Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House The Calling of Emily Evans, Women of the West Series #1

Bethany House The Calling of Emily Evans, Women of the West Series #1

Emily Evans has a hard time getting herself to class on time, much less figuring out God's will for her life. Then, to her surprise, she feels that God is calling her into full-time Christian service. She expects the Lord will also provide her with a companion to share her life and ministry, but Emily does not want to marry any of the available young men. She squares her shoulders and decides she will accept the task of opening a new church in a pioneer community--alone.
Average Customer Rating:
4.083 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
9 out of 1090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Calling of Emily Evans, Women of the West Series #1
Review 1 for The Calling of Emily Evans, Women of the West Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Some new twists, but predictable

Date:December 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mina
Location:Winkler, Manitoba
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I don't agree with women teaching the Bible unless it's to other women and children -- not men. But putting that aside, the book was an easy read, but mostly predictable in its outcome.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Calling of Emily Evans, Women of the West Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
beesue
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed reading this book. It weaves relevant, authentic Biblical principles into a well-written story.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Calling of Emily Evans, Women of the West Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hard to put down

Date:July 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chosen
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once I started reading I found it very hard to put down.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Calling of Emily Evans, Women of the West Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

nice story, likable characters

Date:June 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Susan
Location:Hattiesburg, MS
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed the book and looked forward to picking it up whenever I could. It was a nice "get away" every day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Calling of Emily Evans, Women of the West Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I did not want it to end! One of her best!

Date:June 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
readmakesmehappy60
Location:georgia/u.s.a.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Often as with this book I am one of the characters of the stories.(at least in my mind) Janette Oake has a way of doing that, her books capture you from the beginning, you will surely enjoy this book,by my favorite author.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Calling of Emily Evans, Women of the West Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good reading!

Date:April 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Amish
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed the book. It show how important a relationship with Jesus is!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Calling of Emily Evans, Women of the West Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

thoughtful & true to life (and a dab of romance)

Date:April 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Reisi
Location:Johnstown, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Some books are okay to read once; but this isn't one of them-
Emily's Bible School experiences bring back memories of my own days in the dorm and the types of people one is apt to find. The day to day life on 'the field' is not 'romanticized'- real people with real hurts need real answers and Emily's faith strengthening studies certainly strengthened my own. If you like a lot of fainting, giggling, and a token Christian heroine, maybe Emily will be a breath of fresh air and reality with her honest struggles and desires.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Calling of Emily Evans, Women of the West Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Linder
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Loved the book. Inspirational. Always causes me to think about how God would want me to act/react to situations in my life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Calling of Emily Evans, Women of the West Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marilyn Nleosn
Location:Alabama
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love to read Janette Oke books and this one did not disappoint me. She is a gifted writer that makes faith come alive through the characters like Emily.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Calling of Emily Evans, Women of the West Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A wonderful enjoyable read.

Date:October 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a very good,curl up by the fire,light kind of read.
I really enjoyed the parts about The people in Emily's community,
especially Sophie and her family,I was very happy to see how her story ended.
It was well written with the exception of one short part were Emily is asked to shave a man who had died,someone might find this disturbing but it is very short and brief.
I also liked Emily's repentant nature,she was quite an example in the way that she asked forgivness for her behavior,even when it greatly humbled her.
I was very sorry how Mr. Travises life ended,and it got me thinking,would it have been better to have sent a man to the community instead? one who could safely help him?
Though I loved someof this book,I believe that Emily's "call" to ministry was not genuine,an emotional experience does not overule Gods written word, and he commands that Women not teach men.
Also I was troubled by the fact that she spent much of her time thinking about a appealing young man who had walked away from God,while their was a caring Christian young man right in her congregation,and how in the end of the book,Shad never mentions giving his life to Christ only that he is going to be a minister.
Also I saw a hint of a works based Salvation in this book,
when a woman comes to Emily and asks how she can prepare to die,Emily leads her through Sin,Gods Holiness,Judgement and the cross and tells her to be baptised in faith.
She gives her life to Christ but then says about having the pastor baptise her,He had better hurry I could die any day,
The fact that she was not baptised would never keep her out of heaven,Baptisism is only the outward confession of a persons faith.
I enjoyed the book and it(like so many of Mrs. Okes books) was a wonderful read,but I belive that the Bible says women may not preach and because of this I would not recommend this book to an undiscerning reader.
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Calling of Emily Evans, Women of the West Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2010
Reading this book made me appreciate the difficulties and hardships young women went through many years ago to serve the Lord.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Calling of Emily Evans, Women of the West Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jennie Geiman
This is my favorite Janette oke book. It is different then the Love Comes Soflty series. I highly recomend it to anyone but especially to girls who are Christian and are thinking about what God has in store for them! Beautiful writing!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.