Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Constantly Craving: How to Make Sense of Always Wanting More

Thomas Nelson Constantly Craving: How to Make Sense of Always Wanting More

In Constantly Craving, Marilyn Meberg discusses our various cravings and offers understanding about why they exist - and how to better manage them. She approaches the subject with the wisdom coming from a long and successful career that has included professional counseling practice, teaching college English, and leading women's Bible studies. She has put this all together in a book that will answer the reader's question - Will I ever stop my craving for more?
Average Customer Rating:
3.708 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
9
3 stars
9
2 stars
0
1 star
1
20 out of 2483%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Constantly Craving: How to Make Sense of Always Wanting More
Review 1 for Constantly Craving: How to Make Sense of Always Wanting More
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Craving

Date:November 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
myrtia
Gender:female
This book made me look into myself and understand myself better, and that's why I loved it.
It is so true that we are constantly craving something, whether we know what that something is (something sweet to eat, a hug, a kiss, laughter, feeling safe, a new dres and so on) or we don't know what that something is. We just crave something.
Now, this book, doesn't come out right and tell you, that something you need is God and He will fulfill you and you won't want for anything any more. I know that. You know that. The thing is, how do you get to the place where you are full and fulfilled? Knowledge isn't enough. It just isn't.
It's how you live that matters.
So this book began at the beginning. And the beginning is myself.
It taught me things about myself that I didn't know, like where all this craving comes from. Its origin and what formed it so that I'll need this and not that. This was very helpful to me.
Sometimes this book read a little too simplistically, and I had to roll my eyes. But these times were not too often, and I took so much from it that I can easily overlook these grandmotherly passages.
It was exactly what I needed.
I will recommend it to all my friends. And to you too.
Rating: 4/5
I received this book via Booksneeze.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Constantly Craving: How to Make Sense of Always Wanting More
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Not a "beat into submission" style book

Date:October 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Blue Raindrop
Location:Wichita, Ks
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Constantly Craving by Marilyn Meberg is the latest book that I’ve received from Thomas Nelson for reviewing.
There’s been a lot of books with themes of cravings... mostly along the lines of following God and not our flesh. This is not one of those books.
This is a book that discusses many of the areas where we always find ourselves wanting more no matter how much we have. It doesn’t get into things like addictions or personal weaknesses, these are areas that everyone tends to feel, like relationships.
But rather than go the route of beating ourselves up over these cravings, or being a how-to on trying to make them stop, Marilyn shows them simply as being signs pointing to the fact that we are made for more than just the human experience.
It’s a fun read, and has a lot of stories and real life examples... but the whole different approach towards the topic of cravings was really what stood out to me. It’s so much of a change to have a discussion of the topic that doesn’t totally revolve around trying to make cravings go away.
Definitely a good book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Constantly Craving: How to Make Sense of Always Wanting More
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

read this now!

Date:October 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
junnelaranas
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I can overcome my own Constant Cravings... It is a very good book to read. It is very easy to read and follow along. I felt that each chapter was very explained and thorough until this was approached. This book is filled with scripture to back up every point she makes in a way that gently guides us to the source of Life- Jesus. This book has a very good sense of inspiration, its been in and out of my little bookshelves. I would have to say that this is a must read book to everyone. It was encouraging to have an author address so many aspects where we often feel we're the only ones wanting more! It was a shot of head in me, I want more and it ruin my life. It was terrible. The more I have the more I want. Its just endless... You have to read this now!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Constantly Craving: How to Make Sense of Always Wanting More
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jessie
Location:Georgia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
As someone who has heard and enjoys hearing Marilyn Meberg speak I was excited when I saw this book and wondered what was behind the title. Was about to discover how to put a stop to some things?
What I wanted was really to find out how to STOP some constant cravings. That is not what I found.
From the very beginning in chapter one it states that the book is about "recognizing and giving a name to the itch, the quest, the craving for a "MORE" experience...".
I found the book easy to read and understand. There were many statements that provoked my thinking and caused me to do some evaluating concerning why I crave certain things and provided insight into how to deal with my cravings constructively.
Overall the book relates the idea that all our cravings lead us to the God who created us and that He can and will satisfying the cravings we have.
There is no "fix" in this book but you will find some knowledge and understanding.
This book was provided to me as a courtesy by BOOKSNEEZE and the opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Constantly Craving: How to Make Sense of Always Wanting More
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

What We Crave and Why

Date:July 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heather King
Location:Gloucester, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Marilyn Meberg has a background as an English teacher and as a counselor. It shows. This book reads like a psychology/literature class about why we want more out of life. She hosts the discussion like a fun and quirky, but nevertheless scholarly, professor. It's not really a Biblical study on the issue of craving. While she talks about God, she doesn't really draw lessons from Scripture. Mostly her stories and teaching emerge from personal experience, people she's met, literature, and psychological research.
There's a run of books right now about craving food and other idols we set up in our lives as we try to fill voids and find satisfaction apart from Christ. If that's what you're looking for, I'd suggest you keep searching. Meberg even tells you at the end that she avoided all of the commonly talked about cravings and deep hungers that lead to addiction. So, how much you enjoy this book will likely depend on what you expected when you picked it up.
With an emphasis on the craving for more in our relationships like our marriages and friendships, this book will most likely benefit those struggling in these areas. Meberg talks about issues like the way our childhood impacts what we long for as adults and how we carry those expectations into future interactions with others.
It is interesting to see how she talks, not just about the stereotypical cravings that drive us to idolatry and addiction, but perhaps cravings we should fuel and feed---and healthy ways to do just that. Why do we crave more out of friendship and how can we be that kind of friend? Why do we crave solitude and how do you achieve it? Even more interesting perhaps is the question--what do we do if we don' t crave solitude? How do we still achieve times of quiet with the Lord?
I also enjoyed the reminder to just relax and laugh sometimes. I have a tendency to take myself too seriously and to treat my every mistake as a sign of serious character flaws. She has a way of laughing at forgetfulness and misplaced keys and moving right along. Am I clumsy and forgetful? You betcha. Time to get over that and move on to more important things.
Again, enjoying this book depends so much on what you expect when you pick it up and whether or not her particular style of writing from a psychology and literature background are your cup of tea.
I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Constantly Craving: How to Make Sense of Always Wanting More
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ready to find out what you are really craving…

Date:June 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nel Fastenau
Location:Willard, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Constantly Craving" by Marilyn Meberg is a thought provoking book discussing "How To Make Sense Of Always Wanting More."
As Marilyn points out in the book we have this need to always want more, it is like a craving inside us, something we are born with. We are always looking for more; thinking it will make us happier and it does for awhile but then when that good feeling vanishes or we become accustomed to it, we are looking again. Whether it be a better job, more in friendships or love, we are never satisfied.
According to Marilyn we need to start by realizing what God's purpose for our lives is. When we figure that out we will be able to understand our sense of craving fully.
I highly recommend this book! Marilyn brought out so many things I had not even thought about. It will help you understand that feeling of always wanting more that constant craving.
I received this book free from Book Sneeze a division of Thomas Nelson, Inc. as part of their Blogger Review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Constantly Craving: How to Make Sense of Always Wanting More
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

CONSTANTLY CRAVING -- MARILYN MEBERG

Date:June 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jason
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Where a collection of reviewers harped on the fact that this book does not focus enough on what the cover leads one to think it to be about (physical food), I think that Mrs. Meberg addresses a serious, serious topic -- holistic discipline.
It's no secret that our society loves the discipline of food. Eat well, fast well. But I just had a lengthy conversation with a friend about how much disciplines overlap one another. Food and relationships and even study of the Word they are all linked together. And when you progress in one area, you naturally progress in another ... furthermore, when you progress in one area, OTHERS naturally progress in their own journeys.
Anyways, enough of my own thoughts and more about the book and the authors. The author is a counselor by trade, and the book displays that. She breaks off into physiological discourse from time to time (and she includes very little theological or exegetical research). It reads more like a journal of thoughts, comprised of someone who has wrestled with Scripture and a wide variety of people who struggle with a lack of discipline (not just food, but consumerism and marriage and work and so on).
Why are we always craving? Why are we always wanting MORE than we have right now? Why are we standing at the well, drawing small buckets -- when we have water, everlasting, standing before us? That is the message that Meberg is after and it is a serious question that needs addressed in our busy, unsatisfied culture. The book would probably best be fleshed out within a group of people, as it is only surface deep most of the time.
This book was provided to me free for review, though I did give my own honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Constantly Craving: How to Make Sense of Always Wanting More
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

nice book

Date:June 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Archie Isib
Location:Ph
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The short chapters make this book an easy read that doesn't take much time out of the day. Overall it is inspirational and I would recommend it.I thought this was a well written and very inspiring story written by an exceptional woman that has been gathering up all this information... This book encouraged me that even in my seasons of pain, hurt, and even with levels of unbelief, I am still loved and usable by a God who desires to use these things to minister to others. I am learning, actually just starting to learn how to let go and allow people to serve.
I have not wanted to put it down. I have been excited about starting my morning with my book while curling up on the couch... Ive fully and abundantly in daily life by being thankful for the gifts that come from God's grace, no matter how small.
I am inspired to live more fully in this kind of gratitude.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Constantly Craving: How to Make Sense of Always Wanting More
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

interesting read

Date:June 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
GiGi Reads
Location:New York, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am a fan of the WOf team. I went to one conference and loved it. Shelia Walsh and Marilyn are my favorites. But I did not like this book that much. I found it too wordy and not enough substance. I really enjoyed, What to do when the roof caves in and was looking forward to a new book. This book seemed to me to be about contenment. We are so busy thinking that if we had more things, a better house or a better job, are lives would be perfect. We need to take a good look at ourselves and see that we already have abundant lives. I felt that this book was trying to tell me that. I just wish it had been a little more to the point. I found myself reading it twice to get the heart of it. Maybe this is because right now, I'm trying not to crave so much in my life. I guess it was just a matter of reading the book at different time in my life. I still would recommend it to someone to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Constantly Craving: How to Make Sense of Always Wanting More
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good for small group study

Date:April 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
countrygrl112
Location:New England
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mrs. Meberg addresses many aspects of craving in her book and, as her subtitle states, tries to "make sense of always wanting more." So talks about wanting more in romance, marriage, friendship, time, wanting contentment and happiness, and wanting to find more meaning in life. With each subject, she mentions why we crave more of it. She ends her book by talking about finding more in God's purpose for our lives, the one place we should crave more.
Overall, I think Mrs. Meberg had a good message but it wasn't one that I could relate to very well. I had a difficult time getting into this book. She did a great job at adding humor and personal stories but the subject matter just didn't appeal to me.
If you are looking for a good book for a small group study, this would be a great book. Even though I had a difficult time getting into the book, I was still able to glean a little bit.
(I received a complimentary copy from BookSneeze for my honest review.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Constantly Craving: How to Make Sense of Always Wanting More
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Why are we always Constantly Craving?

Date:April 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
sherrijinga
Location:Georgia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My take on this book: I enjoyed it. It really opened my eyes up to the reasons behind why we want more of what we have and why we can't be satisfied. I even learned that when I think I'm satisfied, often I'm really not and I'm just telling myself I am. How we were raised and our life experiences do, in fact, play into our desires for more. The author uses humor so as not to make you feel like a total heel for having these desires. Yet at the same time, she's in your face about how to calm those things down. She points you to Jesus, which is the best part of this book. I feel like it is the kind of book you could share with anyone, Christian or non. It was a good read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Constantly Craving: How to Make Sense of Always Wanting More
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A good review of why we crave.

Date:April 10, 2012
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Waiting is painful. Feeling empty is painful. Sometimes, we feel as if the world is out there with nothing but emptiness. Sometimes we reach out to things or even other people to provide our happiness and to fill the void. In Marilyn Meberg's Constantly Craving: How to Make Sense of Always Wanting More, she tackles why humanity is longing and how we can control our desires.
Perhaps the most stunning example of longing that Meberg discusses is the longing for companionship and how we fulfill these needs. Meberg states that at the first signs of "love," a couple experiences mental phenomenons that produces feelings of elation and excitement. However, over time, these feelings are replaced by "normal" feelings that lead many couples to believe that they are no longer in love. This causes painful breakups, divorce, and the loss of potentially healthy relationships. By constantly seeking out "perfect" relationships, both men and women can find themselves at a loss, or at the constant craving of love and affection.
In addition to discussing the common desire for relationships, Meberg also tackles the idea of homesickness. She admits that home may not be a place that all of her readers wish to return to, but she suggests that all Christians are homesick for heaven, for "eternity." In the end, the only craving that matters is the craving for Christ. Overall, Constantly Craving is a great intro to controlling one's cravings and getting to the root of the pain that sometimes exists.
PS- I was provided a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. Visit booksneeze.com for more information.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Constantly Craving: How to Make Sense of Always Wanting More
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great devotional or small group study

Date:March 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jill Jones
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Craving—an intense yearning. No matter what we have we always want more—time, excitement, peace, and sometimes coffee or chocolate. What do you crave most? Or, maybe the right question is why do we have cravings? According to Marilyn Meberg, these cravings lead us to the One who loves us the most. God gave us a yearning for more so we would seek after Him and find Him.
“Constant Cravings” helps us understand how to manage our cravings. With her wit and wisdom, Marilyn Meberg shows us how our cravings lead us to the One who seeks a relationship with us. Through her personal experiences and training in counseling, she teaches us how we can have more of the good things we need and less of the harmful things we don’t.
” Perfect for devotional time or small group study, “Constantly Craving” will help you develop a deeper relationship with God.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers, as part of their Book Review Blogger Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Constantly Craving: How to Make Sense of Always Wanting More
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Book about relationships, revenge, chanting etc

Date:March 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
mirandikeri
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Constantly Craving by Marilyn Meberg is not at all what you would expect from a book of its title and with a cup of water on the cover. This book has nothing to do with physical food. And despite the whole first chapter being about dealing with our cravings for the elusive "more" of shopping, entertainment, new cars, bigger houses, and more materialism, this book is also not about those things. This book is not about dealing with our materialistic cravings.
The book is about cravings for spiritual things. And instead of "overcoming cravings", this book is about satisfying relational and spiritual cravings. This is a very odd book. The first chapter speaks all about overcoming materialistic cravings, yet the rest of the book is nothing about this. Then this book launches oddly into the psychology of relationships in 4 chapters - barely touching on anything to do with God or Christianity. It's all about observing the human tendency of being disatisfied in one relationship and running to the next in a pattern of using other people. It's all about our need for human contact. It's pure psychology and mostly written for single people or disatisfied married people.
Then just as oddly, this book breaks into chapters on being content. Then it switches to one good chapter on satisfying our spiritual cravings. But then it goes back to a weird chapter on revenge. Huh? How does revenge fit the topic of cravings/neediness? Then there is the mystical chapter on solitude - where the author chants "Jesus" endlessly in a form of "mindless meditation" - not a practice of normal Protestant Christianity.
Even being a single woman, I found only the one spiritual chapter relevant to my life. All the rest is written for people struggling with personal relationships, cheating, unfaithfulness and always looking for the greener pasture. This book was odd and I feel I wasted a day reading it and it added nothing much to my life.
I received this book free of charge from the publisher in exchange for this review but I did really give my honest opinion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Constantly Craving: How to Make Sense of Always Wanting More
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Why Do We Crave More?

Date:March 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Carrie Shindorf
Location:Cosby, Missouri
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It seems like the world is constantly trying to convince us that we need more~ we are always craving for more. Marilyn Meberg is a Psychologist and uses her experience to help us understand our constant craving for more.
The part of the book I enjoyed most was when she said we marry either our father~ our mother or another caregiver. I realized I married my Grandfather when I married my Brian. He is so a carbon copy of the man that probably had the most influence in my life.
While some of the book seemed like a formula that many counselors hand out ~ I did enjoy the scripture applications and Marilyn's witty humor.
I give this book a 4 star rating.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Constantly Craving: How to Make Sense of Always Wanting More
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sound Biblical Wisdom, good perspective

Date:March 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
LisaH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
“Constantly Craving: How to Make Sense of Always Wanting More” by Marilyn Meberg is a good book, full of Biblical wisdom. It is a fairly quick read that keeps your attention.
Meberg deals with the topic of our constant desire for more–in our marriages, friendships, with our level of happiness, search for meaning in life, our time, and lack of contentment and forgiveness. She deals with each issue separately, all while leading up to the explanation that all that will truly satisfy is God and eternity in heaven. She puts things in perspective. She offers sound Biblical advice for living our earthly life to the fullest, all while knowing that God is the only One who will fulfill us, and not completely until heaven.
I considered the book a little disorganized and perhaps a somewhat random, but nonetheless, still a good read for personal growth and perspective. Meberg is honest, witty, encouraging, and uses great down-to-earth examples. It is obvious that this book has been written by a very wise person who has learned a great deal about life through Scripture and experiences. It is a good resource for anyone who struggles with contentment.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Constantly Craving: How to Make Sense of Always Wanting More
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

I can't really give this a great review....

Date:March 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Location:West Monroe, LA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I agreed to read this book for Booksneeze in exchange for a review. If you want to read a good self help book on addictions and addictive behavior, I would not recommend this book. She takes many bible verses out of context. She states that people have cravings because they are living outside of God's will. This is simply not true. God says that He works through our weaknesses. We are only humans. We have cravings for many reasons but to believe that cravings are brought about because of childhood issues, to me that's ridiculous. I was especially displeased that she pulls Bible verses and tags them to support her opinions. I had high hopes for this book, I really thought this was going to be a good read, but when I actually started reading it, I was disappointed. It's not that it's a bad book; I was just hoping for more.
I would not recommend this book to anyone, because I don't really understand who this book was intended for. Obviously it is a Christian book, but I don't really understand the purpose of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Constantly Craving: How to Make Sense of Always Wanting More
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Changing our thinking

Date:March 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:momentswithmylord@gmail.com
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Constantly Craving How to Make Sense of Always Wanting More: by Marilyn Meberg
Marilyn Meberg speaks each year to 350,000 women at the Women of Faith conferences, and is the author of many books. This is where I first was introduced to Marilyn Meberg I won tickets to a Women of Faith conference and I loved all the speakers. Marilyn was one of many of my favorite speakers I enjoyed hearing from. I chose this book because I really enjoyed reading Tell Me Everything. I was not disappointed Constantly Craving was a great read. Marilyn explains the cravings that humans have and the desires that we want to fill. I loved the book. The book had some funny moments. Like when Marilyn points to a decorative pillow that reads I only have a kitchen because it came with the house. I could not stop laughing. Marilyn really shares with you her cravings and she makes you also think about your cravings. She also touches on wanting more of God, and what God desires for us. I truly recommend that you pick up this book and read it. I guarantee once you do you will not put it down. Thank you Marilyn for making me think of my own cravings and asking God to change my mind.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertis
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Constantly Craving: How to Make Sense of Always Wanting More
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dr JSK
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In her book Constantly Craving: How To Make Sense Of Always Wanting More, Marilyn Meberg acknowledges and addresses the cravings in our lives that guide our activities, our hopes, our dreams, and our disappointments.
Our lives are filled with cravings. We are consistently craving more out of life. We crave happiness, contentment, romance, and revenge. We are constantly, consistently craving more out of life, even if we are unwilling to give more of ourselves.
Through her teachings within this book, Marilyn helps us come to understand that many of the cravings that seek to guide our lives come as a result of childhood experiences, experiences that leave us unsatisfied, experiences that leave us wanting more of something and sometimes more of anything.
Marilyn's objective is not to show us how to remove these cravings completely from our lives, for this in itself is an impossibility. Marilyn wants us to understand that the underlying cravings within our lives stem from the absence of the powerful presence of God. While our cravings will not subside until we are, for all eternity, within the presence of God, He can help us move into and through them as they invade our lives.
Because of the wonderful message this book brings, this is a recommended read all the way.
Dr. Jeff Krupinski
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Constantly Craving: How to Make Sense of Always Wanting More
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An Enjoyable Read

Date:March 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lisareadstoomuch
Location:Michigan
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I read the title of Marilyn Meberg”s book, Constantly Craving, I was hoping it would help me with my constant craving for food when I wasn’t hungry. Although that is not one of the topics covered in her book, I did enjoy Constantly Craving.
Marilyn talks about our different cravings: for excitement, romance, contentment, meaning, purpose, revenge, and heaven. She discusses where some of these develop. For example, our cravings for love are related to our early emotional experiences in our family. In her discussion about contentment, she states that it is “characterized by not wanting more than we have.” The biblical definition of contentment also involves being content even when we have less than what we ought. Paul addressed the topic in Philippians 4:12 “I have learned the secret of being content in any situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or want. I can do everything through him who gives me strength.” That is a difficult concept to internalize in a world that stresses instant gratification and attainment of material goods.
I think the bottom line for all of our cravings, desire for contentment, and homesickness is HIM. God created a God-shaped space in us that can only be filled by Him- not things, people, places, homes, etc. So when we are craving that something we think we need, we should turn to Him to fulfill us with prayer, the reading of His Word, and fellowship with other believers. Ultimately, Marilyn says that “It is He and He alone who will totally eliminate all our cravings-but not until we’re home with Him in heaven. As long as we’re here on earth, we can only experience partial craving solutions.” I am looking forward to going home!
I have seen Marilyn Meberg speak at a Women in Faith conference and enjoyed it very much. Her book is similar to her speaking-very friendly and likable. I enjoyed this book and would recommend it to others.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>