Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House A Bride in the Bargain

Bethany House A Bride in the Bargain

In 1860s Seattle, a man with a wife could secure himself 640 acres of timberland. But because of his wife's untimely death, Joe Denton finds himself about to lose half of his claim. Still in mourning, his best solution is to buy one of those Mercer girls arriving from the East. A woman he'll marry in name but keep around mostly as a cook.

Anna Ivey's journey west with Asa Mercer's girls is an escape from the griefs of her past. She's not supposed to be a bride, though, just a cook for the girls. But when they land, she's handed to Joe Denton and the two find themselves in a knotty situation. She refuses to wed him and he's about to lose his land. With only a few months left, can Joe convince this provoking--but beguiling--easterner to be his bride?

Average Customer Rating:
4.438 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
16
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Bride in the Bargain
Review 1 for A Bride in the Bargain
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bride in the Bargain was a good book. The story line was unique. I loved being immersed into the world of logging and lumber-jacking, and the book was very well researched.
I loved Joe. He had a plan for his life, he knew how to get it, he just didn't plan on God's plan. I had to admit that I laughed quite a bit with his story.
Now Anna on the other hand, I didn't find anything to memorable about. I have read her character 100 times before. She wasn't written badly, just nothing outstanding about her.
I also wish that the author would bring God and faith into her books more often. That seems to be a re-occurring thing with her.
That being said, overall I liked the book and thought it was a fun read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Bride in the Bargain
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great, yet I could have been more enthralled...

Date:January 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Quiet Eccentric
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was wonderfully written, well researched and all in all, a good read. It did drag just a little bit, but the end has a beautiful, unexpected ending. I was swept away into a world of lumberjacks, mail-order brides and romance. Not a bad mix if you think about it... ;)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Bride in the Bargain
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Bride in the Bargain

Date:December 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interesting Book. The research for it was REALLY well done! This story had a lot of potentials...but I have to admit it wasn't exactly what I was expecting. It started VERY well, but as it kept going things just kept repeating themselves and the story kept dragging... ( I wish, God was mentioned more often..) So I skipped some parts just to get to the end. Either way, Deeanne is a TALENTED author, and this will NOT be my last read from her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Bride in the Bargain
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:October 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary A
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Deeanne Gist is an amazing author and this book doesn't disappoint! I loved it! It's romantic and believable and I loved the characters. The settling and plot are unique and this book is a gem!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Bride in the Bargain
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a nice entertaining book. I always read Deeanne's books with a smile on my face. I like the romance in her books. It's definitely a book worth the read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Bride in the Bargain
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lauren
Loved this book!! I finished this book within 2 days! You can't put it down until you find out what happens next and Deanne Gist always keeps you guessing!! Although at times the book suprises you a bit you are throughly entertained with the witty banter between the characters. And as for the other reviews that discredit this book, pay them no mind. This book reveals nothing more than what is already on TV except this book shows the godly way to handle those situations!!! You will enjoy all of Deanne Gist's books but so far this one is my favorite!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Bride in the Bargain
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 5, 2010
I've read another book by this author, "Measure of a Lady" which I think was much better written. This book didn't have the same energy, wit, tension, or character development. I still thought this was a very good book, anything by Deeanne Gist will be entertaining, just not as good as the other one I've read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Bride in the Bargain
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sherda Wilson
This was a great book, intriguing and beautifully written. There was not a moment of dullness; I fell in love with all the characters as they each had a story to tell. At the end of it all I felt empowered, hopeful, a reminder that God takes care of his own. I like the fact that Deeanne Gist's ending was unpredictable and that's what makes it incredibly different. Anna's determination not to compromise was indeed a strong attribute.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Bride in the Bargain
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Darlene Hyland
Wow, I love Deeanne Gist. I, too, make sure I have nothing on my schedule when I pick up one of her books. I am excited to see she has another one out now. I hope she doesn't take the "criticism" seriously to tone down the heat, because if you want milktoast or Pablum, read Grace Livingston Hill. If you want Christian Morals in Today's society, Gist is perfect. It is the perfect book to give to my nonChristian friends who like romance/historical novels. Thanks for Quality, not compromise.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Bride in the Bargain
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Breanna Parker
Gist is just a vivid writer. She pulls you in with the first words written on the page. Bride in the Bargain is a very charming and thought provoking book. Though Gist doesn't blatantly explain the gospel she takes the reader on a journey of a young woman's struggle with life after the civil war and her faith. It's a great read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Bride in the Bargain
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Wendy
This story is a page-turner and I read it in one sitting on a long car drive. I enjoyed it for the story line and the characters but this book doesn't belong on the shelves of a Christian bookstore, which is where I purchased my copy."Christian porn" came to my mind as I read a couple of passages where the author described, in detail, the hero's buff body. Very little ink was devoted to Christian concepts. It's a moral book and, no, they didn't cross the premarital relations line. Still, a book which is classified as being Christian should be more than just moral. The two or three scriptures mentioned seemed to be merely tokens so the book could barely qualify for the Christian book category.Bottom line: it's engaging but not at all edifying.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Bride in the Bargain
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
preachersilverswife
5 out of 5. I loved this book! Couldn't put it down. I really love the way she shows the feelings of the charecters, and the picture with Scripture. It puts such a good foundation in a relationship. This was my first reading by Deeanne Gist and I will be getting more.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Bride in the Bargain
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:December 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Liana
christian porn? I wish i could do two ratings! for godly content- 0. the mere fact it is catergorized as christian is pretty upsetting. She chose a good setting and use of storyline in one sense, but it was too unrealistic. if your looking for an unrealistic romantic book here you go. she is a good writer but even the idea of 'waiting' was pretty trashed in this book. a bit too much touchy touchy and 'i can't get my eyes off your watchpin on your chest.' i can understand people would enjoy this but for something thats worth it, this isn't. it was almost like a fairytail. they barely knew each other! but she is a good writer. only she just wrote the wrong stuff.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Bride in the Bargain
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kathleen L. Maher
Anna Ivey is one of my all-time favorite heroines. Orphaned and utterly alone after the Civil War, she carries a weight of guilt which cripples her from ever allowing love to blossom in her heart. She feels she is responsible for the deaths of those closest to her, and fears she will be the demise of anyone she lets near. Despite her poverty and grief, she is a plucky, hard-working gal, and unafraid to take the risk of joining Asa Mercers emigration of single women to the Northwest Territory.Utterly handsome Joe Denton has worked his Seattle lumber enterprise for eleven years as a single man. He loves his land more than anything, even more than the wife he lost back east before she could join him. Without a wife, however, he will lose half of his land due to the land grant rules. Married men are entitled to 640 acres, but a single man can only have 320. Desperate to retain what hes developed, he agrees to take one of Mercers brides, sight unseen.What results is a delicious conflict of physical attraction, emotional hang-ups, and a dash of mis-communication, smattered with humor and, ahem, almost-romantic rivalries. Joe believes he has secured a bride, while Anna holds to her contract as statedto work as a cook. Can Joe muster the charm and love for Anna to win her as his bride before his deadline? Many twists and unexpected delights awaited on this romantic journey. Full of tangible yearning, this story held me captive to see how the guy gets the girl. In the end, it was deeply satisfying. One of the most beautifully written and deeply characterized books Ive read in a while. Wonderful secondary characters make this a fun, and at times, laugh-out-loud book. But keep a hanky closesome parts just hit the spot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Bride in the Bargain
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2009
This book has all the perfect elements of a romantic comedy. There are several twist and turns in the story which is set back in the Seattle area in the 1860's. We have meeting of two people both facing different circumstances and expecting different results. Joe Denton thinks he is "buying" a bride and Anna Ivey thinks she has been hired as a cook. There is nothing but surprises when Joe takes her the church right after picking her up. He is on a tight schedule get married and save his land, she is trying to escape the lonely life she had led back east. They both want such different things from life but are drawn to each other. Joe thinks his land is the most important thing, but when is faced with a decision between Anna and his land he makes a shocking decision.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Bride in the Bargain
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2009
Ahhh, another Deeanne Gist historical romance! How sweet it is! I enjoyed this particular book so much, it is actually based loosely on an actual event. Asa Mercer decides to leave the West and head East to bring brides back by ship for all the lonely fellows out West. Of course he charges the fellows a head hunters fee. Then he charges the women for passage. Then he hits the women up for more half way through passage and forgets to tell some of the women that they are actually supposed to get married to a pre-selected man when they get to their destination. And this is where we meet Anna who desperately needs a new start and thinks she is going to Seattle to be Joe Denten's cook and has no idea that Joe already has the wedding planned because without a bride he will lose half his land. When she refuses to get married everything spins out of Joe's control. But now if he actually falls for Anna, will she ever believe he wants her for any other reason than to just save his land?Deeanne has such a great writing style, it sends you back in time but makes you laugh and refreshes you while you read. I loved this particular book, a couple of hers have been a little more edgy than I needed, this one was a perfect blend of edgy and sweet and total fun!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Bride in the Bargain
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Candi Faulk
Very good! Couldn't put it down!! I think Dee is going to be one of my favorite writers now!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Bride in the Bargain
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rachel Froese
excellent book! Keeps you interested until the end, so I could not put it down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Bride in the Bargain
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2009
A Bride in the Bargain by Deeanne Gist is a funny, romantic story about two people who love each other but are afraid to admit it. I thoroughly enjoyed this book from beginning to end. The author did a very good job developing Joe and Annas characters and their love for one another. It was easy to see their chemistry in the pages of this book. Their little spats and teasing were very funny and realistic. Joes crew was very endearing and added more humor to the story.Historical novels can be very good if they are done right. It must take a lot of research to put a story like this one together. I can tell that Deeanne did her homework for this book. I like how she added real people and real events in with this story. That made it more real and much more interesting. I found it fascinating, with Anna being a cook, the types of food she cooked, the way she cooked and how different cooking must have been in the 1860s. When you read this book, make sure you also read the Authors Note at the end. There are some interesting facts that add to the story.Fans of historical fiction will really like A Bride in the Bargain. I sure did like it. It is a fast read. There was a little more tension between Joe and Anna than I would have liked, but without conflict, there is not much reason to turn the page. Overall, this book is very good and I highly recommend it for anyone who wants a good love story with a beautiful setting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Bride in the Bargain
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2009
Deeanne Gist is one of my newer favorite authors, so I was pleased when I had the opportunity to read her new book. Ms. Gist has the ability to tell a story in such an entertaining and wonderful way. I was drawn in immediately, and felt well acquainted with Miss Anna Ivey of Granby, Massachusetts in no time. The year is 1865, and the ravages of the the Civil War are fresh in Anna's mind and heart, having lost loved ones in the war. Anna is looking for a fresh start, so she signs on with Asa Mercer to become a cook in Washington state. Or so she thinks.On the other side of the country in Seattle, Joe Denton has his own set of problems. He needs his late wife's death certificate to satisfy ownership requirements on his 640 acre claim. Trouble is, the court house in Maine where her death certificate was stored burned down, and the judge in Washington won't take Joe's word for it. Bottom line: Joe needs a death certificate or a wife. He has built a successful lumbering business, and naturally stands to lose a lot if he can't keep the claim. He reluctantly signs on for one of Mercer's brides - to the tune of $300. After a rough journey, Anna makes it to Seattle and meets Joe, her 'boss'. Oops, wait, why is Joe taking her to a church? Turns out Anna's contract and Joe's contract each read a little differently. Anna refuses to marry and Joe finds himself at the mercy of the judge, with only weeks to go before he loses his land. Anna and Joe find themselves in unfamiliar territory, so to speak, and the results provide humor, soul searching, and adventure. Things worked out a little differently than I expected, but it was all good, all the way. Ms. Gist keeps the reader guessing, and this is a great thing! Bride in the Bargain was a wonderful story, no disappointments here. This is a great read for summer or anytime. Can't wait for Ms. Gist's next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.