Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House God Made Your Body

Bethany House God Made Your Body

A picture book for children ages 3-5, providing the basic foundation that God created our bodies as boys and girls and wants us to honor him. Hardcover.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for God Made Your Body
Review 1 for God Made Your Body
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 23, 2010
This book does an excellent job of describing in easy terminology the body and what makes boys and girls different and the same. It starts off with the statement that God made boys and girls. I think the photographs are wonderfully captivating. Although I agree with being open and honest with my 4 children about their bodies I found parts of this book to be a little uncomfortable. I am not sure that the ages of 3 to 5 is the time I want to discuss how a mommy and daddy come together in a special way called making love. Nor do I feel comfortable discussing with my toddler the sperm and egg and resulting embryo. I have no problem with telling my children the anatomically correct names of their body parts, though we prefer to call them our private no touch zone. I am just not comfortable going into great detail at this age as to the function of these parts.I do understand the authors reason for writing this book as children are being exposed to these ideas and images at a very early age because of our over-sexualized world. However, I do not feel that I am ready to be so bold and open with all things at this early age. If you are looking for a book that is very matter of fact on all issues of sexuality this is the book for you. If you are not quite ready to show diagrams of the body and have a description of their function this is not the book for you.I do think that this book is one of the best for this subject as the author approaches it with a biblical view, giving God the credit of His creation. As my children begin to ask questions it will be the one I use with them. I have viewed other books on this subject and have not found them as well thought out. I t is obvious that this author has a heart to educate children in such a way that sex, and their body are not shameful, but to be guarded until marriage and kept pure.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for God Made Your Body
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2009
Great foundational book for preschoolers. Beautiful pictures and very age appropriate language. I received this book free from Bethany House.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for God Made Your Body
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joesette
Jim Burns did a wondeful job of explaining the differences between boys and girls in a tasteful, educational and understandable way. There is enough info to teach the topic without crossing the line of TOO MUCH INFO for little ones to handle. I love the fact that he gives scripture references!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for God Made Your Body
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle Smith
In Burns' first 32 page volume, God Made Your Body (for ages 3-5), I want to highlight the two font sizes of text. The larger font size contains one simple sentence on either every page or every other page. After reading the book and thinking it through, I realized that for the younger end of this recommended age, the larger font size alone could be read. Most 3-4 year old children simply will not have the patience for the reading of the complete text, as engaging and developmentally appropriate as the accompanying photographs may be. They simply will want to turn the pages too quickly. Although the inclusion of the two font sizes is not explained in the introductory letter to parents, I believe this is the authors intent.I also want to note that in the smaller font size the term making love is included, so parents may want to consider whether to read this terminology or substitute a different phrase. Emphases in the first volume include Gods creation of individuals, their similarities and differences, every individuals worth to God, fetal development, infant care, and the God-ordained role of the family. Lovely, heartwarming photography is included throughout and multicultural images are used. This book appropriately closes with an excerpt from Psalm 139.I already own a couple of different volumes which cover this subject, yet Burns are the ones I now prefer and I am considering purchasing the other three volumes in this series. One is designed for pre-teens, another for teens, and the final one is for parents. Do consider the recommended ages listed on these volumes as guidelines. For example, many children may not be interested in nor sit still for the complete text of the first volume until age 5 or 6. As a former natural childbirth educator and home educating mother of five, I am glad to have found these volumes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for God Made Your Body
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
ColleenB
So I read the book to my children,"God Made Your Body", and felt fine with it. It talked about the many differences like hair and eye color. It did give some information on the differences of boys and girls genetalia and that "a mommy and daddy come together in a special way called making love". They spoke briefly about the sperm and egg and this is how babies are made. I think this was written well, and while I felt a little uncomfortable it was brief and to the point. They then talked about how babies grow in the mommys tummy and are born, then about family. I think this book is a great starting point on talking to your kids about their body.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for God Made Your Body
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2009
Another book by Jim Burns. This is actually a series of books called "Pure Foundations". I loved this book, probably because it's for the age range of half of my kids. This book is appropriate for ages 3-5 years and it's great. I love the descriptive words and great pictures. I haven't read this to the girls yet but I plan to. This is a great book to encourage kids to be comfortable in the bodies that God gave them, how God created male and females to be different and how babies are made. It also teaches children that everyone is fearfully and wonderfully made. I loved this book!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for God Made Your Body
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Crystal
This is a lovely book about how unique God has made each person. The target age for this book is children 3 to 5 years old. It is a well written and easy to understand with beautiful full color pictures. It does and excellent job showing children that we are all different and special because God made us. From our skin, eye, and hair color to our talents and senses we are all unique! We are shown age appropriate drawings of the difference between girls and boys. Children get to see that grownups come in different shapes and sizes too. This book covers how a baby is made, where it grows, and size comparisons to help children understand how big a baby is at one, three, and six months. This book is a constant builder of self-esteem as it tells the child over and over how special he or she is and how important they are to God and to their families, weather they were born into them, or adopted. I cant wait to share this wonderful book with my five year old daughter!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for God Made Your Body
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Trisha Turner
This is one of several books in the Pure Foundations series by Bethany House Publishers. This particular book is geared towards children age 3-5. The purpose of the Pure Foundations series is to teach children about sex in a healthy home environment. This can deter a child from only having a media eyes unhealthy view of sex and sexuality in general. It also incorporates how God made each child special and this can also lead to a healthy self-image.I really enjoyed the interactivity of this book. As the book describes how God has created everyone special, it also asks the child questions such as What color are your eyes? and What are you good at doing? The book really facilitates conversation between the reader and the child. This book also brought up conversation between my husband and I. Since our little girl is only 18 months at the moment we were able to discuss the use of certain terminology. The book is very medical in nature in that it uses the words penis and testicles as well as vagina and womb. This got us to thinking about whether or not these are words we want our daughter taking off with her to school. Is it appropriate for a 3-5 year old to use those terms or would we like to use something different? However, the book isnt 100% consistent in its grown up talk as it then goes on later to talk about mommies fixing owies. I really like that the book talks about both doctors and midwifes delivering a baby as well as those families that are blessed with adopted children. The book concludes with a short prayer of thanks and a scripture passage. Overall the book really is great for gradually introducing a child to the differences between boys and girls as well as for introducing the concepts of making love and the development of a baby.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for God Made Your Body
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2009
God Made Your Body covers several topics with children in its 32 pages. It is recommended for children ages 3-5. The book begins with talking about how God created each person, with unique gifts, appearance, and personality. It then moves on to talking about the physical differences between boys and girls. It uses accurate medical terms, so children grow up knowing the correct terms. Jim Burns then explains in an age-appropriate way how babies are made, using a part of Mommy and a part of Daddy (again using accurate terms for sperm and egg). The book closes with discussion about differences in families, extended family, and adoption. This is an excellent book! My only concern with the entire book is the term "making love" is used to explain how a Daddy and Mommy come together to make a baby. That isn't a term I've ever used with my 3-5 year old children. When my children are around age ten and they get the full-facts of the matter, I tell them that is one of several terms that is used. At this point, I'm not comfortable using that term with young children, so I've omitted that phrase.This book is a perfect size to hold and share with your children. Most of the illustrations are beautiful photographs of families and children. The pages also have cheerful color-blocked text boxes on white pages. The pictures are a delight to children and adults. The books are beautifully designed, and well-written.I recommend this book, although I think parents should use their own judgement on what age to share them with their children. Do not just buy a book, see "ages 5-7" on it, and read it to your 5 year old because that's what the book says. Read the book yourself, pray about it, and then determine if your child is ready for it yet. Every child is different, every situation is different -- let God lead you in your parenting decisions.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for God Made Your Body
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lauryn Abbott
I just received the most wonderful little book for children, about their bodies. God Made Your Body by Jim Burns, PhD, is a Christian book for children ages 3 5 years old, and it covers anatomy, very basic sex education and where babies come from, that is age appropriate. It emphasizes the importance of family and that God loves and created each of us. It even touches on adoption and includes Psalm 139:13-16. I highly recommend this book to parents who have very young children in the home.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.