Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Truth War: Fighting for Certainty in an Age of Deception

Thomas Nelson The Truth War: Fighting for Certainty in an Age of Deception

Learn from John MacArthur why the emergent church movement is missing the mark with their message. He carefully explains the difference between modernity and post-modernism, and how the emergent movement has assimilated a post-modern spin into the gospel message.
Average Customer Rating:
4.644 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (73 reviews)
5 stars
63
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
5
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Truth War: Fighting for Certainty in an Age of Deception
Review 1 for The Truth War: Fighting for Certainty in an Age of Deception
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jannie
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very timely call for attention to sound doctrine. I bought four more books to give to friends in leadership.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Truth War: Fighting for Certainty in an Age of Deception
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great and Important Book

Date:May 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
GASIMS
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is right in line with John MacArthur's continuous acknowledgement of the absolute need for absolute truth. This book is both convicting and enlightening.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Truth War: Fighting for Certainty in an Age of Deception
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It has clarity that makes it easy to understand.

Date:March 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
john
Location:Maine
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think that it is a great book for a bible study.
It brings out errors in some of the modern day churches and compares them with some of the early church problems that the apostles also had to deal with. I have found it very helpfull in my understanding of the gospel truth from the standpoint of the bible.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Truth War: Fighting for Certainty in an Age of Deception
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Steadman White
John Macrthur always does a great job with his writing. In his book, "The Truth War", he reenforces my feelings toward what I have come to call "The Feel Good hurch". I have not read a book by Macrthur that I did not enjoy while gaining a deeper understanding of my own feelings.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Truth War: Fighting for Certainty in an Age of Deception
This review is fromThe Truth War: Fighting for Certainty in an Age of Deception.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Fred Becker
Read my pastor's copy first and now bought this copy for my library. this is destined for use in sermon prep and Bible study planning. MacArthur's usual thorough work and Biblical backing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Truth War: Fighting for Certainty in an Age of Deception
This review is fromThe Truth War: Fighting for Certainty in an Age of Deception.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Robert Brodeur
Great book there is a fight for the truth. This book helps you understand what is truth, and what to look for that is not truth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Truth War: Fighting for Certainty in an Age of Deception
This review is fromThe Truth War: Fighting for Certainty in an Age of Deception.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mark Carpenter
true Christian Evangelicals will find this book a must read. Apologetics taken to it's highest level.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Truth War: Fighting for Certainty in an Age of Deception
This review is fromThe Truth War: Fighting for Certainty in an Age of Deception.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jim Fraley
John MacArthur hits the issue of God's truth vs deception in this present time head on, and backs it with tons of scripture references. When I presented it to a churchleader in our area he said he was troubled bythe "caustic language on the front cover" andafter reading the Introduction It's interesting that he said "John MacArthur is angry, jealous and a vicious sword." That comment only reminds me of the character of God, who is a jealous God and does display righteous anger againstevil and His word is a two edged sword. AllChristians are to take on the character of Christ and follow to be like Him. We who are of the Christian Faith better engage in the battle for the certainty of God's truth because Satan is waging war against God's people.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Truth War: Fighting for Certainty in an Age of Deception
This review is fromThe Truth War: Fighting for Certainty in an Age of Deception.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Doris Tamblyn
I have personally experienced much of what MacArthur describes. I had loaned this book to someone who unfortunately did not read it and "misplaced" it. I was happy to purchase another copy with study guide. It is a war but unfortunately most of those on "the other side" are not reasonable enough to listen.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Truth War: Fighting for Certainty in an Age of Deception
This review is fromThe Truth War: Fighting for Certainty in an Age of Deception.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Oswaldo Molina
Great job by John M. This book explain how easy can we as a Christian make terrible mistakes not understanding the right way to keep living the true gospel and doctrines.We are living in a time of deception and confusing spiritualy movement.The Bible.true.gospel.doctrines.ect are been changed for many things that are heretic and lies. Great teaching and proof with the Bible this book is a must have in your arsenal I recommended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Truth War: Fighting for Certainty in an Age of Deception
This review is fromThe Truth War: Fighting for Certainty in an Age of Deception.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
David Bell
The Truth War by John MacArthur is timely and desperately needed topic for individual Christians and the Church at large. For truth to be effective it must be prsented in a truthful and honorable manner. Early church fathers believed that character and message were inextricably intertwined. Mr. MacArthur states that with Biblical issues compromise is never appropriate (p. 192). Truth, honesty and character are surely Biblical issues. The way the world works is spin, half truths, innuendo, and being deceptive and misleading. In my opinion Mr. MacArthur has compromised with the world. Perhaps the most glaring example culminates on p. 147, "In the words of Rick Warren, "If you want to advertise your church to the unchurched, you must learn to speak and think as they do."" MacArthur goes on to denigrate Warren's concept and approach. Leading up to this quote, p.139, MacArthur states "The recent wave of popular books written by leading figures in the Emerging Church movement has unleashed an unprecedented flood of vulgarity and worldliness onto Christian bookseller's shelves." On p. 146 MacArthur states that for Evangelicals "Maintaining a positive image has become a priority over guarding the truth. The PR-driven church." The quote from Warren is a sentence or so later, and taken from Warren's book, "The Purpose Driven Church." The implications of these statements are unescapable. I looked up the quote from Warren and read it in context. To summarize, Warren wants the words and methods the churched people use to be more user friendly to the unchurched. He wants to communicate the message more effectively to reach the unchurched. I see no hint that Warren wants to compromise the message. Those engaged in the war on truth must be scrupulously truthful and honest. I believe the truth war needs to come closer to home for Mr. MacArthur.
-5points
5of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Truth War: Fighting for Certainty in an Age of Deception
This review is fromThe Truth War: Fighting for Certainty in an Age of Deception.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Regine Mackenzie
I love this book even though there is a lot of repetition. In some of the chapters, it seems as if the author is trying really hard to add words just to make the chapter long enough. That's especially the case in the middle of the book. No matter, this book is very informative. Lack of discernment in the church is rampant and this book truly opens your eyes as to how far the church has backslidden just to accommodate the world. Every church should have this book in its library and every churchgoer should read it. We need to be aware of what's going. This book does a great job making people aware (also good historical info - wish there could have been more).I highly recomment this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Truth War: Fighting for Certainty in an Age of Deception
This review is fromThe Truth War: Fighting for Certainty in an Age of Deception.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Glenda Hendry
My husband and I wanted multiple copies to pass around to our church family. This is a great book that will help anyone that is struggling for the truth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Truth War: Fighting for Certainty in an Age of Deception
This review is fromThe Truth War: Fighting for Certainty in an Age of Deception.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Pugh
If you are searching for Truth, this book will show you what it is and where to find it. It helped me understand the historical background from which came many false philosophies and heretical distortions of the Truth, beginning in the New Testament era, and continuing to this day. The good news is that God does not change, the Truth - proclaimed and lived by Jesus Christ - does not change, and His people today need to grasp this message.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Truth War: Fighting for Certainty in an Age of Deception
This review is fromThe Truth War: Fighting for Certainty in an Age of Deception.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Mcpeters
Absolutely essential reading!!!! It gave me a wake up call as to what is happening to the church today and it prompted me to have a long face to face meeting with the pastor of my church about how we can counterattack the postmodernism thinking that is so prevalent amongst my generation(20-30) today. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Truth War: Fighting for Certainty in an Age of Deception
This review is fromThe Truth War: Fighting for Certainty in an Age of Deception.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Nathan Weidman
This is a must read book for every Christian. We are in a war and we need to be ready for the battle. This book is very eye opening.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Truth War: Fighting for Certainty in an Age of Deception
This review is fromThe Truth War: Fighting for Certainty in an Age of Deception.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Willie Brown
Excellent! Its the best book on truth available today. I would reccomend this book to all that want to know the truth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Truth War: Fighting for Certainty in an Age of Deception
This review is fromThe Truth War: Fighting for Certainty in an Age of Deception.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mark W.
In typical John McArthur style (making NO apology and avoiding any type of PC..and even going for blood) he paints a bleak and scary picture of growing apostasy in America. He issues a stern warning and wake up call for serious action to fight the growing cancer of false teaching and evil growing in evangelical circles...HIGHLY recommended!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Truth War: Fighting for Certainty in an Age of Deception
This review is fromThe Truth War: Fighting for Certainty in an Age of Deception.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Calvary Fellowship Church
Excellent and solid. Easy to read and relevant for today. A reminder that Truth is Truth no matter what.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Truth War: Fighting for Certainty in an Age of Deception
This review is fromThe Truth War: Fighting for Certainty in an Age of Deception.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2009
An excellent book for figthing for the Truth. Twisted teachings and doctrins and human policies that based on world philosophy are very common in this Postmodern Generation. For example, woman pastors and women who are appointed to be the teachers that teach the bible doctrins to members that include both men and women in the Church (Egalitarian view). Highly recommend!!!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.