Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Walking With God: Talk to Him. Hear from Him. Really.

Thomas Nelson Walking With God: Talk to Him. Hear from Him. Really.

Walking with God moves through a year in the life of John Eldredge, showing and teaching what an intimate relationship with God looks like day-to-day. Among other important points, it will teach you how to make decisions aligning with God's will, understand barriers and "agreements" keeping you from the life God intends, and how to fight spiritual battles for yourself and others. Learn how walking with God intimately can be a normal part of the Christian life.
Average Customer Rating:
4.719 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Walking With God: Talk to Him. Hear from Him. Really.
Review 1 for Walking With God: Talk to Him. Hear from Him. Really.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most Important Christian Book in Years

Date:January 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
John Painter
Location:Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
I think John Eldredge's book, Walking With God, is the most important Christian book I've read in years, excluding the Bible, of course. Eldredge's book, from a reputable Christian pastor and counselor, now makes it 'legal' for denominational Christians to say, within their churches, "Yes, I talk to Jesus, and He talks back. I hear His voice, and therefore, I know that He knows me." [John 10:27] - Dr. John Painter
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Walking With God: Talk to Him. Hear from Him. Really.
This review is fromWalking with God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
raven
Location:York Pa.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Afer reading a copy a friend gave me I had to have my own so I could highlight. Its the best book for making you check your own life that i have read for awhile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Walking With God: Talk to Him. Hear from Him. Really.
This review is fromWalking with God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
toughbark
Location:Wisconsin
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought ten of the book Walking With God to give away to people I think will read and use them. The informatin in this book was life changing for me and for my wife. We have already bought and given away a couple of them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Walking With God: Talk to Him. Hear from Him. Really.
This review is fromWalking with God.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It's an easy read

Date:June 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jaclyn
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is a series of short stories the author tells of his life over about a years time. Each story has a message, but because they're contained in a story it's an easy read. It was very helpful in my walk with God. I enjoyed it and would recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Walking With God: Talk to Him. Hear from Him. Really.
This review is fromWalking with God.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The product meets expectations.

Date:January 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
bettisis
Location:Houston, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am very pleased with the book. It is a valuable asset to our church library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Walking With God: Talk to Him. Hear from Him. Really.
This review is fromWalking with God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Martha Moore
This book was used for a community Interdenominational Vacation Bible School adult study.I,personally,challenge every christian to read this book to understand the true reason for our creation by God.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Walking With God: Talk to Him. Hear from Him. Really.
This review is fromWalking with God.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Donna Primm
Refreshing reminder to stop, look and listen to the one in whose hands we rest.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Walking With God: Talk to Him. Hear from Him. Really.
This review is fromWalking with God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
J Yvonne B Irish
Love the book. It will be one I go to time and again when I find myself further from God rather than closer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Walking With God: Talk to Him. Hear from Him. Really.
This review is fromWalking with God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
J Yvonne B Irish
Love the book. It will be one I go to time and again when I find myself further from God rather than closer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Walking With God: Talk to Him. Hear from Him. Really.
This review is fromWalking with God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Patterson
What a wonderful book. I listened to the audio book, which was read by John Eldredge, and I thought it was so powerful. What an example of letting God direct every aspect of our life. I have purchased additional books and plan to give them to family and friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Walking With God: Talk to Him. Hear from Him. Really.
This review is fromWalking with God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Elaine Thompson
Wonderful book full of ways to have a closer relationship with God. Exactly what I needed, just when I needed it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Walking With God: Talk to Him. Hear from Him. Really.
This review is fromWalking with God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carol Schmidt
I ordered the audio book, then had to go back and order the hardcover; because I wanted to have parts of the book at my fingertips in black and white. I even ordered a few additional copies to share with friends and family. Great book. Written in simple everyday language with everyday experiences common to everyone. A intimate relationship with God is within reach for all of us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Walking With God: Talk to Him. Hear from Him. Really.
This review is fromWalking with God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Denise Funk
This book is the greatest...the kind you'll read over and over as you allow God to work in your life. Seriously life changing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Walking With God: Talk to Him. Hear from Him. Really.
This review is fromWalking with God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Frank Alloteh
This book is not for the feeble minded!It is for a child who desires deeply a real relationship with his or her own Father, who happens to be the Almighty God!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Walking With God: Talk to Him. Hear from Him. Really.
This review is fromWalking with God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rolin Steinbrecher
Absolutely fantastic. I believe every Christian should read this book to help develop a closer walk with God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Walking With God: Talk to Him. Hear from Him. Really.
This review is fromWalking with God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rich Fout
I am an Eldredge fan. Far and away "wild at Heart" is my favorite. I was a bit disappointed with the follow up "Way of the Wild heart" I find "walking with God" a major hit!I used it as a daily devotional, then read it through. I was amazed at how, on a daily basis I found myself in the midst of similar situations John was sharing that he was going through.There is some truth to misery loving company and to know you are not the only one having dobts, temptations and shortfalls is comforting.John's dry wit and humor was a welcome relief to self pity and doubt.The humor, exuberance and final victorious celebration make this a book to be read over and over to practice and refine our WALK WITH GOD
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Walking With God: Talk to Him. Hear from Him. Really.
This review is fromWalking with God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Paula
I'm not exactly sure why Walking with God struck such a chord with mebut it did. I cried and laughed my way through the pages and reluctantly finished it earlier today. Reading this book didn't make me want to be John Eldredges best friendit made me want to be Jesus best friend. Walking with God covers the year in a life of speaker and writer John Eldredge. Yet, instead of recounting the grand escapades of a much-sought-after conference speaker and best selling author, it shows the year in a life of a vulnerable and honest husband, father, friend, and ministry leader. Eldredge has a unique way of letting the reader in on his humanityand in the end you may find (like me) that you learn more from his weaknesses, then from his strengths. Because Eldredge is a mans man your husbands, brothers, and fathers will find his outdoorsy stories engagingbut dont underestimate this books value for women. I think of myself as a pretty girly girl, and I absolutely loved it! Walking with God is unique, surprising, relevant, authentic, and offers a fresh perspective on hearing the voice of God. Theres an Ahhhhh feeling of comfort and refreshment in this bookand a delightful (and biblical) thread of Gods love that runs through the entirety of it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Walking With God: Talk to Him. Hear from Him. Really.
This review is fromWalking with God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Libby
I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and intend to read it again in conjunction with going through the workbook when it becomes available. I believe God speaks to His children through the Holy Spirit, and is concerned about the most minute details of our lives. How much better would my life be if I consulted God about even the smallest details of my life? I enthusiastically recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Walking With God: Talk to Him. Hear from Him. Really.
This review is fromWalking with God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Henry Martin
Best of John's books, although Wild at Heart is a close second. I recommend reading all of John's books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Walking With God: Talk to Him. Hear from Him. Really.
This review is fromWalking with God.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tania Blondo
Very engaging and relevant book. I believe many will benefit from this book. The challenge to wait on God is on point.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>