Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Pirate Hunter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Bethany House Pirate Hunter

Following a captured slave who's been freed by the sixteenth-century pirate who takes his ship, the novel weaves a rollicking tale of adventure. Paralleling this story in the present are the treasure hunters seeking the gold--and stories--of the past. Greg Rhode--a preacher's kid who has become a marine archaeologist--hires on to participate in Phil Rackham's salvage operation in the Florida Keys. He is hoping that Rackham will make him rich, not suspecting the true riches he'll eventually confront.
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pirate Hunter
Review 1 for Pirate Hunter
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great Blended Storylines, Flat Romance

Date:July 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
When Ted Bascombe is rescued from a slave ship by a notorious 18th century West Indies pirate (under the guise of operating as a privateer), he finds himself in an unlikely apprenticeship as he learns the arts of navigation and piracy. Flashing ahead several hundred years, marine archaeologist Ted Rhodes lands himself a job in the mysterious world of underwater treasure hunting and antiquity recoveries where he puts his extensive scuba-diving experience to good use.
Pirate Hunter has a lot of good things going for it. Tom Morrissey skillfully weaves the stories of Ted Bascombe and Greg Rhode together, drawing striking parallels out of lives existing centuries apart. The story is found not so much in the treasure-hunt, the capturing of prizes, or the recovery of sunken artifacts, but rather in the emotional journeys taken by Ted and Greg as they journey through pasts filled with pain into the clearer waters of forgiveness.
The two intertwined stories were meshed incredibly well and were what kept me in on the story right through until the end. The rather poor handling of the romantic storylines just served to jar me from the rest of the story rather than enhancing it. It is fairly common for male authors to sort of fudge up the romantic sub-plots and it can seem that they are only inserted to sell any possible female readers. That is the way the romance comes across in Pirate Hunter. Greg really seems a bit of a loser – noncommittal emotionally and to faith, what Sheila sees in him remains a mystery to me. Ted’s courtship on the other hand is sweetly traditional – and I loved reading those parts – but the actual emotional buy-in never arrived.
I was struck by the similarities between some of the characters with popular big-screen pirate heroes (Pirates of the Caribbean anyone?) These are more understated and realistic, and are grounded firmly in historically accurate piracy as opposed to the fantastical, but I couldn’t keep myself from drawing a comparison. Tom Morrissey draws upon his own extensive deep-sea diving experiences to provide a lot of technical detail for the treasure hunting scenes, and his research into nautical terms is just as impressive.
So, while I had to deduct some points for the romances that just didn’t fly for me, this was still a very enjoyable, and even at times humorous read. If you are in the mood for some nautical adventure and don’t need the wind of romance to fill your sails you might want to check this one out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pirate Hunter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

We have not finised reading the book yet.

Date:February 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Juju
Location:Madisonl, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We like to read. This book has a great beginning. Since we are from Florida this makes it all the more interesting to us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pirate Hunter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another fantastic work from Tim Morrisey

Date:January 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
vsp911
Location:Virginia
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Morrisey does a fine job with this novel. It is a great story that seamlessly moves through time from one chapter to the next, and back again. The characters are well developed, and Morrisey's experience and research are evident on each page. The underlying story of family and forgiveness was a true blessing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pirate Hunter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Don Courliss
Absolutely captivating. Both my wife and I really enjoyed this book. We also have enjoyed Tom Morrisey's other books and have them in our library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pirate Hunter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
narrowgate
A very interesting blend of 1600's action with a current day archaeology expedition. It was a captivating read, as chapters blended together. I hope that Morrisey gets another nomination for a Christie Award for this novel
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pirate Hunter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2009
When some people hear historical and well researched their eyes glaze over in anticipation of what most undoubtedly will prove to be a boring read. Not so with Pirate Hunter by Tom Morrisey! Instead what we get is the story of two men separated by three hundred years yet joined by their love of the sea, of treasure, and of the pressing need to unburden themselves of resentment for the wrongs done to them by their fathers.The two main characters at first seem to have little in common. Greg Rhode is a college educated treasure hunter with a secret affinity for bluegrass music. Bold Ted Bascombe is a sixteen year old boy set free from a Dutch slave trader by the famous pirate Captain Henry Thatch. Their stories weave in and out of each other throughout Pirate Hunter as both fall in love and both try to reconcile their Christian faith with the unresolved pain caused by fathers who failed them miserably.If Johnny Depp is your idea of a typical pirate you may want to set that aside for the picture Morrisey paints in its place. Captain Hatch and Bold Ted are both believers who worship every Sunday. That is, unless they are claiming a ship as the property of the local governor. The Captain is a man feeling the weight of the contradictions of his life and the path he has led his young protge down.The technique used to tell this story works on every level. Morrisey moves us from past to present so smoothly it sometimes takes a moment to remember the characters are separated by three centuries. Though the conclusion leaves a few questions unanswered they are not the important ones. Both characters begin their journey believing treasure is what matters most. And it is; just not the kind they first believe. As always, the greatest treasures are not gold bars and rubies. The most valuable things in life are what are valuable in eternity. Something Bold Ted and Greg Rhode discover together in the most mysterious of all seas, the human heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pirate Hunter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patricia
In 1623 young Theodore "Bold Ted" Boscombe is picked up by the famous pirate Henry Thatch the West Indies. In 2009, Greg Rhode is hired by a group of treasure hunters in Key West. So begins the two unrelated, but oddly entwined stories. Ted seeks to find his fortune and get revenge on the man who saved him from slavery but may have put him there to begin with. However, when Ted meets Sally the young companion of Captain Thatch's wife, his priority's change, though he has yet to soften his heart toward the man he once called "father". Greg is all about the history of the ship wreck, but the bonus's and dividends of the found treasure is good too. Even better booty lies in his free spirited partner, Shelia. Unfortunately, Greg has a past that he longs to bury far behind him, but Shelia and his co-workers can't help but to pull it out. Greg must learn to move on from his father's mistakes, but can he ever forgive him for what he has stolen from Greg? Morrisey has put together Ted and Greg's stories brilliantly. Despite that fact that the two never "meet" (all though it could be implied that Greg's wreck was once a ship that Ted was a part of); the writing style itself molds together. For example, the ending word on a chapter on one period is the beginning word of the other period. (Not as confusing as I make it sound, I promise.) Once again, I felt that the book ended too soon and not in a good way. I felt like with some more time, the stories could have easily been brought together in a way that at least makes their joint presence make sense. Yes, both were interesting, but why share a binding? However, where they relate makes up for it in that it shows the basic idea of human life are consistent through the centuries. Forgiveness is always needed, coming of age is the same, and your family isn't always perfect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pirate Hunter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2009
As soon as I read the description for Pirate Hunter, I knew I wanted to read it. It just sounded like something a little different and very interesting. I was not disappointed. This book exceeded my expectations by miles, I loved it. I usually like to read chick lit, but I was ready to read something different and its not everyday that a book about pirates comes out. I am so glad I read this book.Pirate Hunter has two story lines that are woven together. The one story line tells the story of an 18th Century pirate ship. The other story is about a modern day marine archaeologist who is hunting treasures in the waters off of Key West. At first, I could not see what one story had to do with the other, but as the book went on I started to see it, and the end was simply superb.Tom Morrisey has written an entertaining story with a lot of heart, wonderful characters, and adventure. I recommend this book for both men and women. It has a lot that is appealing for both. This story will stay with me for a long time and I will look forward to reading more books by this author. I just cant say enough good things about this book. Just read it, you will see what I mean. Enjoy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Pirate Hunter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2009
Greg Rhode is a marine archaeologist who starts a new job with a salvage operation in the Florida keys. He is "allergic" to the Christian music the beautiful diver Sheila loves to play but he is attracted to her. As his story unfolds, Sheila discovers that his father was a preacher with a not so savory past leaving Greg bitter. Interestingly intertwined with Greg's story is the story of Ted, a 16 year old former slave who was rescued by a real-life pirate in the 1600's.Ted also has bitter memories of betrayal of the father he so loved. Greg and Ted are looking for riches on the sea but the treasures they discover are not of this world.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Pirate Hunter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Pirate Hunter by Tom Morrisey is a wonderfully written adventure story mixed with a little faith and a lot of history. Greg Rhode is just out of college and lucky to find a job working on Phil Rackham's ship salvage operation out of Key West. His investigation of a wreck brings up gemstones that have a fascinating history that only the reader will ever know. Bold Ted was captured as a slave and then rescued by pirate Captain Henry Thatch. He signs on as a member of the Regent crew, which puts his life in danger when the Spanish go gunning for Thatch and his compatriots who stole a valuable ruby from one of their ships. The two stories move along parallel lines through manhood, falling in love, and the discovery that treasure isn't found in gold and jewels but in forgiveness and family. Morrisey gives readers just enough information about diving shipwrecks to intrigue without overwhelming them with jargon. The romances are sweet, and the adventure captivating. The two heroes are what really make this book shine. I loved this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Pirate Hunter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Creative Madness Mama
This novel is not incredible, but very enjoyable. Each page and chapter keeps a reader thirsting for what comes next. In a way this is both a contemporary novel and a historical. Just about every other chapter is in two different stories that are very different, but at the same time similar in theory and lesson. The characters are easy to come to admire and appreciate even the proverbial "bad guys". At times in some chapters there were parts where I felt that I was overrun with information, but then in the next part of the story I felt those two page of words were necessary after all even though while reading through them I slightly lost interest. One of the best skills as a writer that I enjoyed while reading my first novel from Tom Morrisey was the way that he opened a next chapter going from one century to another and truly weaving the stories together in a way that fit perfectly. Over all this is a pretty great book that really gets a reader into the world of contemporary treasure hunters and opens a port hole of insight into the world of repentant pirates. I recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.