Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Forevermore, Only in Gooding! Series

Bethany House Forevermore, Only in Gooding! Series

Like a dandelion in the wind, Hope Ladley blows from one farm to the next, helping cook for the field hands during the harvest. Illiterate and often twisting cliches and verses into mind-boggling observations, Hope leaves widower Jakob Stauffer baffled by her unconventional ways. But her sunny disposition and unstinting love make changes of a different kind around the place. His little daughter and the pregnant sister he's shielding from an abusive husband adore Hope, and things are getting accomplished even if Hope's methods are unique.
Average Customer Rating:
4.677 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Forevermore, Only in Gooding! Series
Review 1 for Forevermore, Only in Gooding! Series
This review is fromForevermore - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Delightful

Date:August 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Margot
Location:South Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It took me a while to get used to a more lighthearted style than I'm used to, but then I fell in love with Hope. She is an absolute ray of sunshine on the Stauffer family farm, which is overshadowed with grief, sadness and fear. I loved the way hope and Hope influenced everyone so subtly they hardly noticed until one day everything looked so much brighter. I loved Jakob - devoted father, brother, friend and all-round gentleman. The villain was vividly described and so typical of his kind. Even though Hope couldn't read, she worked hard to hide God's Word in her heart, where it strengthened her, and those around her, time and again. It reminded me of the value of memorizing scripture and how important it is to cherish the Word of God. I think you'll enjoy this delightful story, full of delightful characters. I look forward to reading more from Cathy Marie Hake.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Forevermore, Only in Gooding! Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nana Jeanie
Location:Nampa, Id.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AS usual Cathy Hake has captured your attention and interest. this is an excellent read....hard to put down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Forevermore, Only in Gooding! Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delightful!

Date:August 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jeannie Donaldson
Location:Statesboro, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I fell in love with Hope Ladley - what a delightful character she is. I laughed out loud more than a few times, and was saddened here and there. The story is wonderful - I could hardly put it down. And a wonderfully happy ending for everyone - a must for me to consider a book great. I promise, you will love this!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Forevermore, Only in Gooding! Series
This review is fromForevermore - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
TinaW
Location:Mesa, AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The main character has the faith of a giant.. that is how this book starts out and it continually grows into a beautiful love story of faith and healing in the broken heart - with the romantic ending longed for.
I loved the real life thread throughout this book. Many times we want to finish every task in the large, but the book shows that in small quantities we can build our faith as well as our storehouse! Healing takes time and our expectations can get in the way of seeing what God is doing to heal the people in our lives through the most whimsical of people.
Hope is the main character and now I see why it is her name. This tale is a faith builder and a heart healer and a romance for the real life person. Walk with "Hope" and see what God does and enjoy! You will not be disappointed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Forevermore, Only in Gooding! Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
GrandmaJB
What a great book! I have started reading to my husband at night, and this was the first book I read to him. Both he and I enjoyed it, and we absolutely loved Hope! I admire the way she was always so positive, in spite of the fact that she worked so hard! She almost made the hard work of that time seem like play, and was really inspiring to me! I sure would like to have her attitude toward housework and life! The Gooding series is very enjoyable, but I think Forevermore is my favorite book of the series! I love the author's sense of humor in her books also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Forevermore, Only in Gooding! Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2010
Hope Ladley has to be one of the most innovative and charming characters I have ever met!!! She captivated me from the first page and held me enthralled right to the end. And while I read, I marveled at Cathy Marie Hakes incredible imagination.Hope mangles idioms and bible verses and her speech is peppered with them. It's incredible that Cathy came up with so many, but then she finds a way to twist them into hilarious new sayings that actually make sense in their own way. Brilliant. Brilliant. Brilliant. Not only funny and endearing, but such a clever way for a reader to connect with a character.I love the whole premise of Hope bringing a healing change. Shes a magical character kind of like Mary Poppins but on a grander scaleand maybe a fairy godmother with common sensenot to mention an Amelia Bedelia for the older set. I dont think my descriptions can do justice to Hope. Shes exceptionally unique. Period.This is a definite must-read for historical lovers and if historicals arent your thing make an exception. You wont be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Forevermore, Only in Gooding! Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
masherri8
This is one of the most entertaining books I have read - and I read all the time. This book I re-visit every year or so, and bought it a few weeks ago because I had given the other two I had to someone else for their pleasure. Thank Ms. Hake for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Forevermore, Only in Gooding! Series
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
amishreader
This is the first book by this author I have read. I did not like the twisting of the words at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Forevermore, Only in Gooding! Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth Largen
I loved this book. Hope was such a joy to me. She has so much faith and helped all she came across.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Forevermore, Only in Gooding! Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 30, 2009
This is one of those books that keeps you laughing the whole way through. It makes you wnat to keep turning the page at 2 o'clock in the morning.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Forevermore, Only in Gooding! Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
April
This is a wonderful book! If you like the Christian fiction books like me this is a must for your collection. I couldn't set the book down and finished it in one weekend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Forevermore, Only in Gooding! Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ronald James
Forevermore warmed my heart and tickled my funnybone. If you only read one book this year, read this one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Forevermore, Only in Gooding! Series
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Karen Peale
I've read most of this authors books and usually enjoy them. This was not one of her better books in my opinion. I hated the constant twisting of words that Hope did. I didn't find them funny at all. I was also exhausted from all the work they did in this book. I am a foods teacher and I know that people worked this hard during this time in history, but that is ALL that was talked about for much of the book. Not worth my purchase in my opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Forevermore, Only in Gooding! Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tamra Risser
I had never read one of Cathy Marie Hake's books before but I loved this one. Easy to read with a good message.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Forevermore, Only in Gooding! Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Snowlady70
This is the first book by Cathy Marie Hake I have read. It is such a delightful book that keeps you laughing and you don't want to put the book down until you finish it. The way scripture was memorized and then Hope applied in their daily lives was wonderful. I am our church librarian and I can know I can recommend this book to our readers without hesitation. I also ordered her other books for our library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Forevermore, Only in Gooding! Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Poliana
What a GREAT book!!! Once I started I couldnt put it down! Forevermore is a breath of fresh air, it is not your typical romance novel.Please buy this book!! You won't regret it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Forevermore, Only in Gooding! Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mary
I first met this author in Letter Perfect & ordered Bittersweet as soon as it was available. Then came Fancy Pants, and now I'm enjoying Forevermore. As church librarian, I know I can order Ms. Hake's books without concern. I was sorry to read the one review who disliked Hope's communication skills. I find them delightful and fitting for the era. I expect to finish this reading tonight, and wish I could give more stars! This will be highly recommended to all the library patrons, and I look forward to more of her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Forevermore, Only in Gooding! Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jill
This is one of the best books I've read in a long time. I've yet to come across a Cathy Marie Hake book that I don't like but I think this one is the best yet. I found myself going back through the book after I'd finished it and rereading certain parts that I found especially inspiring or funny. I loved the fact that she wasn't perfect yet so sure of herself and strong in her faith. I highly recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Forevermore, Only in Gooding! Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Penny Hardaway
Cathy Marie Hake is one of my favoirte authors and she has scored again. Her touches of humor amidst often very serious situations and her delightful characters are always enjoyable. This book was up to the high standard I expect when I see she is the author. I hope there will be more in this particular series, but I look forward to reading whatever she writes next.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Forevermore, Only in Gooding! Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
grace luckhurst
I thought this was a wonderful book. I loved all the Bible verses in it. The personality she gave Hope was wonderful, she had bad grammar and didn't know how to read, but a lot of people back then couldn't. It really inspired you to trust God in all situations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>