Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Captivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul, Revised and Expanded

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Thomas Nelson Captivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul, Revised and Expanded

This updated version of Stasi Eldredge's modern day classic shows readers the glorious design of women before the fall, describes how the feminine heart can be restored, and casts a vision for the power, freedom, and beauty of a woman released to be all she was meant to be. Hardcover.
Average Customer Rating:
4.08 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
6 out of 786%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Captivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul, Revised and Expanded
Review 1 for Captivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Disagree on some points,but overall essential read

Date:April 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
jesusgirl
Location:Ledyard, CT
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would agree with others that their comments about Satan targeting women is overstated - this is not supported Biblically in my opinion. Satan's hatred and destructive forces against mankind, however, are not overstated! Some complain about how many references they make to movies. I don't think this is because they don't value scripture, but because it helps women connect with desires that they've suppressed without knowing it! I was very helped by the references because it made me realize the truths of scripture about woman's role was true even if it felt threateningly unsafe and undesirable to me. Thinking about how I connect with these movies made me realize the longings were still in me even if I hated admitting it! And yes, it is Biblical to say God is meant to be known as our Husband and the lover of our soul (Is. 54). The way they encourage woman to seek God's healing is beautiful and powerful!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Captivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful book for women

Date:March 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mandy
Location:Tulsa, OK
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First I must say I question whether or not Sara (see below) even completed reading this book. To call this book shallow or too surface and to say it plays to Hollywood stereotypes just shows me she either didn't read it or really, really mistook the point of this book. It delves deeply into spiritual matters of the woman's heart and how God speaks to each and every one of us ladies in an intimate way that is unique to us personally. The theme of this book is intimacy. Though it covers a great many things in regards to what we were taught as little girls and how we conduct our lives as a whole now, as adults, the overwhelming point of the whole book is intimacy. The fact that God wants to have an intimate relationship with me personally. The fact that he has a relationship with Diane and Lisa and Virginia and Chelsea and whoever is not enough for God--he wants ME. And he wants YOU. All those ladies cannot fulfill his desires for relationship with me, only I can do that. I would encourage everyone to read this book through at least once and am actually on this site right now to buy it for my sister-in-law. And Sara, if you read this I encourage you to read through this book again--maybe there's a way God can use it in your life that you might have missed at your first glance. May the lover of your soul bless you all!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Captivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

speaks to all women

Date:March 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
nanc
Location:Wichita, KS
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By establishing that our differences in temperament, lifestyle, age, choices, etc., can ALL be of use to God, I came to realize and understand that I, too, am chosen by God to seek His Will for my life and how I can serve Him.
Instead of disliking or even hating parts of myself, usually because I was committing the evil of comparing myself to others, I could see in these authors' writing and the scriptures they presented, along with the particulars of the scriptures used, that I AM exactly what the Lord wants to use for His perfect purpose. I am very encouraged!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Captivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anna
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book had been suggested to me and what a wonderful book it is! I haven't even finished it and I highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Captivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not what I expected

Date:November 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sara @ Embracing Destiny
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Though I've never read Wild at Heart, I'm very familiar with the best-selling success of the book and the acclaim of its author, John Eldredge. Therefore, I looked forward to reading Captivating, the "woman's equivalent" to Wild at Heart written by John and his wife Stasi.
I expected to read some powerful insights into the deepest spiritual longings of women. The book begins with what they claim are the three core desires of women:
1. to be romanced
2. to play a role in her own adventures
3. to display beauty
Although I agree with these things to a point, I think they are too shallow overall. I didn't find the spiritual depth and maturity that I was hoping for in this book. Yes, women like to be "pretty" and to hear compliments, but really, isn't there more to it than that? Can't we move beyond the surface spiritually?
Since the Eldredges' background is rooted in Hollywood (screenwriters), that bias is clear in their writing. There were far too many references to recent movies and characters for my taste. Firstly, I didn't recognize any of the references since I don't go to movies. Secondly, are Hollywood characters really the best examples of making a point in a book about Christian women? The obsession with outward appearances is a detriment to the multi-faceted wonder of womanhood that God created. This book plays into too many vain stereotypes, in my opinion. They also use some examples that just read as too "New Age" for me. I prefer a book that values women for their intelligence, compassion, and other fruits of the spirit, rather than just focusing on the physical/emotional aspects.
I'm sure that this book might meet a need in a "crossover" audience of new Christians or those who are seeking, but it simply was not my cup of tea.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Captivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More than a Must Read!

Date:November 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ames Hart
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every woman has three core desires: to know they are beautiful, to have an irreplaceable role in a great adventure, and to be romanced. In the new and expanded Captivating, John and Stasi Eldridge explain how these are woven into a woman’s heart and how a woman can uncover the truth that God wants her to know about each of them.
John and Stasi start by looking at the fallen, wounded heart of a woman. We see how past hurts and the attacks of our enemy have damaged our view of ourselves and clouded us from being able to truly understand and internalize how God thinks and feels about us. They give practical steps to help us move past the hurts and experience the romance of our King, how beautiful we are to Him, and that irreplaceable role He has set within us.
I highly suggest that every woman read this book. We all need to deeply know our Lord and His love and desire for us. I also recommend that men read this book. Often men say they have a difficult time understanding women (after all we are complicated). Men need to know what is happening in the heart of women. This is a perfect way to gain more of that understanding.
Get a copy, read it, and let the truths within it change you.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Captivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
beita
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was very excited to read Captivating by John and Stasi Eldredge as I have heard many good things the books that they have written. It took me awhile to read the book and even longer to get into it. It is a slow reading.
The book is very good to help women work through past and present hurt and get healing and realize their beauty and self worth. I love the way it describes how God sees us and longs for us and to have a relationship with us. It paints a beautiful picture of the heart of God.
Besides being a slow read I think they could have made their points better and more concisely. It seems like the repeat a lot within each chapter and then from chapter to chapter. I also do not like the they use lots of quotes and scenes from movies. They do help make the points but I wish the used more example of women in the Bible.
Over all I would suggest reading the book and letting God speak to where you are through it.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Captivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
LaTanya
This has been a book I had been wanting to read for years. I had heard good reviews from John Eldridge's book "Wild at Heart" and was looking forward to this book. I started reading this book a couple of months ago, and it took me a while to work my way through it. Each chapter was slow to read. This is not a book that can be easily read in a weekend. It took me a couple of months to get through this book. Overall, this book was ok. The book is inteded to look at a woman's heart and soul and tried to address some of the issues that women deal with. Most women have a lot of baggage that we carry around due to our life experiences. I would even dare say that many women have been hurt to a point that they think that can not be used for God. This book tries to show women how the past hurts effect us and how we really are beautiful and loved by God.There were are few issues that I had with this book. There is an overuse of movie quotes. To make a point or to help the reader have a better picture of what the authors are trying to say, they use a scene from a well known movie. This really loses its effect on the book. Some of these scenes are from movies that do not reflect Christian values. I think the authors should have used either women from the Bible or real life stories. This might have helped illustrate their point better. Also, they seem to take random scriptures out of context.I'm sure this book will be very helpful for some women. Personally, I think this book has a lot of flaws and it really effects the readability of this book. I was really disappointed with this book and will probably not read any other books by the authors.This book was sent to me by Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review program. I was sent a free copy of this book to review. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions expressed are my own.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Captivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
C. Royal
I LOVE this book! I'm planning on teaching a Bible study soon using this resource. By the way, the DVD set that goes with it is an excellent buy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Captivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mary Russell
I appreciate ordering from Christianbook.com since I know that they will expedite my order with their own personal care. We are now using the books that I ordered within a bible study group and I am learning and growing in my Christian walk. Thanks so much for your service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Captivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Trixie
Ok everyone, I am here to fix the first review I wrote. At first this book was hard to get through- as in the first chapter. I put the book down for a month or more and one day I ran across it again, and decided to read a little more. Boy was I ever glad I did. I absolutely love this book, its so hard to put down. I wanted to know more and more about what they have to say about my soul. They touch a part of me personally and as an every-woman. I absolutely recommend and love this book and regret judging it by the first chapter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Captivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Steve
We started this book in our Ladies Bible study and all decided to discontinue the study. This book was very unbiblical. There are numerous quotations from literature, movies, and songs, yet very little from Scripture. When Scripture was used, it was often out of context. The very first chapter alarmed me when the authors talked about our heart, and what is in every woman's heart can tell us what being a woman is all about. God's Word says that "the heart is deceitful and desperately wicked." Just because my heart yearns for something doesn't mean that is a desire given to me by God. Like another reviewer mentioned, it did seem as if the woman was being elevated to a goddess like level. Sin in a woman's life seemed to be more of a result of what others did to her, rather than her own sinful heart and selfish choices. I do not recommend this book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Captivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Naomi Musch
I have always enjoyed reading John Eldridge's books for the simple reason that he frames into the written word all the sorts of things I think, but either am not bold enough to say and admit, or can't seem to find anyone else saying. Now, in collaboration with his wife Stasi, the two of them, have exposed their thoughts with a deep heartfeltness that is lacking in much writing today. I want to reiterate that word exposed. With a rarely found candidness, Stasi has revealed the deep level of wounding and restoration that can or does take place behind the faade many of us, especially women, have erected. In a sort of dialogue between her and John, they explore those woundings as well as the many facets of beauty God created in women. This book emphasizes that beauty dwells in every woman. The trick is to allow it to be revealed, to learn to unveil it in ways that both honor God and encourages us to revel in the woman He created each of us to be. It explains the attack against women that Satan has waged since those days in the garden right up to the moments of our births, and how much of the spiritual and emotional hurt we carry is the result of that ageless waging. It sheds light on that attack, describing the false comforts he gives in an effort to keep us from the true source of our comfort -- God. He desires to make our hearts captive and hold us in bondage. While I couldn't relate to every soul sorrow in the book, there were enough of them, and enough good reminders as I related to my women friends, sister, mother, and daughters, to find courage and encouragement. I would highly recommend this book, not only to women, but to the men in their lives who really want to understand them better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Captivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Becky Williams
Summary: This book was written by a husband and wife team to help women of all ages and stages. "You are a woman to your soul, to the very core of your being...The desires that God has placed into our hearts are clues as to who we really are and the role that we are meant to play...We think you'll find that every woman in her heart of hearts longs for three things: to be romanced, to play an irreplacable role in a great adventure, and to unveil beauty. That's what makes a woman come alive."Reactions: What an amazing book! It really touched something in me and helped me realize how much shame I was carrying around needlessly. The Eldredges take it back to the very beginning and put a whole new light on Eve - one I had never thought of or realized before. I always thought of the apple incident when I thought of Eve, but no longer. Eve was created as a perfect woman to complete man and the world! What an empowering feeling! They also encourage women to find, or should I say dig out, their inner dreams that have been buried for years. What a wonderful, life changing book. I would recommend this book to any woman.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Captivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chris
I was excited to have the chance to review Captivating by John and Stasi Eldredge since others had recommended it to me. I enjoyed reading Stasi's testimony threaded throughout the book, and really liked that Stasi and John both contributed, though I was a little confused at times wondering whose opinion/writing I was reading. (Many times they do reveal who is authoring certain sections, though.)If I had intended this book to be a self-help text, or theological reference, I might have been disappointed. I did, however, enjoy this book as a look into a woman's heart and soul from this married couple's perspective. I enjoyed their honest opinions and personal stories, and I loved many of their analogies. I felt it was an inspirational read. I didn't care a lot for the abundance of Lord of the Rings laced into the text, as I'm not a big fan- but then again, I can respect the Eldredge's personal taste as they have shared many fictional characters, songs, and modern media examples in their writing. All in all I liked the book and I'm glad I read it. This book was given to me free from Thomas Nelson for an honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Captivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Angell
Captivating, Unveiling the Mystery of a Womans Soul is a book that I highly recommend. In my personal opinion every woman should have this book on their bookshelf. There is such an attack on women these days to feel bad about themselves. What they dont know is how much influence they really do have on other peopleof course Satan wouldnt want You to know that. And that is why he makes such a special attempt to hurt us and to make us feel useless. If we buy into that lie then we cant make a difference that God wants us to make. If you feel like you arent worth anythingpick up this book! I received a copy of this book from Thomas Nelson publishers in return for a review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Captivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Karen
I was very excited about receiving my 1st book called Captivating by John & Stasi Eldredge. It is a New York Times Bestseller. The cover is beautiful, a white vellum with gold accents, and it's very appealing. What do they say about not judging a book by it's cover?The first few chapter's were indeed interesting. Some good points were made about the importance of Women in God's eyes. Another important point is that the enemy is really out to undermine our femininity, and our roles as God would have them. For me, this was the take home message.Then the book started to get weird. The authors use ALOT of references to movies, songs, and pop culture in general. The scripture references were used out of context in many instances. Some were disturbing, for instance they implied that Jesus should be seen as our "lover". As in husband lover, not just someone that loves us unconditionally. They used references from the Song of Solomon to back up this odd claim. Creepy and out of context in my humble opinion. I thought the writing was dis-jointed and often jumped around. It was confusing to tell which author was speaking at the time, John or Stasi.I noticed in reading other's reviews that this is an either "love it or hate it" type book. I guess I fall in the category of hate it. I do not think it's theologically sound and although there are some good points to be found, overall it does not send a good message to women.So now my dilemma is, what do I do with my book that I really can't recommend to other's?Disclaimer: This book was provided to me free from Thomas Nelson in exchange for an honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Captivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Caitlin
I never jumped on the Captivating bandwagon years ago. Everyone told me it was a good book but I didn't believe them. Or I thought that I'd get around to reading it but I never did. Until it came up as a book I could review with Thomas Nelson.The book is life changing.Instead of offering a list of do's and don't, John and Stasi Eldredge unwrap the essence of a woman's heart. What it means to be the woman God created you to be. They discuss Eve as the crowning glory of creation, the moment when God knew his work was finished. There's a glory, a beauty, specific to a woman. An essence that must be gently coaxed out.The three main points of the book were simple enough - a woman wants to be romanced, to play an irreplaceable part in a great adventure, and unveil beauty. All true.I love that the Eldredge's don't demand women to fit into stereotyped roles. They don't encourage the lie of what a Godly woman must be. We've all heard them - Godly women must have spotless houses, feasts set on the table for their husbands, demure attitudes, and be Martha Stewart without a staff to help her out. Each woman has a different calling - there are some things that all women are called to but it isn't slavery to unrealistic expectations. God does call us to vulnerabilty and absolute trust. No fear. No brittle edges. Just glowing trust. This is a book to markup and keep.Disclosure: No, I don't get paid for my opinions. Thomas Nelson gives me books and I give them my honest opnion. No money is given.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Captivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
steffanie
I didn't love this book. I didn't feel there was a strong theological basis for some of the statements made about God and His purpose and design for women. There were points that sounded very good, but left me wondering how in context a verse was applied or the scriptural basis. I came away feeling as if women were exalted above God. While I do agree that women want to be romanced and loved and that God has a special way to love women, I don't think that God thinks women are just the utmost of creation. There are many relations to pop-culture, some of which I had no clue because I had not seen such and such a movie. I enjoyed some of Mrs. Eldredge's stories of her testimony and think there are lessons to be learned, but just felt the Biblical basis was stretch. I also really liked the velum type cover, I had never seen a book jacket like that, very pretty. I was provided a free copy for review, my opinions are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Captivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul, Revised and Expanded
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jen
This book was a great read! I felt as if I was sitting down with a great friend over coffee. This book was written from both of their point of view. It was great to see each side of the coin so to speak. The book dove into the issues at hand for many women in today's world. It is not your everyday book on being feminine. I really recommend you read this book for your self. One quote I really liked from the book is: "To offer your heart is to offer your desire-instead of your demand."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>