Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House An Uncertain Dream, Postcards From Pullman Series #3

Bethany House An Uncertain Dream, Postcards From Pullman Series #3

When Pullman Car Works employees walk out in protest of their wages and high rent, Olivia Mott is torn between her loyalty to the company and her love for Fred DeVault. Amidst the turmoil in Pullman, Fred is asked to act as a local delegate to the national convention of the American Railway Union, but when the delegates vote in favor of a nationwide boycott of the famous Pullman sleeping cars, Olivia wonders if Fred will ever be able to return to the company town. What will become of their growing affection for each other? Who will prevail in the company strike?
Average Customer Rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for An Uncertain Dream, Postcards From Pullman Series #3
Review 1 for An Uncertain Dream, Postcards From Pullman Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Beverley Adam
I enjoyed the series...you need to purchase all three books to reach the end of the story, but that was fine. I happen to like the historical novels. The author encourages her readers to read actual accounts of Pullman, which would be interesting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for An Uncertain Dream, Postcards From Pullman Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan Bishop
the last of a 3-book series...one of the best books (and series) i've read...loved the history in it and the characters portrayed as having lived during this tumultous time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for An Uncertain Dream, Postcards From Pullman Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dean Raynor
Excellent series, not like any other series I have read, she is very good at taking a story and making sure that her ideas are very unique to any other author!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for An Uncertain Dream, Postcards From Pullman Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Esther Grimes
Judith Miller is a FANTASTIC writer. I couldn't hardly put the book down. When I did, however, it seemed to me that when things would happen in REAL TIME for me, I would automatically think, "Did this just happen or was it something I remembered from the book?" I will absolutely consider her for any future books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for An Uncertain Dream, Postcards From Pullman Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sharon Sergy
I have read the entire series- couldn't put the books down. Can't wait for #4
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for An Uncertain Dream, Postcards From Pullman Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Chandra Cooper
I found this entire series to be very educational and has a great, original storyline.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for An Uncertain Dream, Postcards From Pullman Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2009
I really like this series because it takes a period in American history that isn't normally studied in class and brings it to life. The story about the town of Pullman is absolutely fascinating and the lives of the people are fleshed out into real characters. I really like in this story how Charlotte comes full circle from the snobby, bratty and immature girl from the first book. She's grown up and has learned to take responsibility for her actions. Olivia's story is always the heart of this series and I love reading about her job as a chef. Her relationship with Fred drives me nuts at times because Fred is overly jealous. Still though it was very interesting to see how he handled being involved with the strike and maintaining his relationship with Olivia at the same time. I also enjoyed the storyline with Fred's mother and Olivia's boss. Very cute and I was glad to see Mrs. Devault hold her own against her son. I really like the setting of these books in the town of Pullman. This a time period where the majority of people don't know that much about its history. It's actually quite interesting because I'm learning about this era in my history classes and we discussed Pullman. Judith Miller has done excellent research into recreating the town and the strike that happened was very well portrayed. My only complaint is that the story ends rather abruptly. If this is the end of the series, it doesn't really leave me satisfied. I would have liked at least one more book to tie up all the story lines. Yes people end up together or hint at getting together, but there's talk about starting the characters going in new directions so I would have liked to see more of this getting accomplished. All in all though, this is a wonderful historical novel, introducing readers to a time period that should be talked about more often.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for An Uncertain Dream, Postcards From Pullman Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Snowlady70
I just finished reading all three books in this series and suddenly I miss Pullman.I was drawn into the town and it's people from book one. The recommendation the author makes to check out the suggested web site about Pullman is a must as you read the books. I can't wait to recommend this series to the ladies who frequent our church library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for An Uncertain Dream, Postcards From Pullman Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rachel
Overall I really loved the book and like the first 2 it was a quick read. I wish that more questions were answered before the end, or that she would write a 4th book in the series. I would really like to know what happens to some of the characters brought into this book and the future of them all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for An Uncertain Dream, Postcards From Pullman Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Hollaine Bricker
I just started this book but it is as good as the first two in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for An Uncertain Dream, Postcards From Pullman Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Donna Collins
This series was interesting to me because I just retired as a high school special education teacher who supported an American history class this year. The students studied this topic. I didn't remember that there was a man named Pullman. This is the most exciting book of the series for many reasons: the anticipation and uncertainty of the walkout made me want to keep reading the book; romance was definitely in the air for more than one couple and one is a big surprise; the accuracy of the historical account was made more interesting by the backdrop of believable characters. I would recommend this books to those who like Christian historical fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for An Uncertain Dream, Postcards From Pullman Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rebecca Eifert
I have read each book in this series. It seems with each one, the plot gets more drawn out, but if there is a 4th in the series, I will read it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for An Uncertain Dream, Postcards From Pullman Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2008
This book wraps up all the questions you had in the other three books. I enjoyed the way, Judith Miller allows you to step back in history. She gives you a good glimpse of how would be to live in this era.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.