Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Love Does: Discover a Secretly Incredible Life in an Ordinary World

Thomas Nelson Love Does: Discover a Secretly Incredible Life in an Ordinary World

Remember the joy and excitement as a kid of being invited to a big party? You felt valued, included, wanted and ready to have a good time. Bob Goff believes that every day of life can be lived with the same childlike enthusiasm and sense of humor.

In Love Does, Goff shares remarkable stories from his life and shows how living and loving to the fullest is the best way to make Jesus known in this world. Whether you've travelled to meet dozens of world leaders with your kids, and started a school in Uganda like Goff, or are simply seeking a new perspective on the Christian life, you'll learn that love is a verb, not just a feeling. Goff's insights and joyful reflections will help you discover what it means to live as Howard Thurman intended when he said, "Don't ask what the world needs. Ask what makes you come alive, and go do it. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive."
Average Customer Rating:
4.76 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
25 out of 25100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Love Does: Discover a Secretly Incredible Life in an Ordinary World
Review 1 for Love Does: Discover a Secretly Incredible Life in an Ordinary World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jayebird
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pleased with quick service, can't wait to read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love Does: Discover a Secretly Incredible Life in an Ordinary World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best book ever...besides the Bible itself!

Date:January 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lori Pankratz
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOW! Heard Bob Goff speak at the Willow Creek Global Leadership Summit. Can't get enough of Bob. He is amazing! Love this book so much that I have bought many many of them. EVERYONE on my Christmas list got a copy. I came up with excuses to need to give a gift to someone just so I could buy more. If you don't own a copy or 10...get started today and order them up! You won't be disappointed!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love Does: Discover a Secretly Incredible Life in an Ordinary World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Barb
Location:FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this book. It has made me laugh out loud many times when reading it. This writer is so gifted. I heard a DVD of him recently and that is what made me buy the book. He is not only a great writer, but he is a super speaker.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love Does: Discover a Secretly Incredible Life in an Ordinary World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Uplifting and encouraging

Date:September 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stats13
Location:Minnetrista, MN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed reading this book so much that I am leading a book discussion group on it. Bob is so encouraging and uplifting, and really challenges his readers to ACT out their love by taking risks and trusting God to do amazing things. He shares such fun stories, too, that this is a book you will want to read more than once.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love Does: Discover a Secretly Incredible Life in an Ordinary World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun and challenging

Date:March 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cori
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is fun and funny. It reads easily, like a novel. Yet challenges you to think differently and take action to LOVE like God, as the author has.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love Does: Discover a Secretly Incredible Life in an Ordinary World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

following that is fun, creative, and authentic

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
r james
Location:San Jose, CA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Love Does, Bob Goff describes a way of following Jesus that is fun, creative, and authentic. Bob empowers average folks to step out and do extraordinary things for the sake of love. And more than just describe it or prescribe it - Bob does it. He gives real life examples of what it looks like to practice christianity with whimsy.
Bob opens the book with a story of his Young Life leader encouraging him and going along with him on the adventure of life. He goes on to tell stories of saying "yes" to Jesus' invitation of living life to the fullest. This philosophy has taken him all over the world as he pursues loving God and loving other people. It is embarrassing that Bob's life looks so different from the typical christian because his faith and trust take him to places we should be. His faith in action is inspiring and he manages to tell his stories in a way that invite us in, to go on our own adventures. His tales of whimsy encourage the reader to take chances on opportunities in faith - not knowing if it will come out the way they hope, but worth the risk.
One of the adventures this has led Bob to is Charlie. First, Bob received a phone call from his friend Doug claiming to be Ugandan Prime Minister Apolo Nsibambi. Doug says that he wants him to counsel him and Bob says jokingly, "Sure, does someone owe you money or something?" Bob leaves that conversation thinking his buddy had a pretty good accent but he wasn't fooling anybody. Weeks later Bob gets another phone call from Doug posing as the Ugandan Prime Minister and this time he wants to meet Bob in New York. Bob says "sure, why not!" and schedules a time to meet his buddy at the airport and is expecting a sign saying something like "gotcha, dinner's on me" or something. Bob arrives and is greeted by Apolo Nsibambi - the actual Prime Minister of Uganda! He is stunned and then the Prime Minister clarifies that he wanted Bob to be the Consul for Uganda, not to just counsel him. Bob sees the opportunity this is for accomplishing stuff that Jesus would love so he says yes.
As Consul, Bob finds out about witch doctors who mutilate and kill children for rituals where they bury their body parts within a structure for supposed magical benefits. Bob is the first to ever prosecute one of these witch doctors and has the opportunity to take down the biggest baddest for the premiere. A boy has been mutilated and left for dead. But he has survived, Bob calls him Charlie. Charlie is rescued, stands trial, and even has corrective surgery for his mutilation. The witch doctor is convicted and sitting on death row. Bob spreads the word to the other witch doctors that the killing will end or they will all end up like the one on death row. Bob also cares for and loves Charlie: making him the king of parades, setting him to flight with 1000 balloons, and taking him to meet the president. This is what Bob means by "Love Does". This is the love of Christ lived out by his followers.
Since reading the book I sent Bob a facebook message and thanked him for the book. He actually responded quite quickly and proceeded to encourage me in my own endeavors and relationship with Christ. See this and other reviews at booked and convicted.
[update]
I got to hear Bob speak at a convention in San Diego as well as a little church plant here in San Jose and it was pretty sweet to hear what he has been up to. Just this week he was flying back to Uganda to help facilitate the witch doctor speaking to all of the death row inmates because he has since asked Christ for forgiveness and committed his life to him. He will be sharing how witch craft has gotten him to this point and how Jesus frees him from sin. So legit!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love Does: Discover a Secretly Incredible Life in an Ordinary World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Book!

Date:September 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Littleposey
Location:Phoeni, AZ
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the best I have ever read about putting faith to work. I bought 5 more copies to give to friends!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love Does: Discover a Secretly Incredible Life in an Ordinary World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful, wonderful book!

Date:September 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Andrea88
Location:Bothell, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful book with a beautiful message of how to love the people in the world around you. Bob Goff is hilarious and it reads easily and has short chapters. I'm including a copy to all my family and friends with their Christmas presents. What a lovely way to live.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love Does: Discover a Secretly Incredible Life in an Ordinary World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love Does Amazing Things!

Date:June 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
mountains
Location:Alberta Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You need to read this book!
Bob Goff is a lawyer with an office in Disneyland, who sees the world differently than I do - for certain. But I want to see it his way. He says, "I wrote Love Does to capture some of the stories of hope, joy and whimsy that have helped to shape the way I see Jesus," says Bob Goff. "What I've realized is that I've learned a lot more about who He is from what people have done with their faith than I have from what they've said about their faith."
Do you need a shot of caffeine added to your walk with God? How about a dose of whimsy? I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. I read it in small doses to absorb the deep and profound truths held behind the veil of his crazy stories. Each chapter is only a couple of pages and I often read it in 5 minutes or less but Bob knows how to use a few words to say a lot. I especially enjoyed the comparisons at the beginning of each chapter. They represent the lessons he'd learned and was now teaching to me. For example,
- I used to think people needed more answers; but now I think they just need more truth
- I used to think I needed an invitation to get into most places, but now I know I’m already invited.
Each and every chapter is a gift inside a lesson, wrapped inside an amazing story, enveloped inside a nearly unbelievable event that Bob and his family or friends got into. You might be watching a wedding cake spill all over a parking lot, or allowing a young love-struck man take over your home and property or even letting your children suggest foreign policy. No matter what it is you can be certain it involves action. Because, "I used to think being loved was the greatest thing to think about, but now I know love is never satisfied just thinking about it."
There are no doctrinal debates in this book, such as the age old issue of faith and deeds. Bob isn't try to change your religion at all. He is zeroing in on a way to look at life through the eyes of how Jesus sees us. To love more, but more importantly to let that love do more.
I recommend this book to anyone - Christian or not - to challenge yourself to be a little more active in your love. Put some shoes on it and see what happens because remember ... "love is never stationary."
"Book has been provided courtesy of Thomas Nelson and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.
Available at your favourite bookseller from Thomas Nelson".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Love Does: Discover a Secretly Incredible Life in an Ordinary World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Follow up to A Million Miles in A Thousand Years!

Date:July 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
shoppy
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first heard about Bob Goff in Don Miller's A Million Miles In A Thousand Years. When I heard he was writing his own story, I grabbed a copy right away. I like his casual writing style and his story telling.
If you read and enjoyed any Don Miller books, you will love this one too!
After reading it, I bought the audible version and had Bob read it to me, which was even better!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Love Does: Discover a Secretly Incredible Life in an Ordinary World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Live a life full of Love and Adventure

Date:June 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Monica
Location:Iowa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
As I read Love Does by Bob Goff I was mesmerized by Bob's sense of adventure in living the Christian life. He did DO things but he didn't just "do." He did things with passion and incredible heart. I was mesmerized by all the "doing" he has done in his life. Each chapter in the book shares various life stories--How he took his kids on a world tour to eat ice cream with heads of state; How he made friends in Uganda, and they liked him so much he became the Ugandan consul; and How he got into law school through sitting on a bench outside the Dean’s office for seven days until they finally let him enroll and then he used his law career to help others for Christ. He lives his life by being actively involved in drawing others to Christ in living with them in a way that reaches out to them and encourages them. Some of the essays share how those who drew Bob to Christ did it by actively living the Christian life.
This book is made up of chapters that could stand alone so it is easy to read in small bites or in a larger sitting. I found it to be lighthearted but brimming with wisdom. I highly recommend it.
I received this book free from Thomas Nelson through their Booksneeze program. I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Love Does: Discover a Secretly Incredible Life in an Ordinary World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Live a life of adventure!

Date:May 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love Does is a book that pulses with promise, a book that reminds us that serving Jesus is not a boring life filled with nothing but rules, but a grand adventure of stepping out to change the world in Christ's name. The stories are absolutely engaging, stories that will leave you inspired and also laughing! I absolutely howled at some of the memories Bob shares, such as his first night serving as a waiter (I won't spoil the story by sharing details, but you simply have to read it!). Bob Goff writes with refreshing honesty, and his words will no doubt serve to make readers uncomfortable at times as they threaten to push us out of our comfort zones. Bob urges us to "leave all of the comparisons and all of the trappings and all of the pretending of religion", stating that "for me, it's Jesus plus nothing". The book can be read all at once, or enjoyed over many sittings as you take time to be entertained by the stories but also to mull over the message. I love the final challenge the author leaves us with, where he reminds us that we are a part of God's plan for the whole world, and to take the next step in following Jesus by putting love into action. Now THAT is a message worth repeating!
I highly recommend this book and award it 5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of Thomas Nelson and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Thomas Nelson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Love Does: Discover a Secretly Incredible Life in an Ordinary World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is great!

Date:May 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
grace
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recently I had the chace to read "Love Does" by Bob Goff through a resource at BookSneeze that offers free books to readers in exchange for an honest review, whether positive or negative.
I liked this book a lot.
It was sweet and heartfelt and was full of stories; some that made you sigh, some that made you laugh and all that made you think.
It's simply the heartfelt account of a man who is a normal regular guy who just happens to have had very UN-normal, IR-regular things happen to him his entire life- but mostly, it about how he has tried to love Jesus and others in the process.
We could all hope to live a life like this man has. Bold yet silly, crazy yet free, and with not even a touch of 'preachy'.
(I like that in a person as well as a book.)
I both enjoyed and appreicated this book and am very glad that I read it.
ps- and of course like many, my favorite story was probably the one about him and his Jeep... but you have to read this book to figure out what happened!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Love Does: Discover a Secretly Incredible Life in an Ordinary World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

engaging book

Date:May 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tony Brackemyre
Location:Wilmington OH
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Whim·sy [hwim-zee, wim-] noun: capricious humor or disposition; extravagant, fanciful, or excessively playful expression
Throughout his book Love Does, Bob Goff uses the word whimsy to describe the kind of life that love does. After reading some of his stories and escapades, including running up the hotel bill of his friend by ordering lobster from room service (without his friend’s knowledge), buying a skateboard to ride to work instead of a motor vehicle and pretending to be a part of the Easter Egg Hunt on the White House lawn (on the outside of the fence), Bob Goff lives a life of whimsy.
Love Does is a book full of stories and experiences that draw the reader in and gives a different perspective on how life can be lived. Goff’s stories of getting into law school through sheer perseverance, traveling to Uganda to help kids caught in a non-functioning judicial system and the memory making trips with his own children give the reader a visual of a life of whimsy and living a life of love might look like.
Love Does also introduces the reader to people from Goff’s life who are living a life of love. There is John, a young ma who helps build and run a school in Uganda for kids who have no place to go for education. There is also Randy, a man who showed Goff during his teen years what it looked like to stand alongside another person and to be with him and for him.
Amidst the stories and adventures, Goff also provides some great statements like these:
“(Jesus said we) should think of ourselves more like the ushers rather than the bouncers and it is God who decides who gets in.”
“You become like the people you hang around, and to a great degree, you end up going wherever they’re headed.”
“Bible verses weren’t meant to be thrown like grenades at each other. They were meant to point each other toward love and grace.”
I enjoyed reading Bob Goff’s stories and were drawn into his experiences, especially his involvement in Uganda. Love Does gives a unique picture of what it means to live a life of love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Love Does: Discover a Secretly Incredible Life in an Ordinary World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love Does!

Date:May 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
mom3ways
Location:Greenfield, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I have never read one of Bob Goff's books before, but he now has a new fan...me! It seems like for the past 4 months, God has been trying to teach me all about love. Not just love for my spouse or my kids or the people who are easy to love, but love for total strangers, love for the difficult people in my life, and love for people I really don't want to love.
So after reading this book, I am even more convinced that I need to love! I am more convinced that I need to love like God. And I am more convinced I cannot do this on my own.
"The world can make you think that love can be picked up at a garage sale or enveloped in a Hallmark card. But the kind of love that God created & demonstrated is a costly one because it involves sacrifice & presence. It's a love that operated more like a sign language than being spoken outright. What I learned about the brand of love Jesus offers is that it's more about presence than undertaking a project. It's a brand of love that doesn't just think about good things, or agree with them, or talk about them."
~Bob Goff, Love Does, page 9
The life stories and lessons Bob shares in this book are great examples of love. It is so easy to be cynical in today's world, but reading each chapter is a reminder of the hope and promise the love of God offers. And it is a great reminder that just showing up and being in the present is often more important than anything else I can do!
*I received a copy of this book in exchange for my review. The opinions are mine.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Love Does: Discover a Secretly Incredible Life in an Ordinary World
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Reid
Location:California
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wasn't sure what to think when I agreed to read this book but I thought that with a forward by Donald Miller it had to be interesting.... and it is.
Some parts of this book made me weep, think, laugh, and inspired me. All of it was interesting. There was a part of me that marveled at this guy -- he really is living in an abandoned way that I think most Christians envy; imagine saying "yes" to opportunities where most of us would make excuses for or tell out kids, or ourselves, no?
On page 209 (of an ebook on iPad) he writes "I know it sounds goofy, but I want to be like that Jeep. I want to leak from having been hit by Jesus. From having something crazy happen to me, something that flipped my life upside down. I've met people like that, people who leak Jesus. Whenever you're around them, Jesus keeps coming up with words and with actions. I don't suppose everybody gets hit by Jesus, but those of us who have talk about him differently. We start steering funny; we start leaking where we stand. And it's because we got thrown from our lives in a terrific collision."
On another page, (237) he writes, "For those who resonate with formulas, here it is: add our whole life, your loves, your passions, and your interests together with what God said He wants us to be about, and that's your answer. If you want to know the answer to the bigger question -- what's God's plan for the whole world? - buckle up: it's us.
We're God's plan, and we always have been. We arent' just supposed to be observers, listeners, or have a bunch of opinions. WE're not here to let everyone know what we agree and don't agree with, because, frankly, who cares? Tell me about the God you love; tell me what He has inspired uniquely in you; tell me what you're going to do about it, and a plan for your life will be pretty easy to figure out from there. I guess what I'm saying is that most of us don't get an audible plan for our lives. It's way better than that. We get to be God's plan for the whole world by pointing people toward Him."
This book is filled with real, thoughtful and fun stories that illustrate his title: Love Does. It is an action. Loving people means doing, and trusting God in all this craziness enough to say "yes".
I received a free copy of this book through Thomas Nelson's Booksneeze program. I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Love Does: Discover a Secretly Incredible Life in an Ordinary World
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love Certainly Does!

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I picked up, "Love Does" and read the words, "Discover A Secretly Incredible Life In An Ordinary World", and was blown away. This book holds great stories about the life of Bob Goff and those people surrounding him. Some of the stories made me laugh out loud, others tugged on my heart.
He shares a story of a young man who wanted to ask his girl to be his bride on the back deck of Bob's home. The story didn't end at the one request. Unlike most people, Bob was happily overjoyed to not only help this young man, but partake in the feast of love about to happen.
This is Christ wanting to court us. This is Christ at His best, showing His great and mighty love for us. We have the greatest love story ever written. A story about a Savior willing to give all for those He loves.
Bob shows us we can be extraordinary in our daily lives. Through his life we see pure joy and nothing less. I absolutely loved this book. I love the cover of the balloons floating upward.
"I used to be afraid of failing at something that really mattered to me, but now I'm more afraid of succeeding at the things that don't matter."
Wow!! This one statement took hold of my heart and shook me into realizing this is what I do. Bob's words and stories will set you on the edge of your seat and give you the desire for more. To let go of those things that don't really matter and take each breath we have and make it count. One life can bring life to another just by being love.
"I used to think I had to be somebody important to accomplish things, but now I know Jesus uses ordinary people more."
"I used to think you had to be special for God to use you, but now I know you simply need to say yes."
These are powerful statements for me. Words I needed to hear. Words I know, but needed to be reminded and I love how Bob does this. He simply shares.
When we really share God's love, it's letting go of our fears and simply letting God live through us.
If you want a challenge to change your life forever I would suggest this book.
This book was a gift from Thomas Nelson for it's review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Love Does: Discover a Secretly Incredible Life in an Ordinary World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love Multiplies, It Does!

Date:May 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
listlady
Location:MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As I read Love Does, I dreamed...
...of sharing whimsy
...of showing love
...of ways to thank the people I see as living secretly incredible lives
...of taking the ideas and facts I've read in those other love{ly} books and DOing something about it.
You know the saying, "When one door closes..." Bob would finish the saying with, "Kick it down!" He applied this to his personal life by sitting on a bench outside the dean's office for seven days until they finally agreed to let him enroll in law school. Now, his office is a picnic table on Tom Sawyer Island at Disneyland and some of his favorite clients are children in Uganda's youth prisons. Intrigued?
Two of my favorite lessons from the book the introduction include:
~You don't need a plan, you just need to be present!
~We need a change of attitude, not more opportunities.
This book is incredible! Despite being very profound, it is unique and engaging to read. I would confidently say it is the best book I've read. Ever. I really hope you get a chance to read it. Although, if we ever bump into each other on the side lines of a Little League game, in the waiting room at the pediatricians' office, or watching the Dutch dancers downtown you can be sure I will work at least one of Bob Goff's stories into our conversation!
"That's the way love rolls, it multiples!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Love Does: Discover a Secretly Incredible Life in an Ordinary World
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love does....

Date:April 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
David
Location:Arkadelphia
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently received "Love does" by bob goff in the mail from thomas nelson publishers. i read it in one sitting on a Saturday afternoon. goff tells stories in a simple, yet intelligent tone. this book doesn't hit you over the head with christianity, it just invites you into goff's life.
It's a smart, easy, read. I encourage picking it up ASAP!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Love Does: Discover a Secretly Incredible Life in an Ordinary World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book!

Date:April 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kirk
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! Great Book! Love Does by Bob Goff is a testimony of God’s goodness “leaking” from a life committed to trying to figure out what it means to be the hands and feet of God. This book profoundly encouraged me. It is largely a book of stories. Actually, not just stories, but stories that act more like parables. Parables, not in any profoundly theological way, but in an inspirational way that will be a game changer in my life. Love Does brought clarity to a thread God has been weaving through my life regarding the abundant life. The stories put flesh to a perspective of life that believes that the abundant life is an everyday reality. Bringing to life ideas of “whimsy” and “capers” and being “secretly incredible,” this book shines a light on ways to “leak” Jesus everywhere we go and in everything we do. And, leaking Jesus in a way that creates thirst in a parched world and dispels darkness in a world that is blind. This salt and light is spread by the “doing” of love because love does. The quote that I will take away as the thesis of the book is, “I used to be afraid of failing at something that really mattered to me, but now I’m more afraid of succeeding at things that don’t matter.” This is the heartbeat of this book, living the secretly incredible life on behalf of the Kingdom with incredible love. Because, Love Does!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>