Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Beautiful Things Happen When a Woman Trusts God

Thomas Nelson Beautiful Things Happen When a Woman Trusts God

Trust. It's a small, simple word. But it's hard to do. Walk with Sheila Walsh as she explores the value of truly trusting our Heavenly Father. When you know who's in control, and trust who's in control, it changes everything; it transforms our nightmares into an exhilarating life of faith. Are you ready to see some beautiful, unexpected things happen in your life? Give God the gift of trusting Him completely.
Average Customer Rating:
4.418 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
0
8 out of 989%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Beautiful Things Happen When a Woman Trusts God
Review 1 for Beautiful Things Happen When a Woman Trusts God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring!

Date:February 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
OneAshvillemommy
Location:Alabama
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I selected this book to help myself, and to teach others how to trust God unconditionally. It was a great choice! Sheila was on point and very much like a fly on the wall in my life with a lot of her experiences. I now use this book as a reference to continue to trust when things are rough. Her candidness was so refreshing and invaluable in order for those who read her book to accept that she has been THERE and can relate to what we are feeling. I have quoted her numerous times to others. I would suggest this as an inspiring read to anyone and I have gifted this work as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Beautiful Things Happen When a Woman Trusts God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Leslie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
The book was a great read. I learned a lot about Trusting God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Beautiful Things Happen When a Woman Trusts God
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful Book about Trust

Date:September 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Blessedmomof7
Location:Tampa FL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you are a person who has a hard time trusting in your personal or spiritual life, this is the book you need to read. Sheila tells her own personal story as well as incorporating stories of trust from the Bible. If you read this with an open heart, you will be able to find the ability to trust yourself and God a little more. Great read
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Beautiful Things Happen When a Woman Trusts God
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good book that I refer back to often

Date:September 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
ahappyhousewife
Location:South Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sheila Walsh is a gifted writer that literally draws you in with the first few words of this book. I read this book not long before a very devastating betrayal of a friend. I think the lessons that I learned about trusting God in this book helped me get through it. Trust is something that the world has devalued in the last few generations. For society, a handshake was enough and for God, His word has always been enough. Now, society does not have much integrity, but God's consistency has lasted forever. Sheila uses her own insecurities and trust issues to offer a real account of what happens when I woman allows herself to trust God with the unknown and unseen.
This book was a easy read and quick read but I found that she skipped around a lot in the "story". There would be times that, as I read, I would have to re-read the previous pages to realize where she was on the current page. Even with that, the book was interesting and insightful. Sheila uses her own personal life and lives of David and others to make her point that you can trust God with EVERYTHING. I have referred back to her words over the past year as I have been faced with a situation that required me to completely trust God to handle it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Beautiful Things Happen When a Woman Trusts God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Healing Power!

Date:April 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sonrisa
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is all I needed, right now! "... behind smiles and makeup are woman who despise themselves, who are consumed with anger, lost in despair, struggling with their faith, and caught up in addictions or affairs. We share a silent desperateness. We have learned to hide our struggles so well that sometimes even we forget they are there" (p. 31).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Beautiful Things Happen When a Woman Trusts God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a blessing!

Date:March 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
deemarie
Location:Upstate New York
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I have listened to this audio book twice now and it has been such a blessing to me. I have given several as gifts and I am also purchasing one for each of the 15 pastor's wives in my Shepherdess organization. Sheila has a deep personal faith and her and insights are biblical and so encouraging! And I love listening to her voice - it's as if she's talking to me instead of reading to me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Beautiful Things Happen When a Woman Trusts God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful!

Date:February 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
amazed
Location:Ontario Canada
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sheila showed her heart in a profound way. She allowed God to use her missteps for His glory. She was open and honest about her past and gives hope to other struggling women.
This book is encouraging and powerful. It made me laugh and cry and was very helpful!
Thank you Sheila!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Beautiful Things Happen When a Woman Trusts God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Liked the study guide at the back of the book

Date:December 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Darlene
Location:Sarasota, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was written from the heart to the hurting and frustrated hearts of other women.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Beautiful Things Happen When a Woman Trusts God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
barb
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this book for my daughter. She has gone through some troubled times this is a very good book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Beautiful Things Happen When a Woman Trusts God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2010
Talented author and Women Of Faith speaker, Sheila Walsh has written a wonderful book about trust. Trusting God. Sure we say we do and we put on the front of trusting Him, but deep down when the troubling times come do we? Really? Or do we doubt His love for us?Through the lives of ten biblical characters Sheila gives us lessons on trusting, really trusting. Anna, Mary, Martha, Apostle Paul, Tabitha, Gideon, Joseph, Samson, Nicodemus and Abraham will remind us what happens when we really trust God. When we really let God lead us. Sheila shows us first hand through her own trials and struggles how trusting God can give us hope and happiness.My thoughts: This book really spoke to me. I have always trusted God, giving Him my problems, but too often taking them back looking for quicker solutions. And that is not fully trusting God. I would like to share a quote from the book:"When I stand before the Lamb of God and finally look into Jesus' eyes, I want my life to have become a thing of beauty - not because I got it all right but because with all my heart I trusted God." I highly recommend this book, you will not be disappointed!Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Beautiful Things Happen When a Woman Trusts God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Wendy Grawbarger
I am now reading this book, itis very impactful.I would recommend it to anyone who has ever felt that you are not enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Beautiful Things Happen When a Woman Trusts God
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
sanddra
I have always loved Sheila Walsh as a speaker and writer. Her book Honesty was a very important read in my life, it started me on the journey of being honest in my own life. When I had the opportunity to review When a Woman Trusts God, I was excited to read another of Sheilas book.I love the title of this book, When a Woman Trusts God it causes me to think of the numerous times in my life that I have learned to trusted God. Sheilas book is a great topic and one that every Christian woman should consider. Learning to trust God is not an easy lesson to learn, because it is best learned when we are in the trenches. Sheila addresses issues regarding our fears, brokeness, transparency as well as sharing many of her personal stories. It is her stories of trusting God that make this book.Although I love the topic, I wondered as I read if reading this book would have prepared to learn the lessons that I needed to learn. I would also encourage you to read the scripture stories from the Bible instead of just reading what she wrote. There is no replacement for actually spending time in Gods word studying the stories of Gods people as they trusted God.This is a book worth reading and a topic worthy of our interest. Our entire lives are spent learning to trust God and reading this book will be a good investment in that study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Beautiful Things Happen When a Woman Trusts God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lyndsay
All I had ever really known about Sheila Walsh was that she was the creator of Gigi: God's Little Princess, and that she was a part of Women of Faith. Upon reading the first chapter I knew that I was about to know of Sheila Walsh on a totally different God-fearing level. She intimately brings you into a very difficult time in her past. One she touches on more in her book Honestly but through these times she, like so many others, struggled with the depth of God's question to her "Sheila, do you trust me?" She puts it wonderfully when she says "I have answered yes many times, only to discover that the question is so much bigger than I ever imagined." That is so true. In this book she takes you on a journey with ten wonderful people from the Bible. People like Anna, Tabitha, Mary, Martha, and Paul. She guides you on how God wants you to trust him so completely that there isn't any room for you to still be trying to hold onto a human security in order to try to feel safe. The light that she shines on the parts of these individuals lives is in a way that I have never even thought of before. I could relate to them all in one way or another and I feel I have gained friends in wonderful companions of the Bible. They have taught me how to lay it all out there and trust God. Knowing he is never going to let me fall. It's ok to let go of my life and lay it all out for his plan and direction. It feels so much more secure than you think. Give it a try. I highly recommend this book to anyone no matter where you are with your walk with the Lord. There is a valuable lesson to be learned within these pages. With that I also highly recommend a journal and pen to come along with you on this journey. There are powerful words of wisdom in these pages and the words that God has laid on Sheila's heart that she so beautifully passed along to us. They are ones to meditate on, live by, and pray over for years and years. This will be one book I will be reading over and over again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Beautiful Things Happen When a Woman Trusts God
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carrie Lee
Even as a lifelong Christian, Sheila Walsh struggled to trust God completely. It took a complete emotional breakdown for her to address the fear and shame that had kept her from making a final step of faith so that she could live completely for God. Even then, as her Biblical profiles exemplify, faith involves a moment-by-moment commitment to believing in God's provision.I was astounded that a Christian with such a public life as a writer, speaker, and singer would lay bare what are probably the darkest moments of her life, in order to demonstrate her understanding of trust in God, forged in the trenches, so to speak. In fact, I was encouraged by the idea that we can trust God to make our dreams come true, when those dreams are of God and for His purpose. Welsch blends in her personal experiences, with detailed stories of people we think we know from the Bible: Anna, Joseph, Martha, Abraham... letting us see through fresh eyes the faith dilemmas these people faced, and giving the opportunity to accept the all-encompassing love of a Savior. My faith was deepened and challenged, and my heart touched by what God has done in the lives of his children. I recommend this book especially to women who feel lost in the shuffle of life, and wonder if God still has a plan for them. He's never left your side. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Beautiful Things Happen When a Woman Trusts God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nikole Hahn
My expectations for this book were not disappointed. I have always loved Sheila Walsh. Her books have helped me in my journey as I traveled along the rocky cliff and through the long dark nights. God asks us to trust Himnot just trust Him sometimes, but totally. It may feel like someone has tied a blindfold around our eyes and asked us to take one step forward when you know you see a cliff. You think youll fall. You think it will cause more pain than you can handle. And then, you step forward and find to your surprise solid ground.Sheila addresses in her book ten of the Bibles transformed who teach us how one moment of trust, like dominoes, sets into motion beautiful happenings. I knew most of the stories, but I learned about each one. They were not so different than us. She brought into perspective Josephs struggle with his brothers.(if you'd like to read more, please go to www.thehahnhuntinglodge.com)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Beautiful Things Happen When a Woman Trusts God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Karen Sheely
We are using this book for a ladies Bible study and we really like it. We are looking forward to seeing the results from learning about putting our whole trust in God {the one who pushes our swing} it is easy to read and understand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Beautiful Things Happen When a Woman Trusts God
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ginny B
Beautiful things Happen When a Woman Trusts God by Sheila Walsh is the most recent book I received from Nelson publishing to review. In this book Sheila writes about her struggle to face life after being hospitalized for depression. Many of her friends abandoned her afterward and she struggled with figuring out how she could continue to serve God with this following her. Each chapter discusses a different area she had to face and includes anecdotes about how others affected her life and her journey as well as truths about God's view based on Bible sources.I had no idea who Sheila Walsh was before I read this book, so I had no preconceived opinion of her as a woman or a Christian. From what I read she has done a tremendous job of overcoming what seemed to be an insurmountable obstacle to her. The book is easy to read, but I didn't find it very enjoyable. Perhaps because I felt no connection to the author, perhaps because I have had to face a similar battle but didn't have as many of the hang ups about it as she did. It took me a very long time to complete this book because I just felt like the author was talking at me. It felt like an "all about me" type of story.Now, I am not saying this was a bad book, and I am sure that there are many people out there who would benefit greatly from her words, from knowing how she overcame her fears, how she learned to trust God. I just couldn't relate to her and as a result did not enjoy the book.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Beautiful Things Happen When a Woman Trusts God
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rachel Haugaard
In 1991 Sheila Walsh wrote a book called "Honestly," telling the story of her journey from a television talk-show host and singer to a psychiatric hospital patient struggling with depression. This book, "Beautiful Things Happen" is the sequel to "Honestly," picking up where that book leaves off and continuing the story of her quest to trust God with her life, even when things look their blackest.In this book, Sheila introduces us to 12 Biblical characters, telling us their stories (the good AND the bad) and how she was impacted by their testimonies. These 12 (and the lessons we learn from them are: The prophetess Anna (A broken dream becomes a beautiful life)Mary, Martha, and Lazarus (Why the pain?)Paul (Into the darkness to find the light)Tabitha (The life of Christ in us)Gideon (Trusting God with your fear)Joseph (Trusting God with your dreams)Samson (Is it ever too late to start again?)Nicodemus and Joseph of Arimathea (Trusting God when you have a lot to lose)Abraham (Trusting God with your journey)Although I didn't always agree completely with her assessment of each of these people and their motives, I really appreciated the way Sheila was willing to open herself up and share about a very vulnerable time in her life. Depression and a lack of trust in God are two very devastating things women face, and the honest way Sheila shared about her own struggles in this area were very encouraging to me! I think this book could be a real life-saver to anyone struggling with depression, or who just doesn't feel like they are worth anything to God or are unable to make their life count for God's glory.Also, in the back of this book is a short Bible study to go along with each chapter of the book. (I was provided with a free copy of this book by Thomas Nelson in exchange for this review)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Beautiful Things Happen When a Woman Trusts God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dee East
Sheila Walsh's newest book "What Happens When a Woman Trusts God" is extremely encouraging and thought provoking. Sheila is allowing what the enemy meant for harm to be used for God's Glory.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Beautiful Things Happen When a Woman Trusts God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Karen Sheely
we are using this in a ladies group and so far, we really like it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.