Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Simple Secrets to a Happy Life

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Thomas Nelson Simple Secrets to a Happy Life

In Simple Secrets to a Happy Life, Women of Faith ® speaker Luci Swindoll provides women with 50 rules to live by for a simple, scriptural, intentional life. These simple "secrets" can be put into five basic categories: Basics, Style, Balance, Living a Good Life, and Staying Connected. Readers both young and old will benefit from Luci's advice. Hardcover.
Average Customer Rating:
4.15 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0
19 out of 2095%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Simple Secrets to a Happy Life
Review 1 for Simple Secrets to a Happy Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simple Secrets To A Happy LIFe

Date:December 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anngladys Gichuhi
Location:Kenya
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SIMPLE SECRETS TO A HAPPY LIFE by Luci Swindoll
This has been an interesting and inspiring read for me. The author highlights very simple things that we can do to ease the clutter and congestion in our lives and hearts, and free them up to truly enjoy what’s most important in life.
I have taken some of this literally and decluttered my office work space as well as my home. I can tell you some certain things for sure. The office is a much more refreshing place to work in, and I am super productive, given that all I see before me is the task at hand. This helps me concentrate on it and give it my all without unnecessary distractions. It also enables me to retrieve documents for others who need them faster. It has made my working experience so much more fulfilling.
At the home front, I have been able to come across many useful things that I didn’t remember I had. I now don’t have to buy them (again), and I can use them for their originally intended purposes. It’s also freed up quite a lot of space for my daughter to play in, and what a joy that is! I’ve also been able to see what areas could use some accessories, and these have come in – not just for the sake of it this time, but because they truly compliment that space. My family enjoys being in our home so much more!!!
If you would get this book too and read it, you just might pick out things that could help make your life better in several ways. As we approach the end of the year, I will be sharing about how I have decluttered my heart, the (tough) lessons that I’ve learnt and what each of us can do to have that simple, happy life.ccessories, and these have come in – not just for the sake of it this time, but because they truly compliment that space. My family enjoys being in our home so much more!!!
In the meantime, enjoy a wonderful time!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Simple Secrets to a Happy Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You would love this for sure

Date:October 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
junnelaranas
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Luci! how I wish someday I'll meet her... Luci gives practical advice on setting boundaries in relationships and also ways to refocus our attention on God, I loved reading the stories of Luci shares throughout the book, she is quite an entertaining writer and I think anyone would enjoy this book as well. I love how she payed for what she steal, that was totally entertaining. Good sense of humor. I would recommend reading one chapter a day, more like a devotional, instead of reading the book start to finish. Luci's love for others and God shows through this book. The book is organized into 50 short chapters, only 2-3 pages each, its not a hard to read at all, in fact I've read this for a week.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Simple Secrets to a Happy Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Essays on the good things in life.

Date:September 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
TiaB
Location:UK
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In this book, Luci Swindoll takes inspiration from her Mother; who would speak to her children in simple five word sentences, beginning with a verb. Growing up, this might often be something along the lines of "Go look for the boys", followed with "Tell 'em to quit it." Not sure how to tackle a mammoth project? "Start with what you know." Bored? "Make something with your hands."
Each chapter in this book is a short essay based around one of these five word sentences (Although not, "Go look for the boys" or "Tell 'em to quit it"). I felt this worked well, although some titles were necessarily a little clunky, in order to fit into the required format.
Does this book contain startling new insights which are going to turn my life around? No; but it has reminded me that my life doesn't necessarily need turning around. That the little things in life really do make a difference, and that it is worth making the effort to do something special from time to time.
There is plenty of food for thought in this book, and it is definitely comfort food. Warm, satisfying, and not overpowering. Reading it makes me want to curl up in a cosy corner with a good Book and a cup of hot chocolate, shutting the world out and enjoying my own company. But it also makes me want to throw my house open to all my friends, clear out the deepest darkest must cluttered and chaotic cupboards, visit my Grandmother, and finish up that lurking craft project. Lucy reminds me to Be Present wherever I am; to take notice of the world around me - the people in it, the beauty of the heavens, and the presence of the Maker.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Simple Secrets to a Happy Life
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Simple Secrets To A Happy Life

Date:September 17, 2012
Luci Swindoll begins her book by telling the reader that her mother would speak to her and her two brothers in five word sentences that began with a verb when she wanted her children to do something. I really like that. Kids can't remember a long list of things to do - keep it short and sweet!. One of Luci's favorite sayings of her mother is "Start with what you know." To this day, that is what Luci does, even in her 80s.
What she offers are not really secrets. They are common sense ideas that most people already know to do. She organized the simple secrets into 50 chapters of a book. Each of the chapter titles follow the pattern that her mother used, five word sentences starting with a verb - Look For Ways To Help, Thank Others For Their Efforts, and Read Your Bible Every Day, to name a few. Within each chapter, she gives an example from her life as to how she lives that simple secret.
Luci has several Bible verses scattered throughout the book. It's good that she uses the Bible but I don't care for the version she mostly used, The Message. It's wording is very different and to me not even saying the same thing as other versions of the Bible, such as the New International Version and King Version.
The cover of Simple Secrets To A Happy Life caught my eye. I couldn't wait to read it. But as I read through the book, I discovered that I didn't learn anything new.
Simple Secrets To A Happy Life would be a great read for someone looking for more organization or structure in their lives. I would recommend reading one chapter a day, more like a devotional, instead of reading the book start to finish. Luci's love for others and God shows through this book. If you enjoy uplifting personal stories you will like Simple Secrets To A Happy Life.
I received a free copy of this ebook from BookSneeze for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Simple Secrets to a Happy Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

you wont regret

Date:August 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Archie Isib
Location:Ph
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The book was very informational and at times it felt a little long. For that reason I would not recommend this book to someone looking for a light read, but for someone looking to dive into the subject of our human desires. The use of personal experiences made it seem like was sitting next to me giving advice; although, this technique also made the book drag in places. his book would make a great gift to someone who is struggling with emptiness and the constant need for more. ravings will disappear. Now, I know this is the message meant to convey. However, it was not always easy to relate to some of the things she shared. Some chapters were very difficult to get into, making it easy to want to skim through them just to be done. he also knows that it is at those desperate moments when we feel like God is so very distant and uninvolved, so we need assurance that He is indeed still there for us. I found myself highlighting new favorite ideas and phrases, It made me dig deeper into the subject and God's Word. t's full of affirmation that we need. It's a great reminder that God loves you right where you are. He loves you in your imperfection. He will always love you. have been more distant from God and this book has really helped with that feeling. I would recommend this book to anyone who is struggling and feeling like they are the only one going through difficult times in their life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Simple Secrets to a Happy Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A guide on how to live life at the fullest

Date:June 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
BiancaTC
Location:Oradea, Romania
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I got the book in the mail I was instantly attracted by the cover. I loved it, I am a sucker for neat covers, and when it came in hardcover too, I was thrilled :).
I finished it really quickly since it’s really lovely organized: into 5 main parts, each containing 10 simple secrets. And the chapters are short as well. She shares from simple things like how to make lists to stay organized to deep spiritual lessons.
What I loved most about the book was really the author’s attitude towards life in general. She is a joyful spirit with a positive attitude that is contagious. These simple secrets that she shares in the book are what experience taught her in these years lived fearlessly and with a courageous and curious take towards what life had for her. And that all comes from her strong relationship she has with the Lord. I also loved that throughout the book she seemed to have the right verse or quote for every circumstance she talked about.
I also loved her transparency and wisdom that filled the pages of the book. She lives every second at the fullest, she masters that. You get to know the author and love her. And I think Ann Lamott describes her perfectly in the foreword: “She’s the world’s soul mate. She is best friends with Jesus, so she shares from abundance, and lives from her core, of tenderness and humor and curiosity. She just wants to share her amazement and gratitude for Christ’s love, and the light with which He imbues our earth and our lives”.
And that’s what you see throughout the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Simple Secrets to a Happy Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Common-sense advice on how to live a happy life

Date:May 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sheila
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lucy Swindoll’s book Simple Secrets to a Happy Life has common-sense advice on how to live life so that you make the most of your time.
The book is very easy to read, and is simple to read in short chunks – each individual secret is short, and so the book can be read intermittently. I liked that the tips were practical, and Swindoll’s conversational writing style fits well with the book’s structure.
My biggest complaint is that the book should have been titled “Secrets for My Happy Life” or something similar, because some of the tips were so specific to her. For example, one secret is drawing to improve your understanding of a topic, with details of some of the benefits she’s received because of drawing. My drawing skills are extremely rudimentary (stick figure level), but I can still manage to have a happy life.
Her secrets were a mix of Biblical principles (applicable to everyone), general living principles that probably apply to everyone, and then the “Lucy principles” that have made her life happier, like drawing, or making something with your hands. I would have preferred the book’s organization to acknowledge the differences between the categories in some way, instead of treating every one with equal importance or significance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Simple Secrets to a Happy Life
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Nice To Meet Luci

Date:May 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
LisaGolda
Location:The Woodlands, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
If you are wanting to know Luci better this is a perfect book for that. After reading it you feel that you know her a little better. The title is VERY good, but this is not the key that will unlock the "secret" to making your life happy. Most of her chapter headings would make a great start in build the blocks you would need to get your life organized and moving toward to better life, but it's really up to YOU to make your life happy.
This would make a great coffee table book for the chapters are short. It's an easy read but she leaves you hanging as far as helping you start some of these habits in your life. What do you do when your parents were not great role models? How would you tell a person to start taking the steps to getting their life on track with their Lord. What if you are not a student who loves to do homeworkers, what steps would you share with them to help them get motivated or getting organized. This is where the book lacks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Simple Secrets to a Happy Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyable and thought provoking

Date:May 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ginger Chiveral
Location:Hampstead, MD
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you've ever been fortunate enough to see Luci Swindoll speak, you know what a dynamic person she is. She's the kind of speaker who makes you hang on the end of your seat listening to her, and she writes the same way.
Simple Secrets is an easy to read, concise, yet right to the point, guide to living. Many people go through life miserable, and Luci offers 50 ways to be happy. This is not a crazy guru telling us to sell our possessions and move to a mountain top. No, these are 50 common sense ideas to make sense of life. Like "Honor your mother and father," and "value what you have," and my personal favorite "build yourself a small library."
Luci writes likes she's talking to a friend, and indeed as you read you begin to feel as though you are reading a letter from a good friend. She writes warmly and honestly. She's about eighty years old and has the kind of wisdom you'd expect from someone who'd lived that long, with old fashioned values, but yet thinks like a modern person.
Overall, it was a thoroughly enjoyable and thought provoking book. I highly recommend it. I was given a copy to review, but the opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Simple Secrets to a Happy Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This is a great motivational and self-help book

Date:May 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Its the Simple Things
Location:Oklahoma
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was drawn to this book by the simple words written on the cover. Everyone wants to live a happy life, right? I know I do and I am the biggest self-help book reader. So many people enjoy reading Fictions, mysteries and romance but I personally love reading self-help books. I read books about how to build things myself, grow things myself, organize things myself and just improve life myself. One of my favorite quotes is “When I was 5 years old, my mother always told me that happiness was the key to life. When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I wrote down “happy”. They told me I didn’t understand the assignment. I told them they didn’t understand life.” — John Lennon
As I started reading this book I was hoping there were some really simple secrets she was going to share with me that I could build, grow, organize or make and it would make my life happier (Not that I am not happy because I am). However, as I read along I realized that was really unrealistic. If it were that simple everyone would do it right?!? Even though there wasn’t a magic wand I could wave or simple thing I could build to receive the gift of the greatest happiness she shared so many insightful thoughts and Ideas. Before reading this book I have learned through the years on my own how to live a happier life by simply focusing on the good and giving the other things to God. There are times that is easier sad than done but for the most part it works. This book notes 50 ways to make the most of every day and each chapter covers one of these “ways”. Some of my favorites include: List your thoughts and dreams, remember to notice things today, rise to the occasion often, forgive others over and over, give your time, energy and money, and live an attitude of gratitude.
Someone else gave this book a lower rating thinking it needed more scriptural quotes and such (which is of course fine) but I wasn't looking for that. I love my church and and Bible study but I don't always need all the quotes and thought this book was wonderful without them all. It was still a very motivational and inspiring book to me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Simple Secrets to a Happy Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Are you searching for simple ways to be happier?

Date:April 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Busy Biz
Location:Spring Lake
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Is it possible to stay full of life, laughter, love, and the Lord through eight decades in this crazy world? Is that even realistic? Yes! There is hope, and Luci Swindoll is living proof.
With heart and humor, this best-selling author and beloved speaker lays out the truths that can help us all become a little more creative, organized, healthy, and happy. This is not a complex prescription for how to become superwoman. These are simple secrets, the wisdom produced by years of walking with God and living well.
We don't need more tips for "having it all," but we could all use insight on "having what matters," and there is no better guide than Luci Swindoll. Slip into this collection of proverbs, stories, and friendly advice and come away inspired, equipped, and encouraged."
That is how the back cover of this book reads and it's that synopsis that drew me into this book.
I consider myself to live a fairly happy life day in and day out, but who doesn't wonder if there are ways to increase your happiness?
As I read Luci's experiences and advice I couldn't help but feel as though they were words written by a sweet Grandma, one I wouldn't mind to call my own if given the chance. It's impossible not to believe everything she has written here.
I walked away from reading this book with a new perspective on how to be happy using her simple secrets to success.
In fact, don't be surprised if in the future I take these 50 chapters and spread them out over a year to help challenge everyone I know to increase their happiness!
I will say there were many topics that I read and I thought to myself, "Well of course, who doesn't know that," but there were others I read and thought, "she's on to something here."
No matter how happy you may be there is always room for improvement....whoever said there can't be too much of a good thing was obviously referring to this concept of happiness.
I encourage everyone to get a copy of this book and not only read it, but apply it to their daily lives.
I know I will be doing my best to follow through on being the happiest happy I can be!
I hope you have a Blessed Saturday!
I received this book free from the publishers through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Simple Secrets to a Happy Life
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

disappointing

Date:April 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
processbecoming
Location:San Antonio, Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
simple secrets to a happy life – Luci Swindoll
Thomas Nelson – 2012 – ISBN-13: 978-1400203536
I have to be honest. All I knew of Luci Swindoll before reading this book existed thanks to my wife and Women of Faith. I have reviewed one other book by a WOF speaker and I did not rate it very highly. I thought I would give WOF another chance and read this book by Luci Swindoll.
Swindoll starts with an explanation about how this book grew. She explains how her mom would give five word imperatives that showed her and her brothers how to live. She has taken those imperatives and added stories from her own life. She throws in a scripture that she find relative to the story. Voila! You have simple secrets.
I started to read this book and all I could think was “Wow. Not again.” Her stories may have conveyed how the truths lived out in her life but they were not necessarily accessible. While the truths provide a relevant message (some are listed below), I found her use of scriptures lacking. I felt she told a story and went to the Bible to find a scripture to support her story.
Overall, I found myself disappointed and wishing for more. Adding more would have made the book longer and her secrets a little more complicated. Her book and the people she intends to reach need them and would have been a little better off for it.
Chapter titles/ Secrets
Disregard what isn’t your business
Write down important things
Accept events as they happen
I review for BookSneeze®Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Booksneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Simple Secrets to a Happy Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

~*~ 50 ways to make the most of every day

Date:April 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kathleen
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wednesday, April 4, 2012
Luci Swindoll simple secrets to a happy life ~*~ 50 ways to make the most of every day
Luci Swindoll shares simple pleasures in a "complication" world. Not out there ~*~ but where I live. Do I complicate the journey, by keeping on heavy winter boots when I could be putting on spring waders to walk in the puddles that will surely come? When I was a young woman, I remember running down the sidewalk barefoot to get a quart of milk at the grocer on the corner. The response to me was, "We know you enjoyed every minute of being in the rain, with an excuse of being out of milk!"
Yes, that would describe me. I love fun, adventure, and indeed, simple pleasures, not complicated as I could make them. So, definitely, I was drawn to this title by Luci Swindoll, simple secrets to a happy life. I have had the blessing of being at a conference where Luci Swindoll spoke. I love her sense of humor and her timing! I had taken three of her books that I loved and had the pages marked that especially delighted me, saying, "Will you please sign here?"... and to my next little bookmark, "and here, and here, please?" And... she did.
Simple secrets to a happy life is so full of treasures. I could not hurriedly read this one, as is practical with all of her books, because of the wisdom and care in them. This is tried and true advice of one who has experienced life and enjoyed every moment of choosing to live as the Lord has provided for us.
Practical, attainable insight to what we can do and be to enjoy a happy life. Fifty times three equals 150 pages of snippets of a life well-lived and being lived. If you have ever wanted an older sister to help you along, in your quiet talks together, you may borrow Luci. Each topic is kept to three pages. So very full in three short pages. There are five sections; Beginning with the Basics, Developing Your Style, Achieving Balance, Living a Good Life, and Staying Connected, with ten topics within each section. I thoroughly enjoyed it and will be reading it again more than once. There are notes on journaling, which I especially liked; letting others know you care in practical ways; treating yourself well to stay well; and experiencing God fully. Actively valuing God, others, self; a practical partaker in all of your life.
Thank you, BookSneeze, for providing a copy to me for this review in my own words. I am reminded of Colossians 2:2-3, "My goal is that they may be encouraged in heart and united in love, so that they may have the full riches of complete understanding, in order that they may know the mystery of God, namely, Christ, in whom are hidden all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge." Thank you, Luci Swindoll, for your simple secrets to a happy life of looking beyond ourselves, sharing who we are, truly listening to others, and the reminder to make scrumptious meals just for ourselves!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Simple Secrets to a Happy Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Encouraging Read, Great Tips

Date:April 3, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently agreed to review "Simple Secrets To A Happy Life" by Luci Swindoll, mostly because the title drew me in. Who doesn't want to have a happy life? And simple, practical tips are always my favorite.
I loved this book. It contains fifty chapters each on a different "simple secret", which include everything from thoughts on friendship, taking care of your health, and helping others to fun suggestions like setting up a home library or cooking a special meal just for yourself. The chapters are brief and read almost like blog posts, which is right up my ally. But even though each chapter isn't very long there is a ton of wisdom packed into each one, gleaned from Luci's 80 years of life experience.
I love Luci's writing style, and her personality shines through each chapter. In the process of reading this book I think I've also found another favorite author, and I'll be looking for other books by Luci Swindoll after reading this one.
I definitely would recommend this book for anyone and everyone. It was sometimes helpful, sometimes thought-provoking, and overall an encouraging and inspiring read!
Note: I received this book from Book Sneeze in exchange for this review - this is my honest opinion of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Simple Secrets to a Happy Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simple Secrets to a Happy Life by Luci Swindoll

Date:March 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
tg35
Location:Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Need encouragement? Need inspiration? Read Simple Secrets to a Happy Life: 50 ways to make the most of every day by Luci Swindoll.
Do you want what matters in life? Luci Swindoll lays out ways for the reader to become more creative, organized, healthy, happy and spiritual.
Luci Swindoll is definitely a wise sage filled with the Lord’s wisdom. She’s has the gift of sharing that wisdom in a way that makes you laugh till your sides ache but then you go hmm, that’s so true and wise. Such as focusing on one chapter per week over the course of about a year.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Simple Secrets to a Happy Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good little book

Date:March 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rena Nunley
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SIMPLE SECRETS TO A HAPPY LIFE by Luci Swindoll is a quick-read book which tells in simple yet important terms how one should conduct their life in order to experience a happiness. Did I just rephrase the title? I think so.
PROs: This will not take long to read. Each chapter consists of only 2-3 pages, just enough for a one-a-day vitamin, so to speak, to give you an area of life to work on, something to mull over for several hours, to encourage you to reach a certain desirable goal.
Although each of the 50 chapters speak of simple, even already-known things, such as "Be on time for everything" or "Value the things you have", there are others which come from a different angle, like "Discover what makes people tick" or "Know for sure you're insured".
Luci is an interesting writer. Not extremely so but certainly enough to hold your attention. I got the impression that she is a very fun, cheery and positive person to be around and I would certainly love to meet her!
CONs: I was disappointed to note that (what I consider to be) THE most important "secret" to happiness was not given the honor of having a chapter of its own: "Make sure you know Christ as your personal Savior" or some such similar title. However, she did highlight spiritual things in about 3 of the 50 chapters and, in fact, gave a clear plan of salvation in one of those.
She often used a Bible translation which I find to be a very loose one. Not that it doesn't sound good, as in, pleasing to human ears but I have a feeling that it goes a bit too far, taking a bit too much liberty in the translation.
Having said all that, I still would give this book a 4 and would also consider recommending it to others for light (and helpful) reading.
(I received this e-book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Simple Secrets to a Happy Life
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Book on organizing your Christian life

Date:March 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
cathy
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Simple Secrets to a Happy Life by Luci Swindoll is a compilation of Ms. Swindoll's wisdom for living. She is an organized woman whose book lays out her formula for becoming more creative, organized, healthy and therefor more happy with life. These are simple truths and wisdom of 80 years of living and walking with God. She teaches that the reader should strive for having what matters most rather than having it all. She uses scripturally based and friendly advice to encourage the reader to strive for the greatness that God has available to each of us.
Simple Secrets is an easy quick read book on getting more organized and back to the Bible in your life. It starts out preachy toned but once one gets past the beginning chapters (these 50 chapters are short mostly 2-3 pages long) it reads easier. She is the sister of the well known Chuck Swindoll and mentions his name occasionally. It lays down an easy foundation for becoming more organized but makes no pretenses in that Ms Swindoll is extremely organized and single minded.
I probably would not have on my own read this book but it did give me good advice. I would rate this book as only average on good reading but good on self improvement. I recieved this book from Booksneeze for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Simple Secrets to a Happy Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent advice!

Date:March 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Eunice
Location:Iona Station, ON
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Luci Swindoll, renowned Women of Faith speaker, provides some delightful insight into what it takes to have a happy life. Her musings on lessons learned over a lifetime of loving and serving God are served up in 50 short chapters, divided into five sections. Each chapter is titled with a modern day proverb – an instructional five word sentence – which is neither complicated nor difficult; a child could understand most of the basic premises. Each is colourfully illustrated by an incident or example from her own life, as she encourages us to begin with the basics, develop our own style, achieve balance, live a good life, and stay connected.
I have enjoyed listening to Luci Swindoll at Women of Faith events, both live and via dvd; I found this book as interesting and challenging as the woman herself. Her joy shines through when she speaks; it is similarly apparent in “Simple Secrets to a Happy Life”, as she provides godly wisdom for practical living. I would encourage others to not only read this book, but also embrace Luci Swindoll’s prescription for true happiness in our own unique circumstances: these simple truths are sure to yield profound results if we will accept and apply them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Simple Secrets to a Happy Life
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
DUCKgirl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Simple Secrets to a Happy Life
By Luci Swindoll
Published by Thomas Nelson
Book Description
Is it possible to stay full of life, laughter, love, and the Lord through eight decades in this crazy world? Is that even realistic? Yes! There is hope, and Luci Swindoll is living proof.
With heart and humor, this best-selling author and beloved speaker lays out the truths that can help us all become a little more creative, organized, healthy, and happy. This is not a complex prescription for how to become superwoman. These are simple secrets, the wisdom produced by years of walking with God and living well.
We don’t need more tips for “having it all,” but we could all use insight on “having what matters,” and there is no better guide than Luci Swindoll.
Luci has spent eight decades accumulating the stories, memories, verses, and practical tips that make up Simple Secrets to a Happy Life. Whether traveling the world or building life-long friendships, singing in the opera or working for Mobil Oil, every step has taught her a little more about how to love God, love her neighbor, and love herself.
The result is both personal and universal. Organized into fifty short chapters, her reflections form a simple and profound outline for making the most of the lives God has given us.
We could all use a little more joy in our lives, which means we could all use a little more Luci. Visit her through these snapshots of wisdom. You’ll find yourself drawn back again and again.
Lots of cute personal stories. I really liked that the book was made up of lots of short chapters. Perfect to read one at a time. no pressure to finish the book in a week. It is ok to take some time to read this book. I liked it. I would recommend it to a friend.
** I belong to a website called BookSneeze which sends me books to read and review. This book was provided to me for free, but my opinions are 100% my own and were not affected by any outside sources.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Simple Secrets to a Happy Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Proverbs in Simple Form

Date:March 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Adoption Mama
Location:Tampa, Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just finished reading, Simple Secrets to a Happy Life, by Luci Swindoll. As I read through each small chapter, I couldn't help feeling like I was reading a practical how-to of the book of Proverbs. Each chapter is titled with a five word admonition for life. It's a very easy read, yet at times challenging.
This is my first time reading anything by Miss Swindoll, but I wouldn't hesitate to do it again. She has a witty way to challenge us in our walk both physically and spiritually. It's amazing that she is entering her eight decade of life. Yet, this is what gives her the permission to help us to live better. For Christ. There are beautiful, funny stories of her life that helps depict what she is explaining. These were very enjoyable.
Our life on this earth shouldn't be focused solely on being happy; but to bring Christ glory as we live it out. Miss Swindoll reminds us, though, of so many truths from God's Word that help us to live this life to the fullest. Proverbs, itself, is a book of contrasting the foolish and wise lives.
Wise living does bring happiness. Remember happiness isn't all about feelings. As Luci reminds us in one of the chapters, "Allow Yourself to be Sad", these times can bring inner happiness.
This is how I want to live to the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.