Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Grace for the Good Girl: Letting Go of the Try-Hard Life - eBook

Revell Grace for the Good Girl: Letting Go of the Try-Hard Life - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 1090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Grace for the Good Girl: Letting Go of the Try-Hard Life - eBook
Review 1 for Grace for the Good Girl: Letting Go of the Try-Hard Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A manual of grace and truth

Date:June 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Katie Meg
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I pride myself in being an open and fairly transparent person, but this book called me out. Called me out of hiding. I have yet to completely respond to that call, but at least I know now that I have a protective veil, a mask, that I have constructed to protect and try to keep me safe...and it needs to come off. There is a part of me that does not trust, that does not want to yield fully, so I keep the veil on for perceived safety.
In this candid confessional and authentic exhortation, Emily helps "good girls" identify areas in which they hide behind, like: good performance, spiritual disciplines, strength and responsibility, etc. She identifies the problems we face and then clearly points us to the One who can find us and can set us free. I underlined a lot in this book. It is a type of manual for this "try hard" girl who strives to "do" and isn't sure how to just "be".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Grace for the Good Girl: Letting Go of the Try-Hard Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for our small group study

Date:August 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chris
Location:Iowa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I picked up a copy and read it myself, then offered it as our church's small group study. We have studied together for several years now, with an age range of 67 to 40. We used the book as a 9 month study. Initially, wisdom and experience had already taught many of Emily's wonderful truths to many of our members. Our discussion often centered around how we had each come to the common truth she offered. As the year progressed, however, each woman found stories that touched her life and deepened her faith in profound and personal ways. All ages, but particularly newlyweds and young mothers, will find a gentle yet definite peace in learning that it is all about what He can do, not what we must do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Grace for the Good Girl: Letting Go of the Try-Hard Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book- well worth reading

Date:July 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Valerie
Location:St Catharined, ON Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This author actually has something to say thru'out the book. Good insights - so relevant to me and many women today struggling with striving to be good rather than resting in the fact that we are already accepted and loved as we are. Well worth the read!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Grace for the Good Girl: Letting Go of the Try-Hard Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very applicable

Date:August 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
jocelynr
Location:Antananarivo, Madagascar
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I dont really consider myself a 'good girl' in all the ways Freeman mentions, but nonetheless, this book was so applicable for the life of a Christian woman. It would be awesome if there was a 'Grace for the Good Boy" as well, as i think my husband would benefit from reading this book! Learning to live a free and abundant life with that which we have already been given! Really enjoyed the style of writing and the format for using the book in a book club. Also great to visit her blog as we were reading through the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Grace for the Good Girl: Letting Go of the Try-Hard Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Some good warnings, but self-focused

Date:August 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
jj2010
Location:Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Although I found many of her examples of 'masks' to be a healthy reminder of things/attitudes to steer away from. I was dissappointed with the overall application to life. It read a lot of, 'just do what you feel called to do'. I think this is a slippery slope, because lots of times what we 'feel' is every-changing and unreliable. I think God calls us to leave a life of service to others. I felt like it promoted our cultural thinking that 'Life is all about ME!'
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Grace for the Good Girl: Letting Go of the Try-Hard Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Grace pouring off the pages

Date:September 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
NHDeb
Location:New Hampshire
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not written many reviews in my life, but this book is THAT good that I couldn't resist.
Reading this book, I kept having the sensation that somehow Emily must have been watching me for a good portion of my life. I saw myself over and over in the various stories. This book was about me... the me that needs grace so desperately. The trying hard me, the pleasing others me, the 'good girl' me. How does that happen?
That happens when God puts a book in your hands at the exact time in your life when He really WANTS you to GET what you need to hear and take it to heart in a new way. A way that will help you to further your walk with Christ and live free is His grace & love.
God's timing is perfect and I am so thankful for the truths Emily has penned (typed?) here. The scriptures that are new in application and reached my heart in a deeper way than ever before.
I want to buy copies for every woman I know!
Buy this book... read it, highlight it, pray, read more, and let God do something amazing in your heart & mind.
Blessings on the journey~
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Grace for the Good Girl: Letting Go of the Try-Hard Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The perfect reminder of God's grace

Date:September 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
LaChaton
Location:Ontario, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For those of you who have been following my blog for a while now, you'll know that while I mostly read YA I also branch out at times. I am Christian, so once in a while those books include Christian fiction or non-fiction books. Grace for the Good Girl is a Christian non-fiction book.
Words completely fail me for this book. I have no clue how to convey to those of you who may be interested in this book, exactly what it means to me. I will say that when I was only halfway through the book that I went onto Amazon and ordered eleven more copies. ELEVEN. Why would I want eleven more copies of a book I already have? Because I couldn't count 6 people off the top of my head who I felt would love this as much as I love it. And it's the kind of book I want to have extra copies on hand, just in case I come across other people who are interested in it. And by the time the books arrived, I already knew of two other people who I was going to give copies too. THAT'S HOW MUCH I LOVE IT.
Maybe this book just came to me at the right time. Because I can tell you, I needed to hear what Emily had to share. I needed reminders of the promises God has given to us in the Bible. And I needed someone to meet me head-on and be honest with me; it's okay to be scared. It's okay to not have everything put together all neatly. Frankly, it's okay to be a bit of a mess. And I don't have to be pretend to be perfect because everything will be okay.
Well, thank goodness. If you're like me, you need to hear this. In between all of the school work and house work and relationships with those I care about and church involvement and professional school applications... well what else is there? And what if I don't measure up? Emily has something to share with us then:
That's okay. You don't have to all of this on your own.
And that's where I breathe a loud, exhaustive sigh of relief.
This book isn't going to be for everyone; but when it comes to those of Christian faith, I think it is going to have widespread appeal. Emily is so honest and encouraging, and it's perfect for those "normal" people who don't have anything drastic or exciting to share in their testimony. And for those who might have something a little more unique in their story? Well, it's for you too. I know it was definitely for me. And if only one person finds this book and decides to read it and finds something uplifting in it... well, then my job is done. I'm satisfied.
In fact, I'm going to pick it up and read it all over again. One chapter at a time, just the way I read through it before. I want to answer every question, I want to commit verses shared to memory because the last thing I want to do is finish reading this, put it on my shelf, walk away and forget.
I can't thank Emily enough for being the messenger and having the bravery to write this. And thank you so much to Graf-Martin for providing me with a review copy. This one's a winner.
Break out the road maps, find a place to go with your girlfriends and get together for a weekend. Challenge each other and open up to each other. Break through those masks! Curl on a sofa infront of a fireplace or a beach with this book, friends like sisters, and some hot chocolate. You won't regret it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Grace for the Good Girl: Letting Go of the Try-Hard Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Grace for the Good Girl

Date:September 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
ibjoy1953
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My review
Grace for the Good Girl….by Emily P. Freeman
Wow this book is much more than I expected. The author deals with several issues women face in their lives with examples from her own life as well as examples from other ladies. The book is broken down in three parts; The Hiding; The Finding; and The Freedom of Being Found. And in each section she has chapters such as: Are You a Good Girl in Hiding; Martha and My Many Things; Receive and Safe Even When It Hurts.
The chapter on Martha and Mary spoke to me a lot because when I think about my ‘many things’ I have more than I want to admit. How much time do I really spend with those things instead of spending it with Jesus? His words to Martha are an encouragement to us all, “Martha, Martha, you are worried and bothered about so many things, but only one thing is necessary.” (Luke 10:41-42, NASB)
Safe Even When It Hurts was a great chapter for me as well. In the chapter the author speaks of closure and healing when difficult things happen in our lives. A couple of verses she quoted that helps us realize that God is always there to help us is Psalm 94: 18 & 19 “When I said, “My foot is slipping,” your love, O Lord, supported me. When anxiety was great within me, your consolation brought joy to my soul.”
I’ve mentioned just a few things in this book, but when you read it, you will find so much here that will help you draw closer to the Lord. It talks much about its title ‘Grace’ so will learn to find grace for things in your life that you are dealing with and going through. I encourage ladies to get a copy and read it! I would love to review this book with a small study group or a Sunday school class.
“Available September 2011 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
I received this book from the publisher Revell to read and review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 55
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Grace for the Good Girl: Letting Go of the Try-Hard Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Encouraging for those who are discouraged

Date:September 6, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We are a performance-based nation. We too often determine a person's worth and credit by what job they hold, the position within that job, how much money they make, how busy they are, the type of car they drive, the house they have, or the lifestyle they live. Americans are all about performance.
Emily shares her story in the pages of this book about how she never lived "bad." In fact, she was a "good" Christian. She went to church every Sunday, she read her Bible, and she worked hard to be that good Christian girl that has a great reputation. However, in her heart, she didn't truly know God. She did to a point, but it wasn't until later that had to let go of the works aspect of being a Christian and instead trust and know that Christ isn't about works. He loves us and wants us to understand that deep down in our hearts. When we do that, the works will come and then it won't seem like such hard work.
I would definitely recommend this book for the person who is discouraged or who has a hard time understanding that works won't make God love you more than He already does. You can also read Emily's blog for more encouraging articles written by her.
__________________
I received this book free from Revell Publishers in exchange for my honest opinion of this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Grace for the Good Girl: Letting Go of the Try-Hard Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What girl doesn't need grace!

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's like, Emily, wrote this book for me. As I opened up these pages before me I realized the hurdle jumper I have been. Being a good girl will kill your spirit. Listen to these words and see if they sound like you:
If you serve in the church, then you will be accepted.
If you are responsible, then you will be respected.
If you follow all the rules, then you will be good enough.
If you try hard, then you'll become more like God.
If you act righteous, then you will become righteous.
If you keep your house clean, then you will be a good wife.
If you make healthy dinners every night, then you will be a good mom.
If you wake up at 5 a.m. and pray every morning, then you will be a good Christian.
How's that sounding? Maybe you are trying to be a good girl too. Some how it happens to us before we know it and then we have put so many masks on we can't recognize ourselves any longer. Praise the Lord for God's grace.
If you are a woman, this book is for you! I love how, Emily, designed this book. We begin reading, Part 1, The Hiding. Oh, how I have been a hider. Then we have Part 2, The Finding. Receive, Remain, Respond and Remember. Four simple words that will lift that mask off and help you see who you really are. A daughter of the King of kings! Lastly, Part 3, The Freedom of Being Found. Don't you love to feel safe? We can feel safe when we allow Jesus into our lives and trust Him with everything!
This book holds a leader guide that would be wonderful to use for a group setting. Ladies, looking for a Sunday School lesson? This is it. Maybe your just looking for a great read. This would be a lovely addition to add to your quiet time.
Emily shares stories of her own life and struggles. She opens up the lives of her friends and allows us to peek inside. Something I love about this book? Emily is transparent. Not only can we see her heart, but we can see Christ shining through her. I am so glad He moved her to write this book. I am glad she chose to listen. This is a gem of a book that will help you learn to let go and let God. It's more than okay for us to be vulnerable. We don't have to hide any longer. We have freedom in Christ! When I can walk away from a book with a better understanding of who I am and who Christ is in me, well then, I know I have found a gift to treasure.
This book was a gift from Revell for it's review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.