Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Cut Your Grocery Bill in Half with America's Cheapest Family

Thomas Nelson Cut Your Grocery Bill in Half with America's Cheapest Family

Would you like to fill your grocery cart without emptying your wallet? America's "cheapest" family can help! Showing how an average household can shave $3,000 off their food bill, the Economideses teach proven coupon-cutting strategies, and offer suggestions on how to shop economically and beat the grocer at their own pricing games. Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cut Your Grocery Bill in Half with America's Cheapest Family
Review 1 for Cut Your Grocery Bill in Half with America's Cheapest Family
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

It was okay

Date:January 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tracy
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have to say, I wasn't a 100% impressed with this book, I was really prepared to like this, and lean alot from this couple. However I found that most advice was a lot of common sense, or advice seen on a lot of the debt-help shows. Plus, as a Canadian, I didn't feel like a lot of what was suggested would work for us anyway (we don't have the same types of sales, etc...). So while there was a lot of good advice in the book, to me it was something that either I'd already heard/read, or would have figured out on my own.
I liked some of the suggestions, but other ones struck me as unrealistic, or not something you'd want to do (such as freezing your milk, I always find that my milk tastes different, and not in a good way!) But I did really appreciate all the recipes they provided, I'm always happy to learn to make something new in the kitchen. Especially when the recipes were so budget friendly!!
The book was however well written and in an easy to read format, so it wasn't a struggle to get through. So I'd still recommend this to people, but would say its more for an American family rather than a Canadian.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Cut Your Grocery Bill in Half with America's Cheapest Family
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Some great tips you should apply in your shopping.

Date:January 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michelle C
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My Thoughts:
I'm one of those people, who if I can get it cheap or free, I put the extra effort in. So I was excited to read this book, looking for some other tips how to cut some of the bills. Since I do shop in the US often for groceries, I found the much of the advice useful. And some of the tips, I was already doing. There are some great ideas for a family to save some money. Great advice for someone just starting to reduce the bills for groceries. Some ideas where common sense. But if you apply just a few ideas, you will save money. I did enjoy this book and will share it with some of my budget conscious friends. My personal favourite site to find a deal in Canada is www.smartcanucks.ca
The wonderful folks at Thomas Nelson provided me with a complimentary copy of this book through Booksneeze. My opinions were my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Cut Your Grocery Bill in Half with America's Cheapest Family
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Worth the money

Date:January 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
NCPatriotMom
Location:Yanceyville, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are some really good tips in this book, and I appreciate that they don't push coupon cutting on busy families. We are a family of ten, and so any cost-saving advice is appreciated, but a lot of the tips I have already heard - so for me, it was a reminder of things I already knew. But for someone else, there could be a lot of very good knowledge gained here. Overall I recommend this to any family looking for ways to cut the budget in this area.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Cut Your Grocery Bill in Half with America's Cheapest Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cut your grocery bill in half-with America's cheap

Date:December 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Trisha
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cut your grocery bill in half-with America's cheapest Family, by Steven and Annette Economides. In this book we find practical advice on cutting down on your grocery budget with out cutting out taste or healthiness. From planning ahead, buying in bulk, preparing meals etc..As well on tips on how to make this work for you by giving you more free time.
A lot of the advice in this book is really good, its mostly stuff I've heard of before, but still a great reminder. They do teach a lot on how to make your time work for you. Definately a must read for those who are facing financial struggles and needing to cut down on costs, but not willing to cut down on quality. I really did enjoy this book!!! A definate addition to any library!!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Cut Your Grocery Bill in Half with America's Cheapest Family
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great book, but I can't load it on my Sony reader

Date:January 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
taltracy
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this from CBD, because I wanted to load it onto my Sony reader, but it won't transfer over. This limits me to read it on my computer, which I can't carry around with me. Other than that problem, the book was/is a great purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Cut Your Grocery Bill in Half with America's Cheapest Family
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

E Reader?

Date:December 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
JBird
Location:Colorado
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
STILL looking forward to reading this, but so far the e reader on my Droid is not decipherable, and I didn't purchase the e version planning to be chained to my PC. So far the whole experience is a no go, but I'm hopeful I will actually be able to read it someday...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Cut Your Grocery Bill in Half with America's Cheapest Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very informative, great advice to save money!

Date:November 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jade =)
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A family of seven spending only $350 a month on groceries seems unbelievable, but The Economides (yes, that's their real last name) are doing it! The grocery shop once a month, and for the most part only cook once a month as well, and they save major bucks at the same time. In this book, Steve and Annette share their strategies on saving money on the everyday items. They have some great tips on how to plan your shopping day (where to go, what to look for), how to buy what you need at the lowest price, how to store what you've bought in bulk, cooking all of your meals in one day, and so much more. This book covers a lot of ground, and has some great pearls of wisdom (and the Economides don't shy away from attributing their success and happy lives to God). They cover not only ways to save money, but ways to stay healthy, have more time with your family, and giving to others. The main piece of advice throughout the book is PLANNING. That's the key. This family has wonderful suggestions for getting you onto the right path, and they speak from experience (giving you examples of things not to do as well, which can be very important!).
Having recently cut our income in half when I decided to become a stay-at-home mom, I have already put into practice some of what was suggested in this book, but found so many more things I plan on implementing into my budgeting, shopping and planning. In the middle of reading this book, we found a deep freeze for free and promptly claimed it so that I could really begin the stocking up and freezer cooking they suggest in the book. To read the whole book and look at the big picture can be a bit overwhelming, as there would be a lot to take on if you tried to do it all at once... the Economides suggest trying it a little at a time. I would definitely suggest this book to anyone looking to cut grocery costs, trying to tighten their budget a little in whatever areas they can, or who just want to find a more efficient way to shop and cook for a large family! Now, if I could just get my act together and start really putting this stuff into practice! (I'm trying, I'm trying!)
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Cut Your Grocery Bill in Half with America's Cheapest Family
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
ML Michaels
Location:USA
"Cut Your Grocery Bill In Half with America's Cheapest Family" by Steve and Annette Economedes is a great book for families looking for interesting ideas and tips to cut costs at the grocery store or when dining out. America spends much of their income on food supplies and families need help understanding some the best ways to economize whether during a recession or not. Because I am that someone who loves to save a dollar or penny any place I go, I like learning about cost saving strategies that will save my family money. There is a lot of information in this book and if you are not careful you can feel over whelmed by all of the to do tips. There are tips on shopping smarter, couponing, cooking at home vs. eating out, and stocking up on food while spending less money. But more important is the reminder that spending time eating together as a family is critical for the family unit. The Economedes made saving and cost cutting a family affair and taught their children how to save money, live a productive life, and do so within their means.
Thomas Nelson Publishers provided this book for free as a part of BookSneeze.com book review blogger program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Cut Your Grocery Bill in Half with America's Cheapest Family
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Vicky
I was excited to see this as a book we could review since I love "saving money". Thank you Thomas Nelson for this insightful book to read and review.I lost my job last year when the Christian Book store I worked for closed. That put a whole new outlook on how to shop and save money. I started coupon clipping and that was a wonderful cost cutting measure. Now, that everyone is doing it, the coupon world has changed. That is why this book is so valuable. It showed me ways to cut costs and eat healthy without clipping coupons. My favorite chapter was -Cooking That Will Save You Time, Money, and Sanity. There are tons of ideas from buying in bulk, once a month cooking, make haste not waste and how to stretch cooking and leftovers. There is also a chapter for organizing and stockpiling which is very helpful in saving money. I learned new tips on how easy it is to freeze things I did not know you could freeze. Another fun chapter is on Money Saving Tools-great tips on time savers from pots and pans to slow cookers. In each chapter there are tips from ladies all over the U.S. which are interesting. The extra bonus is recipes in the back which I can't wait to try. This is a wonderful informative book-great for singles, newlyweds, and empty nesters. We all want to save money and the Economides have really nailed how to do it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.