Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Worthy Publishing The Sky Is Not Falling: Living Feaerlessly in These Turbulent Times - eBook

Worthy Publishing The Sky Is Not Falling: Living Feaerlessly in These Turbulent Times - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Sky Is Not Falling: Living Feaerlessly in These Turbulent Times - eBook
Review 1 for The Sky Is Not Falling: Living Feaerlessly in These Turbulent Times - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Malley
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As usual, Chuck Colson hits the mark. Clear, uncompromising, well written and well worth the time to read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Sky Is Not Falling: Living Feaerlessly in These Turbulent Times - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
rlb56
Location:Keysville, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book helped me to gain better understanding. Being formerly incarcerated myself i am drawn to this authours writings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Sky Is Not Falling: Living Feaerlessly in These Turbulent Times - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very timely and highly informative

Date:September 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
fishing
Location:Mt. Sterling, Kentucky
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is an excellent "read", although if you are looking for a lazy Sunday afternoon book...try something else. Mr. Colson's background allows a highly informed and critical view of a complicated and multifaceted issue. He has done an excellent job of condensing main issues with logical and intelligent application, but not recommended for anyone who doesn't appreciate a challenge of complicated issues given adequate (at the least), equally weighty solutions.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Sky Is Not Falling: Living Feaerlessly in These Turbulent Times - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book

Date:April 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mme Blueberry
Location:Toronto, On., Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Colson always expresses his thoughts and ideas so that we have to think seriously about our faith. Great book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Sky Is Not Falling: Living Feaerlessly in These Turbulent Times - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another excellent Colson classic

Date:February 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Graham Cudlipp
Location:Prescott, Ontario
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really enjoyed this book - also reading The End by Mark Hitchcock. Complementary reading material.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Sky Is Not Falling: Living Feaerlessly in These Turbulent Times - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

very thorough analysis of the day we are living

Date:February 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Donna Sill
Location:Webb City, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First of all the title of the book got my attention. After reading through it, it seemed somewhat familiar for a good reason. I had already purchased the book and found it in my library. But it was just as good reading it a second time!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Sky Is Not Falling: Living Feaerlessly in These Turbulent Times - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Convicting and inspiring

Date:November 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Limo
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Sky is not Falling" moved me out of sloth and unbelief as has no other influence in many years. I return to it when I'm tempted to be unfaithful to my Lord.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Sky Is Not Falling: Living Feaerlessly in These Turbulent Times - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Judy Matkins
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Charles Colson seems to always meet or exceed my expectations. This book is insightful, and his experience in government gives a look at things in a way we don't often get to see.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Sky Is Not Falling: Living Feaerlessly in These Turbulent Times - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

collection of magazine essays

Date:September 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This book is comprised of essays that first appeared in Christianity Today and have been collected here in themes.
Colson senses that evangelicals are battle weary and are in a sort of malaise when it comes to influencing culture. Some might cry that the sky is falling, but we should be encouraging instead as the church has withstood the onslaught of two millennia.
In one essay, Colson notes, “The truth is that Americans are losing their moral recognition of the universal dignity of human life.” (21-22) He asks, “Where are the adults who are supposed to teach these kids the intrinsic value of human life and other moral absolutes?” (22) Colson suggests, “Today people are beginning to recognize the soul-destroying consequences of postmodernism, and now is the time to press them to see the wisdom of biblical truth.” (22)
He has a great chapter on marriage. He notes the supreme court decisions that effectively ended any morals legislation. (42) When the person is divided from the physical body, the body is treated as an instrument for getting what someone wants. (44) Christians cannot just say that homosexuality and adultery are against the Bible. The understanding of the human person must be explained, and Colson does exactly that.
He next addresses the decline in our culture, encouraging Christians to have high standards in speech and dress, as well as for worship, music, etc.
He addresses postmodernism and the denial of absolute truth and the disastrous results that follow. Colson is concerned relativism has invaded the church. “It is vital that Christians become more discriminating.” (71)
He next investigates what happens when a utilitarian logic, such as evolutionary ethics, is applied to science. He covers the ramifications of recent Supreme Court decisions. He believes they show a trend that puts religious liberty in jeopardy.
The public has lost confidence in the congress and Colson gives several reasons for it. Since 2005, earmarks have cost the taxpayers over $142 billion. (93) Special interests dominate. Lobbyists and politicians no longer work for the common good but for what is in it for them. Virtue and ethics in government are plummeting. He encourages Christians to get active in holding their politicians accountable.
Of the modern culture, Colson says, “We must show why postmodern relativism is the cause of such despair and is at the root of much cultural restlessness and fragmentation. And then we must point the way out of the corner that postmoderns have painted themselves into.” (105)
There is now rampant doctrinal ignorance among American Christians. (111) Christians need to be able to speak intelligently and courageously about the hope that is within them. “A vital key to turning today's church around is taking special care to see that the next generation is solidly grounded in Christianity's core teachings and infused with an accurate worldview.” (113) We must teach discernment or we are going to lose the next generation. He says the “cultural commission” is every bit as real and serious as the Great Commission. We cannot ignore the moral issues of the day.
Colson suggests “God may be using disastrous events to wake up America. (124)
When it comes to political involvement, Colson wants Christians to remember they are appealing to hearts and minds, not twisting arms. (130)
As is sometimes the case with essay collections, this book does not seem to have a cohesive thread running through it. If one does want to get Colson's take on a variety of current political and cultural conditions, this would be a way of doing so in bite size chunks.
I received an egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.