Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Seven Days That Divide the World: The Beginning According to Genesis and Science - eBook

Zondervan Seven Days That Divide the World: The Beginning According to Genesis and Science - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
8 out of 1080%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Seven Days That Divide the World: The Beginning According to Genesis and Science - eBook
Review 1 for Seven Days That Divide the World: The Beginning According to Genesis and Science - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Doesn't shy away from the tough questions.

Date:April 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sandy
Location:Nebraska
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been looking for a book that wasn't afraid to address the tough questions that people seem to think divide science and creation, and this one did it thoroughly, eloquently, and convincingly. I would recommend it for all readers...those on both sides of the issue.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Seven Days That Divide the World: The Beginning According to Genesis and Science - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

This book contains some useful features.

Date:January 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Philly Phrend
Location:Wyncote, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Though Lennox's central premise that holds the Genesis 'Days of Creation' to be twenty-four-hour days separated by great gaps in time is kind of 'fringe,' and his dismissal of the "aion" concept without comment is disappointing, nevertheless, in his earlier chapters, particularly, he provides useful reasoning against the literalistic, doctriaire approach to the Genesis Account generally held to by "young earth" enthusiasts.
I would, however, not recommend this book except for someone well versed in the biblical perspective on the creation controversy.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Seven Days That Divide the World: The Beginning According to Genesis and Science - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mike
Location:South Africa
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well written and highly informative. Very Good and easy to read. Answers a lot of the difficult questions one is asked.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Seven Days That Divide the World: The Beginning According to Genesis and Science - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellant

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dave Randall
Location:Skowhegan, ME
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
John Lennox has three strengths that are evident in this book. He knows science, he understands Biblical interpretation, and he communicates clearly and concisely. This makes him an absolutely top notch Christian apologist and makes this book worth reading. So much is written on this topic that is strictly dogmatic and uninformed that this book is truly welcome. The parallel drawn in the book between the current debate relative to the age of the earth and the debate over the center of the solar system in Galileo's time is right on.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Seven Days That Divide the World: The Beginning According to Genesis and Science - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tipper58
Location:Bremen, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good book. Answered my questions about the the seven days of Genesis vs science. A must read.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Seven Days That Divide the World: The Beginning According to Genesis and Science - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This book compromises truth

Date:January 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
DaveH
Location:Georgia
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mr Lennox has written this book well and has shown skill at presenting his arguement. However, his analysis of the first couple verses of Genesis and the Hebrew contained within is incorrect. I will spare you the Hebrew lesson and requirements for context. He tries desparately to "recraft" God's word to accomodate secular/atheistic science where it doesn't work or belong. God's word is 100% solid when it comes to defining when He did His creation not so long ago. Mr. Lennox imports fallible ideas into the text where even Christ's own words get challenged. The crafty ideas to support the "old earth" model theologically are a failure and a dangerous compromise.
I also think the description here needs to be more clear regarding what's in this book. Since it "sells" a controversial view it should say so and not have anything to hide.
Next, the big embarrassment for those that compromise God's word is in their own "science." We see discord of agreement in the secular camp regarding their own "age" measurements and we can show great youth in every field of science regarding God's creation. I mean "every" field of science related to this!
After getting my own scientific degree I have have gone on to study astrophysics, chemistry, particle physics, geology, mathematics, advanced thermodynamics, electronic/electromagnetic theory (my degreed specialty), archaeology, paleontology, and molecular genetics, etc. After all this I can resoundingly say we have great evidence of youth in creation and false assumptions supporting the "old earth" ideas. Its not even close!!!
Secular science that is used to support an old creation (if indeed they believe in God to begin with) has failed and they have retreated behind philisophical pseudo-scientific speculations that have to use crafty "rescue devices" to prop up their beliefs while passing up evidence that shows otherwise. Biblical creationists don't pass up "any" evidence/data, we can't afford to, we represent the Divine, and we can't keep changing our story everytime something "new" is discovered. God's word first "as written" then science supports us from there, perfectly.
This book is crafty in its presentation but dangerous for the unwary. I absolutely would not put this in the hands of the innocent and less-learned. A person's "wants" will drive what they are willing to believe unfortunately. We have to ask ourselves - why do we want to embrace compromise like this when we have so much going for the biblical case "as written" both theologically and scientifically?
+8points
19of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Seven Days That Divide the World: The Beginning According to Genesis and Science - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jules
Location:Idaho
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book does give insight into Genesis that shows faith and science do not have to be mutually exclusive. I enjoyed it but it does take concentration and is not what one would call an "easy read."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Seven Days That Divide the World: The Beginning According to Genesis and Science - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very articulate and insightful

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Silverspace
Location:Topinabee,MI.
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first time I've read any of Lennox' pubications but have seen and heard him on DVD and CD.I plan to read more.I appreciate Christian apologetics from a science perspective and in this book he nails it! His objective thought and comparitive reasoning on this potentially confusing subect shows his ability to "think outside the box." His theological understanding of Genesis as well as scientific gives one an appreciation of God's ability to effectively commuicate truth to mankind over the ages.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Seven Days That Divide the World: The Beginning According to Genesis and Science - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

This book is a disappointment

Date:January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rev. Dr. Jack Fucci
Location:Middlesex, NJ
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Though the author makes some very thought provoking points, he seeks to interprete the Bible based on "science". The chapter on human origins caused me to put the book down particularly when he reinterprets Romans 5:12 to fit his theory. He claims that Romans 5:12 regarding death only fits humans (the words "Man" or "Mankind" seem to be avoided) and that death did occur prior to the FALL in the animals. He thus appears to believe in Theistic Evolution. However, Roman 5:12 does NOT say that death entered "Humans" or "Man", but "By one man sin entered THE WORLD". So much for his theory. I don't need to read past this chapter. God's Word is true . . Romans also says: "Let God be true and every man a liar". Jesus believed the Genesis account . . that says it all.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Seven Days That Divide the World: The Beginning According to Genesis and Science - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

brings new thoughts to the issue

Date:October 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lennox has written this book for people who have put off considering Christianity because of the questions surrounding creation, perhaps thinking Christianity is unscientific. He has also written for those who take the Bible seriously but are unsure about the creation account.
To understand the nature of the creation controversy Lennox goes back to Copernicus. The Bible seemed to teach the earth was fixed and the sun moved but the church eventually accepted the heliocentric model of the universe. Why did Christians change their interpretation of Scripture?
Lennox suggests that when looking at Scripture we need to ask several questions such as the author's intent, use of metaphors, etc. He reviews early church fathers on Genesis.
Lennox explores the Hebrew words used in Genesis 1. He concludes that day 1 starts at verse 3. “The initial creation took place before day 1, but Genesis does not tell us how long before. This means that the question of the age of the earth (and of the universe) is a separate question from the interpretation of the days...” (53) The text allows one to believe in an ancient universe and twenty-four hour days of Genesis.
Genesis tells us God specially created humans. That is supported by the New Testament. He notes that from the genealogical records in the Bible, “the dating of the age of humanity is indeterminate.” (75)
That human life is younger than animal life brings up the issue of the existence of death before the entrance of sin into the world. Lennox suggests Paul asserts that death passed to human beings as a result of Adam's sin. He notes that animals eat other animals and must have done so before the Fall. He also notes the presence of the serpent in the Garden, a being clearly opposed to God. He makes the point, “evil in the universe appears to antedate the sin of Adam and Eve.” (84)
The best way forward, he says, is to consider: the current scientific evidence for an ancient earth and that Scripture does not require a young earth, and, we do not know everything.
He reminds us that we should not miss the important points of Genesis 1: God exists, God created, God is personal, God has a goal in creating, etc.
This is a slim but powerful book. As a Christian with a degree in science (physics), I have read scores of books on the Genesis creation/science controversy. In this one, Lennox has added insights I have never considered before. I highly recommend this book for those interested in the subject.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.