Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House A Surrendered Heart, Broadmoor Legacy Series #3

Bethany House A Surrendered Heart, Broadmoor Legacy Series #3

At twenty-one, Amanda Broadmoor had the right to make her own way in life, but her father and mother hardly saw it that way. Women working in the medical field were still frowned upon, and Amanda had been reared to marry and produce heirs, not tend the sick. And especially not those suffering from cholera. "And Mama can be such an alarmist," Amanda whispered.

At the first report of cholera in Rochester, Amanda's mother had suggested the entire family take refuge at their summer estate on Broadmoor Island in the St. Lawrence River. However, that idea had been immediately vetoed by her father. Father had said his work would not permit him to leave Rochester, and for once, Amanda had agreed with one of his decisions. After devoting so much of her time and energy to medical training at Dr. Carstead's side, she couldn't possibly desert her work--not now, not when she was needed most.

Average Customer Rating:
4.682 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Surrendered Heart, Broadmoor Legacy Series #3
Review 1 for A Surrendered Heart, Broadmoor Legacy Series #3
This review is fromSurrendered Heart, A - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cherie
Location:Montreal, QC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The series of three books kept me anxious to keep pressing on. I enjoyed the reference to the Thousand Islands (which I'm aware of) and could understand the setting and situation very well. I enjoy very much any book I have read by this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Surrendered Heart, Broadmoor Legacy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow...

Date:June 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was really good! I really came to have a new respect for Amanda in how she stood by her family despite the choices her father had made involving her life! Also I'm so glad that Uncle Jonas gets it in the end! Great read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Surrendered Heart, Broadmoor Legacy Series #3
This review is fromSurrendered Heart, A - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Shows moral choices and encouragment

Date:January 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Peanuts
Location:Ontario
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was a story with character and thought for a life which one would like to have God in our choices.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Surrendered Heart, Broadmoor Legacy Series #3
This review is fromSurrendered Heart, A - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice trilogy of books

Date:January 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
amreno87
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A period piece with the trials and challenges of the era. Beautiful setting in an area of the country that I have never before considered. The story has a surprise ending that is very satisfying. I would love to see these characters continue forward, at least the setting and the family, but this trilogy was settled in a way that is very complete.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Surrendered Heart, Broadmoor Legacy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2009
I have read a couple of Tracie Petersons books and I have read one book by Judith Miller. I have tremendously enjoyed their books so I was looking forward to reading A Surrendered Heart. This book is the third book in The Broadmoor Legacy series. I have not read the first two books in the series, but I didnt feel like that hindered my reading experience in the least. Having enjoyed these authors individual books, I knew the writing was going to be terrific, and it was. I did not particularly enjoy the story, however.The story started out just fine, but as the book went on, it got darker and difficult to enjoy. Amandas arranged marriage to an abusive man consumed a large portion of the story and made it very difficult to relax and enjoy the story. I was actually relieved when I finished the book because I just could not take anymore. This book does have many good qualities. As I mentioned before, the writing was wonderful and I am still very interested in reading more from these talented ladies. Many of the characters in this story were likable. I really liked Amanda, especially her capacity to forgive. Fanny and Sophie were delightful and their loyalty to Amanda was inspiring. And, the way the story ends is very satisfying and helped to make the darker aspects of the story worthwhile. Overall, I have mixed feelings about A Surrendered Heart. The writing and characters are very good, but the story simply did not agree with me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Surrendered Heart, Broadmoor Legacy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Norma Goodall
I very much enjoyed this series of books. The books kept me wanting to read, read, read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Surrendered Heart, Broadmoor Legacy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2009
I could not put this book down, loved to see what would happen next. Amanda contracts cholera working as a doctors assistant. She recovers only to be put in an even worse situation! This is an amazing story of sacrifice on the part of a daughter for her family. Amanda is willing to marry a much older man to save her father and family from financial ruin. The ending is perfect, justice is served and Amanda is thoroughly rewarded for her willingness to surrender everything for her family. I received this book free from Bethany House.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Surrendered Heart, Broadmoor Legacy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Becky Eagle
I'm reading it now. This was the 3rd. in the series & I had trouble waiting for it to come out!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Surrendered Heart, Broadmoor Legacy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patricia
Amanda Broadmoor has only ever wanted to be a doctor, but when her application to medical school is denied she must settle for helping Dr. Blake Carstead at the Home for the Friendless. But when Cholera strikes New York and the home becomes quarantined, Blake Carstead's esteemed opinion of Amanda rises to the surface. If only cholera were the only danger to the Broadmoor family. Amanda's father has gotten himself in financial trouble and the only way out is a loan from the detestable Ellert Jackson. But now that money too is gone and Ellert has come to collect, the only thing Jonas can bargain is his only daughter. Amanda must choose to step up to save her family from financial ruin and social destruction, even if it means a loveless marriage. But how can she leave behind the man who has professed his love for her already?This novel has so many plot ins and outs that it becomes hard to pin point the main plot and characters. This is the third book in The Broadmoor Legacy and though reading the previous novels isn't necessary to understand A Surrendered Heart, I found in more than a few places that it would have been helpful. Particularly in the relationship of the cousins. The characters are interesting enough. Ellert Jackson as the scoundrel of the story is a formulaic character with all the typical lines, and thoughts of a evil man in a Christian novel. That being said, he manages to remain a formidable villain and creates the right amount of anxiety for the sake of Amanda. Admittedly I was prepared for the worst when it came to the end both for Amanda and myself as a reader, but was pleasantly surprised with the twists and turns that the writers allowed. Overall, this is a good read whether or not you have read the previous books in the series. The romance is sweet and engaging, the characters are relatable, and the stress on Amanda and her family is heavy. Generally entertaining.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Surrendered Heart, Broadmoor Legacy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2009
I have been looking forward to the release of this third book in the series for some time. It all started when I got hooked on Book One and met Amanda, Sophie, and Fanny, three of the Broadmoor cousins of Rochester, NY. Naturally I was anxious to see where this book would take these young women. Amanda is still unattached and wishes to pursue a career in medicine. She has been assisting Dr. Blake Carstead at a local mission for the poor. Her parents, however, have been trying to discourage Amanda's desire to become a doctor, and would rather see her maintain her place in society by marrying well and raising a family. Despite their wishes, Amanda continues her work and risks her health by helping Dr. Carstead during the 1899 cholera epidemic that's sweeping across the city.Amanda's father's business is in deep financial trouble, and he resorts to extreme measures to recover and save face in their affluent community. What will Amanda's role be in her father's ill-fated scheme? Can Sophie and Fanny rescue Amanda from any dreadful consequences? And what of Dr. Carstead's growing feelings for Amanda? Does Amanda return these feelings? I enjoyed the journey that Peterson and Miller provide for the reader. It was much more than a physical one from Rochester to the lovely Thousand Island Broadmoor family vacation home. It was one that tried each cousin's heart and convictions, and was full of surprises and a bit of mystery. If you've enjoyed the team of Peterson and Miller in the past, I don't think you will be disappointed with this one. Go ahead, grab a cup of tea, find a cozy spot, and jump right in. Adventure awaits!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Surrendered Heart, Broadmoor Legacy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Amy Lewis
This was a wonderful conclusion to the series! It was good to find out what was going to happen to Amanda and also follow up on Fanny and Sophie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Surrendered Heart, Broadmoor Legacy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mocha with Linda
I have thoroughly enjoyed this series of the three Broadmoor cousins. This last book is the story of Amanda. She is in her element helping Dr. Blake Carstead provide medical care at the Home for the Friendless in Rochester, New York when the cholera epidemic of 1899 breaks out. The rest of her family flees the city to their estate on the Thousand Islands just as the Home is quarantined - and Amanda becomes deathly ill. Once she is on the mend, she reluctantly goes to join her relatives for a complete recovery, although her heart remains with her patients and the doctor who is her mentor and friend, and she looks forward to returning and to, hopefully one day, attending medical school herself.As the summer weeks progress, Amanda's plans are suddenly thwarted by the disturbing news that the family fortune is about to disappear. Her father's unethical business practices are catching up with him, and to save his finances and his reputation before both are destroyed, he promises Amanda's hand in marriage to a business associate many years her senior. She quickly discovers the type of man Ellert Jackson is, but there is no escape from the future laid out for her.Sophie and Fanny, Amanda's cousins who were featured in the first two books of the series, face their own continuing challenges. The bond between the three girls is tested, as is their faith. I love the way the authors wove the cousins' stories together and brought the series to a satisfying conclusion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Surrendered Heart, Broadmoor Legacy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christine L. Alley-Howard
Although this book was quite predictable, it is extremely well written and the depth of characters is a compliment to Tracie and Judith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Surrendered Heart, Broadmoor Legacy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mary Ann Creel
I give this book an A plus rating. I really enjoyed it, and hope to be contacted if another book in this series becomes available
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Surrendered Heart, Broadmoor Legacy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Venita Luzadder
As usual, An absolutely fabulous read. Tracie Peterson is a gifted author. I Haven't read anythingo f hers that I didn't thoroughly enjoy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Surrendered Heart, Broadmoor Legacy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2009
Excellent as always from both authors! This is the final of the Broadmoor trilogy. Amanda succumbs to illness during the cholera outbreak and finds love when she recovers. . She has no idea that Blake already engaged, however. Numbed from the pain and facing certain ruin of the family name and fortune she agrees, reluctantly, to marry a complete stranger. Sophie's marriage to Paul faces problems when he is frequently absent tending to the patients and comforting families. Fanny learns of her Uncle Jonas deception.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Surrendered Heart, Broadmoor Legacy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rebeccah Lou Randolph
I enjoyed the end of this series. The writing, the sidebars, the intertwining of stories, etc. It was rather predictable though, but I was pleased that for once a Christian author stayed away from a "popular" topic - spousal abuse. Also, that for one, there were consequences enforced in the "bad guy" acutally dying. Thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Surrendered Heart, Broadmoor Legacy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carol Howard
I honestly knew the ending a quarter of the way through, but the sideline stories of Sophie, Fanny, and surprisingly Victoria made the reading fun. In truth, I'm glad Amanda didn't end up a victim of spousal abuse. That theme and adultery are getting very old and sad. Thanks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Surrendered Heart, Broadmoor Legacy Series #3
This review is fromA Surrendered Heart, Broadmoor Legacy Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2009
"A Surrendered Heart" is the third book in The Broadmoor Legacy series by Tracie Peterson and Judith Miller. I liked the story very much, however, I have not read the first two books in the series, and at times was a bit confused. (Series can be a bit tricky because a writer doesnt want to repeat all that has happened in previous books, yet if the stories are closely tied together, it is needed somewhat.) Still, the storyline was great, and I was completely drawn in, having a variety of emotions stirred throughout. The characters had depth, the story moved quickly and by the end, I couldnt read it fast enough. The ending was highly satisfying, with a strong reminder that God is in control. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who enjoys historical fiction, but I might suggest beginning with the first book in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Surrendered Heart, Broadmoor Legacy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2009
I greatly anticipated the last book in the Broadmoor Legacy series and was not disappointed. Amanda is a strong, compassionate woman well worth rooting for, and her willingness to sacrifice herself for her family is absolutely wrenching, providing great emotional tension for the entire novel. Fanny and Sophie work well as Amanda's erstwhile support system, and the subplots of their marriages were quite entertaining. Jonas and Ellert, especially the latter, are deliciously frightening villains, and Amanda's struggles with Ellert in particular made me read twice as fast to see if Blake would rescue her; I was thrilled when he, and more importantly God, did. In fact, that's something I appreciate about this entire series--the author never hits you over the head with Christianity. I do think the cholera plot point was weak and rushed, but otherwise, this was a great wrap-up to a wonderful series. I wonder if the cousins' daughters will get their own books later...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>