Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Edge of the Divine: Choosing to Live a Life of Joy over a Life of Regret

Thomas Nelson The Edge of the Divine: Choosing to Live a Life of Joy over a Life of Regret

Is your heart gripped by regret? Patty encourages you to turn away from the pain of the past and experience God's grace and goodness! Drawing on her own experience, she shows how hoping in God will help you let go of disappointment and embrace his gift of a fresh start. Includes study guide with discussion questions. Hardcover.
Average Customer Rating:
3.7 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews for The Edge of the Divine: Choosing to Live a Life of Joy over a Life of Regret
Review 1 for The Edge of the Divine: Choosing to Live a Life of Joy over a Life of Regret
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kelly Cook
Feeling as though I needed to get closer to the Divine God I serve, I picked this book from the titles available for review from Thomas Nelson Publishers. As I started reading I wasn't sure it was the right choice. It's a bit autobiographical, and Sandi has struggled with her weight since childhood. The story focuses on this portion of her life and her journey through Lap Band surgery that's supposed to help her return from being severely, morbidly obese. I realized that her struggle with overeating isn't really any different than the struggles each of us face, so I kept reading. She shared the commitment it would take-that the surgery wasn't a quick, easy fix, but rather a tool in her arsenal that would help her get control over this addiction. She learned that she used food to stuff her negative emotions, and once she stopped that habit, she found she needed to learn how to gently express those negative emotions. She spends time taking us to the edge of extreme situations in life and showing us how God is there to take the bad and use it for good. She shares stories from her own life, as well as from the members of her band. She helps us see that trusting God is always better than trusting our circumstances and experience.It's the last chapter that really affected me. It's simply called Enough. In a story of an alcoholic acquaintance's journey to sobriety that survived the loss of his, he tells of his own discovery that the abused substance is never enough. Never enough to kill the pain, forget the bad memories or satisfy the longing deep within. But GOD is enough. He promises to meet our needs, and offers to share His abundance when we draw close to Him.I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Edge of the Divine: Choosing to Live a Life of Joy over a Life of Regret
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
MuseReviews
This is an up-close-and-personal, front row view into Sandi's struggle with obesity. Eating too much has always been a struggle for her, even as a young girl. It became apparent, through a bout of health scares that she underlines in the first pages of this book, that something must be done if her life was to be spared. Thus began her jumping "off of the edge" -- moving from the old to the new, from the past into a new future.Sandi gives a realistic portrayal of what it's like to undergo lap-band surgery, as well as the physical ramifications of the procedure after it's completed. She also documents the emotional ties to eating, for her and for many others, making pre-and-post surgery counseling a necessity. As the story goes on and her life begins to grow healthier and change for the better, other "edges" are discussed and shared. She recounts other big changes that have occurred in Sandi's life in recent years, and how she moved through them. This book was an inspiration to me, a jolt to look at my life's own challenges in a new way. It's a testament to what God can do. It's a crystal clear picture of what goes on beneath the surface of any big change, making me more aware of the effects of my life's choices and paths chosen on others around me. These poignant literary pictures, along with Sandi Patty's crafty humor and clever quips thrown in, make for a very enjoyable (and encouraging) read. I received an advance readers copy of this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Edge of the Divine: Choosing to Live a Life of Joy over a Life of Regret
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jill K.
My latest acquisition from the Book Sneeze program is The Edge of the Divine by Sandi Patty. In this book, Sandi Patty talks about lessons she has learned through the journey she has taken through lap band surgery. The side story is the lap band surgery that Sandi chose to have but the main story is the revelations that God have her, especially when it comes to God's grace and goodness.Sandi Patty has written a wonderful book. I find that when I read a book, I need more personal stories to draw me in. To her credit, she is an excellent writer. However, I don't know why I couldn't get into the book. It took me a long time to get through the book. I think what is wonderfully deceptive about this book is that it looks like a light, fluffy, easy book but there is a lot of substance to this book. I would highly recommend it!Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Edge of the Divine: Choosing to Live a Life of Joy over a Life of Regret
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Andrea
I have just finished reading Sandi Patty's new book, "The Edge of the Divine (Where Possibility Meets God's Faithfulness)". The only thing I knew about Sandi when I chose this book was that she was a Christian artist. It was the title and the brief synopsis online that caught my interest.In this book, Sandi shares her personal struggles with her weight and how she made a decision to do something about it. Sandi shows that all of us have things that we struggle with and how God uses those issues to bring us to what Sandi refers to as an "edge"-- a place where we have to make a decision and leap forward, trusting that God is leading us to spiritual fulfillment. Sandi uses humour, personal anecdotes, and scriptural examples to illustrate her story.I found this book to be a calming read in my hectic life. It was nice to sit down and be reminded that God is in control if I allow Him to lead me. I enjoyed joining Sandi as she retold her journey from being obese to becoming healthier. I really enjoyed how she managed to weave that experience into God moments. Definitely a recommended read!I have signed up to be a guest book reviewer for Thomas Nelson Publishers, through their BookSneeze program. I request books that interest me and they send them to me for free. In return, I review the book. The opinions I express are my own. Watch here for my reviews!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Edge of the Divine: Choosing to Live a Life of Joy over a Life of Regret
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
marci
By the title of the book I was immediately drawn to it. I thought it would speak to some areas in my past I am dealing with. I was profoundly disappointed to see it was about her weight loss journey. Apparently she does deal with some other areas but that kinda turned off my interest right there. The title may be confusing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Edge of the Divine: Choosing to Live a Life of Joy over a Life of Regret
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lauren
I remember as a child going to the Meyerson Symphony Center (in Dallas, Texas) with my parents for a special Christmas concert. It was the first time I heard Sandi Patty sing and I was blown away by the beauty of her voice. Since then, I have always been a little intrigued to know more about Sandi Patty. The Edge of the Divine: Where Possibility Meets God's Faithfulness gave me that opportunity. Through reading this book, I learned quite a bit about Sandi Patty, her husband, Don, and their blended family of eight children. In the book, Sandi shares her testimony of how God directly answered many of her prayers and helped guide her in some life-changing decisions ("edge of the divine" decisions), including: the decision to have lap-band surgery and to adopt their familys eighth child. Many of the stories that she shared in the book I felt like I could not relate to my own life and found difficult to follow. There was however a great study guide at the back of the book that helped me tie some of it together. Overall, I cant say it was my favorite book, but I do admire and appreciate the candidness by which Sandi shared her life with the reader.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Edge of the Divine: Choosing to Live a Life of Joy over a Life of Regret
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
leahnichole
This book was something I didnt expect right off the back, and when I opened and began to read it, the words jumped of the page and hit me right in the heart. Like her I have struggles for many years being over weight and to see her difficulties just brought me back to my own reality. Unlike many books I have read Sandi explains not only the struggles she went through but also how she overcame them, and unlike most people she doesnt give credit to herself, but to God and his faithfulness. Sandi takes us not only through her wellness journey through lap band surgery but also through the process of remembering to trust God in all things.She constantly reminds us that in life as women we will face many crucial times and its up to us to choose our path. We have the choice to be ashamed, or walk in the freedom God has gave us. In her current situation she had to deal with her weight. Sandi had to make the difficult choice whether to let her weight control her life or to trust in God and hold on to his mercies whilst getting the lap band surgery and in the end she did what was best for her.The path she chose is not one that I would take but through her trust in God it dramatically changed her life for the better! The main idea of this book is that if you rely on Jesus, he will be faithful and come through for you in any of lifes many challenges and I stand by that.I believe that this book is important for anyone who has struggled not only with their weight but also those who have felt shame and worthlessness, because it really opens your eyes to who God is and to the fact that you are NOT ALONE.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Edge of the Divine: Choosing to Live a Life of Joy over a Life of Regret
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2010
The Edge of the Divine, is Sandi Patty's story of the journey that she began in 2008, when she began her research and her ultimate choice to have lap band surgery. Not just the physical journey, but Sandi also shares her emotional and spiritual journey that she has been on since her story began. A journey in which she learned to recognize the many edges in her life. An edge is the point at which something is likely to begin. As Sandi tells her story, in her own words she shares many of those new beginnings, edges that she came to and through.She is very candid about the fact that though she said God was her number one priority, in her life, her choices were plainly shown that food was her comforter-in-chief. She is very open and candidly speaks of her past, of the struggles and the hurts in her life that brought her to the point of her life where she knew this edge would be the toughest to face.I truly enjoyed Sandi's book and look forward to referencing back to it, as there were many spiritual and emotional truths that all of us must face. As an overweight person myself it truly made me think about the things that trigger why I eat, and what food is to me. Most definitely a book for all people to read, even those who do not struggle with weight issues, but perhaps are beset with other weights in their lives.This book was provided for review purposes only, no payment was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Edge of the Divine: Choosing to Live a Life of Joy over a Life of Regret
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Linda Nelms
Based on the cover of the book, it appeared that this book was about weight loss surgery and the impact it had on Sandi Pattys life. However, when delving into the pages, the writer talks more about an edge a point at which something is likely to happen. Sandi takes you though the many edges in her life, most being traumatic experiences in which she was able to fall off the edge and receive Gods grace. The majority of the book focused on her edge experiences and little on her weight loss surgery. At times, it seemed that she was musing over the tough times in her life, events which readers may already know about if they have read her previous books. While many people have weight loss surgery, it was difficult to tie that event biblically to the intervention of Christ in her life through a man-made solution to obesity. If you are looking for a journey through bariatric surgery, this book does not provide that level of detail. Nevertheless, if you want to know more about Sandis life, her challenges and her faith, its a good read. Thomas Nelson provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for me to read and review. I am a member of Booksneeze and as a part of the group you can receive complimentary copies of the books to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Edge of the Divine: Choosing to Live a Life of Joy over a Life of Regret
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Stacey Anderson
The Edge of the Divine, by Grammy Award Winning Vocalist and Women of Faith Speaker Sandi Patty is an autobiographical journey through the ups and downs which accompanied her during her weight-loss / lap band surgery experience. She uses the metaphor of an edge as a place where "something is likely to happen." Throughout the book, she shares many times when she has found herself to be on the edge of something traumatic and life-changing, and how this particular experience with dramatic weight loss was a major challenge, and edge to cross.When I picked it up, the book sounded like it would be a good read, albeit a fairly quick and easy one. However, it wasn't as quick as I had hoped because, for one thing, it darted and dashed all over the place. The writing was very disjointed and as the reader, I felt a bit jarred by it. As well, the style was so informal and casual, it was more like sitting on the back porch, or like reading a personal journal that wasn't really meant to be discovered. I found myself frequently irritated as I read the book, wondering what many of the passages had to do with the book's theme. To me, the average person (which most of us are) would have a hard time relating to her "problems" because for one thing, she lives the life of a performer who is blessed with adequate money, etc., and for another, she has been in the spotlight for 30+ years, which is bound to alter a person's perception. While I certainly applaud her courage and her willingness to be open with her experiences, I did not come away from this read feeling particularly inspired or encouraged. There was a spiritual message, but not a strong one. My impression was that of a worldly woman with many advantages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Edge of the Divine: Choosing to Live a Life of Joy over a Life of Regret
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Candice
The Edge of the Divine: Where Possibility Meets Gods Faithfulness is a new book authored by Christian vocalist Sandi Patty.I picked it up not knowing what it was about, but intrigued by the title.The theme throughout The Edge of the Divine: Where Possibility Meets Gods Faithfulness is about breaking free of regret and finding a life of freedom and joy.Sandi Patty experienced this journey through losing 80 pounds by making the choice to have bariatric surgery (lap band) and leaving her old lifestyle habits behind.The parts of the book centered around her choice to have bariatric surgery were not extremely interesting to me, but I do identify with the message that it takes courage to make a big change of any kind in your life.She also touches on other journeys in her life, including her divorce and remarriage that made her fall from grace in the Christian scene several years ago. I never really knew the details because I was just a child when it happened, and not necessarily a hard core Sandi Patty fan at any point in my life. But I appreciate her honesty in addressing the elephant in the room and sharing the ways that it grew her in her walk with God.The Edge of the Divine: Where Possibility Meets Gods Faithfulness also has others stories of stepping out in faith and reaping the rewards of Gods blessing.The pages at the back of the book contain questions for discussion and individual reflection to massage your mind.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Edge of the Divine: Choosing to Live a Life of Joy over a Life of Regret
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
alex
I just received The Edge of The Divine by Sandi Patty. I have not read any books by Sandi Patty but I will definitely be reading some now. The book began by talking about Sandi's struggle through her weight loss and her struggle with her weight. At first I was a little nervous that the entire book was going to be about her weight loss but my first thoughts were definitely wrong.While the book did discuss her struggles with weight loss it was much more than that. This book is perfect for this point in my life. One of my favorite quotes in the book was by her friend Gene Anderson and he said "If you're not living life on the edge, you're taking up too much space." There are healthy risks we should take in this life and if we don't take them we are just wasting the space. We should live life at the edge and God provides for us to be able to do that! Not only does she talk about edges but also briar patches where we can end up after we want God to send us somewhere else. I love how she uses the terms of "edges" and "briar patches" to get us to see things in new ways. Her book told me what I already know, how God puts us in the right places and His plan is different than ours but it is a reminder I constantly need and she put it in new and interesting terms.I love books that I feel like getting my pen out and underlining and writing my own notes in and this book allowed me to do that. I loved the Bible verses at the beginning of the chapters and throughout, the notes for discussion at the end allow the book to be used for a small group study and my mom is going to bring it up to her small group as something to read next time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Edge of the Divine: Choosing to Live a Life of Joy over a Life of Regret
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tina Coveney
I'm really sorry, but I found this book very difficult to get in to. I wasn't sure what this book was about until I received it from Booksneeze, and I hadn't heard of Sandi Patty before either.If you are contemplating gastric surgery for weight loss, this book will be of interest to you. Sandis' journey through surgery and recovery is the main theme of the book, along with a sprinkling of stories and quotes from her friends. Sandi refers back to her past experiences, and shares how the Lord has helped her to move forward. There is a section in the back of the book for discussion and individual reflection.I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Edge of the Divine: Choosing to Live a Life of Joy over a Life of Regret
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Esther
An edge symbolizes the end or beginning of something. The time and space between two edges could have been cruel, traumatic, betraying and filled with the urgent need to reach the end. When we think it's all over, God meets us with His faithfulness & possibilities. Sandi Patti, in her book, " The Edge of the Divine" discovers how God can meet us right on the edge and transform it into something new, just because He is faithful.She shares about her struggle with her uncontrolled fondness for food which led her to being overweight and complicated the way she thought about herself. She also reveals a dark secret that traumatized her and led her to look for comfort in food. A humbling experience with John 8 leads her to discover that God gives us a second chance and Sandi crosses over the edge to experience life abundantly in God.A walk from the edge onto a never-ending pasture of possibilities was a challenge . But she doesn't fail to mention about her family and friends who inspired her to be all that God wanted her to be.Sandi wore different hats - Award winning vocalist and speaker, wife, mom to 7 children, friend, daughter-in-law and it is deeply encouraging to know how she strove and sought God's help to fulfill each of these roles in the best way.Being a woman, i could relate to every page of her book. It was interesting to note that success did not come easily to Sandi's singing career.All her dreams amounted to nothing when she faced a rejection. But she goes on to tell the readers the soulful message of how God can turn something that Sandi thought was "pretty boring" into who she is today! The journey from being a little girl with a record player to a Grammy award winning vocalist, in Sandi's words is " Hard choices, Soft Landings".Simple, practical yet direct...every woman can find some encouragement from Sandi's personal experiences.I received a free copy from Thomas Nelson Publishers, as part of their book review bloggers program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Edge of the Divine: Choosing to Live a Life of Joy over a Life of Regret
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2010
I have to be honest and say I was slightly disappointed with this book. It was a quick read and moderately inspirational but not all I thought it was going to be. Sandi shares her struggles with weight loss and how she finally has come to the edge and realizes that the edge isnt always the end, but rather can be the beginning. I felt I was reading through her personal journal of her journey and learned more about her as a person and her family. There were parts that were encouraging and she gave examples of Gods faithfulness through her various struggles. Would I recommend this book? If you were going through the same personal struggles, yes I believe you would find this book an encouragement. Otherwise, may not.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Edge of the Divine: Choosing to Live a Life of Joy over a Life of Regret
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2010
You know those moments when you are standing on the edge of an important life decision or moment that could change the course of your life. Sandi Patty a well known vocalist and speaker for Women of Faith, in her new book, The Edge of the Divine, calls these moments our edge moments . We can step backwards into the comfort of the known which may be an unhealthy choice for our lives or we can step over the edge in the arms of our Father. Sandi tells her personal story of her weight loss through lap band surgery and the spiritual journey that accompanies this story. She gives an honest and open account of the obstacles and the joys she faced along the way. According to Sandi, we all experience many edge moments in our lives and how we deal with those moments can change the course of our future. She uses scripture quotes and personal stories or her own and others throughout the book to support her concepts. At the end of the book are questions for personal reflection or study in a group setting. I enjoyed reading her story, however I found the book to concentrate mostly on her personal experiences, so if you are looking for more general spiritual direction, this may not be the book for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Edge of the Divine: Choosing to Live a Life of Joy over a Life of Regret
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
cindy
Any woman who has ever struggled with their weight and balancing work, motherhood, and attempting to diet has something in common with Sandi Patty as she explains the journey she went through after her weight loss surgery in her book The Edge of the Diving: Where Possibility Meets Gods Faithfulness.The main Bible verse which Sandi Patty continually references is Job 26:14 which states Indeed these are the mere edges of His ways, And bow small a whisper we hear of Him! She compares her decision to undertake weight loss surgery as an edge in her life. She makes it clear throughout her book that this decision was not entered into lightly, rather she prayed and looked to God for guidance in making this decision as much as she did with the other decisions in her life. Although this work is clearly about her decision to become healthy, there are other aspects of her life, rather than just focusing on one component. Sandi Patty also spoke about the difficulties her family went through as they relocated to another state, her musical upbringing and career, and some components of her marriage.This book was a great afternoon read, and I really enjoyed learning about the struggles Sandi Patty went through with her weight, as it is an issue most women seem to struggle with at some point in their life.I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Edge of the Divine: Choosing to Live a Life of Joy over a Life of Regret
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle
Sandi Patty shares her journey as she undergoes the life changing process of lap band surgery in an effort to get her weight and health under control. Through this process Sandi shares how she has come to understand and see clear edges throughout her life that she has had to pass over with nothing but faith in God to hold on too. The Edge as she describes it, are thresholds in life where God is asking us to pass over or leap off of as it may seem to follow his purpose for our lives. Only problem is these edges are not always easy, logical or what we had planned for our lives. But in trusting God and letting go Sandi shares the blessings and triumphs she has had in her willingness to let God lead. The writing style is conversational and a bit meandering which at times can make it hard to follow along but if you stick with it there are many wonderful insights and a weaving of God's scripture and Bible stories with real life applications that Sandi has experienced. I love how she is often thinks of various Bible versus in times of trouble or uncertainty. While the lap band surgery is the main way for Sandi to share her testimony the book is filled with other life experiences that draw from the same theme of edges in ones life. Overall I found it to be an enjoyable, uplifting read with a good message to share. I received a free copy of this copy through Thomas Nelson Publishings Book Sneeze book review program. The opinions expressed in this review are my own and I was not required to provide a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Edge of the Divine: Choosing to Live a Life of Joy over a Life of Regret
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
debs
Sandi Patty uses this book to talk about her journey of lap-band surgery and how God works through her. She talks about her surgery, but uses other situations in her life to tell the readers that GOD wants all of us to get our priorities straight. She talks about being on the edge, having to make life style changes and how to use GODs word (scripture) to explain what you are going through and how to deal with it. Sandi teaches that GOD wants us on the edge and taking chances so that you will learn that he is in control, all you have to do is listen to him. Her edge is defined as weight gain and the situation was her divine appointment with GOD. She explains how she is saved by HIS grace. She goes into stories from her past of how she cries out to GOD and asks him to stop the pain, but GOD has another plan, HE wants her to have a happy and healthy life. The operation for her was her crossing into a new life. We all encounter edges and Sandi points out that when you are on the edge, you make a choice keep carrying the burden or let GOD take it over. I enjoyed this book, it was nice Sunday afternoon read. I liked how scripture is throughout the book, and how it is related to everyday situations. I would recommend this book if you want to be encouraged, inspired and to enjoy a good read.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Edge of the Divine: Choosing to Live a Life of Joy over a Life of Regret
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
ML Michaels
Sandi Pattys new book, The Edge of the Divine, is an interwoven tapestry of her and her family's life story written- during a time of dramatic change in her own life- as a reminder to its readers that forgiveness, grace, and redemption are available to all who believe. This is a book about faithfulness, not Sandi Pattys, but Gods faithfulness to His children. It is an intimate journey of a life wrought with fear, sadness, shame, and love. Sandi Patty shares the lessons she learned that lead her to victory. Being brought to the edge of herself through a career and personal life of ups and downs, Sandi Patty sought Gods guidance and depended on His Word to see her through. She learned to touch the edge and wait on Gods timing; realizing Gods desire and purpose to make us all whole. Thomas Nelson Publishers provided this book for free as a part of book review blogger program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.