Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House My Heart Remembers

Bethany House My Heart Remembers

Orphaned in a tenement fire, three Irish immigrant children, hoping to be adopted, are sent to Missouri aboard an orphan train. Despite eight-year-old Maelle's desperate attempts to keep her siblings together, each child is taken by a different family. Maelle vows that she will never stop searching for her siblings and that they will be together one day. Sixteen years later, Maelle is still searching. So are her brother and sister. United by blood, divided by time, will they ever be reunited?
Average Customer Rating:
4.859 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (64 reviews)
5 stars
57
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for My Heart Remembers
Review 1 for My Heart Remembers
This review is fromMy Heart Remembers - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a very good story

Date:November 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
booklover
Location:Harrisville, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very nice story. It keeps you interested as it goes. Maelle is quite an interesting young lady. I liked her inner spirit. She never gives up. I enjoyed reading this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for My Heart Remembers
This review is fromMy Heart Remembers - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gripping

Date:September 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robert Shipley
Location:Goldendale, Washington
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product of "Orphan Trains", this book will keep you in suspense throughout. The contrasts are amazing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for My Heart Remembers
This review is fromMy Heart Remembers - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very uplifting

Date:September 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jagster66
Location:Arkansas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was very hard for me to put down. It is an easy read, touching in many places and helps us to realize that God takes a bad situation and shows us His plan, in His time. I have recommended it already to many friends...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for My Heart Remembers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very touching

Date:December 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth Cain
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book captured me from the beginning. The strength, determination and love in the characters is beautifully written. There are moments I wanted to cry with the characters. The scenes and emotions that come from them are amazing. A great read for sure.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for My Heart Remembers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2010
I really enjoyed this story. It was well researched informing the reader about the train orphans and the fight to stop child labour. A touching story that brought tears to my eyes. Will be passing this one on to my non christian friends.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for My Heart Remembers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Stampcrafter
This book is on the top of my list of favorites. I borrowed it from the library and read it in just a couple of days. Now I need to buy a copy for my own library. It was such a heartwarming story. I couldn't put it down and now I still can't stop thinking about it. I wish Kim would write a sequel because I want more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for My Heart Remembers
This review is fromMy Heart Remembers.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Kemp
This story was really interesting. I had never heard of orphan-trains. This is a sad but encouraging and faith building story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for My Heart Remembers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2009
Outstanding! This book makes you wish she would write the sequel. I loved the story and the way it unfolded. It will keep you guessing the entire time. One of her greatest.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for My Heart Remembers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2009
Our Book Club decided to use this book one month and not one single person didn't like it. It was a Five Star by all. It had compassion, forgiveness, and every possible emotion. The one thing our group said is "we want a sequal!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for My Heart Remembers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jeannie Donaldson
From the very first page I was hooked. The plot is interesting and believable, the characters are real & develope as the story progresses. As the tale unraveled, I felt as though I knew these people and cared very much what was happening to them, and how their future would unfold. I could hardly stand to put it down. When I got to the end I cried with joy, and at the same time was disappointed that the story was over. This is one book I am sure I will read again and again. I guarantee you will love it too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for My Heart Remembers
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
XS Lindsey
A truly beautiful book, "My Heart Remembers" is a story that can be read and cherished by all ages. Aside from the heartwarming story, Kim Vogel Sawyer creates strong characters interwoven within a multi-faceted plot. Though the ending is a bit predictable, Sawyer finds a way to prolong the inevitable and reveal it in an original way. She also wisely leaves some plot threads to the imagination -- could this mean a sequel? I look forward to reading more from this brilliant author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for My Heart Remembers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2009
This was a FABULOUS book!!!I loved,loved,LOVED it!At first I thought this would be a rather ordinary,boring book,and having not read any of Kim Vogel Sawyer's works,I wasn't sure I would like it.I was definitely surprised!My Heart Remembers is a touching story about three siblings who are split up and adopted by different families after the death of their parents.Maelle,Mattie,and Molly grow up without each other and all experience abuse,pain,and abandonment.The story follows their lives until they're adults.All three of them try to help the street orphans.Eventuallly,this common endeavor brings them together.I really liked the siblings' reunion.It was so sweet.This book book made me laugh and brought tears to my eyes.I can't imagine what those poor orphans went through.The story seemed so real I just got lost in the pages.I can't speak highly enough of this book.(Super job,Kim!Keep it up!)I recommend My Heart Remembers to anyone wanting a touching,inspiring novel.(Warning:Won't be able to put down!)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for My Heart Remembers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Celeste Smith
This book is literally one of the best I've ever read. I'd highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for My Heart Remembers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2009
This was one of the BEST books I have ever read.I LOVED it!Every page I turned kept me wondering what was going to happen in the end.Once you pick up this book it is hard to put down.If you are thinking about buying this book do not hesitate,it is DEFINITELY worth it.I highly recommend this book and would give it a 100-star rating.GREAT work Kim.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for My Heart Remembers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
donnabarney
This was an amazing book! The writing really keeps you interested and not bored. You have to read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for My Heart Remembers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mary Sullivan
This book is EXCELLENT bookI could not put it down. I could not wait to see how it ended. This is now my favorite book and I really hope there will be a sequel
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for My Heart Remembers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mary
I can not stop thinking about My Heart Remembers. Maybe it was the vivid descriptions, or the fact that children have always had to fight to be loved. Or maybe Vogal just struck a nerve of compassion. By any definition, this book is a good one that will leave you contemplating the complicated process of life. And yet, one of the greatest lessons this book teaches is that God has a plan for all of us. That plan will be carried out in spite of our circumstances if we trust him. You will not only read this book, but will want it on your bookshelf to read again. My Heart Remembers would make a good book club choice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for My Heart Remembers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sharon Dale
At first I thought the book was a little slow, but not for long. It is a wonderful story and kept my interest all the way thru. I new very little about the orphas train, but I am going to read more about it...this story line has peeked my interest. A very intense and wonderful book. This story really made me realize how lucky I have been. This is a must read....great author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for My Heart Remembers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jeannie Donaldson
From the first pages I was hooked - wanting these three orphans to stay together, when I knew that could not be. From then on I grew to love these children and watch them grow into adulthood. The characters were very real to me, the story, tender yet powerful. It is one of my favorite books this year. Mrs. Sawyers attention to grammar was especially a treat to me, as I have noticed sadly, that many Christian writers disregard the grammar rules. I loved every thing about this book - hated to put it down when duty called. :o) It would made a wonderful gift! I recommend it highly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for My Heart Remembers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 5, 2008
A very enjoyable read. The anticipation of a family reunion builds as you watch the lives of the three main characters. Seeing God's hand at work in each of their lives through circumstances often way beyond their control. Each child having lived a very different life since thier parting, has much growing and healing to take place before they are truly ready to be together again. The mini cliff-hangers as you switch between characters is handled smoothly and keeps you reading, well into the night. Well done!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.