Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson What's Age Got to Do with It?

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Thomas Nelson What's Age Got to Do with It?

From the wife of TV talk show host Dr. Phil comes a call to authentic, ageless living! In a culture that's gone gaga over beauty and youth, mature women can be deceived into believing they're "past their prime." Learn why Robin believes otherwise---and how vitality, meaning, and satisfaction can be found at any age! 240 pages, hardcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.111 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for What's Age Got to Do with It?
Review 1 for What's Age Got to Do with It?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book

Date:February 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Melody
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was so good I purchased two more for my daughters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for What's Age Got to Do with It?
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2009
Robin McGraw was the perfect person to write this book. She enjoys doing research and is passionate about maintaining good health. As she has protected her own, she wants to help other women keep or improve theirs. As a result, the book is full of valuable information.When I first began reading it, however, I felt a little overwhelmed. Robin shares what she has researched, what she does, and suggestions from the many experts who advise her. As I said, the book is full of information. As a result, if I tried to do everything Robin suggests, I think Id run out of time, money, and energy in the attempt.But this isnt what Robin tells us to do. She reminds the reader several times that she is sharing what she has learned and what works for her. Its the readers responsibility to use the information wisely to meet her unique health needs. In other words, I can choose one or two ideas to try from the categories that concern me to discover on my own what works for me. Robins book arms me with the information I need to do this well. Her research gives me a place to start. In some cases, her trial and error experiences may even save me some grief.I appreciated, too, that its not a book about how to look young forever. Robin mentions that, as a mother of adult children of whom shes proud, she wants to look like their mom, not their sister. But she also wants to look healthy for her age and to be confident about her appearance. If youre looking for information on caring for your health and appearance at any age, this book may be useful to you.Robin closes with a beautiful account of her personal, salvation story. Then she reminds us once again why she wrote the book. She wants to help women all over to live long and healthy lives, to be there for their children and grandchildren, and to enjoy watching them grow up, too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for What's Age Got to Do with It?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Karen
Robin McGraw is the wife of Dr. Phil, so she has access to a multitude of people that the average person would never have access to, and she's had at least a few plastic surgeries. Right? Wrong!This should be a must read for all women! The things that Robin talks about are things that you may hear from an older sister, or a best friend. The most important things I learned: if we don't take care of us, who will? If we don't take care of ourselves, who will take care of our families and friends? We must stop thinking that we are selfish if we take care of ourselves first.There are sections in the book called Robin's Way, which lists what she does for her own fitness regimen, makeup, what she eats, etc. There are other little tidbits called Robin's Rx, which are suggestions for the various topics in the book.There are also Answers from the Experts, where the experts she has consulted with or she personally uses, talk about their recommendations for each topic, and why they recommend them. There are also helpful questions and answers from the experts at the end of each chapter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for What's Age Got to Do with It?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
jean
I hemmed and hawed about reading this book. 1st I'm not 55 or anywhere near it, and 2nd, what could I possibly learn from reading this book? I finally decided to request it. I received it in the mail Thursday and finished it today. So easy to read, and so full of great pointers and practical ideas. The main theme is to take care of your body now, so when it's older you won't face so many problems (through menopause and perimenopause). Some things were a bit overwhelming with all she does to keep healthy (and I don't live in CA or am married to Dr. Phil to afford these things), but she gives great at-home, inexpensive tips to help different areas of life. Her main point as a woman: to take of yourself. It's so easy for mom's especially to let themselves go in the busyness of every day life and how unhealthy that is physically, emotionally and spiritually. And that it's NOT selfish to take time for one's self. You are only helping everyone else by being at your best.A great, easy read that is personable. So informative in the area of what is going to happen to my body in the next 10-15 years. Great advice of how to take care of my body whether it be physically (appearance, make-up, working out, how to dress, etc.) which feeds into the emotional, and the spiritual to keep the connection to God open and know that He's always there with me. I'd suggest this book in a heart beat. (And every time she referenced her husband, I never thought of him as Dr. Phil as she calls him Phillip...which helped a lot).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for What's Age Got to Do with It?
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ann Hibbard
Mrs. McGraw expresses that her motivation for a healthy lifestyle is based in her personal desire to look and feel great and to be the best wife and mother she can be for her family. These are wonderful motivations, but they are not Scriptural. 1 Corinthians 10:31 outlines what our motivation as Christians should be: Whether, then, you eat or drink or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God. Mrs. McGraw does include scattered references to her Christian faith and her reliance on God, and closes the book with a brief discussion of her salvation experience and reliance on prayer. Christ is referred to as her inspiration, and it is my understanding of Scripture that the glorification of Christ should be the full essence of what we do, not the inspiration to do good things for ourselves.As for the books practical applications, I was pleasantly surprised. Mrs. McGraw has composed one of the better self-help books on living a healthy life. She has a wide variety of resources available to her due to her social and financial status. But rather than using those to insist that the high-cost resources are the only solution to true physical health, she draws upon her resources and experiences to share very practical and feasible ideas with women from all walks of life. Mothers with children underfoot and no money to spend can find as much help as women with an abundance of time and financial resources. My only complaint from a practical perspective was chapter length. The chapters are quite long and have no natural breaks until the expert advice sections at the end of each chapter. Although the book was very easy to read, I frequently felt that my moments of reading here and there (as many mothers must do!) required that I stop in the middle of a thought rather than at a natural break. Would I recommend this book? I believe so! I would, however, also supplement it with resources and Scripture passages that teach Scriptural motivation for a healthy lifestyle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for What's Age Got to Do with It?
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Deena Peterson
Age. Aging.Yup, it affects us all. ?NO! LOL!! But it's a book for women of all ages, so that if your health isn't what it should be, you can make changes while you're young. Robin McGraw gives lots of practical advice on how to maintain or regain your health and healthy attitude.But you'll find help in each area of caring for yourself in Robin's new book, "What's Age Got to Do With It". And Robin is a woman of faith,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for What's Age Got to Do with It?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2009
It is as if Robin is sitting right there with you sharing tips and thoughts about life and how to take care of yourself. Robin packs this book with her own experiences and personal tips along with expert advice from professionals that she relies on for advice and help to take care of herself each day. I believe that there is something for every woman in this book, no matter what stage she is at currently.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for What's Age Got to Do with It?
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Becky
In What's AGE Got to Do with It, Robin McGraw talks about how and why women should be their best. She talks about points in her life at which she knew she had to make decisions to accomplish just that. She attributes her mothers early death to the fact that she did not take time for herself, and says that her sisters all struggled with their weight. Robin wanted to plan caring for herself so that she didn't repeat their mistakes.Early in her marriage, Robin learned how to take time for herself, figuring that if she did that, she'd be both a better wife and a better mother. While I agree whole-heartedly, I dont know that taking time for yourself is very easy in this day and age. I agree with Robin, though, women will reap the benefits of taking time for themselves over the years if they start when they are young. It's never too late, though! Robin puts the things she thinks are important right out there. She talks about fitness, nutrition, skin care, hormones, hair, makeup, fashion and faith. She outlines the things that she does to take care of herself in those areas, but she is quick to say that each woman has to find what works for her. Although I didnt find much that was really new in Robin McGraw's book, I thought what she wrote was practical and would be a lot of help to women who dont have people to remind them that they are just as important as the other members of their family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for What's Age Got to Do with It?
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lauren Caldwell
I was reading Robin McGraw's latest book, What's Age Got to Do with it? at the same time as i was reading a book about Mother Theresa. Some might think I am in two different worlds with these two books.Both are famous women. One woman was viewed as a dear saint and rescuer of the poor and dying. Then there's Robin McGraw, wife of Dr. Phil, living a fairly opulent lifestyle in California, famous not for serving the dying but the living, not writing about the secret, internal life but about the physical life, and how to care for the body.I wasn't particularly interested in the development of the subject of the book- but that's because I don't have many questions in the area of how to physically age with grace, what anti-age cream to use, how to redefine the arch of my eyebrows, etc. (Look at the almost non-existent arch of my eyebrows and you'll see I don't care!).I was hoping, based on the title of the book, that the book would dig deeper into issues we face when we age: fear over the future, diminished self-respect for our aging, wrinkled bodies, confusion about our role or our place in loved one's lives. The book didn't go there. When it was listed under the subject heading of "Practical Living", they meant practical- as in physical and "hands on".I won't poo-pooh her advice or the context from which she wrote this book. Her mission statement seems to be about the grace and the power we authorize our self with when we are taking care of our physical body. But more than that, it was good to read two different kinds of books at the same time and remember that as saintly as we want to be, we are still human and we can't forget that. We can have a deep inner spiritual life- but we have a physical life too. That's simple, plain truth for real people on a spiritual quest.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.