Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Courting Trouble

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Bethany House Courting Trouble

Essie Spreckelmeyer loves her hats, her snakes and her bicycle--Peg, for short. But the one thing she wants to love, but can't, is a husband. The year of her thirtieth birthday, Essie creates a list of potential husbands to catch...but the catching, and the unintended consequences thereof, might cause her more trouble than it's worth.
Average Customer Rating:
3.566 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
11
4 out of 667%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Courting Trouble
Review 1 for Courting Trouble
This review is fromCourting Trouble - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Journey of Love is Not Always Easy

Date:January 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sqwiggles
Location:California
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I thought that the book started out a little slow. It was hard for me to be interested in it at first. It started going in one direction and then all of a sudden the story changed. I think that’s the point where it started to interest me. I actually enjoyed the book. I liked Essie and I was always rooting for her. What I enjoyed about the story is that it was different and unique. It was unlike any other story that I have read. I love that Gist wrote about a touchy subject and that Essie made a huge mistake, but she was able to overcome and move past it. It’s an extremely realistic story of things that really happen in the real world. Most love stories are not perfect and sometimes it’s refreshing to read a book that isn’t a carbon copy love story that I have read hundreds of times.
A few reviewers have mentioned the sex scene in the book. It is not descriptive at all. The book does discretely discuss what happened between the characters, but it’s not something that should stop you from reading the book. I do not understand why some people are uncomfortable with sex. This is far from an erotic novel and it’s a little annoying that some readers made such a big deal over the scene. If you get grossed out or embarrassed over any mention of a sexual encounter then this book might not be for you. If you are mature enough and can handle it, then you will enjoy this book. Humans are not perfect, we make mistakes. God can forgive us of our mistakes and make us new again. That’s what this story is about.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Courting Trouble
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Quiet Eccentric
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So because I'm already a huge fan of Deeanne Gist, I knew the day would come when I would finally read the story of Essie Spreckelmeyer. I'd put it off for quite some time and read most of her other books, before eventually coming to these two stories.
This book was wonderfully written and researched, and it told a story of sin and forgiveness. Now, I almost stopped reading it, because as many have said, it was quite descriptive in it's sexuality. However, I kept reading and I found the whole story to be quite beautiful. Although it's set in a time far different from our own, it is a tale that rings true for many girls in our society today.
Essie may have made a mistake, yet she didn't let it consume her and turn her into someone filled with hatred and shame. Yes, it caused her, and her family a great deal of pain, and yet they moved on and realized that life wasn't over just because she had pre-marital sex. The important thing was that she repented and never did it again.
Now, I wouldn't recommend this book to just anyone. I certainly wouldn't give it to any preteen! But for those who understand what the story is about, and take a step back to see the big picture, it tells the tale of many broken hearts; many who, I'm sure, never recognized God's precious gift of forgiveness.
Now I haven't had so much as my first kiss yet, so I can't pretend to relate to Essie and what she went through, but I know for a fact that many young girls fall into the trap and then they end up feeling like they aren't worth anything anymore. I'm grateful that Deeanne gave Essie a loving family to support her in her struggles, and to help her see the truth: that God's mercy extends to all, even those who feel like they're damaged goods.
If you read this entire review, then I am extremely proud, because even I don't read them when they get this long. :) However, if you are still interested in reading this book, then I would say to go into it with an open and understanding heart, and have fun! After all, what good is reading a book if you aren't enjoying yourself! Corsicana is a place worth visiting, and I won't soon forget my trip.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Courting Trouble
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Just terrible

Date:May 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
AmyM
Location:USAF Germany
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I loved A Bride Most Begrudging and A Measure of a Lady, but this book was horrible!! I couldn't believe how descriptive it was regarding sexual encounters and the plot was terrible. After I read it I had no interest in buying the second book and gave this book away to a used book store. God is rarely (if ever) mentioned. Poorly done. I probably won't be buying any of her books unless I can skim them in the store. Like a lot of women said, this book was more about sex than God.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Courting Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun story

Date:April 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sharon D. Oliech
Location:Minnesota
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed this story! I just wished it would have ended with Essie marrying Ewing. : ) I enjoyed reading how Essie began growing in her relationship to the Lord, and how her father showed Essie she needed a personal relationship to Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Courting Trouble
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This story started real fun. I enjoyed it a lot. Even the sex part was not as shocking as some of the previous reviewers believed it was.
But I found the ending not satisfying. Ofcourse the story will continue in the next book, so maybe I will read that one too.
I think there are some serious lessons in this story.
Always put Christ first, above our own selfish longings. Essie struggled with it, but she conquered in the end.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Courting Trouble
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Ending spoiled the whole story

Date:January 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Krista
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I enjoyed previous books by D. Gist but very disappointed in this, although just the ending. I doubt I'll read the sequel. I enjoyed it until the last couple chapters. I didn't feel the story was too explicit with the sex, not in comparison to other romances novels. The story dealt with real-life situations and consequences of our decisions. I wouldn't actually encourage someone to read it but also think girls struggling with a similar situation could benefit. Same point could have been derived with a different ending. I don't like feeling sorry for characters at the conclusions & did for several in the story. I hope the town gossip is dealt w/in the sequel but doubt I will read & find out. I bought this book & wish I would have borrowed instead; a waste of my money!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Courting Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jamie
I was encahnted by this book. It is not the typical book and I couldnt guess at the ending. I cant wait to read the follow-up and find out what happened to Essie. I just discovered Deanne gist's books. This was my fourth one in six days. The "immoral choice" others have referred to negatively- dont we all make immoral choices- otherwise, we wouldnt need Jesus. I WOULD recommend this to teen girls, to illustrate what happens with certain choices and not being patient for God's work to be done. And redemption is what we all should be about. Thanks for the best book I have read in years, Christian or otherwise.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Courting Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Hannah
i read it and i loved it ... some of the comments really dont make sense to me because what use is christian books if they dont attack real life issues. As Christians i think we sweep under the rug the most important topics that effect people everyday. there is no reason to be all high and mighty about a topic as non marital sex. because it happens and we are so hushy hush about it that young girls go into life having this banner stating "I dont know" and get sucked into the worlds lies... So bravo to Deeanne for exposing every young ladies feelings
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Courting Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
cindy
I was disappointed in all of the reviewers who condemned the book without finishing it. Where would any of us be if God finised reading the story of our life when we sinned?None of the so called "scandalous" scenes were graphic. This is a book of God's forgiveness and picking up the pieces after sin. I prefer to read about honest struggles of realistic characters than the unrealistic protrayals of Christians who are so perfect that make those of us who live in the real world want to puke. As others have said this is an excellent book and I echo their sentiments. I will be reading other Deeanne Gist Books as well as giving this book to my teenage daughter to read.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Courting Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tina
I have never reviewed a book before but after reading all the negative ones - I felt compelled to write one. In the last week I have shamelessly read 4 of Deeanne Gist's novels and have loved every single one of them. Courting Trouble and Deep in the Heart of Trouble, especially. Yes, they may be bold for christian novels but that doesn't take away from their message. Having read some pretty scandelous scenes in non-christian books this does not compair on ANY level. I have never felt more dirty and uncomfortable in my life when I was reading those non-christian scenes. However, I never felt unease or the least bit digusted while reading any of the scenes in Gist's novels.I consider myself to be most like Essie and although I am not 'soiled', I am still human and have fallen. These books brought me to tears and even repentance for I too have put the wanting for God to bless me with a boyfriend/husband before my Him.This book in no way endorses the sexual behaviours in this book but instead, shows us that we are human and therefore, are weak in many areas of our lives.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Courting Trouble
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:December 20, 2009
This is an embarrassing book. I won't be finishing it. In another review the one commenting said that we like some romance to our books but not this much. I say that this isn't romance. It's only lust. I was very disappointed with Deanne Gist. I was looking forward to a much better book.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Courting Trouble
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sharon Mills
This book was a little slow getting into, but once I did, it was hard to put down. Essie was incredible, given to imaginings, laughter, willingness to give herself, and a born leader. Great lead in to book 2.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Courting Trouble
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Wilbur
This is a delightful story. Light hearted and fun to read. I really enjoyed it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Courting Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sara
I appreciate the author's reality in her writing. Granted the detail is more descriptive than the norm, but that only makes the story more realistic. We are each faced with making decisions that may have life altering consequences. This story tells us when we make decisions that do not align with what we KNOW is God's teaching or we try to rush God's plans for us, things do not turn out like we thought they would. There can be redemption, but our road is longer and more painful than if we had waited on the Lord. These issues are what our young women are facing today in the real world.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Courting Trouble
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Casey
Essie Spreckelmeyer is impulsive, immature and completely unaware of the dangerous consequances of sin. In many ways this book speaks of the longings of my own heart. Essie longs for a husband, especially at her old maid age of 30. She tries to rope one into her clutches, but when that fails, she is in despair and turns to a drifter who has managed to steal her heart. Allowing herself to be swept away, Essie ends up loosing much more than just her heart. I thought there was a bit too much sensual language, but none of it when into grafic details. This story has a potent message to women out there of today. The consequances on not keeping yourself pure and waiting on the Lord. Ultimatly this story is not about Essie's grave sin, but of the fact that she was not trusting God to take care of her future. If she had waited on Him instead of taking matters into her own hands, she would have been much better off. And when she discovers that revelation, and learns to forgive herself, she is able to pass on the Lord's love and forgiveness. Though not sure I would own this book, I would certainly encourage someone struggling to be patient and wait on the Lord to read this book at least once. I know after reading it I am affirmed of my steadfast trust and patience in the Lord, who has all of my best interests at heart, and who will someday provide a life mate for me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Courting Trouble
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Nancy Matson
I had to look at the back of the book again to see if it was really a Christian book. I was very sad to think that this author had to bring in sex to her writing. The book would have been so much better without it.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Courting Trouble
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lindsey
I really would not recommend Courting Troubles to anyone. All throughout the book were a lot of sexual talk. Gist's 1st two books were amazing, but she went just too far here. Even though her first was did have some sex talk, it was with a married couple! This book was, well just awful! it is very shaming, and i hope the rest of her books to come are nothing like this one!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Courting Trouble
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Emilee
I really didn't care for Essie's character. I enjoy Christian fiction, especially historical love stories, but this was not a love story.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Courting Trouble
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
N Casady
I was quite shocked at the level of description of sexually related situations- specifically with an unwed couple. I didn't finish the book I was so embarrassed and won't be recommending it to anybody. Gist's first book had some of these types of sexually charged situations, but it was in the context of a married couple (however begrudging the bride was), but it didn't get anywhere NEAR this bad. I am honestly quite wary of reading any more of her books. If I wanted to read about sex I'd pick up a harlequin romance novel, not one that is supposed to be Christian. What was Bethany House thinking? Please clean up your novels!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Courting Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Shirley
What I appreciated most was the ending--refreshingly different and very realistic. I was very pleased with the surprise ending.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.