Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson More Lost Than Found: Finding A Way Back to Faith

Thomas Nelson More Lost Than Found: Finding A Way Back to Faith

The son of a preacher, Jared Herd was baptized in religion before he was even baptized in church. Then a public and painful divorce rocked Jared's young world, and he stepped away from the church he'd grown up with. In More Lost Than Found, Jared shares from his journey, and reaches out to anyone who has struggled with faith, or wondered why they didn't fit in to show them how God wants to draw them closer. He'll find you where you are.
Average Customer Rating:
3.214 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
4
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
1
10 out of 1471%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for More Lost Than Found: Finding A Way Back to Faith
Review 1 for More Lost Than Found: Finding A Way Back to Faith
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

lukewarm Christian read this.

Date:September 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Archie Isib
Location:Ph
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
's for people who Well written and easy to follow. The author does a fine job of explaining the gospel from different views and how it applies to every day life. As many others have mentioned, it is humorous and also relays a serious message at the same time. already know the word but are looking for meaningful experience in a Christian way of life. It lifts up nothing more than Jesus Christ, and I love it. A book, More lost than found, it's totally out of place in this one.
I really wish this book was as great as it ought to have been. So if you read it, be wary: There's a lot of sifting to do to get the gold out of this stream, but it's certainly there.
Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for More Lost Than Found: Finding A Way Back to Faith
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good Insightful Read

Date:August 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
BCavs
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
More Lost than Found was an interesting read. In some ways it was a little difficult to get into, but that’s because I’m not one to read a whole lot of self help books anymore. I have 4 years of Bible College to blame for that one. The overriding theme of this book was filled with helpful information in relation to my generation and how they respond to Christianity now days. It helped me understand why I’ve had so many conversations with friends about how they don’t see the need to go to church, spend time with God, and not do certain things. The author makes a few statements that do affirm the fact that many of our young adults sitting in the pews each Sunday are actually more lost than they are found. And even more are leaving the church they have spent so much of their life in. He brings clarity as well as direction in how to encourage and lead them in the right direction. If you find yourself wondering why there are such a smaller amount of young adults in your church, this book might help give you some insight. The author does explain that it’s not always the church’s fault that they have left. Rather, they are being strongly influenced by the world we live in. I would encourage you to read this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for More Lost Than Found: Finding A Way Back to Faith
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Worth the read, story telling is fair.

Date:February 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
SavingYourGreen
Location:Colorado
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"My father asserted with bravado to the mostly vacant room that his younger boy’s name was now written in the Lamb’s Book of Life, as if he had written it himself."
In the beginning of the Prologue I felt it was not written very clear like the above passage. I feel the author has a huge important amount of information about the moment he felt his faith was lost but he just can't express it so that the reader feels the importance. The first few pages are not easy to follow; they are as one of my friends used to call them, “Clear as mud.”
This book has a great topic but the author could use help getting his point across. It has it's moments that make you take a second look at your faith and go hmmmn. So it is worth the read.
I received this book free from the publisher through the Booksneeze Blogger Review Program. All the opinions however are entirely mine. I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for More Lost Than Found: Finding A Way Back to Faith
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Teen Aim

Date:December 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
YMinister1204
Location:Athens, AL
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This book is geared towards young people and parents of young people. Teenagers are fighting an uphill battle in the world in which they live, and this book is an attempt to guide them through the pitfalls of life. This book is not exactly well-written because it is written as a conversation, not as an informative document. Jared Herd, the author, over-simplifies many times about things that could use more explanation. It is my opinion that if you are going to undertake the task of writing an advice book for teenagers, you cannot get caught up in trying to speak their language in your writing. This book would have carried more weight with me as a reader had it been less concerned with sounding "teenage" and more concerned with a direct point of emphasis. The teenager that reads this book is not going to be challenged any further than skin deep and I was slightly disappointed in the fact that it did not strive to push deeper.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for More Lost Than Found: Finding A Way Back to Faith
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really helped me restore my faith

Date:October 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bergamot
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FINALLY a book is written that honestly engages an audience that has been criticized, target-marketed, and given up for dead for so long. More Lost than Found is for the 18-30 crowd that have lost their faith in the institutional church. AND it is written with compassion and understanding! This book walks through a series of steps as any understanding counselor would. First he recognizes and acknowledges the feelings of the reader (which is so needed for people like us, who have been immediately shot down at any sort of question whatsoever). He does talk of the sins of the current church, and how her people can cause great harm and separation (to pretend it doesn’t exist would be sinful itself). What is so wonderful is that the author, Jared Herd, has walked through the exact same valley of doubt, which is so refreshing. He then moves on to talk of our need for history and being wanted and having purpose, but living in an age of abandonment and separation, we get none of those needs met, leaving multitudinous feelings of disconnect and fragmentation. He then brings us back to the foundations of our original faith, suggesting that this part of the “house” is what we must not abandon. In no way does Jared say to his audience, “Hey, stop going to church, it’s outdated and wrong!” Instead, as I said, he acknowledges the wrong, but instead suggests that we should differentiate between the church’s convictions and opinions (as well as our own). After all, “Our faith story is connected to a long and broken mess of God’s people”.
I was fairly disappointed when I read some of the other reviews on this book. I have to believe they were written by leaders of the church that just want to reel that target audience back into their fold (which is totally understandable). But to be offended by this book in any way is just silly to me. It’s just another example of why I personally have a difficult time getting along with the judgmental rigidity many Christians today have and force on others. This book jives quite well with the Bible, and embraces the outsiders that desire the spirituality of our faith, are pushed out by its people’s ridiculous standards of living (hmmm sound familiar?). What is so terrible about this? The main fear seems that it will encourage this group to continue in their repulsion of the institutional church. This fear of thinking is so toxic and detrimental to the church, in my humble opinion. Perhaps these reviewers did not read the last chapter of the book? Herd writes:
“In the process of pursuing a new way of understanding our faith, we cannot forsake our history. We belong to an ancient tradition, the sons and daughters of the sons and daughters who built their lives on the message of Jesus. If we are not careful, we can tear down the old. In the process, we can forsake the voices of mentors, leaders, churches, and thinkers who remind us that we are a part of something that expands beyond our lifetime.”
Yes, this totally sounds like he is trying to encourage us out of the church. We need to be careful with this one; he might start a new religion and steal all of our 20-somethings away to offer up sacrificial lattes to Lord Buddha in togas. Ridiculous. Any lost child needs understanding and guidance. To smack his hands for asking questions and forcing him to do things he doesn’t understand does not solve the problem. So where is this missing demographic of young people? Perhaps they’re at Herd’s church… http://www.rockharbor.org/about/who-is-rockharbor/
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for More Lost Than Found: Finding A Way Back to Faith
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A read for all those in young adult ministry

Date:October 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
jroc
Location:tabusintac
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A person only has to walk into a church on a Sunday to see one of the churches biggest problems. There are lost generations. This problem of little to no young adults can be seen across the Christian church, across the world. The mainline church is a sea of grey.
So where have all the young people gone? How do we attract young people to the church? Those questions are often asked by those who are in the church. While someone may have attended church faithfully as a child, they seem to now be gone from the pews once they become an adult, what happened?
Jared Herd describes himself as a “youth expert”. He attempts to look into this problem which he describes as “more lost than found”. Herd has a huge task ahead of him. He doesn’t take the traditional route of looking at what can we do, but instead also looks at what the church has done wrong over the years.
One main item that Herd highlights is that the church has moved away from focusing on the works of Christ and instead has focused on laws and doctrine over the years. This has contributed to this lost generation in the church.
Herd does not offer answers as to this is what you must do to get the youth in the church. Instead Herd writes a book directed at those who have left the church, the lost but seeking. The book is also directed at those who are involved in youth ministry. In my mind it is more of a resource to give to those who are beginning to slip away.
Overall, Herd writes in an easy to understand way, and the book was interesting. I found myself agreeing to many of the points he has made. I must stress however, the book doesn’t offer answers as to how to get youth into the church, but instead offers a different way to thinking about how we minister to those outside of the church, how do we minister to the lost
I would rate this book at a 4/5. It is an excellent read, and something i know that I will find myself offering to others to read.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for More Lost Than Found: Finding A Way Back to Faith
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A MUST READ FOR ALL GENERATIONS!!

Date:October 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
crystal steimling
Location:PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For anyone who has ever struggled with fitting into "church" or had questions about God, this book will reengage you in the truth you long to hear. As the writer helps us to understand how and why we have arrived to where, what and who we are today, he also shows us how we can give our faith another chance....with simplicity and validity.
The conversations and chapters in this book will steer us back to real truths, and what it means to be ALIVE. The truth that Salvation did not come merely so we could sign a petition of beliefs, but that we could have a genuine, intimate relationship with God. Not only is More Lost Than Found a great read, it is a tool that will engage you and help you find your rightful place in the greatest story ever told.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for More Lost Than Found: Finding A Way Back to Faith
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Decent Read, Some Good Points

Date:October 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
iainsmurray
Location:Toronto, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
More Lost Than Found, a book by Jared Herd, is an attempt at reconciling the Generation Y’ers to real, authentic faith in Jesus. The premise of the book is simple: the fact of the matter is that most young people have lost their faith because they understood it to be something that it was not. Herd stresses the teachings of Jesus and denounces the legalism and institutionalism found within much of the modern western evangelical church. Many of his points are very well articulated. In fact, at many points throughout the book, I caught myself shaking my head in agreement. My only complaint with the book comes when Herd condemns much of the Church for what it is teaching (and what it is not) but stops short of offering any type of solution or way to more forward from this error.
Even so, this book was worth the read. It was easy to understand, and easy to track the whole way through. I’ve heard the author speak in a live setting, so perhaps knowing what he is like in reality made the book easier to follow (example: spotting dry humour which is found throughout the entire book)
Overall, the book is worth the read, especially for those whose ministry touches the lives of young people who are fed up with the church, but more than that, who are fed up with the emptiness of a life void of faith in something much greater than themselves or the temporary things around them.
Disclosure of Material Connection:I received this book free from the publisher through theBookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR,Part 255:“Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for More Lost Than Found: Finding A Way Back to Faith
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Avoid

Date:October 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anthony Shuler
Location:Kansas, USA
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This book is just riddled with errors. I won't even try to deal with them all but will focus on what I think is the biggest problem (which also is the biggest problem in most Christian books, songs and churches) and that is an essential misunderstanding of the message of Jesus Christ in the Gospel. I'm thoroughly convinced that Jared herd is a theological liberal. I believe this is the reason he misunderstands the Gospel. This quote should say it all. Page 89: "Christianity in its origins was about the ideas that Jesus taught, about a new way of connecting with God through what Jesus taught." That's a really serious error. Christianity is about what Jesus did, not taught. It's about being reconciled to God through what Jesus did on the Cross and NOT about connecting to Him through some good teachings. He is so blatantly liberal that two pages later he claims U2 singer Paul "Bono" Hewson is better preaching the message of Jesus than the churches. This book has a lot more errors for sure. But this brief look on how the author doesn't even know what Christianity is about should be more than ample support for my conclusion that you should avoid this book.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for More Lost Than Found: Finding A Way Back to Faith
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good Points, but Distracted Writing

Date:October 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
CKKIN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
There were several points made that literally had me putting down the book to think about it. Many things helped put some of my thoughts more in line and make sense. Hess talks about the rejection of institutional thinking, not spiritual thinking and how aspects of our culture almost encourage the rejection of the church.
Although I enjoyed the book, there were times when the message seemed unfocused. As well, it's unclear to me who the audience is intended to be. Hess has experience as a youth pastor, so it often feels like a youth sermon, but I get the impression that the book was not intended for youth. This made reading somewhat awkward for me at times, as the illustrations used bounced back and forth between youth relevant, or adult focused. Apart from this, I think it is a relevant and thought provoking read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for More Lost Than Found: Finding A Way Back to Faith
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Savvy writing, but misses the mark

Date:September 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
JLewis
Location:Chambersburg, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
More Lost Than Found by Jared Herd attempts to reach out to the "lost" generation of young Christians who've abandoned the church. Pastor Herd does a good job of accurately stating the problem that the church at large has become aware of: young people are leaving the church in droves. Herd complains of the disconnect between the church and culture. His style is breezy and fresh, engaging the young thinkers of today. As with most in the Emergent movement, Herd fails to give a sound and satisfying answer that the doubter can sink his teeth into. Rather than give solid black-and-white answers, Herd opts for hailing the bravery of doubters and philosophizes about theological issues in a hesitant way, ie. most of his responses begin with "Maybe..." as he suggests another way to look at the issue at hand. The tentativeness of his "maybe" responses encapsulates the overall tone of the book. I would find it difficult to recommend this book to a member of its target audience: the lost, disillusioned young ex-church members. I'm afraid it's ambiguity over-sympathizes with their doubt and disillusionment and fails to wholeheartedly convince.
More Lost Than Found was provided to me complimentary of BookSneeze.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for More Lost Than Found: Finding A Way Back to Faith
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
DUCKgirl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Book Description
More Lost Than Found helps readers reconnect with a faith worth believing.
If you look at the statistics about people raised in the church who are now leaving it, you’ll realize that something has gone horribly wrong. Has God’s truth lost relevance? The answer to this question, says Jared Herd, director of XP3 college ministries, is an absolute no. Next-generation Christians are drifting from the institutional faith because they no longer see their very real struggles or their need for deep connection with God adequately addressed there.
In More Lost Than Found, youth expert Jared Herd comes alongside anyone who has drifted from faith to reengage them with the truth they long to hear. With amusing anecdotes and brilliant insight, he gives readers the permission to struggle with their faith while, deep down, knowing they still believe it and want to believe it. In this refreshing, true-to-life message, readers find a companion for their faith journey, rediscover the truth they grew up believing, and are invigorated to lay hold of it once again.
I will admit I didn't really like this book. It just was not my thing. I never really go into it. But, I would recommend this book to any young adult, high school or college student that is struggling with their faith or is longing for a deeper faith and a broader understanding into how our faith and today’s culture intertwines.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com &lt;http://BookSneeze®.com&gt; book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 &lt;http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html&gt; : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for More Lost Than Found: Finding A Way Back to Faith
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

More Lost Than Found

Date:September 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Reid
Location:California
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
More Lost than Found is a book by Jared Herd that looks at why Christians are leaving the church and Christianity.
I think a passage near the beginning of the book states what one can expect from reading this book:
"In these pages, I'm inviting you on a path that moves away from a faith that is just about agreeing with a set of beliefs. That first path, the one that tries to put a tidy bow around life, can suppress our human frailty because it rushes to answer questions and fill in blanks. In fact, there's almost a panic that comes, right? The tidy path can offer us some certainty and a degree of comfort, but it cuts short a genuine spiritual journey before it ever begins.
Have you ever talked to a Christian who gave a scripture answer to a tough question? If they had answered your questions with less certainty and more honesty, would you have believed them more? the way Christian faith is most often expressed in our culture doesn't offer us tools for the spiritual journey, instead, it's much better at giving us scripted answers so we can opt our of our spiritual curiosity. But I don't mean to lay all the blame at the church's stoop."
I've read several books that convey the same message, a shift towards postmodernity where people are seeking spiritual guidance, want something more than just rules to follow and something they can earnestly experience.
All in all, I enjoyed this book, but I didn't see eye to eye with it often. Still, it is worth reading.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze® book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for More Lost Than Found: Finding A Way Back to Faith
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good, but not without a few snags along the way.

Date:September 20, 2011
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jared Herd knows from experience the pain of losing Jesus. In his “southern-fried Baptist” church, surrounded by a few deacons and attendees, Herd was baptized into Christ, but later found his faith in ruins after the divorce of his parents. Not unlike Herd, many today have “found” Jesus, but due to hurt caused by circumstances, disappointments, and even the church, they have left Christianity in search of something more meaningful. Reflecting upon his own experiences as a pastor to students and as one who stepped away from religion, Herd offers readers a list of ways the church is misunderstood by the larger culture and how these misunderstandings can be cleared through true examination.
Though Herd has displayed a meaningful argument for the relevance of Christianity in a culture very different from that of the current generation’s parents and grandparents, his text takes a while to lift off of the ground. Too often, I felt as if the book was a strand of things wrong with the Christian church, along the lines of “there are too many rules” and “it sometimes seems irrelevant.” As a whole, Christianity is not a religion of relevance: it calls for loving enemies and putting ourselves last. Herd’s overemphasis on the “relevance” of Christianity sometimes left me wanting more explanation for his position.
However, I did appreciate Herd’s emphasis on the importance of the body to Christianity and his nod to ancient Christianity. Herd encourages his readers to not see the body as something that Christians dwell in, but something that Christians are. After all, Jesus had a physical body and God has used the weakest of individual bodies to showcase his glory throughout scripture. Additionally, Herd emphasizes that Christianity has a “long line of thinkers,” thinkers that were also frustrated with living out an uncommon faith in a very common world. With this ancient knowledge in mind, Herd suggests that believers work to “renovate,” rather than demolish faith in order to stay connected with “something old,” such as the Christian worldview.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.