Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Love on the Line

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Bethany House Love on the Line

Rural switchboard operator Georgie Gail is proud of her independence in a man's world.which makes it twice as vexing when the telephone company sends a man to look over her shoulder.

Dashing Luke Palmer is more than he appears though. He's a Texas Ranger working undercover to infiltrate a notorious gang of train robbers. Repairing telephones and tangling with this tempestuous woman is the last thing he wants to do. But when his stakeout puts Georgie in peril, he realizes more than his job is on the line..

Average Customer Rating:
4.171 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
2
38 out of 4193%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Love on the Line
Review 1 for Love on the Line
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome story!

Date:April 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Stargazer
Location:Manitoba, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I loved this book! It had history, adventure, romance... I found it interesting how the main characters were very vulnerable sexually. They noticed things about each other, and the author wasn't afraid to mention those. My only disappointment was that there wasn't a lot about God in there. I consider it a christian book, but they didn't mention God much, and certainly didn't share any spiritual lessons or spiritual growth they were going through. I found that rather disappointing. It would have been nice to see how they dealt with their sexual attractions to each other in light of their faith. We could all use a good example of that. But otherwise, it was a fantastic book. I had a hard time putting it down, and even stole minutes from my lunch breaks to read. It always made me want more, to know what happens next.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love on the Line
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

She loves birds

Date:December 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jean
Location:Norway
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Too much birds for me. But Creation is beautiful.
The ranger story was fun and Georgie is quite the character -compassionate and with some feministic pride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love on the Line
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A fun story

Date:April 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
RobinV
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Deeanne Gist is in my top three of favorite authors. I have loved each and every book of hers that I have read. Including this one. The first paragraph had my attention and kept me reading.
I have never read a book where someone is so into birds which made this story kind of silly yet set it apart from all the rest. Add to that a switchboard operator as well and you have a unique mix in a character.
What lady doesn't want to read about a Texas Ranger?! I admit, I enjoyed Luke Palmer's story. What a twist at the end of the story that I hadn't guessed until over half way through the book. My guess was correct though I won't mention what about. You'll have to grab a copy and see for yourself.
What I loved about the story is the strength of Georgie and Luke's unwavering faith. They totally trust that God is in control, and that He will take care of all that is going on. This was refreshing because there is normally one person who has doubts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love on the Line
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Love on the Line

Date:July 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've loved several of Dee's past books and flew through the stories quickly, but Love on the Line fell flat for me. I was never quite sure what year the book was set in, though Texas came alive for me. It dragged on and I forced myself to finish reading to the end. I felt like we knew more about the birds Georgie loved so much then we did about Georgie herself. Actually, Georgie's obsession with the birds was kind of weird. Thanks to Georgie and Luke stealing lots of kisses and staring at each other constantly, their romance was based on physical attraction, without much depth. Faith was very scarce in this book too, especially compared to some of Dee's other books. The history included in the book was well researched, but that's expected for Deeanne's stories, and it felt like some history was dropped in here, dropped in there, instead of woven in as well as Deeanne usually does. Overall, this was on okay book, but Deeanne's written much better books prior to Love on the Line.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love on the Line
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This was not my favorite Deeanne Gist book. The author seemed to focus on the use of birds in fashion and this seemed to overshadow the mail plot and characters. I did love that Luke the Texas ranger was undercover lineman. And I did enjoy the ending, but for me this book just wasn't up to the authors usual standards.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love on the Line
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

*** G R O S S and D I SA P P O I N T I N G ***

Date:April 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heather Guerrero, Homeschool Mom to 2Blessings
Location:CORONA, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TOSSED IN THE TRASH - DIDN'T BOTHER TO FINISH! I agree with what the "1-star" ratings have said. This author focused way to much on bird body parts used in fashion and not on God, virtue and Christian content.
This book retails for $14.99, but I received it Free from Bethany House Publ. for my honest oppinion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love on the Line
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not what I thought

Date:April 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Doris Wright
Location:Morganfield, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The editors needed to check the contents closer. The back cover says it's 1904 but a few chapters into the book it says it's 1903. Why would you send a 9 year old to a saloon? I thought the book was going to be about the telephone and telegraph which I had never read a book about those and thought this would be good. But, the story kept drifting in different directions. The birds part was good and Luke being a Ranger was good, Bettina was a nice added touch but the story lacked something. I'm glad I didn't buy this but got it at the library.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love on the Line
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lots of fun!

Date:March 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Denise G.
Location:Mariposa, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Deeanne Gist loves to give historic details in her books. She always has a great storyline, but in the process she is sure to be historically accurate. So in Love on the Line, we learn everything we always wanted to know about turn of the century switchboard operation and Texas Rangers. In the form of our two main characters, Georgie Gail and Luke Palmer.
Georgie is a fiercely independent female who is not happy when the telephone company sends a man to work alongside her. But Luke Palmer isn’t who he seems to be. He’s really famous Texas Ranger Lucius Landrum. One would think that the Ranger would be the good guy, right? Not so! Frank Comer, train robber and head of the well known Comer Gang, is somewhat of a local legend. Somehow he has garnered the affection of the people. Lucius, aka Luke, has been sent to find the elusive Comer and bring him to justice.
As always in this author’s books, there is plenty of spark and humor found in this story. Georgie is a nature lover. Through her we learn and enjoy details about her beloved birds, such as their individual calls, nesting habits and their favorite plants. And whether or not you’re old enough to remember party lines, there’s plenty to laugh about as Georgie connects her patrons one to another.....and another....and another. Great for gossip! Georgie finds the manly Luke attractive, but his work habits are rather odd. And why would the phone company send somebody to help her who doesn’t seem to know what he’s doing? During their many conversations, Georgie shares the favorable sentiments regarding Frank Comer that frustrate Luke to no end. And she lets him know exactly what she thinks about that arrogant, mean Ranger with the RIDICULOUS name, “Lucious” Landrum. It’s pretty funny. The epitome of manliness, Luke’s affection for Georgie causes him to begin to care about things he’s never cared about before. The process is thoroughly enjoyable! Plenty of adventure, lots of laughs and great chemistry and romance. I definitely recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love on the Line
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

4.5 Stars, Not bad, Dee!

Date:February 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love on the Line! Alright, Deanne!
Interesting book, not all I expected it would be, BUT what I am sure of is that this is one WELL-RESEARCHED story, delivered in Gist's style!
Telephone operator Georgie Gail's actions might sometimes leave the impression that she is one stubborn woman. However, she's also a kind-hearted 'mother' to her precious, beloved birds, and to a poor, tomboy little girl, that she's always trying to reach out to; whom in returns, always claims that she doesn't need her help.
Miss Gail teaches Bettina that 'there's nothing a man can do, that a woman can't to do better.' Oh boy does she eat those words, when a handsome, strapping six foot 'troubleman' brings trouble, alright. (Ahem, ladies?)
Palmer is pigheaded. (A match made in heaven.) It's his way or no way. He's on a secret mission, in this story, and is ready to knock down any wall -- an woman, on his way. Uh-uh this guy walks the talk.
This book shares some similarities with Gist's Measure of A Lady. (I liked M. A.L better) You've got two independent women, who think they've got enough commotion in their lives, as it is, when love unexpectedly knocks at their doors. Throw in a couple of funny moments-- and dangerous ones, with secrets and gunshots flying, and of course red-hot romance!
Love on the Line is not too spiritual, BUT if you take a close look at the end, the characters learn an important lesson. (Starts with T and ends with work.)
Looking foward to the next one, Dee!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Love on the Line
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good book

Date:February 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
mbeth
Location:Minnesota
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Deanne gist is my favorite author by far... however this book left just a little lacking. It felt like some of the romance was missing perhaps. I still look forward to reading her next book, as I have read them all many times.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Love on the Line
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Miriam Matthews
Location:Rocky Mount, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just finished reading Love on the Line. Deeann Gist does a wonderful job of telling a story of suspense, courage and love. I have read and thoroughly enjoyed most of her books. She is a very talented story teller. I can hardly wait for her next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Love on the Line
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Disappointing

Date:January 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kayla
Location:Grand Junction, CO
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
In the past, I have thouroughly enjoyed Deeanne Gist's books, but this one left me very disappointed. I was hoping for a book with historical insight to the early years of telephones and switchboard operators as well as the Texas Rangers. This book however spent more time and research regarding birds (environmentalism) and femininism. The description on the back was misleading. To add to my disappointment, this story had no spiritual thread. The lead characters are "morally" good, and they still have imperfections, but there was no biblical teaching woven through the storyline. Also, there were moments of sensuality. When I read Christian fiction, I am looking for the story to carry a strong Biblical theme and to have a Biblical outlook on romance. This book was borderline on secular romances, and that left me disappointed and upset. It is my hope that Christian fiction does not give in to what the world says will "sell" by filling the pages with sensuality and leaving out the Biblical teaching.
What this book did nicely was the developement of the lead characters, Georgie and Luke. The obvious chemistry and tension between them made the story lighthearted and fun. There was also a wonderful amount of backstory that made the characters likable. Gist does this very well in all of her books, and it is the reason I look forward to reading her books.
In all, I would warn readers beforehand that this story is not as much about a switchboard operator and Texas Ranger as it is about a feminist bird watcher and disguised lawman. I would also warn that there is little Biblical teaching and there are moments of sensuality that is disappointing to find in what is supposed to be Christian fiction.
I recieved this book from Bethany House Publishers to review in exchange for my honest opinion.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Love on the Line
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

not riviting

Date:January 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sandra Dean
Location:ct
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A good story, light reading. Not that good a story to say alot about it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Love on the Line
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More than meets the eye!

Date:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
homesteading
Location:rural NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When you pick up a book by Deeanne Gist you know you are in for a rollicking good time. Love on the Line does not disappoint! It's full of fun and feistiness from the get go.
I love how the story starts. A train robbery by the legendary and much admired Frank Comer! Georgie shows from page one that she is curious and spunky. She's not cowering one bit when that train is robbed. In fact, she admires the robber more than the ranger. But, you know that just can't last.
Luscious Landrum, oops....that's Lucious Landrum, is a sight to behold, at least in my imagination! I'm thinking he looks way more appealing than Frank. Georgie needs to get her sights on the right man!
Oh, don't worry. She will :) Watching their romance unfold is one of the best I have read so far. Sparks fly and the romance is suh-weet!
But there's more to this story than just watching two people fall in love. As Luke's story unfolds, I couldn't help but feel like the layers of my heart were peeling back, one at a time. Here's this courageous and powerful man, living with a past he regrets. I think I knew somewhere about mid way through what the shocker was going to be, but it still brought sadness to my heart. No, I'm not going to give a spoiler!
During this time period not too many women had careers and lived alone. I loved what Mrs Patrick, a member of the Plumage League, said to Georgie in a very emotional conversation at a pivotal point in the story, “ There isn't a woman in this county who doesn't admire and respect you for supporting yourself and having your own place. We may not be able to vote. We may not be able to hold office. We may not be able to wear trousers. But make no mistake, we're not powerless.” I wanted to shout YES!
Needless to say, I thoroughly enjoyed this book! A huge thank you to Bethany House for my review copy. I am so sorry it took me this long to get it read and my review written. I was under no obligation to write a positive one, just my honest opinion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Love on the Line
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book did not disappoint my expectations

Date:December 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kaye
Location:Arizona
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've enjoyed all of Deeanne Gist''s books thus far and this is no exception. I aways look forward to her next one; she can't write them quickly enough to suit me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Love on the Line
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another winner by Deeanne Gist

Date:December 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
DC*B fan
Location:Iowa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed reading Love on the Line. As always, the historical aspect was well researched and the story was very interesting. I could hardly put it down until I finished!
In general, I love the way Gist spins a romance. Her characters are very likable, very believable, and not without flaws. There are moments of sensuality in in this story; however, those moments are by no means dirty or immoral, and the characters make wise choices when temptation occurs.
I heartily recommend Love on the Line.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Love on the Line
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Disappointing!

Date:December 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
cshell
Location:California
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First of all I totally agree with the reviewer from North Carolina! In my opinion this book was hard to get into...some of it seemed to go on forever and not in a good way! I usually hate for good books to end and this book I wished would hurry! The birds were interesting but just seemed to go on and on. I was looking forward to a story about the Telephone and Texas Rangers etc. with some spiritual nuggets! There were interesting characters, the story was there and I did enjoy learning about the birds and fashion but think the story could have been written in a more succinct fashion as the birds and femenism seemed to overtake everything! I also was surprised about the sensuality in the story and I have noticed this in other books of late. It makes me think they have been told to add this to sell more books! Wrong! A Good story does not need that! If I want that around my home I could buy secular fiction! I have enjoyed some of the authors other books so was very unpleasantly surprised by this one.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Love on the Line
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Texas Range and the Switchboard Operator

Date:December 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Top Texas Ranger, Lucious Landrum, hasn’t been able to apprehend Frank Comer, a Texan train robber who has mustered together Brenham’s citizens’ silence about where he lived by compensating them with goods from the robberies. So the Ranger headquarters’ captain decided to enlist Landrum’s services disguised as an undercover agent disguised as the telephone repairman, Luke Palmer. Luke, however, was worried about his Ranger reputation and being able to follow all the ‘rules’ a of a salesman.
Georgie Gail is the new, twenty-year-old, unmarried, female switchboard operator in Brenham who was given a home to live in, where the switchboard was located. Besides her job, her delight was her garden with a sanctuary for birds. As one of Nellie Bly’s followers, she is proud of her independence in a man’s world.
The switchboard was a party line where others could listen in, ‘rubbernecking’ as it was called back in my day, and I could easily hear the gossip flowing through the town. Where everybody knows your name, and more! Yet the community friendships and social gatherings held the town together, helping on another out.
It’s when Luke Palmer arrives at the home office and takes over part of Georgie’s space, watching over her, that the sparks fly, and not necessarily romantic! The humor of Georgie’s initial relationship with Luke was so clearly male chauvinistic! Oh, how I could relate! But a Mai tree does appear at Georgie’s door!
Deeanne did a fabulous job relating to and keeping me interested and engrossed in the story, ending it with a shocking twist! Her meticulous research payed off in being well-versed in the times and intricately written details of the different circumstances, such as hitching a horse to a cart, setting up the wiring for the telephones, or hunting down the elusive train robber and his cronies.
Not only was this a fun read, it also includes a lot of history, suspense as to the identity of the train robber, scouting him out, and Georgie’s interactions during her mysterious and dangerous encounters. Get a copy and enjoy a little fun down time!
This book was provided by Amy Lathrop of the Litfuse Group in exchange for my honest review. No monetary compensation was exchanged.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Love on the Line
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love on the Line - Fun Read

Date:December 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Houston, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Georgia Gail was a rural switchboard operator in Brenham, Texas. She was a rare woman living on her own supporting herself. Back in those days a man ran everything. This woman is adventurous and very out spoken.
The telephone company hires Luke Palmer to take over all operations but the switchboard. He is to be a lineman, sales and bookkeeper. Her being so independent she bucks everything he does. Luke is much more than an employee of the phone company and has to keep it a secret.
The author has added humor, mystery, suspense and love in this very entertaining book. This was such a cute book and fun read. I told the author my Dad was from Brenham and his last name Przyborski. It was an odd coincidence. I am a Texan and have spent a lot of time in the Brenham area so this book held my interest to say the least.
I highly recommend this book.
I rate this book a 5 out of 5.
Disclosure:
I received a copy of this book for review from Bethany House. I was in no way compensated for my review. I is my very own opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Love on the Line
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enthralling story!

Date:November 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Leorah
Location:USA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book so much! It was absolutely impossible to put down. I loved the book for it's humor but the characters were amazing! I loved Georgie's spunk and I especially loved how Luke, who had a quite a character himself, brought it out of her.
This book was enthralling and I totally recommend it! The plot and story line was great and I loved the ending! No matter how sad I was to get there, I loved how all the loose knots were tied together in the end. Amazing book that won't leave you disappointed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.