God’s Word is the standard for truth. In this regard, Answers in Genesis hits yet another homerun.
How Do We Know the Bible is True? is a collaborative work by a number of excellent and seasoned scientists and scholars from the Answers in Genesis staff. The topics covered in this book are not merely focused on the creation/evolution debate. Unfortunately, many seem to believe organizations such as Answers in Genesis are solely focused on producing material on or discussing only issues focused on supporting a literal view of the Genesis account of creation. While this is certainly a large focus of their ministry and rightly so, Answers in Genesis also spends a great deal of time engaged in the much larger framework of biblical apologetics with Genesis as the foundation upon which the rest of Scripture can be understood from. With that said, How Do We Know the Bible is True? is focused on many of the questions and attacks for that matter that have been levied against the Bible both throughout history and in recent years.
Ken Ham begins this book with an introduction on the relevancy of Scripture as the foundation for the church and for the culture at large. He rightly notes how the vast influence of the evolutionary dogma of millions has firmly lodged itself in the culture, most notably within the church, thus causing doubt to be cast on the validity of the Genesis creation account. Such an influence has led to moral relativism where secular ideals are the mantra. This loss of “faith in biblical authority” as Ken Ham notes is largely the cause for the rapid decline of influence by the church in western society. As noted in other books by Answers in Genesis such as Already Gone and Already Compromised, it is evident the removal of Scripture as the authority for all matters of life has resulted in the catastrophic rejection of God by society at large.
The remainder of How Do We Know the Bible is True is replete with relevant and useful discussions over various topics of extreme importance for every believer. Each chapter is written in a manner to be accessible to both layman and scholar alike. With that said, there are some chapters that engage scientific issues and laws of logic that are arguably on a more advanced level of comprehension. However, even those unfamiliar with certain scientific or logical laws will find the information accessible although the information may have to be read several times to be fully comprehended. Ultimately, all of the contributors to this text do an excellent job of relating the consistency of Scripture despite what those in opposition to belief in scriptural truth might say.
While certainly every chapter is of extreme value and should not be overlooked, there are a number of chapters that address current attacks against Scripture. Two chapters in particular address some of the more current issues du jour, namely the Da Vinci Code and the push by some within the church to accept the Framework Hypothesis of the Genesis account. Tim Chaffey does an excellent job at tersely engaging the fallacious claims of Dan Brown and those who place any sort of validity in the claims made in the Da Vinci Code. While the Da Vinci Code certainly makes for an interesting work of fiction and the accompany movie made for riveting cinema, one must remember it is a work of fiction and should not be adhered to as a serious interlude into historical fact. To do so carries with it grave consequences perhaps most importantly the diminishing of Christ’s divinity, a position clearly at odds with Scripture. Chaffey not only demonstrates the falsity of Dan Brown’s historical claims, he also explicates the biblical claims for Christ’s divinity as well as the historical position of the church fathers on this issue. While there have been more lengthy books written in recent years refuting the claims made in the Da Vinci code, Chaffey provides the reader with an excellent and useful synopsis on why Scripture can continue to be trusted against the false claims made by those who seek to espouse fiction as fact.
The chapter on the Framework Hypothesis, also by Tim Chaffey, is also timely given the increasing acceptance of such a non-biblical account of origins within the evangelical community. The Framework Hypothesis is not exactly a new phenomenon as demonstrated by Chaffey. It actually has its roots in the early 20th century in the writings of Arie Moordtzij with later popularization by Meredith Kline and N. H. Ribberdos in the mid 1950’s. Unfortunately, as noted by Chaffey, “it is currently one of the most popular views of Genesis 1 being taught in seminaries.” Essentially, this view of origins is an attempt to “reclassify the genre of Genesis 1 as being something other than historical narrative. Proponents have attempted to identify figurative language or semi-poetic devices in the text.” Additionally, those who espouse this view aver the 7th day of creation is unending pointing to Hebrews 4 for support of their assertions. Such a position is in clear opposition to the historical nature of Genesis 1-2 as well as the Hebraic understanding of Shabbat as outlined in Genesis 1 and Hebrews 4.
Chaffey does an excellent job of outlining the errors in the Framework Hypothesis from the perspective of proper biblical hermeneutics. He rightly notes the vast difference between the rest depicted in Genesis 2 and that of Hebrews 4. The idea of Shabbat in the Hebraic construct is that of resting from something that is completed which in the case of Genesis 2 would be God’s rest from “divine creative activity.” To superimpose unending rest into the context of Genesis 2 is simply eisegesis and thus is reading into the context something that is not there nor intended to be there. The Framework Hypothesis, as noted by Chaffey, is an “ingenious attempt to reinterpret Genesis 1” convincing many the “plain words of Genesis 1 should be reclassified as something other than straightforward, historical narrative.” Such a position has honestly led to the reclassification of other important segments of Scripture evidenced by the position taken by Dr. Peter Enns and those at BioLogos with their questioning of the need for a literal Adam and Eve or for that matter the recent work by Rob Bell and his seeming reorientation of a literal hell.
Scriptural authority must be recognized from the very first verse of the Bible. Any attempt to reorient the everlasting foundational truths of Scripture to fit that of finite man’s fallible scientific arguments must be rejected. Dr. John MacArthur, in the afterword to How Do We Know the Bible is True? reminds us of the need to preach the word in season and out of season. Unfortunately, the current social milieu positions the truths of Scripture as being out of season. Far too many pastors have succumbed to being motivational speakers instead of heeding the words of Paul in 2 Timothy 4:2: “Preach the word! Be ready in season and out of season. Convince, rebuke, exhort, with all longsuffering and teaching.” Believers, including this reviewer, have been told we should respect other believers “interpretation” of Scripture despite it being in opposition to what is clearly outlined through God’s inspired word. We have been told that to rebuke and exhort is to be too harsh and to call out a fellow believer who is teaching something not found in the pages of Scripture as outlined in James 5:19-20 is not being Christlike. Dr. MacArthur rightly reminds us “faithfully preaching and teaching the Word must be the very heart of our ministry philosophy. Any other approach replaces the voice of God with human wisdom.” He further notes “the human medium has overtaken the divine message. That’s evidence of serious doctrinal compromise. If the Church does not repent, those errors and others like them will become epidemic.” Thankfully, books like How Do We Know the Bible is True? and organizations such as Answers in Genesis are committed to preaching the word in season and out of season. They are committed to convincing, rebuking, and exhorting with all longsuffering and teaching the truths of God’s word. Those seeking an excellent resource of current importance will find this book to be highly useful.
I received this book free from the publisher through the New Leaf Publishing Group Book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for How Do We Know the Bible is True? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
SC2424
Location:Vermont
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Is the Bible true? Yes, I believe it is. So why am I reading a book entitled, “How Do We Know the Bible is True?” Although I do believe the Bible is true, sometimes it is difficult to explain why I do believe this to a person who does not agree with me on that. This book is filled with essays on the topic by Christian authors, dealing with a variety of topics regarding the Bible’s truth and authenticity.
There are chapters on how we got today’s Bible, the doctrine of the trinity, the authorship of the Pentateuch, internal consistency of the Bible, evolution, and many others.
I’d class this as an academic book. It’s not a “read-through” book, as it’s made up of many essays on different topics, but I’d better call it a reference. I do think it’s a valuable reference and addition to a Christian’s library. It’s not a light read, but valuable.
I was given a free copy of this book from the publisher for review. I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for How Do We Know the Bible is True? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fine introduction to current biblical issues

Date:September 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
RDrisk5150
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All in all, a very helpful book which touches on many different subjects concerning biblical reliability and interpretation. At times it ventured more into addressing particular issues in current theology than strictly sticking to reasons or evidence for knowing the Bible is true. Nevertheless, there is no place in the book that one will not be encouraged and enlightened concerning the Bible.
I would have liked for the book to contain an index because some topics were treated in several different essays and it would have been nice to have had that information organized in an index. One thing that I particularly liked about the book was that it had helpful footnotes throughout containing expanded thoughts and sources for further study.
The following are short summaries of the chapters of the book.
Intro: What Does Biblical Authority Have to do With Today’s Church and Culture? Ken Ham
Mr. Ham laments the change in how we used to view the Bubble as authoritative, but now see it as less than that. He sees our nation headed for ruin much like the U.K. He blames much of this decline on the trend of adjusting biblical truth according to the latest scientific theory. He contrasts operational science (what science can observe now) with historical science (scientific views of the past). He calls Christians back to trusting in the historic reliability of the Bible.
Chapter 1: How Do We Know the Bible is True? Dr. Jason Lisle
Dr. Lisle posits that the ultimate proof that the Bible is true is revealed by the instrument that enable us to prove anything at all…the laws of logic. These laws are not learned by humanity, they are innate within use. These laws function everywhere and at all times. They must be supernaturally infused in us by someone. Therefore, if God were not real there would be no logic and we could not know anything.
Chapter 2: Is the Old Testament reliable? Brian Edwards
Listing reasons such as the honesty in biblical writings contrasted with the way we know that other ancient writings omitted anything which showed them in a bad light, fulfilled prophecy, and confirming archaeological finds, Mr. Edwards puts forth a convincing case for the reliability of the Old Testament.
Chapter 3: Is The New Testament Reliable? Brian Edwards
Edwards applies many of the same evidences to the New Testament as he did with the Old Testament in the previous chapter.
Chapter 4: Did The Physical Resurrection of Jesus Really Happen? Tommy Mitchell
A defense of Jesus’ literal physical resurrection from the dead and a refutation of some common objections to His resurrection.
Chapter 5: Is Genesis a Derivation from Ancient Myths? Steve Ham
Mr. Ham compares the biblical account of the flood with the mythological flood story of Gilgamesh and argues convincingly for the superiority of the Genesis account.
Chapter 6: Is the Trinity Three Different Gods? Jobe Martin
Dr. Martin shows how the doctrine of the Trinity is drawn from Scripture.
Chapter 7: How Were People Saved Before Christ Died on the Cross? Steve Fazekas
Mr. Fazekas shows that people in the Old Testament were saved by grace through faith in the Promise of God that He would provided someone who would pay for their sin.
Chapter 8: Did Moses Write Genesis? Terry Mortenson and Bodie Hodge
A defense of Mosaic authorship of Genesis against the alternative Documentary Hypothesis (JEDP) theory, which he also (thankfully) explains.
Chapter 9: Did Miracles Really Happen? Paul Taylor
Mr. Taylor supports the idea that God performing miracles is perfectly reasonable if you believe in a God who created the universe out of nothing. He posits that one’s theology must be correct concerning the six days of creation in order to have a correct perspective on the rest of the Bible.
Chapter 10: How to do “Foolproof” Apologetics. Dr. Jason Lisle
Excellent chapter on “answering a fool” based on Proverbs and First Peter
Chapter 11: How Should We Interpret the Bible? Tim Chaffey
Mr. Chaffey explains methods of biblical interpretation that enable us to better understand the Bible. He also exposes some rather strange interpretations of creation held by William Dembski, a Christian scientist who believes in creation but modified to fit the current popular scientific theories.
Chapter 12: What About the Factual Claims in “The Davinci Code”? Tim Chaffey
Mr. Chaffey exposes the falsehoods and misrepresentations in Dan Brown’s book and reassures believers that we have the full truth concerning Jesus in the pages of the Bible.
Chapter 13: How Did We Get The Bible In English? Herb Samworth
A brief history of how the Bible got from its original languages into English and other current languages.
Chapter 14: Polygamy In Light of Scripture. Roger Patterson
A short chapter presenting God’s original design for marriage and how man has distorted God’s design by introducing polygamy and other perversions.
Chapter 15: Evolution and the Challenge of Morality. Dr. Jason Lisle
Dr. Lisle contrasts the moral standards of God’s Word with the arbitrariness of evolutionary morals. He puts forth a compelling case that all morals come from God…whether atheists believe it or not.
Chapter 16: Three Days and Three Nights. Bodie Hodge and Paul Taylor
Our current culture’s definition of what constitutes a day is different from how a day was defined in biblical times. This alleviates any problems with the biblical record that shows Jesus was crucified on Friday, rose Sunday morning, but was said to have been in the grave three days and three nights.
Chapter 17: Framework Hypothesis. Tom Chaffey and Bob McCabe
A critique of one of the ways people interpret the creation account non-literally. Many times, it appears we are allowing science to interpret the Bible, rather than vice versa.
Chapter 18: Laminin and the Cross. Dr. Georgia Purdom
Dr Prudom shows that, while the cross-shaped protein of Laminin may cause us to think about the reality of Christ, we must get our beliefs and doctrine from the Word of God, the Bible. God may have shaped Laminin the way He did as a vivid reminder of the cross, but our relationship with Him must be deeper than relying on the shaped of anatomical particles to strengthen our faith…or the faith of others.
Chapter 19: How Can We Stand on the Scripture in an Evolution Pushing Culture? Jim Gardner
Mr. Gardner lays out the practical ramifications of an evolutionary worldview contrasted with a biblical worldview. He also shows the flaws in several evolutionary beliefs.
Chapter 20: Is the Perpetual Virginity of Mary a Biblical View? Bodie Hodge
Mr. Hodge presents compelling evidence refuting the ides that Mary, the mother of Jesus, remained a virgin for the rest of her life after Jesus’ birth.
Chapter 21: Why Should We Believe In the Inerrancy of Scripture? Brian Edwards
Mr. Edwards rightly states that a sinless person would always tell the truth. Therefore, the Author of the Bible (God) has given us a book containing Truth, because He cannot lie.
Chapter 22: Are There Contradictions in the Bible? Dr. Jason Lisle
Dr. Lisle presents good reasons that there are no contradictions in the Bible. He also shows why some people allege that there are contradictions and gives rebuttal to these apparent contradictions.
Chapter 23: Is There Purpose and Meaning to Life? Ken Ham
A clear and compelling presentation of the Gospel from creation to the cross.
Chapter 24: Evolution—The Anti-Science. Dr. Jason Lisle
Evolution counts on the uniform design that God put in the universe. They count on this uniformity while denying its source. Why would the random chemical processes that fuel the evolutionary mode guarantee uniformity? They wouldn’t!!!
Chapter 25: What is Wrong with Atheism? Dr. Jason Lisle
Atheists have a problem explaining the immaterial laws of logic that exist in what they claim is a purely material world.
Chapter 26: Other Religious Writings: Can They Be From God Too? Bodie Hodge
The writings of other religions contain insurmountable contradictions which the Holy Bible does not.
Chapter 27: How To Properly View Evidence. Ken Ham
Mr. Ham says that the evidence for evolution and the evidence for creation is the same evidence. Only the interpretation and presuppositions are different.
Chapter 28: Is the Age of the Earth a Salvation Issue? Ken Ham and Bodie Hodge
The authors do not believe that a person’s view of creation prohibits him or her from being saved, but it can affect other aspects of one’s theology and their walk with God.
Chapter 29: Why I am Committed to Teaching the Bible. Dr. John F. MacArthur
Early in John MacArthur’s ministry, his father encouraged him with these words, “Preach the Word.” MacArthur says that this has been his goal ever since…and should be the aim of all preachers and teachers.
I would highly recommend this book. Beginners will get an introduction to issues threatening the veracity of the Bible, and learned theologians will find some of the positions in the book to be fresh and convincing.
My favorite quote comes from Brian Edwards on page 235 when he writes, “A church without the authority of Scripture is like a crocodile without teeth; it can open its mouth as wide and as often as it likes—but who cares?”
How Do We Know The Bible Is True?
By Ken Ham and Bodie Hodge
© 2011
Master Books
[I received a free copy of this book for review]
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for How Do We Know the Bible is True? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unapologetically Bible-Affirming Apologetics!

Date:August 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sirius Knott
Location:Charleston, WV
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ever since the publication of Already Gone (and more recently Already Compromised), Answers in Genesis has been increasingly pumping out general apologetics materials. Why? Why not just stick to creation apologetics? Because the results of the survey upon which Already Gone is based revealed that our children have basic questions about the reliability of the Bible and that many of them cannot even explain basic doctrine, though they have tons of “Bible stories” pretty much burned into their brains. Worse still, the average guy in the pew cannot answer their questions and their clergy are being increasingly indoctrinated in compromise positions of the Bible [see Already Compromised by Ken Ham & Greg Hall for more on that]. As in Spurgeon’s day, Christianity is once more on the “down-grade” – and we must do everything we can to stop it!
This volume touches upon 28 relevant apologetics issues providing Biblical answers to questions such as:
•Was Genesis derived from ancient myths? Did Moses write Genesis? Is the age of the earth a salvation issue?
•Are the Old and New Testament Scriptures reliable? How did we get the Bible in English?
•What about the “factual” claims of The DaVinci Code? Did the Resurrection really happen? What about miracles?
•How do we make sense of the Trinity and does the really Bible teach this doctrine concerning God? Does the Bible teach the perpetual Virginity of Mary? Does it condone polygamy?
•Is the Bible inerrant? Do the Scriptures contain contradictions? What about other religious writings?
Contributors to this volume include Ken Ham, Bodie Hodge, Jason Lisle, Brian Edwards, Tommy Mitchell, Steve Ham, Jobe Martin, Steve Fazekas, Terry Mortenson, Paul Taylor, Tim Chaffey, Herb Samworth, Roger Patterson, Bob McCabe, Georgia Purdom, Jim Gardner and John MacArthur (who delivers a truly inspirational Afterword). I also enjoyed Dr. Purdom’s discussion of laminin and her warning against seeking after signs; her thoughts meshed well with Ken Ham’s discussion on how we ought to use evidence and how we ought to avoid continuing to use once-cherished evidences that have proven to be false. I could not in good conscience end this review without recommending Tim Chaffey’s assessment of the “factual” claims of The da Vinci Code, and Chaffey and McCabe’s excellent analysis of Framework Hypothesis. Lisle also provides some bite-sized excerpts of his arguments on from The Ultimate Proof of Creation.
We need to arm ourselves with good apologetic resources like this one because, as Jim Gardner notes, “This [culture] war is really about the authority of Scripture. Either God meant exactly what He said and said exactly what He meant regarding the creation account, or He didn’t” [p. 210 - brackets mine]
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for How Do We Know the Bible is True? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly recommended

Date:August 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wanda Myers
Location:Dublin, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once again we see evidence that Christians and non-Christians alike are having difficulty in believing the Bible to be true as a result of evolutionary teachings inside and outside of the church. Ken Ham and Bodie Hodge have co-edited a book that includes chapters from several well know authors and takes on 20 relevant issues in the debate over the infallibility of scriptures. This book is hard hitting and thought provoking and will challenge every Christian to give an answer for what we believe.
I received this complimentary copy from New Leaf Publishers for this review. A positive review was not required and the opinions expressed here are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.