Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Fox Faith Beyond the Gates of Splendor, DVD

Fox Faith Beyond the Gates of Splendor, DVD

Based on Elisabeth Elliot's best-seller, Through Gates of Splendor. In 1956, a team of missionaries---including Jim and Elisabeth Elliot---traveled to Ecuador. This feature-length documentary tells their startling true-life story of sacrifice, ministry, love, forgiveness, and changed lives. The powerful journey begins with interviews of the Waodani people discussing their way of life before hearing the gospel message. (Rated PG-13; contains some violence and native nudity.) Contains abridged version. Approx. 96 minutes.

Special Features:

  • Region Coded 1, NTSC
  • Close Captioned
  • English & Spanish Subtitles
  • Fullscreen
  • Average Customer Rating:
    4.133 out of 5
    4.1
     out of 
    5
    (15 Reviews) 15
    Open Ratings Snapshot
    Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
    5 stars
    8
    4 stars
    4
    3 stars
    1
    2 stars
    1
    1 star
    1
    3 out of 475%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
    Customer Reviews for Beyond the Gates of Splendor, DVD
    Review 1 for Beyond the Gates of Splendor, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Better than End of the Spear!

    Date:September 6, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    ozarkbarrelracer
    Location:Tahlequah, Ok
    Age:25-34
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    This is a great film. It was created by the family to resolve some issues created by End of the Spear and it is much better than End of the Spear.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 2 for Beyond the Gates of Splendor, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5

    Disappointing!

    Date:July 18, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    Juanita
    Location:New London, WI
    Age:55-65
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    2 out of 5
    2 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5
    Both the full version and the abridged version of this movie are on the same disc. (Turn disc over for the abridged version.) First, I watched the full version and was very disappointed in it. If a viewer did not know the story going into this movie, they would not understand how the Waodani truly became changed people. The gospel is not mentioned at all...that the natives witnessed God's love through the example of the missionaries that lived with them after the murder is not explained at all. In fact, the movie begins with comments by a couple of anthropologists and ends with their humanistic theory of why the Waodani changed: Because they came to 'see' that there was another way to respond to situations...that they didn't always need to resort to killing as their response! Not one word of God's saving grace, not one word about God changing the hearts of the Waodani...nothing!
    Then I watched the abridged version and it was a tad better. First, the anthropologists with their statements were edited out. Second, there were several times when Scripture verses or pertinent quotes were shown in between segments that could possibly give a very, very tiny bit more of enlightenment as to why the Waodani became changed people. Still... lacking...not the complete story of how and why God changed the hearts of the people.
    If all you want are facts (Who, What, When, and Where) then this is for you. If you are looking for this movie as a witnessing tool, this is not for you. If you want to hear the amazing story of how, through faith in Christ the most murderous of peoples did a 180º, or how God wrought the amazing work of forgiveness in the hearts of the missionaries, enabling them to go back and live among the Waodani...this is not for you. Very disappointing...
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 3 for Beyond the Gates of Splendor, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Good documentary.

    Date:April 4, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    Redfish
    Location:Vancouver, BC, Canada
    Gender:male
    Quality: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Value: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I use this movie in my mission Sunday school, we all enjoy it since this is a true life documentary.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 4 for Beyond the Gates of Splendor, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Good documentary for faith and witness discussions

    Date:January 4, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    Scripture First
    Location:St. John's, NL, Canada
    Age:55-65
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    A really well made documentary that follows "The End of the Spear" movie. It provides additional info but there is some overlap in footage. Overall quite well done. This is an amazing story that only God could orchestrate.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 5 for Beyond the Gates of Splendor, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:January 4, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Lena Mc Dermott
    Excellent movie. Has interviews with the actual women and people involved. Would recommend seeing the End of the Spear first. Very moving.
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 6 for Beyond the Gates of Splendor, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Date:April 21, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    Susan Byers
    This is a very good video but I think you should watch, End of the Spear, first. These videos are for a mature viewer. I will watch them again but it isn't something I will want to watch often. Still I am glad I purchased both videos and I have loaned them out to several people. I do recommend these be in every Christians video library.
    +1point
    2of 3voted this as helpful.
    Review 7 for Beyond the Gates of Splendor, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:December 10, 2008
    Customer Avatar
    Zodet S Zambrana
    This is a good resource to introduce the mission ministry in the parish. I recomended it.
    0points
    1of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 8 for Beyond the Gates of Splendor, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:November 5, 2008
    Customer Avatar
    Russ
    We used this video in our small group after reading the chapter on Missions in John Piper's 'Desiring God'. Since none of us have been on a foreign mission field I thought it would be good exposure. It worked very well for this.This was a great documentary about the work of this mission, the people who were affected, and the testimony from the Waodoni people about the change that the Gospel has brought to their lives.It is a great example of sacrificial love to fulfill the great commission.This should challenge us all to look at the ways we are wrapped up in our own lives, expecting other people to change to meet our conditions before we will love them.
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 9 for Beyond the Gates of Splendor, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:May 19, 2008
    Customer Avatar
    Robert Siakimotu
    A very powerful story of commitment to GOD and His calling to His service. I will greatly blessed by the willingness of these young men to go where GOD led them. Their sacrifice is a great testimony to us all. GOD bless.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 10 for Beyond the Gates of Splendor, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:November 6, 2007
    Customer Avatar
    Frances Moore
    This is an inspiring story that makes me ask, "Have I really given Jesus my all?"
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 11 for Beyond the Gates of Splendor, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Date:July 29, 2007
    Customer Avatar
    Donna
    The love of Christ is evident in the lives of these men and women who dedicated themselves to His service. It was moving to see how the United States of the 50s showed so much concern and care for missionaries. And this martyrdom was covered on national news and even by our military.. Today this would be unheard of! Our daughter watched it and said, "this was another time in our country when we were good." Tears came once again to our eyes as we remembered reading first hand (6th graders at the time) of this tragedy but knowing God had His hand in all of it. What a testimony to Christianity - the Waorani today.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 12 for Beyond the Gates of Splendor, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5

    Date:April 28, 2007
    Customer Avatar
    John Deere Lady in TexasL
    This movie is a great example of forgiveness. As God forgives us, the families of the deceased forgave the killers. The Waodani really didn't know that what they were doing was wrong.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 13 for Beyond the Gates of Splendor, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Date:March 14, 2007
    Customer Avatar
    Tammie
    An excellent anthropological overview of the history of the Waodani people and their meeting with modern culture. Unfortunately, the DVD emphasizes the missionaries being fun-loving guys who wanted to be friends with this tribe more than men and women committed to the eternal purposes of God and the eternal well-being of the Waodani. However, the Bible study guide enclosed with the DVD suggests some ideas about why they might have dedicated themselves to the course of action which they chose. The present spiritual condition of the Waodani people in the sense of their personal testimony of a relationship with God is not included. Nevertheless, this information is available on the Web for those who desire to know, and the additional information gives the film more significance.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 14 for Beyond the Gates of Splendor, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    2 out of 5
    2 out of 5

    Date:February 7, 2006
    Customer Avatar
    Kyle Retoule
    DISAPPOINTING - I'm familiar with this story as Ive read both books by E. Elliot. Though the interviews and on-location footage were excellent, its as if God was intentionally removed as the main character. Unless you were well acquainted with the saga, youd have no way of knowing from this DVD that these missionaries were there to share the Gospel of Jesus Christ. The way they were portrayed they might as well have been Peace Corps volunteers. Jesus name was NEVER mentioned, The Lord was used only once (by a missionary who said I gave my soul to The Lord for missions), and God was referenced maybe twice. While Elliots books were about what God did through the missionaries, this DVD is about what the Missionaries did for the Waorani, and God has been left out of the story. Its a pity and a shame. If youve read Elliots books then this DVD will add some color to the story. But if youre looking for something spiritually motivating be warned, this film is not about God at all.
    +3points
    3of 3voted this as helpful.
    Review 15 for Beyond the Gates of Splendor, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:June 12, 2005
    Customer Avatar
    Tom Scriven
    This is a very well done production on the work of God in Ecuador through the lives of some wonderful people whom He chose to use.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.