Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Deep in the Heart of Trouble

Bethany House Deep in the Heart of Trouble

Four years have made a big difference in Essie Spreckelmeyer's life. Then she was husband hunting. Now she's wearing bloomers and running her father's oil business. She wouldn't change anything---not even for a man. But when she and competitor oilman Tony Morgan butt heads over business matters, will their hearts reverberate with love?
Average Customer Rating:
4.68 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Deep in the Heart of Trouble
Review 1 for Deep in the Heart of Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It is better than the first one, but read both

Date:December 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jean
Location:Norway
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ms Spreckelmeyer is a hoot to read about. I like her so much.
Lots going on in these two books. Get them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Deep in the Heart of Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Better then the first book...

Date:April 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Quiet Eccentric
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alright, so I wrote an incredibly long review for the first book in this series, so I'll try to cut it short for this one... :)
Deeanne Gist is one of my all time favorite authors, and in this book, she didn't disappoint! It was superbly written and researched and the whole story was wonderful! Deeanne really knows how to pace her stories, when to put the romance and where to add a little suspense.
I'd highly recommend this book to all historical fiction fans, and although it would help to have read the first book, I don't think it would be completely necessary. This is a great love story, and it was certainly worth reading!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Deep in the Heart of Trouble
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
mandi
Location:New Site, AL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love all Deeann Gist's books. This one was no different. Can't wait to read more of her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Deep in the Heart of Trouble
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
E.J.
So far I have enjoyed all of Deanna Gist books except this one. Kind of dissappointing. I am still though going to buy her books though.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Deep in the Heart of Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rebecca Smith
Wonderful book, I enjoyed every moment of this book! This will be one of books that I will read again...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Deep in the Heart of Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rebecca Smith
I truely enjoyed this seaires , I hated to see it end. I love the way Deeanna Gist was able to recreate the past and so true to life on her expressions and emotions of the story. Thank you for the enjoyment of being able to read a lovely story full of hope and love!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Deep in the Heart of Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dianne Reed
I have just started to read Deep in the Heart of Trouble but already I'm into the plot and story line and don't want to lay the book down. I have never read one of Deeanne Gist books that I didn't like. She tells a griping story mixed with history, love and what's going to happen on the next, then the next page.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Deep in the Heart of Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
PT
Great book. Once Essie focused on God, he blessed her with the husband she desired.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Deep in the Heart of Trouble
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sharon Mills
Essie was pure delight. In spite of her troubles in the first book, she emerged the victor and a better woman for it. Tony Morgan had his hands full, but so did God! She was an inspiration to all the women in town, and still is to this generation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Deep in the Heart of Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mary Crawford
I picked this book as my first Deeanne Gist book and was I ever surprised at the fun I had reading it. I found there was another Essie Spreckelmeyer book previous to this one I have ordered "Courting Trouble" and "Bride Most Begrudging" by this same author. Essie is quite a character and each page leaves one wondering what she will be up to next. A definitely delightful book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Deep in the Heart of Trouble
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Janet Mcgee
It was light, easy reading. I enjoyed the facts about cycling and the spunk of the heroine. I would recommend the book to my friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Deep in the Heart of Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Creative Madness Mama
"Deep in the Heart of Trouble" is the sequel to Courting Trouble. They are definitely meant to be read in order. If you skip the first one you will miss most everything that is important that is said, but not quite fully said. Read both and you'll be a very happy reader. *grin*Here we have a girl who messed up on life, but has taken another chance to live. By owning a bicycle club and teaching others various talents as well as running her father's oil company Essie really has an eventful life. She once attempted to find love and found that Christ was the only groom for her. Through this book she continues with that thought until she realizes that quite possibly she is no longer acting solely upon the respect of the relationship she has with Christ, but that perhaps she is using that as an excuse to hide from possible potential.Deeanne Gist weaves together an incredible story with fabulous characters that really get into your heart and under your skin. I feel so blessed to have been able to read this story, both in the first volume and now second. The lessons to be learned and the reflections on your own life are quite educational. This series is a must read for most women, and definitely one for discussion afterward.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Deep in the Heart of Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Shirley
I thoroughly enjoyed this sequel to Courting Trouble, by Deanne Gist. I laughed out loud several times. Authors are always clever when they include characters in their novels who read and love novels themselves. I love Deanne's sparkling sense of humor. This novel was actually worth my time spent reading it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Deep in the Heart of Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 9, 2008
this was a lovely, refreshing book with very real characters and situations. easy to read and absorb and rich in spiritual messages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Deep in the Heart of Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ann Hatfield
Great book. Essie has been one of my favorites. I'm glad she found a man who really appreciates her uniqueness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Deep in the Heart of Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lawrence Dent
I really enjoyed this book. It's the 3rd in a series and I've read them all. I recommend them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Deep in the Heart of Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jan Parrish
Essie Spreckelmeyer, the towns spinster, has a reputation as a forward thinking woman; shes president of the Velocipede Club, has appeared in the newspaper, runs her fathers oil company and has the audacity to wear bloomers. When Tony Morgan comes to town, hes not overjoyed about having a woman boss, yet she intrigues him on a personal level. Essie refuses to have a relationship with one of her employees, but Tony eventually wins her over. Each has a secret that could destroy their relationship. When a murder and a lynch mop are interjected, anything can happen in the small town of Corsicana, Texas.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Deep in the Heart of Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ashley Lanz
Much more Christian based then the book before it. Nice ending to the story. Wouldn't mind seeing sequels to her other books
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Deep in the Heart of Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sherri Prestwood
I was happy with the conclusion of the story of Esther Sprecklemeyer - enjoyed it and the surprises that went with it. Ms. Gists books are interesting and keep us surprised. It was good
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Deep in the Heart of Trouble
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sheri
I love this author. I look forward to all of her books. They have wonderful humor and the charators are not perfect, but lovable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>