Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Deadly Pursuit: A Novel - eBook

Revell Deadly Pursuit: A Novel - eBook

As a social worker, Alison Taylor has a passion for protecting children and seeing that justice is served on their behalf. But when she starts getting harassing phone calls and bizarre "gifts," it seems she may be the one in need of protection. When her tormentor's attentions take a violent turn, her brother Cole comes to her aid, along with his new partner, Detective Mitch Morgan. As her relentless stalker turns up the heat, Mitch takes a personal interest in the case. Protecting Alison has become more than just a job--because his own happiness now depends on keeping her safe.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
25 out of 2793%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Deadly Pursuit: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Deadly Pursuit: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Suspense-Saturated!

Date:October 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Irene Hannon has a knack for incorporating pulse-pounding and nail-biting elements in her stories and developing characters that leap off the page!
The level of suspense in this book definitely borders ‘deadly’ and should you try to put the story down for even one minute, it’ll ‘pursue’ you leaving you no other choice than to sit tight and anxiously wait for the ending.
Then the romance. Bonus point for the author because she really does deliver a heart-melting love story. ( Hmmm… I even thought that the romance was too good to be true at times!)
Finally just a couple of quick remarks | comments.
1) Don’t want to give any spoilers for those who haven’t read the first book, but I wish the author had allowed Liz’s beautiful character to play a more active role in the story.
2) This read is definitely for mature readers!! Some scenes (involving murder and drugs, for ex) are quite shocking. Not to mention that the mind of the criminal in this story is rotten, depraved and corrupted. Seriously. His cruelty brought tears to my eyes, several times.
If you enjoy Romantic Suspense books, then you’ll not regret making space on your to be read pile for this one!
A can’t-put-down read indeed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Deadly Pursuit: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lincoln
Location:British Columbia Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a wonderful followup from the first book in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Deadly Pursuit: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a well written, excellent series.

Date:July 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Carlisle Lloyd
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not only is the "Guardians of Justice" series entertaining, each book has a message. It also shows that you can entertain without using foul language or sex.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Deadly Pursuit: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Repeat of book one in series

Date:June 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
kristiw
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I you read book one, you know exactly what is going to happen in this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Deadly Pursuit: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Typical romance/suspense

Date:June 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Luv2read
Location:KY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I found this to be a typical hero coming in to rescue the female who end up falling in love with each other. The suspense was ok. Some details were things I deemed TMI. We did not need details such as how a slit in a skirt was sexy (considering this is Christian fiction) or how the stalker unbuttoned her shirt or the innuendo that one character traded sex for a favor. Granted, I know this happens out there everyday in the real world, but there were just things that could have been written in a manner that were a bit more discreet or appropriate for the genre of Christian fiction. The religious aspect was also ok. Not as much reliance on God or acknowledgement of salvation as I would have liked to have seen given the genre. Sometimes I think if an author throws in a few references, they feel it qualifies. Overall, it was fairly entertaining.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Deadly Pursuit: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

De ja vu (again)

Date:April 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Deadly Pursuit is the second book in Irene Hannon’s Guardians of Justice series, which looks at three siblings ‘bound by a passion for justice’. This novel is the story of Alison Taylor, a social worker for Child Protective Services in St Louis, Missouri, the sister of the over-protective Jake (a deputy US marshal, and the hero of Fatal Judgement), and Cole (a police detective, who looks like he will be the hero of the third in the series).
Alison has been set up on a date with Mitch Morgan, and ex-Navy SEAL who is Cole’s new partner. They experience an instant attraction that soon turns protective as Alison finds a ‘gift’ on her front doorstep when he takes her home after a date, and she confesses that she has had some heavy-breathing telephone calls and a previous ‘gift’ of dying flowers. But it is this latest gift that has Mitch worried, because the gift had an implied threat of escalating violence. Cole and Jake are equally worried when they find out, and the three men are determined to keep Alison safe – but their adversary is equally determined.
I have long suspected that there are actually only six basic plots for a romance novel, and that Jane Austen wrote one of each. In reading Irene Hannon’s writing, it would appear that there are only three romantic suspense plots. Fatal Judgement (the first in the Guardians of Justice trilogy) had clear similarities to Against All Odds, the first in the Heroes of Quantico series. Deadly Pursuit gave me a similar sense of de ja vu, as it has clear similarities with An Eye for An Eye, the second Heroes of Quantico novel. I truly hope that this does not continue, as while I really enjoy Hannon’s writing, I want to read a new story not a revision of a previous novel with new characters. This would be my one criticism of Deadly Pursuit – while it was a quick and enjoyable read, it was not sufficiently unique to be excellent or truly memorable. I hope that Cole’s story will be an improvement.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Deadly Pursuit: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Without a Doubt - a MUST read!

Date:March 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Denise G.
Location:Mariposa, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Irene Hannon has quickly become one of my favorite authors. Her books never, ever disappoint. Deadly Pursuit is her latest novel, and I found every single page to be riveting. In so many books, there are pages the reader must just “get through” in order to maintain an understanding of the overall plot. But Irene Hannon makes every page a pleasure. There’s action, quick-witted dialogue, humor, suspense and romance throughout. What more could a reader ask for?
This book focuses on Alison Taylor, a social worker, who has a stalker. Her brother Cole, who we met in a previous book, is on the case. Along with him, we meet Mitch Morgan, an ex-Navy SEAL who is a new police detective in St. Louis. Cole and his brother Jake (who we’ve also met in a previous book), both in law enforcement, love their sister Alison to the point of smothering. Early in the story, Cole sets Alison up on a date with the new guy on the department, Mitch. Both have agreed to the evening begrudgingly, but are taken by surprise at their attraction toward one another. From the moment they meet, their relationship is both romantic and action packed.
As in all of her books, each character is well drawn, believable and likeable. The plot is plausible and exciting. There are no dull spots...no pages to skim before getting to the good stuff. This is a great read, typical of all I’ve seen by this author. Men and women alike will find it satisfying. If you like Dee Henderson (and who doesn’t?), you’ll like Irene Hannon. I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Deadly Pursuit: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wink
Location:Mesa, AZ
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Irene Hannon is a writer in the class of Dee Henderson. She knows how to build a story to keep the reader coming back for more. I love the way characters from previous books are woven into the current novel. I recommend her books to lovers of suspense.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Deadly Pursuit: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Captivating Story

Date:October 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Vicky
Location:Lafayette, Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been waiting patiently (not) for my library to get Deadly Pursuit by Irene Hannon in so I could pick it up. It came in, I picked it up, I devoured it, I loved it, and I can't wait till she writes # 3. This is the first book that I read 250 pages in one sitting and was completely captivated by the storyline and characters.
A stalker with a deadly intent..A woman who protects children..An ex-Navy Seal turned police detective. Now that is quite a lineup of characters that just invites you to pick this book up and read. Irene Hannon has a wonderful knack to combine suspense with romance to make her storytelling "top notch". She is one of my top five favorite authors and I always know that when I am finished with her book I am glad that I found this author to read. I believe she has taken over where Dee Henderson stopped.
Make sure you read Irene Hannon's books-you will be in for great reading experiences.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Deadly Pursuit: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Deadly Intent!

Date:October 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From page one to the last of Deadly Pursuit, author Irene Hannon has you riveted with mysterious and dangerous circumstances that we find social worker, Alison Taylor, caught up in. But when one of the perpetrators ups the ante with each taunting, her police-department brother, Cole, and his new partner, Mitch Morgan, are called in for her protection. Though Alison thinks both brothers, Cole and Jake, are overbearing, she and Mitch test the waters of their new relationship slowly, cautiously and deliciously. However, their relationship turns professional when threats are made.
Irene Hannon is one of my favorite mystery writers, as she is distinctive and comprehensive in her character development, unwavering and surprising in her intensity of suspense, and a master of tender romance. All three areas complement each other into an ever-engaging read. Deadly Pursuit is a true example of her fine work.
The characters and situations are genuine and persuasive. I found the bantering between the siblings and partners a method Irene used to diffuse some of the tension of the danger. It’s a book you will find realistic and, at times, upsetting, as it can and does happen somewhere in today’s society. But the reality of prayer, faith and trust in God also permeates the book and is very genuine and important.
For a great, thrilling read, check Deadly Pursuit out for yourself! You can buy it here or here.
This book was provided by Donna Hausler, Publicity Assistant, at Baker Publishing Group in exchange for my honest review. No monetary compensation was exchange. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Deadly Pursuit: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not usually my type of book, but LOVE it!

Date:September 30, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'll be up front on this book. It's honestly not usually the type of book that I like. I'm not a suspense person. I get too nervous and always feel like I need to flip to the end of the book first so I can prepare myself for what lies ahead and not get too attached to the characters that aren't going to make it to the end. With that said, I actually enjoyed this book. It wasn't so intense that I thought that I needed to put it down and take a break! I was shocked to find that I enjoyed it.
The second book in the Guardians of Justice series, I felt that I could easily pick up on the characters without having read the first book. Alison Taylor, a social worker, spends her life protecting people. Mitch Morgan is an ex-Navy SEAL who is brought in to help protect Alison when she is at a point where she needs to be protected. Oh, and did I forget to mention that Mitch, who just might happen to enjoy being around Alison, is a partner to Cole, Alison's police detective brother? Alison's brothers are protective over her, but Cole is also a matchmaker and sets the two up on a date. This would lead to the hidden dangers that put her life at risk.
I think anyone would like this book! If I like it and I'm not fond of suspense books, then I know others would like it.
______________
“Available September 2011 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
I received this book from the publisher Revell to read and review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 55
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Deadly Pursuit: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
ibjoy1953
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Deadly Pursuit by Irene Hannon
Being a social worker, Alison Taylor encounters some sticky situations and questionable people, so when usually things started showing up on her doorstep she wasn’t sure what to think or what was going on. No to worry though because she has 2 brothers and an ex-Navy SEAL to look out for her, and they will do whatever it takes to protect her.
I didn’t read the first book in this series, so I don’t know what I missed there, but I did enjoy this second one very much. I liked the fact that Alison’s brothers we so protective of her, even though it was annoying to her, though I could see her point because she was so independent. The author gives us a wonderful cast of characters that are believable and loveable and weaves a story that is full of fast pace suspense and action, and adds a little romance as well. The plot is well developed and captures the readers interest until the last page.
If you like suspense, then this is a great read for you, so grab you a copy and cup of java and start reading. You are in for a wonderful suspenseful journey.
“Available September 2011 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
I received this book from the publisher Revell to read and review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 55
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Deadly Pursuit: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

SUSPENSFUL STORYTELLING YOU CAN’T PUT DOWN!

Date:September 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
BaronBookReview
Location:Gilbert, AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I couldn’t wait to get this book since I had read (and reviewed) Fatal Judgment, the first book in the Guardians of Justice series. That one was a great read and I was looking for the same action-packed and intense story line. I certainly was not disappointed!
Starting with the first chapter of Deadly Pursuit, I was hooked. Although this is a continuation in the Guardians of Justice series, it can also be read as a stand-alone book. Ms. Hannon gives enough background to entice the new reader but doesn’t become overly repetitive to the reader from Fatal Judgment. After the background on the characters, you’re pulled right into the storyline.
I like how Hannon gave us details about the bad guys—for most of us, it’s an unknown way of life. Many addicts blame the bad things in their lives on someone else instead of taking accountability. Seeing how their minds work was illuminating. I loved how Hannon got into their heads and actions to explain the “why” behind what they do.
On the flip side, the Taylor clan is the antithesis of the “villains”. Hardworking, compassionate, and faithful (for the most part) make an interesting contrast to the bad guys. Although this is a Christian novel, it’s not “preachy”. It’s moving how each character trusts God to intervene and lead them in the right direction, even if they don’t know what direction that is. To me, that’s true faith and that’s one of the reasons I enjoy Ms. Hannon’s books.
One thing that did disturb me was a couple of the graphic situations---I won’t spoil the story but if you are squeamish, beware! That’s about the only negative I have on Deadly Pursuit---it’s definitely a book you can’t put down, especially the last few chapters. Grab one for yourself—you won’t be sorry!
Overall, I give Deadly Pursuit 4 stars. Thank you Ms Hannon! I look forward to the next installment!
Available September 2011 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
I received this book free from Revell as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Deadly Pursuit: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great suspenseful read!

Date:September 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
KellysLuckyYou
Location:Chicago
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Irene Hannon’s website says, “If you’re looking for edge-of-the-seat suspense or tender, heartwarming romance—without gratuitous violence, explicit love scenes or vulgar language—you’re in the right place!” And I have to admit, as much as I enjoyed reading mainstream thrillers, there were times when the blood and gore got a bit difficult to read. The characters were sometimes so different than anyone I knew (or wanted to know) that it obscured the story and distracted from the plot.
Like Irene Hannon’s other books I’ve read, “Deadly Pursuit” is exciting and a fast read. This author knows how to create suspense and excitement. The characters feel like real people, that you come to enjoy reading about and want to know better. If you’ve never read one of her books, I encourage you to pick up “Deadly Pursuit”. You don’t have to read the series in order, they stand alone. I can’t wait for the next one in this series, probably the central character will be the remaining sibling, Cole. Hmmm, I wish they had a bigger family!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Deadly Pursuit: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A suspenseful Romance

Date:September 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
addicted reader
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was on pins and needles waiting for this book! I loved Irene Hannon's last book in the Guardians of Justice series. I knew this one would be great too. The story takes place around Alison Taylor, Jack and Cole's sister(who we meet in book one... Fatal Judgement). Cole's tries his match making skill on her... both brothers are very protective of her, and Alison has an admirer... are two.
This book had the suspense mixed with the romance that I just love. What can I say... I love a good mystery with a little romance in the mix. It was a great story line. I do believe this book will be reread.... I also like the fact that my teenager can read it! It is a good entertaining "G" rated story!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Deadly Pursuit: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carmen
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
really good!!! def can't wait for the next one. I just love Christianbook.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Deadly Pursuit: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exceptional Suspense

Date:September 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every now and then I read a book that holds me captive. Deadly Pursuit is one of those books you don't want to put down. The suspense is first rate and the romance just right. I can't wait for the next book in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Deadly Pursuit: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Solid read from Irene Hannon

Date:September 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I love the concept of this series - 3 siblings with different occupations that all put them on the side of fighting for truth, justice and the American way. Brother Jake was the star of book #1 and is a US Marshal. Brother Cole will be the star of book #3 and he is a homicide detective. Sister Alison is a Child Protective Services worker and she is the central figure in book #2. I really enjoy Irene Hannon's books and find them to be suspenseful and engaging and they keep my on the edge of my seat. While this book was good, it was a little less suspenseful than what I have come to expect. The situation ended up being life and death, but started out as a stalker... there was a lot of romance in this one, but not a lot of romantic tension. They both like each other... they are both incredibly good looking... they will eventually get together... There were some twists to the storyline that were good and I liked that we got to see Cole and Jake quite a bit as well. Overall it was good so I give this book 4 stars out of 5.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Deadly Pursuit: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Irene Hannon does it again!

Date:September 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Irene Hannon has written another great story filled with just the right mix of suspense, romance, and faith in Deadly Pursuit, the second installment in her Guardians of Justice series.
Alison Taylor is recovering, both physically and emotionally, from a serious accident and immersed in her work with a child protection agency. Mitch Morgan is an ex-Navy SEAL who has returned to his hometown of St. Louis where he is a detective with a local police department. Alison and Mitch are set up on a date by Alison's brother Cole and find they enjoy their time together. When seemingly random pranks heat up to real danger for Alison, drama and romance abound for both of them. And the faith that sustains Alison causes Mitch to look for what's missing in his life.
Irene Hannon's writing is captivating and her characters come to life. She drew me into the story in the very first pages -- the very first sentences -- and kept me wanting more up until the very last. Even though the distinction between the "good guys" and "bad guys" became apparent early in the story, the details of how the story plays out kept me in suspense and turning pages.
Irene Hannon's extensive research into so many elements of the story make the setting and details ring true -- including the inner workings of the law enforcement agencies and the descriptions of how a person's body reacts to trauma. Anyone familiar with the St. Louis area will feel at home with her descriptions of real locations. My own town of Potosi even made it into the story with the mention of the prison from which one of the characters has recently been released.
Although Deadly Pursuit can stand alone, I would highly recommend that you read the first book in the series, Fatal Judgment. And if Irene's Heroes of Quantico series is any indication of how the stories in a series just get better, I can't wait for the third installment!
Available September 2011 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
This book was provided free for my review from the publisher.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Deadly Pursuit: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Her stories always captures your interest from the first page. I usually end up reading the book thru in one day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>