Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Searching for God Knows What (Revised and Updated)

Thomas Nelson Searching for God Knows What (Revised and Updated)

In this updated edition of his bestselling Searching for God Knows What, Donald Miller takes a close look at the numerous philosophies we desperately cling to in hopes that they will heal our brokenness. Miller reminds us that the fix we are searching for is not merely a philosophy, a theology or a set of ideas. Rather, the fix is the gospel, which calls us not only to embrace Jesus, but to set out with him on a journey of redemption.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Searching for God Knows What (Revised and Updated)
Review 1 for Searching for God Knows What (Revised and Updated)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Director
Location:Allentown,NJ
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not as strong as "Blue Like Jazz", Miller's preceding book but still certainly a good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Searching for God Knows What (Revised and Updated)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

When I pick up a book by Donald Miller, I

Date:June 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
grandma jane
Location:missouri
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
anticipate a thought provoking look at Christian faith and a personal need to consider how my faith affects the way I live. How is it relevant in my life, does it make a difference in the way I live, do I project a loving example of faith, am I willing to step outside my comfort zone? The thing I like best about his books is the feeling that it is almost like a communication with an introspective friend; seriously considering content and thought as I would in an actual exchange with another person.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Searching for God Knows What (Revised and Updated)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My brother suggested this book.

Date:November 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Peter
Location:New Mexico
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My brother suggested this book. The plan is to discuss the author's point of view as soon as I finish reading the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Searching for God Knows What (Revised and Updated)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lifechanging Book

Date:November 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chuck
Location:Fairview, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been on the religious performance track for my entire life and I've had my share of frustrations. From this wonderful book I now understand that God doesn't want me to be "good"... He wants me to be His! Miller is able to get beyond the performance delusion and into the reality of a relationship with God... for all the right (healthy) reasons.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Searching for God Knows What (Revised and Updated)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
John D. Enright
This book review is on Donald Miller's Searching For God Knows What. It is a book about rediscovering God, Faith, and what it truly means to be a Christian. It is a unique perspective on these aspects and helps draw believers and non believers to God in a unique way.I wanted to read this book because I had heard so much about what a great author Donald Miller is. That is writing is great, and it is something worth checking out. Searching For God Knows What was one of the HARDEST reads I have had in a long time. Not because of the content, but the writing style. I am more of a fiction, story progressing as each chapter is passed kind of reader. Miller's style is not like that. It is more a colletion of ideas and opinions paired with corresponding stories that relate. It took kind of a round about way to get to the point he was trying to make in a chapter. I really struggled with it, so much so that it has taken me longer to read than any book, and it is not terribly long. I will put it on the shelf and maybe try again later, maybe it is one of those books like Mere Christianity that takes a few times of reading for it to stick. If I were to rate it I would give it 2 1/2 shells, middle of the road.Thanks to Thomas Nelson Publishing for providing this book free of charge through their Book Sneeze program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Searching for God Knows What (Revised and Updated)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Courtney M
I haven't read a BookSneeze book in months. That's my newest confession. But, just the other day, I finally picked Donald Miller's Searching for God Knows What and I can honestly say that I wish I would have picked it up earlier!It started out a little slow, but picked up speed quickly. Throughout the book, Miller talked about how we Christians nowadays feel the need to 'one-up' just about everything, including our relationship with Christ in contrast with our friends' relationships with the Savior.We try to seem, in a sense, "better" than other people. And that, my friends, is not the way Christ would want us to live our lives. Essentially, one of Miller's main points is this: do not cast stones at your brothers' or sisters' ways of living. Focus on winning souls for Christ. Meet people where they are, love them like Christ would and hope and pray that they fall in love with the God that you have a relationship with, too.Miller is a great writer and storyteller, who has a great focus: search for God and who knows what wonderful things He will do!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Searching for God Knows What (Revised and Updated)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lisa Watkins
I've heard of Donald Miller before but this was the first book of his that I'd read. I'm happy to say that it won't be the last. I found Miller to be extremely refreshing, asking some difficult questions about Christianity that I too have struggled with over the years. I appreciate his honest and earnest search for authentic representation of the Gospel.Miller discusses the trap that many churches and religions fall into, that of treating Christianity as a formula to follow rather than being about an intimate relationship with Christ. As Miller puts it, "the essence of God's message to mankind wasn't a bunch of hoops we needed to jump through to get saved, and it wasn't a series of ideas with had to agree with either; rather, it was an invitation, and invitation to know God." (pg. 14)I think that this book will appeal not only to those who, like me, are longtime Christians who are weary of the formulaic messages of how to get salvation and have all your prayers answered in five easy steps, but also to non-Christians who are seeking something more in their lives. Authenticity is a quality that seems to be in short supply these days, and I find myself drawn to people and groups who display authenticity in their lives. This book is a challenge to me to view my personal faith as a relationship with Christ, not a formula to follow. And relationships are messy, not tied up neatly with a bow. Yet that's the only way to experience authentic, true life in Christ, mess and all. I'll be adding Searching for God Knows What to my collection of books that I read over and over again, and I look forward to reading more of Miller's work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Searching for God Knows What (Revised and Updated)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2010
Donald miller is a pretty amazing author i think. i loveloveLOVED blue like jazz it was so true and great. i had a copy of this book an older one so when i saw that this was a revised version. i snatched it up right away i hadn't read it yet so i was excited to.donald is super honest probably to the point that some people might be angry but i like it cause its truth and if you have a problem with it then maybe you are struggling with that so you just get angry.i thought it was good not as good as blue like jazz but pretty good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Searching for God Knows What (Revised and Updated)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Searching for God Knows What ~ Donald MillerMiller captures God the way the Bible does. There is no sugar coating Christianity. He speaks the truth and not what we want to hear as Christians but what we need to hear. This book may make you uncomfortable at times but it is an example of why we believe what we do and God never called us to be comfortable Christians. Miller says Being a Christian is more like falling in love than understanding a series of ideas. This is so true, and what it is all about. We get fed ideas all the time about how a Christian should act but Miller is challenging us to get back into the Word and be real with God. This is the first book I have read by Donald Miller and certainly wont be the last. He has a way of drawing the reader in while speaking honestly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Searching for God Knows What (Revised and Updated)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lisa
Donald Miller is not content to follow the masses in regards to the Christian faith. He wants to help repair the broken views of our religion and bring believers back to a meaningful relationship with our true love, Jesus. Searching for God Knows What conveys the importance of this life-changing relationship while trying to expose what Christianity isnt.When I read Millers Blue Like Jazz, I devoured each page, excited to unexpectedly read thoughts so similar to mine. Searching for God Knows What did not disappoint me, as I found it equally interesting to read and just as difficult to put down. Miller presents old, but under-appreciated, views in a fresh way. I enjoy how he doesnt deviate from Biblical truths, but points out how far off the original path we Christians can sometimes wander, especially in this country. My favorite chapters were 10, 12, and 14. These focus on how the gospel message has been reduced to a formula, why the focus of our faith should be on our relationship with Jesus and not following a moral code, and how the gospel can be better communicated as a passionate love story, a la Romeo and Juliet. I will definitely recommend this book to others.I received this book free from ThomasNelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Searching for God Knows What (Revised and Updated)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bill Colburn
I always am blessed as I interact with the mind of this author. I like the way he ruminates about the things of God. I appreciate his willingness to ponder outside what some may called the orthodox lines. Don has an unassuming way of weaving into fascinating stories some truly synapse-screaming notions.As I read through this book I found myself wondering who Don's style of writing reminded me of. Finally it came to me. I imagine him as a cross between pastor/author Brian McLaren and children's book author/online game designer Jeff Kinney - best known for his Diary of the Whimy Kid.Donald is a story teller. If you enjoy well developed and rather lengthy illustrations cleverly designed to buttress up the theological point he is about to make, then you will not be able to put this book down. If you prefer a no-nonesense book that cuts-to-the chase and/or colors only within your current and comfortable 'bubble' lines then - find another author of your own peculiar 'feather'. Much of what Don discusses in this book are ideas currently being discussed within the Emergent literature of this last decade. In fact, if you are not familiar with, yet intrigued by, emergent theology then Don's book would be a gentle first step across the coals to see if they are too toasty for your twinkies. On the other hand, if you've been reading McLaren, Frost, Cole, Tickle, Rollins, Hirsch, or many other emerging church authors, Don's book will come across rather light-weight. He raises many legitimate issues, but often stops short of the proverbial precipice from which others appear to delight in diving off from.Finally, you've got to love this mans heart for God. His faith, his intergrity, his authenticity, his blessed twist of mind, and his gift for openly expressing in words what he is thinking will touch your heart as it does mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Searching for God Knows What (Revised and Updated)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2010
If your faith in God is wrapped up in a nice little bow, if you read the Bible like a step-by-step how-to book on being a Christian, if you think your theology is tight, then this is not the book for you unless you want to start seeing God for who He really is.Miller tells us "knowing facts about God is not the same as knowing god." I grew up in a nice little church and knew God through obedience and doing good. As I entered my adult years, I had a hard time connecting doing good with being good. No matter what I did, I was never good enough. Yet, God is not about saving those who are good. It is not about good but about God. Once I took my eyes off self and looked at God for who He really is, I realized that it is about relationship. Miller puts into words these feelings I was having, and helped me realize that trying to put my faith into a formula not only limits God who is limitless but also limits my faith. That was a huge paradigm shift in my thinking. Miller speaks for the generation of unchurched believers who want to believe but are not about to sit still and be nice just to fit in. It more than just toeing the line of doing what is right. It is about having a relationship with God.To comply with new regulations introduced by the Federal Trade Commission, I must post that Thomas Nelson has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.