Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Close Enough to Hear God Breathe: The Great Story of Divine Intimacy

Thomas Nelson Close Enough to Hear God Breathe: The Great Story of Divine Intimacy

It is one of the greatest desires of the human heart to know and be known--to hear that we are loved--by family, friends, children, brothers and sisters. How much more so, do we long to hear words of affirmation from our Maker. We long to know that we matter to Him. Our stories matter to Him. In the Christian walk those moments of pure love can seem few and far between, but when they come, we hold onto them. We don't want to forget. Close Enough to Hear God Breathe by Greg Paul explores, in beautiful prose and Biblical stories, the moments when God speaks into our lives--the moments we want to remember. Paul's insightful reflections will help you hear God's whisper in the day-to-day business of life, that He loves you and is pleased with who you are.

Close Enough to Hear God Breathe is the winner of the 2012 Christian Book Award for Non-Fiction.
Average Customer Rating:
3.2 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
9 out of 1560%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Close Enough to Hear God Breathe: The Great Story of Divine Intimacy
Review 1 for Close Enough to Hear God Breathe: The Great Story of Divine Intimacy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

well written

Date:May 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
junnelaranas
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was gripped by this book from the outset because it was in going through the hardest difficulty in my life a few years ago... I have to say that I really enjoyed this book. I was reminded to stop, be quiet and listen to God,I struggled to get into this book. I don't really know why, I agree with, and like, the ideas presented, and it was well-written, but it just didn't keep my attention like I had hoped it would. I remember looking forward to reading this. I have been having a hard time getting through it, though.
This is exactly the kind of book which I will stockpile on my book shelf and give to those I meet who are open to thinking deeply and critically about issues of faith. We need to pray more like how Paul prays. And this is a wonderful book that expounds Paul's prayer. A great resource to improve one's prayer contents and prayer life. As we reflect biblically on Paul's prayers, our prayers become more biblical and Paul's (as well as God's priorities) in prayer, becomes ours too! Now that is exciting and can do wonders to our prayer life!
This book found me at the right time. Exactly what I needed to assess and discern the call on my life.
It is easy to read and, as is hopefully clear from the above, it is very practical. I think this would be an excellent book for those considering the pastoral ministry or those who think some insight into this process would be beneficial.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Close Enough to Hear God Breathe: The Great Story of Divine Intimacy
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not worth reading

Date:February 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Teddy G
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I never thought I would post a review on a book I didn't finish. This book is my first. I tried several times to just get through it, but every time I had to put it down. I waited and tried again, and the same. I finally give up.
I was excited to read this book - closer intimacy with God? Yes, please! Putting aside the trappings of this life to feel the heart of God? I was all about it. However, from the very beginning, between the author's crass descriptions of John the Baptist, and the irreverence with which he personalized Jesus Himself, I found myself disengaging from the text. The more I read, the further I felt the book wandered until I couldn't remember what the author's point was supposed to be. The stance he takes with the Bible ("The Bible, first and foremost, is a story...") did not sit well with my theology and beliefs, nor did his treatment of Christ on the cross.
So with that, I had to put the book aside, a little more than half finished. Maybe one day I'll give it one more try, but for now, I say no, thank you, and give this book 1 star, because even with the difficulty I had reading through it, I still found a point or two that I could apply to my life. His statement that "two things are necessary for me to be able to hear someone breathing: I must be quiet and I must be close," can help me draw closer to God, even if the rest of the book cannot.
I received this e-book for free from Thomas Nelson publishers as part of their BookSneeze program. I was not required to publish a positive review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Close Enough to Hear God Breathe: The Great Story of Divine Intimacy
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Failed to live up to the title

Date:January 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sheila
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wanted to like this book, I really did. I loved the title. I loved the idea, of getting close enough to God to hear Him breathe. But I didn’t like the book at all.
I found the text to be too filled with personal examples that, while enjoyable to read, illustrated the topic only peripherally if at all. I thought his introductory passage detailing Jesus’ baptism by John to be too imaginative for my tastes, and somewhat crude.
I wanted meat and instead found fluff. I wanted to be convicted and was instead annoyed. I wanted insight and instead found repetitive banality.
The book promised an intimate journey with God, but completely failed to deliver on that promise.
Disclosure: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Close Enough to Hear God Breathe: The Great Story of Divine Intimacy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

sweet stories and depictions of grace

Date:December 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phone Tree Edifier
Location:Atlanta, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
User submitted photo
Close Enough to Hear God Breathe is a unique read that offers an interesting perspective. In it, you will find artistic impressions about God as a Father. You will also find sweet stories and depictions of grace from the hard knocks of life to the soft touches of love within a family. It will startle you, sober you, and test you. It is a book that has the ability to help you consider, “God breathing the Great Story of His favor on mankind.”
Phone Tree Rating: 3.5/5 Stars ***~
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Close Enough to Hear God Breathe: The Great Story of Divine Intimacy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Worth a second read!

Date:October 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kalani
Location:CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently had the opportunity to review the book "Close Enough To Hear God Breathe." What an awesome title for a book! I was looking forward to learning how to be closer to God and hear his voice. I often have a hard time even hearing my own thoughts with 3 kids 5 and under around. First off, my overall impression of the book was that I thought it was a good, smooth, easy read and that it provided me with some great analogies to help me better understand how God views his children. This book did deliver what I was hoping for. I like to read for a little while just before I go to bed and I like to read books that help draw me closer to God. Among other things this book reminded me that it is often easier to hear God's voice when it is still and quiet. For me that comes when I am walking or just having some alone time. I like this book enough to take it in one more time and give it another read. One of my favorite parts came early in the book when the author says, "...now, in these recent days, he speaks to me "in Son." Whispering through every Scripture, and into the intimate details of my own daily experience-- for it is his life he is abreathing into me, and my life he wants to redeem."
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through a book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Close Enough to Hear God Breathe: The Great Story of Divine Intimacy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Be open when reading this book.

Date:October 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michelle C
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A good book. Wow, I had not noticed the cover art on this book as a father embracing his child until the writing of this review. I suppose the cover art caught my eye more after having read the book and having heard of the personal and imtimate stories the author shares as he weaved them through with bible truths.
I love Greg Paul's story telling ability. His writing is beautiful and draws the reader into the personal stories he shares. I found some of his personally stories, quite personal, and when I considered how I could apply/see it in my life, it often made me stop in my tracks and think about what is truely important.
Book has been provided courtesy of Thomas Nelson and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Thomas Nelson
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Close Enough to Hear God Breathe: The Great Story of Divine Intimacy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book challenges you to listen

Date:October 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Deanna
Location:Toledo, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I’ve been in one of those “seasons” lately. Yes, I’ve been busy, but I have also been trying to stay that way in a covert operation to disguise the ugliness of my sadness. Every once in a while these moods sneak up on me. They come unexpectedly and leave suddenly. I have no explanations. I just ride the wave and get through it as best I can.
When I am in this state, I am so thirsty. I draw so close to God that I almost want to stay in that place. Truth is that we all cling for dear life when the going gets rough, but tend to loosen the grip when we are walking in a field of daisies. I am no different. So when I saw the book, Close Enough to Hear God Breathe on the reading list, I quickly snatched it up…and then checked my mail daily in anticipation of reading it cover to cover.
As I sat in my comfy reading chair, I read some stories that simply made me giggle. And then I was challenged to think about how God speaks to me through his word, through every day, ordinary events, and through the relationships I have with others. The reality is that God is moving in and through me…I just fail to recognize him.
This book was a great reminder that God is alive and working in my life. He knows me – every hair on my head – and he loves me – with every perceived imperfection. He made me who I am! If I just put my head on his chest, I can hear him whisper to me the words I truly long to hear, “You are my child. I love you. And I am pleased with you.”
I challenge you to slow down and listen. Feel his breath on your cheek and open your heart to his truth!
Disclosure: I received this book free through BookSneeze.com. I was not required to write a positive review – just an honest one. The thoughts and opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Close Enough to Hear God Breathe: The Great Story of Divine Intimacy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Having trouble relating to the love of God?

Date:October 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
christianmomw3
Location:New Jersey
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have often had trouble connecting the love of God to my life. Having grown up without the love of an earthly father understanding and assimilating the love of a heavenly father has been a difficult stretch at best and outright impossible during the hardest parts of my life. Greg Paul in Close Enough To Hear God Breathe does an amazing job of weaving in and out from old testament story to present day, from new testament accounts of Jesus' life to present day examples of a love so strong that he was willing to die for us.
Mr Paul walks us right through the entire Bible, from creation, through the fall of man, and into redemption and finishing up with Consummation showing his reader with each step how God's amazing love in the Bible can be related in todays world. Giving us real living examples of a God that longs to walk with us daily, who longs to hold us in his arms and let us rest our heads on his chest like a child and listen to him breathe.
Close Enough To Hear God Breathe is a must read for anyone who is looking for a way to relate to God through the everyday.
Full disclosure: I was provided a copy of this book in exchange for my review through BookSneeze. The thoughts and opinions in this review are 100% mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Close Enough to Hear God Breathe: The Great Story of Divine Intimacy
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Almost, but not quite.

Date:September 27, 2011
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
In his new book, Close Enough to Hear God Breathe, Greg Paul seeks to shatter the illusions of a God that is an old man that desires to chastise His rebellious children. Instead, Paul invites his readers to imagine the Christian God as a God of intimate love and hope. Framing the book around the theme of families and fatherhood, Close Enough intertwines the Gospel with images of families and togetherness.
Through the lens of the family, the book describes God as a parent who loves His children despite their many, many flaws. Rather, Paul suggests that God uses the shattered lives of Christians to create a "beautiful mosaic" of pieces that create a larger picture. Similarly, Paul uses images of his son clumsily helping him build a home in a carpentry business. Despite the son's clumsiness with the hammer and nails, Paul did not turn his son away, but rather helped him develop his skill. Using this flashback, Paul suggests that God, the creator of the universe, does not turn those away who are clumsy like novice carpenters, but rather shows joy that a child would help the master builder.
In less than 200 pages, Paul conveys a message that God, the one who has "galaxies to play with" finds joy in His human creation. By sending Jesus, God-in-flesh, God acknowledged that humanity needed saving. Though the book often reads too much as a personal narrative in some places, Paul's text does emphasize the importance of the human experience in relation to Christianity. How we live, work, and love are all important aspects of the Christian life that cannot be ignored.
Through carefully inserted personal stories of family and faith, Close Enough to Hear God Breathe allows readers to leave behind images of a strict God that punishes in exchange for a loving God that creates and rejoices over His children.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Close Enough to Hear God Breathe: The Great Story of Divine Intimacy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Close Enough To Hear God Breathe by Greg Paul

Date:September 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
grace
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I recently had the chance to read and review "Close Enough to Hear God Breathe" by Greg Paul, through an opportunity by BookSneeze that gives books to bloggers in return for honest reviews, whether positive or negative.
I have to be honest and say I didn't really know what to expect when I received this book, because so many books are out there now claiming they they can help you find peace, find God, find God AND peace... all you have to do is this, this and this.
But as usual, this book ended up being "right on time" in my life, so to speak. I usually try not to judge books based the covers, but I knew this book was meant for be just by reading the back description that reads "I want to hear what God has to say. I want to know that He's really there." And honestly, who doesn't? Who doesn't want to know... like REALLY know that God cares and that your story, no matter how seemingly small compared to the world at large- matters...
We all do.
And that is why this book is great. The stories told from a fathers heart, as they in turn relate to our Father's heart for us, this book is a sweet reminder that He is there, and sees us whereever we are.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Close Enough to Hear God Breathe: The Great Story of Divine Intimacy
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not what I expected at all

Date:September 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cheryl Moody
Location:Nova Scotia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Close Enough to Hear God Breathe by Greg Paul
Well, I will admit that I had a difficult time getting into this book. The author told some heartwarming stories about his children and his own life growing up and stories of people he has met in his ministry and how he longed to hear God in the ordinary events of life. Oh how we all long to hear God's voice in the ordinaries of life!
I found him to speak a little too erotic of the bible, and at times I was completely lost in the points he was trying to make. I also am not sure of how acurate his theology is.
This is not a book I either enjoyed or would recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Close Enough to Hear God Breathe: The Great Story of Divine Intimacy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I was a little hesitant in getting this book, not totally sure on what it would be about. I got this book in the mail and have not been able to put it down! I would force myself to read once chapter a night so I could have something to look forward to the next night.
Greg is so real in this book and brings practicality to it all. It has made me laugh, and cry. It is probably one of the best books I have read! Amazing! It even has study questions so you could do a book group or small group with it. Really great book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Close Enough to Hear God Breathe: The Great Story of Divine Intimacy
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

A book that was not what I had thought

Date:September 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
britluver20021
Location:Arnold, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This book had some good points in it but also had 3 misconceptions that annoyed me right now. I liked how the author says that GOD listens to our prayers and he loves us and that he forgives us when we are truly sorry about what we did. All that is fine. What I do not like is when people use scriptures from the bible and misapply them to fit what they believe. The author used many scriptures to support his idea of trinity which is not true from the bible. Jesus is GOD's son and not GOD. That can be heard of in the account in the bible when Jesus gets baptized and GOD's voice comes comes down from heaven saying" This is my son, the beloved, whom I have approved." God could not have been talking to himself but to his son.
The second misconception in this book is about heaven and hell. That when you die that is where you will end up when reality that is not true. The scripture clearly states in Ecclesiastes 9:5 which reads " for the living are conscious that they will die, but as for the dead, they are conscious of nothing at all." If you want to learn more about this please see my other blogs as I have gone more into this topic before.
The third and final misconception is about how when you die not only do you go to heaven but that GOD took you as an angel from the earth. That is not true at all. GOD is a loving GOD who loves each and every one of us and would not be cruel like that. When we die, we simply die, we do not go to heaven or to earth. Please again see my other blogs as well for more information.
In all the book was ok to read, I enjoyed the stories about the author's family but it had way too many misconceptions in it and I would not recommend this book to anyone at all, I will simply throw it away.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Close Enough to Hear God Breathe: The Great Story of Divine Intimacy
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not close enough for me

Date:September 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I chose this book for the cover. When I received the book it was a whole new cover and a book I did not expect. I was ready and waiting for this book to reach out and touch my heart, pull me in and change my life. Add a nugget of gold that I could carry in a greater understanding of the intimacy of God. Greg Paul, does share stories of his life, family and friends. Stories that have brought him to the intimacy of God. He does open his heart and share the intimate stories of his life and how he has felt the hand of God and heard his voice through every trial and stepping stone that has only brought him closer to God. I really wanted to enjoy this book. I just never connected with this book. I stayed up late turning page after page reading. If there is one thing I can take away from this book, it would be, everything has a purpose in bringing us closer to Christ. Every single stage in our life no matter how great or small has the power to bring us to Christ like never before.
Once I got to chapter 14 entitled, "Erotica", it floored me. Although this chapter was to speak on Song of Solomon, I felt it went over board. It went to a boundary that I did not relate to the beauty of Song of Solomon. There is a beauty of love in Song of Solomon between a husband and his wife. A beauty of connecting and being intimate. I do not read Song of Solomon as in an erotica way that Greg Paul describes it. I felt he almost devalued the beauty of the book.
At the beginning of each chapter, Greg Paul, uses God's Word, but only relates it back to the chapter not the verse. For me, I feel this is of importance to one wanting to be more intimate with Christ. As a reader I want to be able to go back to that exact verse and read it for myself in my bible. This is one level of being intimate in with Christ.
You may pick up this book and have a whole other view and gain great wisdom and grow more intimate with God. For me, it was lacking in that very area I was searching for.
This book was a gift from Thomas Nelson for it's review.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Close Enough to Hear God Breathe: The Great Story of Divine Intimacy
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Beth
Location:St. Louis, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I really found the format of this book to be interesting. I loved the questions at the end of each chapter. I found them to be much more though provoking then most questions in the back of books. I also liked that he continued to remind the reader to create a dialogue with him.
Over all, I really found this book to be just ok. I am not sure if it is because this concept has been one I've read back to back books on for a long time now, or because the content just wasn't fresh, but what ever the reasoning, I really wouldn't pull this off the book shelf to recommend.
I appreciated Paul's approach to writing, he keeps a consistent dialogue with the reader and even gives warning about up coming "tough" writings, but over all, this was just ok. I give it 3 out of 5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.