Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House From A Distance, Timber Ridge Reflections #1

Bethany House From A Distance, Timber Ridge Reflections #1

Determined to establish herself as a photojournalist, Elizabeth Westbrook travels from Washington, D.C., to Timber Ridge, Colorado. But when one of her pictures is used as evidence in a murder trial, she finds her life in peril. Meeting Confederate sharpshooter Daniel Ranslett teaches Elizabeth something surprising about herself---but what she learns about Daniel is life changing! 352 pages, softcover from Bethany.
Average Customer Rating:
4.757 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for From A Distance, Timber Ridge Reflections #1
Review 1 for From A Distance, Timber Ridge Reflections #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great book for photography fans

Date:August 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
PPEM
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I just could not figure out HOW that woman jumped up in that saddle in front of Daniel garbed in a long split skirt. Wasn't there a second attempt?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for From A Distance, Timber Ridge Reflections #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Story

Date:June 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tammy Sotela
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once again Tamera Alexander has written a wonderful story. What a great idea to have a female photographer on her own in such a time as this. I felt I was right there with the characters and experienced what they did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for From A Distance, Timber Ridge Reflections #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love this author!

Date:February 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Monique Graafland
Location:canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very difficult to put book down, Tamera is a great writer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for From A Distance, Timber Ridge Reflections #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

From a Distance really held my attention

Date:January 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bfox
Location:Independence, Missouri
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
None of us travels through life unscarred and I enjoy reading a character who has who has deep roots in life. In Tamera Alexander creates characters that are so real that you live right along with them sharing their horrors and their hopes.
I love historical fiction almost as much as I love a story that holds my attention. If I'm not engaged in the first few chapters I usually set the book aside. I spent a couple of short evenings with From a Distance, just enough to know I wanted to continue. Last night I intended to read only a few more chapters but was never inclined to put the book down. When I read the last page and then looked at my watch it was 4:17 AM...I'd been completely engrossed in From a Distance all night long. It's a good read; well written, well researched and most engaging. You're sure to enjoy From a Distance
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for From A Distance, Timber Ridge Reflections #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wonderful Read

Date:December 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Suzy
Age:25-34
Gender:female
This is a great story that holds the reader from beginning to end. It has everything - drama, tragedy, romance, humor... and the author brings it all together wonderfully.
Time and again, she creates what seems to be an impossible situation, then she pulls you back from the edge without compromising the story line.
This author tackles some difficult issues and it pays off. This is a wonderful read. I look forward to reading more from this Tamera Alexander
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for From A Distance, Timber Ridge Reflections #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good read!

Date:November 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
RobinV
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this book and am looking forward to reading book 2. Though not overly exciting, it was completely enjoyable as the story line easily draws you in. My favorite part was when Elizabeth and Daniel meet. (Read it, you'll see.)
I felt the Tamera did an excellent job with the characters. They were well thought out and easy to like. Miss Elizabeth has some spiritual growing that needs to take place and Mr. Daniel needs to let go of the past and hand it over to God. The journey the two take together brings them closer to Him.
From a Distance has much of what I enjoy in books; romance, heartache, mystery, and beautiful scenery. I love how author Tamera Alexander always seems to have the perfect way of describing the land while not going overboard. I would love to see the Colorado Rockies after reading this book.
If you are looking for something to take your mind off what has happened earlier today, I would recommend this book. There's nothing better then going back in time and taking an incredible journey. Why not start with From a Distance?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for From A Distance, Timber Ridge Reflections #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful story

Date:September 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
B Mace
Location:Cable, WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could just see the majestic mountains, deep ravines and beautiful valleys in this lovely historical novel. Colorado was portrayed in all its glory! The theme of only speaking half the truth was woven throughout this story, reminding all of us of the importance of telling the 'whole truth'. The time and effort behind the pictures of yesteryear was quite painstaking. In all, a wonderful read!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for From A Distance, Timber Ridge Reflections #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly Recommended! It left me speechless...

Date:March 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's no secret why Tamera's books have-- and continue to, fastly climb the Christian best-seller's list.
My guess is that while going through this journey (as she likes to call it :), some of her readers might have emptied Kleenex boxes (no surprise), but in my case, it left me speechless. I mean, wow! This is truly outstanding!
From a Distance is a story that holds more than meets the eye. When I first got a glimpse of it, through the first pages, I must admit that my interest wavered and I was tempted to bolt ahead to the fun moments I would enjoy. But, so help me, I'm so glad I hung in there as Elizabeth clung to God's plan for her life despite it all, because when the full picture was revealed, we both learned priceless lessons, in the end!
What a great start to this series! This book got me 'reflecting' on how God can change anyone and everyone, for the better. From the bull-headed, but beautiful inside and out, Miss Westbrook. To handsome in and out, Southern ol' boy, Ranslett. And lastly, to the precious, God-fearing, hard-working Josiah Birch.
(And he's not human, but whatever, LOL, how CUTE is this little Beau!!).
I was sorry when the story ended, but grateful I got to meet these amazing characters and I'm definitely looking foward to the next one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for From A Distance, Timber Ridge Reflections #1
This review is fromFrom a Distance - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Aggie2
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From a Distance is a beautifully told story. The characters are so real that you feel you have known them in real life. I love books with Christian values, and this is a book I will read many times over. Congratulations to Tamera Alexander for a job worthy of praise.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for From A Distance, Timber Ridge Reflections #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great read!! It was hard to put it down.

Date:March 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lauryn
Location:California
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The author makes the characters in this book very real and display Christian values that we easily relate to. This is a compelling story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for From A Distance, Timber Ridge Reflections #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Good Read

Date:November 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Megan
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very pleased with this book. It was very well written and I really enjoyed the plot. It kept me turning pages the whole time. It is a wonderful blend of history, suspence, romance, and adventure. If any of those topics capture your interest, try this book. Great job, Alexander. Keep the good books coming!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for From A Distance, Timber Ridge Reflections #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 4, 2010
From the first chapter, my attention was captured and could hardly put the book down to go to my job or sleep. I appreciated the way the gospel was woven into the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for From A Distance, Timber Ridge Reflections #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 9, 2009
Loved Loved Loved it! This book pulls you into their world and it's not just another romance story, there is history, twists, humor, you name it, it's in this book. I'm looking forward to reading the next one in this series "Beyond This Moment"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for From A Distance, Timber Ridge Reflections #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patricia Cozad
I found the book interesting as well as informative. Some of the history about the Civil War were interesting facts to me. I would have enjoyed more "colorful" disciptions of the mountains of Colorado and of the Mesa Verda. I enjoyed the twists and turns of the story line. It kept me wanting to continue reading. I felt I was a member of the Timber Ridge community.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for From A Distance, Timber Ridge Reflections #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2009
I loved this book! I loved the events, along with the characters. At parts you will find your heart warmed, and at others, you will be on the edge of your seat anticipating what happens next.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for From A Distance, Timber Ridge Reflections #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 30, 2009
I started reading these kind of books when I was 14. And I was hooked. This book is awesome. If you read this and the sequel, you will not be without entertainment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for From A Distance, Timber Ridge Reflections #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rebecca Russo
i loved this book. the author has an interesting writing style. I am already reading the next one in this series and it does not disappoint.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for From A Distance, Timber Ridge Reflections #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Creative Madness Mama
This is more than a novel, a journey into two peoples lives that brings you to the edge of their experiences and beliefs and makes you focus on your own as well. I had a hard time through the first part of the novel, because I was unsure if I really liked the personality of the main character Elizabeth Westbrook. Yet as the story continued, and I was able to really look more on who she was and who she might be becoming I found that I really did like her.The humor through out the entire book is true to life. Included with the hardships of live during and after war, as well as life in the West is a love and growth between individuals. It is something that you can read about, and then feel it within your heart and not just turn a blind eye.Each character within this story has their flaws and they are these bits and pieces that make them so much more realistic and provide a reader the ability to relate. Every page brings something unexpected, and be fully prepared to shed some tears on the last page.Tammy has done it again with this novel, so far every single one is a complete hit to my mind and I cannot finish typing this review fast enough to pick up the second book in this Timber Ridge Reflections Series, Beyond This Moment.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for From A Distance, Timber Ridge Reflections #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Chloe
This book is one of my favorites. I loved it. Tamera Alexander is a great author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for From A Distance, Timber Ridge Reflections #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Libby Caudle
I just adore Tamera Alexander books when I start one of her books I have a hard time putting it down. She is a wonderful author and I have all her books. The Fountain Creek Chronicles was wonderful too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>