Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House The Longing, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #3

Bethany House The Longing, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #3

This popular series of novels by Beverly Lewis wraps up the engaging story of Nellie Mae Fisher, a young Amish woman who has broken up with her beau, Caleb Yoder. Now her heart's greatest longing is for more knowledge of the Lord. Meanwhile, Caleb yearns for freedom. His plans to leave Honeybrook have been thwarted, and he must stay on as caretaker for his father, who was crippled in a wintertime accident. He also longs for Nellie Mae, still hoping that she will return to the Old Order and to him.
Average Customer Rating:
4.973 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Longing, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #3
Review 1 for The Longing, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The thing Nellie Mae Fisher has longed for the most is gone - her dream to be Caleb Yoder's wife. Her stance against the new found faith of her family has changed, and she years to learn more in their New Order church. Her new friend, a young Mennonite, Christian Yoder has secrets to share about Suzy's final days - news that will change how Nellie sees the world. But does he have more than friendship on his mind?
Caleb wants nothing more than to make Nellie his bride, but despite his plans to make a life for them, his plans are thwarted by an accident. Struggling to stay on track, he hopes that Nellie hasn't forgotten him and her promise to be his bride. Will they ever be able to be together? Or will circumstances - and his father keep them apart for good?
This was a very enjoyable ending to the Courtship of Nellie Fisher. Lewis has given us her usual serving of mystery, romance, and family drama to keep me turning pages and loosing sleep. She does not disappoint in this final installment, and keeps everything fresh despite the concurrent theme of her writings. An excellent writing based on actual events. I recommend this book, this series, and this writer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Longing, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The thing Nellie Mae Fisher has longed for the most is gone - her dream to be Caleb Yoder's wife. Her stance against the new found faith of her family has changed, and she years to learn more in their New Order church. Her new friend, a young Mennonite, Christian Yoder has secrets to share about Suzy's final days - news that will change how Nellie sees the world. But does he have more than friendship on his mind?
Caleb wants nothing more than to make Nellie his bride, but despite his plans to make a life for them, his plans are thwarted by an accident. Struggling to stay on track, he hopes that Nellie hasn't forgotten him and her promise to be his bride. Will they ever be able to be together? Or will circumstances - and his father keep them apart for good?
This was a very enjoyable ending to the Courtship of Nellie Fisher. Lewis has given us her usual serving of mystery, romance, and family drama to keep me turning pages and loosing sleep. She does not disappoint in this final installment, and keeps everything fresh despite the concurrent theme of her writings. An excellent writing based on actual events. I recommend this book, this series, and this writer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Longing, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #3
This review is fromThe Longing, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #3 Large Print.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
superfox
Location:Phoenix, Az.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this book in three days. Mrs. Lewis' books are so hard to put down. I love reading about the Amish as I have been to Pennsylvania and been among them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Longing, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great series

Date:October 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
green
Location:Thornton, CO
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first two books in the series of the Courtship of Nellie Fisher had been loaned to me and the third one was not to be found in their home. I quickly got on line and ordered "The Longing" - the third in this series - so I could read on about my friends I'd just discovered. I'd like to see more in this series ... LOTS more! I learned a lot about the Amish people. Though I have not gone through the trials the Amish did when starting to have a personal relationship with Jesus, I could relate in many ways to my sharing my Jesus with non-believers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Longing, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Series

Date:October 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
bless
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this series. The author is terrific and I can't wait to read more of her series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Longing, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Janet Harvey
I read all three of the Nellie Mae Fisher series...loved every one of them...I just enjoy everything that Beverly Lewis writes. They are just such a pleasant and inspirational read...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Longing, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #3
This review is fromThe Longing, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #3 Large Print.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Doris Struve
Beverly Lewis knows how to keep your attention. I've enjoyed this series of books very much. It shows true love does win most of the time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Longing, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cindy Jay
Beverly Lewis is a wonderful writer. She keeps your interested throughout the book. This is book 3 in the series and well worth the read. True to life characters who make you feel you are right there with them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Longing, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #3
This review is fromThe Longing, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #3 Large Print.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marian Eaton
A thoroughly enjoyable conclusion to this trilogy. The first two books set the larger scene. I knew how I wanted it to conclude, but it was never an obvious answer. Each chapter was delicious as Beverly Lewis expertly developed the plot. I learned more about the Amish and their history in this series than in any other of her writings or other fiction about the Amish. This was a totally delightful trilogy. I was completely absorbed by it and was sorry when I finished.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Longing, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Clark Renee
Wonderful ending to a great series! Beverly Lewis is quicly becoming one of my favorite authors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Longing, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dolly
Being my husband & I are personal friend of Amish folks & all their extended families, I just love any stories about the Amish. We know alot first hand being in their homes andspending lots of time with them, so all thesebooks are great. This was another excellent Series by Beverly Lewis and it had a wonderful ending after some mystery in the other 2 books prior to Bk. #3. They can get very suspenseful at times. Therefore, you never want to put the book down so you can find out how everything is going to play out.All her books are terrific and I try and buy at many Amish books as I can get my hands on. I just love the storeis on them. I have allBeverly's Amish books & cookbook too. Greatending for Nellis Fisher & as always, love conquered in the end & I was happy for that.Great books & enjoyable at the same time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Longing, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Chloe
The Longing was Beverly Lewis's greatest book yet. Beverly is my favorite author. I loved this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Longing, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Loretta Langdon
Bought this for my mom. She loves the characters and just can not put this series down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Longing, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Barbara Huss
This was an excellant book. I have always been interested in the Amish, so it's a way for me to get to know more about this group of people. Beverly Lewis is a great storyteller.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Longing, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Luella Harris
Beverly Lewis is an amazing author. I can not put her books down. Not only do you learn about the Amish culture but you get so involved in the characters. Beverly did not let me down with this third book in her series, "The Longing." I just finished it and I wanted it to go on forever. I hope it's not her last in this series. I can't wait for her next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Longing, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ada Marie Kujawski
I have enjoyed all 3 books in this series. And would love to have her write #4.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Longing, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sheila Blais
Another awesome series by Beverly Lewis. I love her writing and every time I read her books it is like I enter her world. I can't put them down once I start reading them and always look forward to her next one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Longing, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rene Robeertson
great read. i always enjoy beverly lewis' books about the amish. i haven't heard any news about her writing another series, but i hope it is soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Longing, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Wanda Becker
I've been faithfully following Nellie Mae's life in this series, and as usual, Beverly Lewis has done an excellent job of making the characters seem so real. This final book was a beautiful ending to the series, and anyone who loves Nellie Mae will be so thrilled to see how it turns out. Thank you, again, Beverly Lewis for another wonderful series that challenges us to trust the Lord God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Longing, Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
I Ervin
This book is one of if not the best of the series. The tests and trials of Nellie Mae's family make it easier to identify with them as everyday people rather than just Amish. Ms. Lewis did a really good job of keeping us connected with the events of the past without lingering too long there. Though there was no "perfect" solution for everyone's issue, the outcome was believable and satisfying. Except for the fact that I had to sleep and go to work, I wouldn't have put the book down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>