Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Everything: What You Give and What You Gain to Become Like Jesus

Thomas Nelson Everything: What You Give and What You Gain to Become Like Jesus

Wise insights from a fellow wayfarer on the road to faith! Abuse, betrayal, abandonment . . . Demuth experienced the pain of it all. But it brought her to a place where she gave everything to God! Sharing thought-provoking insights, she guides you through the process of surrender so that Christ can shape you into his image.
Average Customer Rating:
4.773 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 out of 2295%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Everything: What You Give and What You Gain to Become Like Jesus
Review 1 for Everything: What You Give and What You Gain to Become Like Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Surrendering It All

Date:January 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heather King
Location:Gloucester, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In her book, Everything, Mary DeMuth writes about letting God transform every part of our lives---our thinking, our hearts, and our hands. We can give it all to Jesus and trust Him with the results. It is, in essence, a book about living the greatest commandment: "Love the Lord Your God with all your heart, all your soul, and all your strength."everything
Always vulnerable, always real, always honest, always practical, Mary DeMuth's description of the Everything life can shake up our expectations. It doesn't mean ministry is always successful in the way we define success. It doesn't mean relationships are always smooth and peace always easy. It doesn't mean our plans always work or our past is always perfect. It just means we trust God with every part of our lives and serve Him with whatever He's given to us.
Mary herself talks frequently about how her imperfect childhood has been transformed by God's grace and her time on the mission field of France, far more difficult than she had imagined, was a precious time of yielding everything to God.
Sometimes it was the unexpected twists that kept this book interesting and relevant for me. Her thoughts about writing, for instance, were precious and often missed in our celebrity society: focusing on what God wants her to say rather than pushing and pushing and pushing for success, striving to be noticed and to build a platform.
My favorite portion of the book is actually her discussion of spiritual disciplines because she assumed you knew the basics like Bible reading, church attendance, and prayer, and wrote instead about truly unexpected but absolutely beautiful disciplines we often overlook: Rest, forgiveness, creativity, silence, gratitude and others.
In some ways, the book is about the lessons she has learned in disappointments, "failures," and unexpected life events. It's about not fighting against God, but surrendering it all to Him.
I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Everything: What You Give and What You Gain to Become Like Jesus
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Really good book!

Date:December 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bree
Location:Michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
To me, the goal of every Christian should be to live like Jesus. In the book, Everything, author Mary DeMuth writes about exactly what it takes to grow in Christ and become like Him.
I have to warn you, while DeMuth claims that she didn’t intend for the book to read as a condemnation or sermon – it kind of does. That doesn’t mean that I didn’t really enjoy it. I really, really did. I’ve been a fan of hers, for a while now, and I was really excited to read (and review) Everything.
Book Description
But it was just enough to bring her to a place of surrender, piece by precious piece. In that surrender, she found the freedom of giving everything to God. And through Scripture, community, and the work of the Holy Spirit, she gives it all over again, every day.
In this gentle and challenging book, DeMuth describes the process and the nuances that shape us to be more like Christ. Her words are clear, vulnerable, and thought provoking, and every chapter is infused with Scripture.
Most of all, DeMuth provides personal and practical evidence that there is no greater pursuit than Christ. We must surrender everything, but it does not compare to the Everything He is, the Everything He gives.
Here’s my review – in bullets:
- The book is very well structured. The way she broke it into three sections makes for a very easy read.
- I really like how DeMuth takes her readers from the head (what we think about God), to the heart (how we feel about God), then to the hands (how we’re going to live out truth).
- As someone who is still a “baby” in my faith, Everything was very challenging, thought-provoking and educational. I can imagine that it would make some “hardcore Christians” stop and question their faith.
In a nutshell, I really enjoyed this book, and would definitely recommend it.
I’ll leave you with this quote from DeMuth’s website, “…we must surrender everything, but it does not compare to the Everything He is, the Everything He gives.”
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Everything: What You Give and What You Gain to Become Like Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Challenging and So needed in our spiritual walk

Date:December 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Adoption Mama
Location:Tampa, Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished reading Everything, What you Give and What you Gain to Become Like Jesus, by Mary DeMuth. Let's just suffice it to say, I am speechless and on my knees.
Mary DeMuth speaks from experience when she challenges us to embrace all that God has for us, even in the painful valleys. She calls sin, sin. She takes those Scriptures that so many people tend to throw out to "encourage" you and teaches them from the context of Scripture, many still being able to be a source of help. She very candidly reminds us what God requires of us, but doesn't leave us hanging there. He cares so much about our spiritual life; so much more than our physical.
God moves the DeMuth family to France to minister. This was a very difficult season for Mary as she takes us through what God taught her and how He works through His children. We all struggle our whole lives in the fleshly body to overcome sin, handle the daily pressures, some which tend to take our breath away, and strive to become more like Jesus. This book is one of the best I've read to help women accomplish all of these things.
Little did I know how much I needed this in light of the next month of my life. I love the Lord and so want to be a picture of His grace. I can't go down fighting. I must embrace Him as everything.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Everything: What You Give and What You Gain to Become Like Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Book for the Holidays!

Date:November 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
carlaganell
Location:Savannah, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful book for the Holidays! Great read to bring you closer to Jesus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Everything: What You Give and What You Gain to Become Like Jesus
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Must Read for those struggling on their walk!

Date:November 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Sometimes our obedience to Jesus Christ costs others."
I know if you're a Christian, most of us can agree with that statement. Simply put following Jesus can cost us the lives of people who were once in our lives or often times keep people from truly getting to know us. Sometimes just the label of the term "Christian" is enough to steer people in the opposite direction. So just how do we keep on the path we are intended, while the world around us falls apart and points the fingers in our direction often times?
Jesus said it Himself, that persecution would follow those of us that take us the cross and follow Him. He never promised that the path would be smooth and beautiful along the way there, but there would be a cost involved. Is it one you have considered taking? Is it one you have questioned whether the effort is truly worth it in the end?
In the book, Everything by Mary Demuth, she illustrates some of those changes believers face on their walk of trying to be the best we can in virtually everything we do as Christians. She writes this book as a fellow struggler who is learning that what we think about God matters, how we allow Him to reign in our hearts matters, and how we obey Him in the moment matters. It all matters. Everything. Author and speaker, Mary DeMuth has been abused, foreclosed, abandoned, and betrayed. She has been pressed and drained till it was too much and it was enough to bring her to surrender piece by piece. In this book, she illustrates how she did it and hopes to encourage you wherever you are at in your walk right now.
Each chapter in this book includes a timeless quote or scripture reference from the Bible, a personal story from Mary's life, how she incorporates that into the Christian walk and what the Bible has to say about that situation, along with some discussion questions to draw you deeper into your own personal study or perhaps in a small Bible study group. There are chapters dedicated to worry, healing, dealing with your own thoughts, money issues and growing as a Christian. There are countless pieces of wisdom contained with these pages and ones that you will want to capture, notate and highlight to help encourage you when the storms of life come calling.
I received Everything by Mary DeMuth compliments of Thomas Nelson Publishers and TLC Book Tours for my honest review. Even great running cars need a tune up every now and then to keep it in the best shape it can be and to help keep it running smooth. As a believer in Christ, I truly believe that books like this one, are designed to encourage us and keep us running smooth and to keep up in the best possible shape we can be in our personal walk of faith in Jesus Christ. I encourage you to pick up a copy of Mary's book today and even use it for personal study or more importantly in a small church group Bible Study! I personally rate this one a 4 out of 5 stars.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Everything: What You Give and What You Gain to Become Like Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Everything...

Date:October 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
JohnDeereGirl
Location:Plainfield, Indiana
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
” The more you dare to obey , the more you experience God.” (Page 177) . I believe that this sentence greatly displays the theme and message of this book. If we truly desire to experience the effect, satisfaction, peace , and joy of being a sold-out follower of Christ we much totally surrender EVERY aspect of our lives to him. We must relinquish control and allow him to lead our lives.
Mary DeMuth honestly, yet humbly discusses this point in her book. She does not claim to provide steps towards perfect Christianity, or even pretend to perfectly exhibit thing in her own daily life. She admits it is a daily, constant struggle to hand control over to God. However, it profits table and worthwhile.
I highly recommend this book as a recourse on complete surrender. I loved Mary’s humble, yet honest nature. A great book!
Note: I received this book free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. However, my opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Everything: What You Give and What You Gain to Become Like Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Challenged me after 40 years of walking with Jesus

Date:October 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Leslie Wilson
Location:Rockwall, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Whether you’ve been following Christ for 6 months or 60 years, this book is for you. Through my Christian walk, I’ve taught Sunday school for 10 years, I’ve done Bible Study Fellowship and Community Bible Study and numerous Beth Moore studies. Each has challenged me in its own way. But Everything makes me want to shout from the top of Cowboys Stadium (I live near Dallas.) about what it means to follow Jesus and give him your whole heart. Mary especially stepped on my toes with regard to my need (desire?) for control. I needed that and dozens of other insights from this book. I marked it up as much as I do my Bible and plan to refer back to it for years to come. It’s that powerful.
Mary clearly loves Jesus. But she also desires for others to develop the kind of closeness she has with a Savior who took away her pain, hurt and shame from a devastating childhood. She wants others to understand and live in the freedom Christ offers. She hopes that through that we’ll run to Jesus with—well—everything in life.
I’ve read dozens of faith-based books—ones that offer wisdom on living out our faith. I can say without reservation that Everything tops that list.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Everything: What You Give and What You Gain to Become Like Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Book To Devour

Date:October 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a book to devour, and I've underlined a lot of it...sometimes twice!
Question? How do we know what God thinks? Gets your mind going!
Thank you Mary for this down to earth book, that makes you feel closer to God. I loved how you related the story of your daughter. How she asked Jesus into her heart and the evil voices stopped.
There are Eighteen Chapters that are divided into three sections: Head - What We Think, Heart - Who We Are, and Heads - How We Live. There is even an Epilogue: The Everything Life.
I loved the Six lettered word that changes everything...Gospel...oh how true! At the end of each chapter there are Questions for Reflection and Discussion.
This book will be kept and reused and reused.
I received this book from TLC Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Everything: What You Give and What You Gain to Become Like Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Truth.

Date:October 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pilar Arsenec
Location:New Jersey
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received an advanced copy of "Everything" to review. I also had the privilege of endorsing this beautiful book.
I read this book on my week off from vacation back in July. God spoke to me that week through "Everything". I was beyond blessed.
While I was reading about Mary DeMuth's life and experiences. I was able to put myself in her shoes. At times, I even felt we lived parallel lives.
I laughed and cried throughout this book. "Everything" made me think; it convicted me as well as challenged my walk with Jesus.
I had to ask myself the same question many times while reading this book, is Jesus my everything? If I say He is my everything, do I live as though He is?
I loved "Everything". I believe in the message and believe every Christian should read this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Everything: What You Give and What You Gain to Become Like Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book blesses your socks off

Date:October 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mari-Anna
Location:Europe
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book blesses your socks off. Just let God work on you as you read this life-changing book. Mary DeMuth has written a profound, inspiring but challenging book. And she does it gently, honestly, and invitingly. This book helps Christians to grow in grace, claim the freedom in Christ, and live their faith out loud. When Jesus is our everything, we truly are blessed beyond measure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Everything: What You Give and What You Gain to Become Like Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Everything is packed full

Date:October 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Deanna
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything is packed full of truth, deep truth - and Mary found a way to say it simply, for everyone. While some books are written more for the new or mature follower, this book is for ALL Christians who want to know how to become more like Jesus.
18 Chapters are divided into these three sections:
Head - What We Think
Heart - Who We Are
Hands - How We Live
I've highlighted my copy like crazy, and one of my favorite chapters is - Become Irresistible - letting ourselves being drawn and refreshed by the irresistible Jesus, and leading others to the well of Jesus through loving like He did.
I love that even though I've read the entire book, it's soooo rich - that each time I've picked it up again, I find even more truths and encouragement in it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Everything: What You Give and What You Gain to Become Like Jesus
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Are you ready to make Jesus your Everything?

Date:October 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Laura
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Are you broken? Confused? Worried? In a destructive relationship? There is a way out – one beautiful amazing, glorious way out – trusting in Jesus enough to let Him become your EVERYTHING. Because when you let Him take over, let Him mend the cracks, let Him figure out the solutions, trust in Him enough not to worry about the outcomes, allow Him to love you and for the relationship with Him to be what fills your heart. Then there will be happiness, joy, comforting and peace. I promise.
Mary De Muth’s newest book, Everything, delves into all of the above. The thing is, truly surrendering EVERYTHING to Jesus isn’t easy. There is so much I want to control. So much I want to hold onto.
De Muth’s book challenged me every time I picked it up. It dared me to surrender. It begged me to find enough courage to let go of all the stuff I love to hold onto. Some of the sections were straightforward or basic. Some didn’t directly apply to me today, and those I could breeze through. But some pulled at my heart, were difficult to digest. I advise reading this book a little at a time. Read until you need to stop and actually answer the questions that are running through your head, or call someone you need to apologize to, or RSVP “no” to something that’s burdening you, or get down on your knees and pray. A page here. Flip through three chapters another day. A section there – whatever makes sense to you where you are on your own personal journey. But do read it, and do consider letting Jesus be your EVERYTHING.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Everything: What You Give and What You Gain to Become Like Jesus
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good Premise

Date:October 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Karen1356
Location:NYC
I had seen some advertisements about this upcoming book but had never heard of the author. Because of the subject matter, I was excited to find it on a list to review.
The premise of the book is wonderful--surrendering our everything to Jesus that He may become our everything. The section titles as well as the chapter titles seemed so interesting at first glance. Review questions were a great source of follow up to each preceding chapter.
The author honed in on some key factors in one's life that may be casually overlooked and remain unchecked thus preventing one from making Jesus everything in one's life. Some issues included one's perception of God, control, forgiveness, healing, freedom, and finances to name a few. Her points vividly came to life with the sharing of her life's story. Some of these points left me reflective and resonated with me.
Whereas, I could agree with some Biblical points she stated, there were more often than not things I did not agree with. There seemed at times that in order to make Jesus one's everything, He had to become what one's mind imagined Him to be as opposed to who His Word states He is--Jesus dancing to Duran Duran for example. The usage of the Message translation of the Bible validated this for me. Instead of sticking to Scripture as the ultimate authority, God is trivialized to one's own "message" of Him. I did not appreciate the descriptions given in regards to Jesus as scary, untamed and speaking haunting words. It is a statement of the author's view of Jesus as opposed to a Biblical account.
I appreciate the author's sincerity in sharing her life and the power of God's love in it. Her quest to make Jesus her everything and encouragement for us to do the same is uplifting and inviting. Overall, I think she would have succeeded much better in this endeavor by encouraging the reader to elevate one's standard to God's as opposed reducing His standard to ours.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Everything: What You Give and What You Gain to Become Like Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Book If You Want Jesus To Be Everything

Date:October 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
LindseyBell
Age:25-34
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jesus became my everything when I was thirteen years old. Or at least, I thought he did.
It was only when reading Everything: What You Give and What You Gain to Become Like Jesus by Mary DeMuth that I realized I was still holding on to certain areas of my life. I hadn't really given Jesus everything.
The book is divided into three sections:
Head-What We Think
Heart-Who We Are
Hands-How We Live
In each section, Mary walks the readers through various areas they might still be holding on to. Areas like: control, worry, failure, brokenness, unforgiveness, insecurity, money, and others. Areas that, if we're really honest with ourselves, we'll admit we like to control.
Throughout the book, Mary writes with authenticity and honesty. She opens the doors to her life and, in doing so, helps her readers do the same.
Mary has certainly not had an easy life. She was abused as a child, as well as faced various other issues in her lifetime. She doesn't approach the topic as an expert but as a friend. As someone who has walked through tragedy and learned how to get through to the other side. As someone who is still learning how to give Jesus her everything.
If you want Jesus to become your everything, this book is a great place to start.
*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Booksneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Everything: What You Give and What You Gain to Become Like Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

learning what "everything" entails...

Date:October 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heidi
Location:Warsaw, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's easy to say "I will give God everything I have" ... It's much harder to live that life. With sensitivity, short personal stories, and a slice of humor, Mary DeMuth's book, Everything, took me on a journey to discover what the term "everything" entails. I especially liked the short chapters that gave me time to process her points before moving on to the next topic. It's a worthy read... several times over.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Everything: What You Give and What You Gain to Become Like Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Everything is everything you'd expect and more!

Date:September 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kurt Bubna
Location:Spokane Valley, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Occasionally, a book comes along that touches your heart, mind, and soul in an incredible way. Everything by Mary DeMuth is just such a book. She writes with skill and authenticity as she powerfully describes for us what it looks like to love Jesus with all that you are. If you long to know and love Him more, this book is for you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Everything: What You Give and What You Gain to Become Like Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Energized my walk with God

Date:September 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
AnointedWithGrace
Location:Nashville, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a longtime follower of Jesus, I was challenged and inspired by Mary DeMuth's book, Everything. Having grown up in church, I often find myself getting complacent about the familiar messages of Christianity. This book rejuvenated my faith and challenged me to see the Gospel in a renewed light. DeMuth's words deepened my understanding and view of God while allowing me to let go of some warped beliefs about community, failure, and self-sufficiency. If you need an infusion of energy into your spiritual life, grab this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Everything: What You Give and What You Gain to Become Like Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Discovering the Everything Life

Date:September 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hope Harris
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mary DeMuth's newest book "Everything" is a guidebook to discovering life through surrender. She states "an Everything life has more to do with surrender than personal triumph."Jesus is the answer to every personal challenge and issue; that pain and suffering have meaning and purpose.
As you dive into the book you will discover that three important keys: What we think about God matters, How we allow Him to reign in our heart matters, and How we obey Him in the moment matters.
Are you ready to live an authentic life as a follower of Jesus? Then buy a copy of "Everything" today!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Everything: What You Give and What You Gain to Become Like Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Book is AWESOME!

Date:September 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Leigh A Hudson
Location:Little Rock, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Mary DeMuth's book Everything challenged me to surrender even more of my life to Christ. As I read, I realized how focused I have been on having "control" of things. Everything helped me see how Jesus wants all of my life. Not just 99.99%.
Unlike a lot of Christian books, Everything teaches you how to change.
I am grateful for the opportunity to read Everything. It will be a permanent book on my shelf!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Everything: What You Give and What You Gain to Become Like Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life Changing Experience

Date:September 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jill Jones
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been blessed to be a part of the launch team for “Everything”, the newest book by Mary DeMuth. This book has been a blessing in my life. It is not written by someone who thought there needed to be another book about Jesus. This was written by Mary DeMuth, a woman who opened herself up and wrote a book from her heart about what Jesus really wants from us.
If you want a deeper relationship with Christ, “Everything” brings it together. If you want to be everything God created you to be, “Everything” inspires. Don’t come at this book without a highlighter and a pencil. It’s pointless to read this book without an open mind and a willing and bendable heart. “Everything” will change your heart and allow Christ to transform your life.
I was completely amazed at how Mary pinpointed my needs. I was in awe at how she honed in on the problems that affected me. I’ll let you in on a little secret. She is as human as you and me. She struggles. She wins sometimes and she loses sometimes, but her determination and perseverance in Christ remain strong. This is what she teaches. Jesus can be your EVERYTHING through the bad times and the good. He never forsakes you even when you feel all alone. He wants to be your everything. His desire is to walk by your side every step of your journey.
In addition to this review, I plan on blogging about my journey through “Everything” the book toward a place where I can truly say, “Jesus is my Everything.” Even though this journey will not end until my life on Earth is done, I will be able to say with confidence that Jesus truly gives my life meaning and He is my everything.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received an electronic copy free from Thomas Nelson as part of the Everything Launch Team. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>