Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House The Parting, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #1

Bethany House The Parting, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #1

Nellie dares to dream of a future with handsome Caleb Yoder, but there are those who would keep the young couple apart . . . including Caleb's own father. Meanwhile, a growing number of Amish farmers are demanding modern conveniences. When a revival adds to the tensions, passions flare and the Old Order community is pushed to the breaking point. Based on actual events.
Average Customer Rating:
4.581 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Parting, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #1
Review 1 for The Parting, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #1
This review is fromParting, The - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nellie Mae Fisher falls in love with Caleb Yoder at a tumultuous time in her Amish community. Her family is in the midst of dealing with the death of a child, and her community is at an impasse with the details of the Ordnung. Nellie tries to balance all the details of her life, but it seems like she is not meant to have everything.
Will the church be able to settle their differences, or will a split be necessary to placate all parties? Will Caleb's father accept them as a couple, or will something bigger keep them apart? Will her sister's death remain a mystery? Nellie wants to do what is right by God and the church, but is stubbornly holding on to Old Ways truly what God wants of her?
I wasn't sure this series had enough to catch my interest, but boy, was I wrong! Somehow the idea of there being trouble in an Amish community in the 60's over the Ordnung rules and ordinances gives us a whole new look into this fascinating world. The plot kept taking new twists and turns, and I turned the page into something I never saw coming more than once.
The family is torn apart when a daughter and sibling dies, and the questions that surround the mystery of her death incite the curiosity of this Old Order Amish household. Lewis has done it again with this first installment to The Courtship of Nellie Fisher series, and it is worth the read. It is based on actual events from a time and place where the redeeming grace of God was given freely to even the most stubborn of hearts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Parting, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #1
This review is fromThe Parting, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nellie Mae Fisher falls in love with Caleb Yoder at a tumultuous time in her Amish community. Her family is in the midst of dealing with the death of a child, and her community is at an impasse with the details of the Ordnung. Nellie tries to balance all the details of her life, but it seems like she is not meant to have everything.
Will the church be able to settle their differences, or will a split be neccesary to placate all parties? Will Caleb's father accept them as a couple, or will something bigger keep them apart? Will her sister's death remain a mystery? Nellie wants to do what is right by God and the church, but is stubbornly holding on to Old Ways truly what God wants of her?
I wasn't sure this series had enough to catch my interest, but boy, was I wrong! Somehow the idea of there being trouble in an Amish community in the 60's over the Ordnung rules and ordinances gives us a whole new look into this fascinating world. The plot kept taking new twists and turns, and I turned the page into something I never saw coming more than once.
The family is torn apart when a daughter and sibling dies, and the questions that surround the mystery of her death incite the curiosity of this Old Order Amish household. Lewis has done it again with this first installment to The Courtship of Nellie Fisher series, and it is worth the read. It is based on actual events from a time and place where the redeeming grace of God was given freely to even the most stubborn of hearts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Parting, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!

Date:November 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a teen who loves reading books. beverly lewis is one of my very favorite authors.this book is very engaging and packed with emotion. I could not put it down once i started reading it(it was finished at about one in the morning:). it is amazing how the author keeps you so involved throughout the story. I really love this book and would recomend it to any teen who is actually interested in this type of book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Parting, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 25, 2010
So far I've read three of Beverly Lewis's novels and enjoyed all of them. This one was slightly different to the other two in that it is set during the split in the Amish church in the 1960s. Because of this, the story had more emphasis on the Amish theology and how it differed from conventional Christian beliefs. I found this really fascinating as one of the things that has always bugged me about the Amish way of life is that they seem to focus more on the Amish culture than the Word of God, and a lot of their culture has no scriptural foundation. So it was interesting to read about families who discovered the truth about Salvation and how this was treated. Of course, I enjoyed reading about the typical aspects of Amish life: Nellie and Caleb's courtship, Nellie's bakery, and the rumours about Suzy's running-around years. To be totally honest, I didn't find these parts of the book to be as engaging as the sections about Nellie's father and friends discovering salvation through Christ. I liked Nellie as a character but Caleb seemed a bit two-dimensional, and this stopped me from really warming to their courtship and truly caring about the outcome. Likewise, as fascinating as it was to read about the family recovering from Suzy's death, the truth about what happened to her seemed to be tied up far too quickly and neatly in less than a chapter. I was intrigued by the story about Rosanna adopting her cousin's twins. It didn't totally fit into the main storyline, which made it a bit awkward, but it was interesting enough and I'm sure it's significance will become clear in the second book. Overall, I wasn't quite as interested in these characters as I was with some of the other Amish books I've read, but the subject matter - a split in the Amish church because of the issue of Salvation - was fascinating and well written. Looking forward to reading the next in the trilogy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Parting, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Brenda L Frazier
When I first started reading the series on Nellie Mae Fisher, I thought it was another boring novel. Now I can't put the books down and I still have yet to read the third book which I have not purchased yet. Reading Mrs. Lewis's books take you back to the Amish community and how they live...I have been there (in my state) and now I love to learn more about their life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Parting, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Evelyn Walker
You can't loose when you purchase a Beverly Lewis book. Her books never let you down, and you are always reminded to look for God's love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Parting, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #1
This review is fromThe Parting, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Charley F Price
I have not started this book yet. Do to the fact I am almost done with the one I am reading now.ButI have read and own many of Beverly Lewis books.All of her books makes me take a better look at my actions and makes me realizes how bless I am to live in a time were I can choose to follow my faith. This is one author you know will always be good and you do not have to worrier about any bad language or sex. I am always looking forward to her next books. Thank you for carrying her books.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Parting, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Virginia Ferrell
I ordered and read all 3 of the books in this Series. I read all three, within a week. Excellent Christian Fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Parting, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sarah
I am a big fan of Mrs. Lewis, and I loved this book! I couldn't put it down. I liked learning about the beliefs of the Old Order Amish, and the history of how some of the New Order formed. I'm currently reading "The Forbidden", which is the second book, and so far I like it too. I encourage everyone to read these books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Parting, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mary Walker
I am reading these now and can hardly put them down. All three are excellant.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Parting, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jeannette
The Courtship of Nellie Fisher is a most wonderful series to begin with if you've never read a series of books before. This is and was my first and I'm enjoying the experience. I'm almost done with book #2 and I can't wait until book #3 is released.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Parting, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Charlee
I love Beverly Lewis and her most recent series is no let down. You fall in love with each character and you find yourself wanting to include these people in your own prayers only to remember it is only a story! Hats off to Beverly Lewis! I pray the Lord would continue to bless her and continue to allow her to write such wonderful stories!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Parting, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Susan Boling-reynolds
I have enjoyed this series so far, enough to anticipate the next book in the series; sometimes hard to figure out if the text is really happening, a dream, a thought, or a reading from Suzy's diary.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Parting, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
lydia
Thought the book was wonderful! I was so touched by the ending especialy. Lewis really knows how to touch hearts with her stories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Parting, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kellie Holsey
Left too many unanswered questions, the ending made me wish I chose something else to read.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Parting, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sharron Reykdal
I read alot of heavy material for work and enjoy inspirational books for light reading at bed time. I found this book to be one of the better ones. It gives very good insight into the struggles of the faith system of the people. It helps one to understand with more depth why the "PLAIN Folk" do what they do. It was hard to put down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Parting, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #1
This review is fromThe Parting, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cara
I love Beverly Lewis books. I have read all her different Amish series books. This one is terrific! I also read The Forbidden. Now am sitting on pins and needles waiting the the Longing to come out in a few months.Keep up the great fiction writing with such wonderful Christian principles and salvation message throughout the books.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Parting, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Christine
Unlike some of the other readers I was unable to put this book down. Learning about the cultural problems the Amish faced in the 60's and the courtship of Nellie and Caleb was great. The best part of the book was the lives that were being changed by the revival taking place. It reminded me of the change and excitment that took place in my own heart when I first gave my life to Christ. Beverly Lewis did a beautiful job reminding me of that hunger and thirst we all should have after Gods word. Where's book 2?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Parting, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sharon Maness
The Amish people have always been people that I like to read about, both fiction and non fiction alike. They seem to be areal close knit group. I like how the families tend to stay together or if one leaves he or she eventually returns home.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Parting, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Susan Roen
I always like Beverly Lewis' books. This one was different in that Nellie, the daughter wants to stay with the Old Order Beliefs while the father has experience salvation. It is excellent reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.