Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Kaleidoscope of Proverbs: Bits and Pieces Held to the Light

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Thomas Nelson Kaleidoscope of Proverbs: Bits and Pieces Held to the Light

Understanding the Christian life - and the Bible - can be a daunting task. But maybe God didn't mean it to be so hard! With insightful teaching and her trademark humor, Patsy Clairmont takes a straightforward look at the multicolored gems of inspiration and instruction about loving and living found in the Book of Proverbs. A busy woman's delight! Hardcover gift book.
Average Customer Rating:
4.522 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kaleidoscope of Proverbs: Bits and Pieces Held to the Light
Review 1 for Kaleidoscope of Proverbs: Bits and Pieces Held to the Light
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wisdom for Every Woman

Date:December 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sarah Varland
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ever looked in a Kaleidoscope as a kid? There was one at a park my mom took me to often, and I loved to look inside and see all the colors and shapes. They were all part of one picture, but they were individual pictures themselves and I enjoyed examining them. Patsy Clairmont, in her book Kaleidoscope, compares the book of Proverbs to this. Her book discusses the wisdom found in Proverbs in individual chapters, thirty three of them in all, and the life lessons we can learn from them.
What makes this book unique is Clairmont's informal writing style. Though her words are chosen wisely and carefully crafted together, the book still reads like a conversation with a friend (albeit a wise one) who is sitting down and sharing with you over a cup of coffee (or, as it's December, a Peppermint Mocha). It's a book to be lingered over, and enjoyed in small pieces, not all at once.
The issues discussed in and among the Proverbs, such as being careful with what we say, are issues that apply to any Christian, but especially to women. This book will be useful to women of all ages and at all point in their walks of faith. I especially appreciated how the chapters were broken up--first with Patsy Clairmont's insights, then with questions, then with a list of applicable Scriptures. Certainly this is a book that has a gem of wisdom for every woman, set in a personal look into a woman of faith's thoughts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kaleidoscope of Proverbs: Bits and Pieces Held to the Light
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Always a good read

Date:February 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
musicgirl
Location:Granite City, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is another example of the humor with which Patsy Clairmont can write about our everyday lives and put it into perspective from a biblical view. Her books are always easy and fun to read. I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kaleidoscope of Proverbs: Bits and Pieces Held to the Light
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cheryl
Location:Mesquite, Tx
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book on the proverbs. Read in one day. Alot of good scriptures in this book. Would be good for a study group or alone. Another great book by Patsy Clairmont.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kaleidoscope of Proverbs: Bits and Pieces Held to the Light
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I really enjoyed the points that were brought out.

Date:December 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Cartersvill, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really loved the points that were brought out by Mrs. Claremont. I liked her humor too. I have enjoyed reading this book and discussing it with my friends in a lady's Bible study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kaleidoscope of Proverbs: Bits and Pieces Held to the Light
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lisa Godbey
Kaleidoscope is one of the best books I have ever read. Patsy Clairmont is funny, but yet very informative. I like the questions at the end it really makes you think about things. The bible verses were very good, they didn't give one they gave several so you can go back and study them. I really recommend Kaleidoscope, just sit back and enjoy and let it fill your life with a new sense of direction!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kaleidoscope of Proverbs: Bits and Pieces Held to the Light
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Aspacio
I have read a few Proverbs-inspired book but nothing as entertaining and as fun as Kaleidoscope, Seeing Gods Wit and Wisdom in a Whole New Light the first book I have read of the best selling author and Women of Faith speaker, Patsy Clairmont. Imagine a book that is lighthearted (nothing hard-core theology here) but deep nonetheless, without compromising the enlightening wisdom Proverbs is designed to give. Just reading through each chapter makes me want to befriend Patsy and maybe pick her mind straight out by just listening.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kaleidoscope of Proverbs: Bits and Pieces Held to the Light
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan@CreativeBibleStudy.com
Patsy Clairmonts Kaleidoscope is a popcorn book that could easily be used as a devotional, Bible study focus, or just for inspiration! She takes kernels of thirty-three individual verses from the Book of Proverbs (in no certain order) and lets them pop open into fluffy, tasty puffs of practical Bible principles. At first, I didnt really care for what seemed like such randomness and lack of organization. Like the title of the book though, Kaleidoscope, and like real life, you never know what you may get. Each moment is a surprise of something new and yet beautiful! Isnt that what is so marvelous about Gods Word?!As Patsy unwraps each verse using humorous stories, she also ends each short chapter with six to nine thought provoking questions that cover a vast array of different aspects of life. She also includes other related verses from all over the Bible, which lead to even more new exploration on your own with Christ. Patsy brings an awe approach to Gods Word that is creative and exciting. The message of this book will last beyond its pages as she helps us dig deeper and then apply the practical principles found in the vast wisdom of Gods Word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kaleidoscope of Proverbs: Bits and Pieces Held to the Light
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shirley Corder
Patsy Clairmont describes a kaleidoscope as "a simple tube of mirrors filled with pebbles or beads". As we hold it up to the light and peer through the pinhole at the end, we see amazing colours and designs we didn't know existed. Patsy likens the book of Proverbs to a spiritual kaleidoscope. As we peer at the seemingly random statements that make up this book, Patsy helps us see "God's wit and wisdom in a whole new light". In each of the thirty-three short chapters, she zeroes in on a proverb, spins it and looks at it from different refreshing angles. Her delightful brand of humour seasons the message of the proverb with stories from her own life and I found myself chuckling as I read. Each chapter ends with Bits and Pieces, a number of soul-searching questions to get you to dig deeper and apply the proverb to your own life. Held to the Light offers a kaleidoscope of varied Scripture verses that connect loosely with the proverb. Written in a conversational tone, you could easily read this book in a day or two, but I used it along with my daily devotions. Thanks to Thomas Nelson Publishers for providing me with this book through booksneeze.com. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 )
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kaleidoscope of Proverbs: Bits and Pieces Held to the Light
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Honey
Kaleidoscope is a devotional book about Proverbs, written by Patsy Clairmont. Each chapter focuses on a different aspect of Proverbs. The book is funny, interesting, and creatively written. At the end of each chapter (except the first and the last) is a series of questions to answer and some relevant verses to meditate on. These are perfect for personal use or in a small group.I was so excited to have the opportunity to review a Patsy Clairmont book. I have always loved her sense of humor and was so looking forward to receiving this book in the mail. Let me tell you I loved this book. I loved it from beginning to end. I read it cover to cover and enjoyed the first chapter as much as the last. This book held my attention from the very first page. I do intend to read it again at a slower pace and spend more time pondering the questions and scriptures at the back of each chapter. Patsy was honest, inspiring, and tied together all her thoughts. I discovered little gold nuggets of Biblical truth in every chapter. I highly recommend this book.I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kaleidoscope of Proverbs: Bits and Pieces Held to the Light
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2010
This book is my first introduction to Patsy Clairmont, but it wont be my last book!In Kaleidoscope, Patsy shares her humor, which makes you laugh so hard you get tears in your eyes, and witty insight into portions of Proverbs in a way that you go away with a whole new perspective.Patsy starts each chapter with a short Proverb, and draws you in by relating a story either about herself or others that intrigues you (usually hilariously). By this time, you are hooked to see how it turns out. She gently guides you into the truth of the Scripture she is expounding on; a fresh insight that youve probably never seen before.The chapters are short, but she holds you accountable through her Bits and Pieces, and encourages you by Held to the Light additional Scriptures that fit the chapter theme. I know I was convicted in many of the areas she wrote about. I'm so glad I had the opportunity to read this book at this time in my life.Patsys book is humorous, witty, convicting, and truthful all boiled into one. You can use it as a personal journey to enhance your walk with the Lord or in a Bible study group of your close Christian friends or new believers, in your home or church.This free book was provided by BookSneeze, of Thomas Nelson, for a review. These are my own personal views. This is my way of encouraging others to read and grow spiritually. My thanks to BookSneeze for the opportunity to read and blog this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kaleidoscope of Proverbs: Bits and Pieces Held to the Light
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jamie Little
Kaleidoscope: Seeing Gods Wit and Wisdom in a Whole New Light by Patsy ClairmontWho doesnt love the book of Proverbs?How can you read Proverbs and not glean some insight and wisdom you can apply in your life today?In her new book, Patsy Clairmont takes a look at this in-your-face book and uses her wisdom and sense of humor to provide a new and different way to look at some key verses in Proverbs. In each of the 33 short chapters, Clairmont provides a verse to think about and shares stories about how it applies to her life or our lives today. At the end of each chapter, under the heading Bits and Pieces, there are a series of questions that relate to the chapter and are really meant to help further understanding and application about the reading. Also at the end of each chapter is a section called Held to the Light in which Patsy lists other verses that relate to the topic addressed in the chapter. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. Patsy writes in a conversational manner that really allows her wit and sense of humor to shine. I loved this fresh new look at some of the verses I love most, they were each presented in an informal, relatable fashion. The chapters in this book are short which make it perfect for a morning devotion and the questions give you something to think about through the day. I would definitely recommend this book for anyone who wants to dig a little deeper into the book of Proverbs and/or is looking for a new devotional book.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kaleidoscope of Proverbs: Bits and Pieces Held to the Light
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
blue raindrop
I'd heard Patsy Clairmont speak at a women's conference some years back, so I was thrilled to get a copy of her latest book Kaleioscope from Thomas Nelson for reviewing it.The book goes through proverbs, selecting different verses and illustrating them in a different light, normally through humorous stories from Patsy's life showing how the verses apply to common everyday situations.If you've heard her speak, the book is very much the same conversational style... very easy to read and very easy to keep your interest.In a way though, I think it would actually be better used as a devotional though, for that same reason. It's really easy to sit down and read 4 or 5 chapters at a time, no problem. But when I read it that way, it was way too easy to just blow past each topic and move on.Slowing down and reading each chapter on its own, with a break in between, worked a lot better for me on giving me time to slow down and really think about each lesson instead of just reading for amusement
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kaleidoscope of Proverbs: Bits and Pieces Held to the Light
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kady Garrett
Kaleidoscope by Patsy ClairmontPatsys book, Kaleidoscope, helps the reader see Gods wit and wisdom in a whole new light. She takes the unorganized book of Proverbs and discusses certain aspects of it in each chapter. Clairmont knows exactly what to say and offers a fresh new take on the in-your-face, as Patsy would say, book of Proverbs. In addition to her Proverbs talk, she also adds her own personal humor to her discussions, which makes the book extra fun to read. On a personal note, I loved Kaleidoscope and found it to be a highly entertaining book. I couldnt put down this exciting mix of wit and humor, and it was about Scripture to boot! I felt so much more in touch with what God wants us to know regarding Proverbs and its contents. I loved how every chapter was fresh, intriguing, and easy to read. Patsy Clairmont is a straight-to-the-point kind of woman, which is perfect for the straight-to-the-point book of Proverbs. Additionally, her choice of verses for the theme of the chapters was creative and had an even flow. In conclusion, Kaleidoscope is a fun read and Patsy is a funny gal, which makes it a great book!Thanks to Book Sneeze for providing me with the book!-Review by Kady Garrett
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kaleidoscope of Proverbs: Bits and Pieces Held to the Light
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan
I loved Kaleidoscope: Seeing God's Wit and Wisdom in a Whole New Light by Patsy Clairmont. This book is a very quick read and is set up to be read as a daily or weekly devotional book.Patsy Clairmont is an accomplished writer with more than twenty books and after reading this book I understand why. Clairmont has managed to make this book relatable to women of all ages and circumstances, something that can be quite difficult to do.In Kaleidoscope, Clairmont takes thirty-three Proverbs and relates them to not only herself and her life experiences but to the reader as well. She provides thought provoking questions at the end of each chapter (called Bits and Pieces) that will ultimately help to deepen your relationship with Jesus and give you some insight into your life as well. Clairmont also provides additional scripture at the end of each chpater (the section is titled Held to the Light) that backs up the mini lesson that was covered in the chapter. These additional scriptures help to prove the point that Clairmont was making in each chapter and will have you thumbing through your Bible craving for more.I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and the questions at the end of each chapter really made me sit down and think. I highly recommend Kaleidoscope: Seeing God's Wit and Wisdom in a Whole New Light to all women.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com (http://BookSneeze.com) book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kaleidoscope of Proverbs: Bits and Pieces Held to the Light
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kat1616
I had the pleasure of reading this book over the weekend. I was excited to get started as I had attended a few Women of Faith events and thought Patsy was so funny and it was amazing to see how God could use her humor to touch lives.Kaleidiscope - Seeing God's Wit and Wisdom In A Whole New Light - Is a joyful book to read. In it, Patsy has chosen 30 Proverbs to share with the reader. She breaks them down and shares her own stories along the way. It amazed me that through her humor she was able to touch me profoundly. There were so many life experiences that she had that I could relate to. Each chapter is about 4 pages long and has Bits and Pieces (questions to ponder) and Held to the Light (scriptures that relate to that particular chapter) at the end. I really enjoyed these wrap ups. My favorite chapter was chapter 21 Loose Lips - Proverbs 16:23. In it she talks about wanting to share anything new she learns, can't we all relate? But she also has a list of "eclectic things that I'm still learning" and asks the reader to read them and ask yourself "Is this true". My favorite from the list was "We are our finest selves when we function in our God-given gifts". I even shared this with my 13 year old daughter. I would highly recommend this book to any women that is touched by God or looking to be touched and enjoys a good sense of humor!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kaleidoscope of Proverbs: Bits and Pieces Held to the Light
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Charlene Morrison
Life is textured, and Patsy Clairmont adds her own unique texture to life in her book Kaleidoscope. I received an advanced copy from Booksneeze.com, and I really enjoyed reading it. It is a book about Proverbs covering a wide range of life topics in a colorful way that really does reflect the lives of women everywhere. Just like a Kaleidoscope. It is like a girls night out that you read, which makes it the perfect book for a group of moms, business women, grandmas, sisters or knitting groups to read together. The topics are all great conversation starters and I enjoyed the Bits and Pieces at the end of each chapter, that gave questions that sometimes required me to reach into my inner depth to answer. One minute I was reading and chuckling, or nodding my head in agreement, and then I would get to the Bits an Pieces and honesty and reality who were sitting at my side would speak up and make me think harder about the scripture Patsy had chosen for each chapter and how that applied to my everyday, color filled life.Tomorrow is already full, but we didn't pack it. But are we ready to deal with what will come in our day? If you wanted to put a theme on this book, it would be Words. Patsy Clairmont encourages readers in this book to consider their words and how they affect others. How we react and the words we use to others in times of our own struggles and winning accomplishments will affect how people view us when life returns to normal and we are looking around for our friends. (I was not required by Booksneeze.com to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 )
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kaleidoscope of Proverbs: Bits and Pieces Held to the Light
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 3, 2010
Kaleidoscope: Seeing God's Wit and Wisdom in a Whole New Light by Patsy Clairmont is an excellent daily devotional book. Patsy Clairmont who is a speaker with the Women of Faith has written a book for Women regardless of their stage of life. Clairmont takes 33 Proverbs and with each one she tells you a little about herself, how this verse should be interpreted and applied, and asks thought provoking questions to help you deepen your relationship with Jesus. Clairmont addresses issues of body image, the tongue, depression, laughter, friendship and marriage. Each topic is discussed in just a few paragraphs, yet each offers excellent, applicable insight. Clairmont does an excellent job of discussing subjects not as an expert, but as a sister in Christ who is letting the reader learn from her own experiences.As I read this book I was immediately struck with the thought that this was a book that could be used for group Bible Study discussion, personal Bible Study, or simply discussion with women. Clairmont sets the example of giving personal information from her past and being vulnerable, yet also makes sure to let you know how resolution has been found. Personally I was struck by how many Proverbs relate to the tongue and how we speak to each other. I think this is always a lesson women can be reminded about. I also appreciated that each chapter finished with several Bible verses for future discussion and life application.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kaleidoscope of Proverbs: Bits and Pieces Held to the Light
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2010
Patsy Clairmont's book on Proverbs was a very quick and easy read. Each chapter is short and to the point, which I found refreshing. Even though it is a book you could read in a sitting or two, it packs a powerful punch. I recommended this book to a friends who was looking for a personal bible study to work on in between bible studies at church. This would also be a great addition to ones daily devotion time. This is not an in depth study of the book of proverbs, but rather the author chooses a few of the wise teachings to focus on. I found the authors take on some of the proverbs to be fresh and informative. Personal real life examples make the lessons even more applicable and the timeless lessons of proverbs seem to take on new meaning. Ending each chapter are personal reflection questions that could also be used in a small group setting. This is the first book I have read by this author, and based on it, I am interested in reading her others. It is nice to add some humorous insight to bible study sometimes, an this is just what Patsy Clairmont does with Kaleidoscope.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kaleidoscope of Proverbs: Bits and Pieces Held to the Light
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Huntter
Acclaimed author and Women of Faith speaker Patsy Clairmont causes womens' hearts to leap and their hopes to lift in this quirky, straight-to-the point look at the Proverbs.Understanding the Christian life and the Bible can be a daunting task. But maybe God didn't mean it to be so hard. In Kaleidoscope of Proverbs, Patsy Clairmont pieces together some powerful messages from God and reveals new facets of beauty, inspiration, and instruction. Written for busy women, Patsy offers brief, powerful chapters that address the key aspects of their lives, hearts, and relationships.In the Proverbs, God gives us small gems of hope and truth, and in Kaleidoscope of Proverbs, Patsy Clairmont unveils them for readers with her trademark humor and insightful teaching.This was a book I recieved from Thomas Nelson to review. I think my main reason for getting it was because of the cover, since it's so bright and colorful. It also was the most interesting of the ones they had at the time. So when I opened it I was ready to read it and find out something new, and a new way to understand those previously misunderstood verses of Proverbs. So when I finished reading the book I was amazed at what I had learned. It really helped me apply verses I previously hadn't understood to my own life. It was really easy to understand, and I was able to read through it without an issue. I really liked, although I do have to say that it was definitely geared for more of an adult audience rather than that of teenagers. But I still enjoyed it none the less.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kaleidoscope of Proverbs: Bits and Pieces Held to the Light
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Earl Yates
Patsy writes about some of the proverbs that she has noticed have been fulfilled in her own experiences, because of this she is able to get her point across of how God's Word has been fulfilled in her own life and is able to help her readers grasp the truth and how it works in their life without sounding like she is preaching to them which makes her book easy to get into. It is light and gentle and filled with humor as we would expect from Patsy. She has also included a study guide at the end of each chapter to help her readers see how God's Word is being fulfilled in their own life situations by asking questions that causes a person to examine situations that perhaps need looking at with God's Kaleidoscope for when we use our own Kaleidoscope we as Paul said "look through a glass darkly." Patsy knows that only when we look through God's Kaleidoscope can we clearly see where we need improving and when the Lord points out our need in life situations, then we are willing to let Him change us, and when He changes us, then we are truly changed. I got this book for free from Thomas Nelson Publishers for reviewing it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>