Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Truth About Grace

Thomas Nelson The Truth About Grace

While grace can seem like a simple concept, it is the really the most important aspect of the Christian faith. In The Truth About Grace, best-selling author and pastor John MacArthur explores the profound concept of grace to show how it is the church's most precious gift.
Average Customer Rating:
4.722 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 out of 1894%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Truth About Grace
Review 1 for The Truth About Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
nomer15
Gender:female
Grace is a word that tends to get tossed around in Christian circles. But how many of really stop to think about what it means for believers? John MacArthur explores this issue in "The Truth About Grace", one book in a trilogy called "The Truth About" series. He takes a detailed look at what grace means, how believers receive grace into our lives, how the idea of grace gets distorted, the implications for living a grace-filled live, and the practicalities of living a life of grace. He draws on a plethora of Scripture passages to shed light on this uniquely Christian concept, as well as looking at the Hebrew and Greek meanings of certain words to further emphasize his point.
I really enjoyed this book and exploring the concept of grace and what it means for me as a believer. My favorite chapter was the last one, discussing the hallmarks of a grace-filled life. Grace is truly transformative and every aspect of our lives should be changed once we really grasp the implications of what grace means for us as believers. I also appreciated where MacArthur makes the point to say that he promotes "fidelity to Scripture". As believers we also need to know and speak the true Word of God, not just our ideas about the Word.
This is a short book, but so very rich. It would be a wonderful book for a small group or book club to go through together as there are many points that are worthy of further discussion.
(I’ve received this complimentary book from Thomas Nelson Publishing House through the Book Sneeze program in exchange for a review. A positive review was not required and the views expressed in my review are strictly my own.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Truth About Grace
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

on Handling the Truth

Date:February 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
theTRu
Location:Northern, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Part of why I like John MacArthur is because he doesn't pull punches. He stays pretty close to the Bible whenever he expounds topically and always provides practical insights and wisdom. I'm currently enjoying a daily dose of his thoughts with Moments of Truth and I always have at least one of his books in my "to-read" stack. This series (The Truth about...), offers a few thematic quick reads (about 100 pages) that cut to the chase on some popular topics.
In this book, the topic is grace. That tricky subject we all like to claim and demand from others, but which often eludes definition. MacArthur does a pretty thorough job of defining and explaining grace and its role in our salvation and relationship with God. He also tackles some sticky arguments, such as the age-old Arminianism vs. Calvinism grudge match, and the recently revitalized universalism philosophy.
However, MacArthur doesn't stop there. He lays down some tough pills to swallow for all who follow Christ. Our acceptance of God's grace comes with a responsibility to live a life worthy of the calling. We are crucified with Christ, called to obedience and good works, and we must strive to the holiness modeled by Jesus during His life on earth.
-from TRudATmusic[dot]com[slash]raw
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Truth About Grace
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
MIMom
Age:25-34
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Truth about Grace, by John MacArthur, is a short, but detailed theological study that delves into the concept of grace. It is filled with scriptural references that help the flow of the book, while ideally forcing the reader to go back to the original source of wisdom on the matter, the Bible.
MacArthur begins (and ends) the book by defining grace, which he summarizes as "the free and benevolent influence of a holy God operating sovereignly in the lives of undeserving sinners" (p4, 104). He then systematically continues through each chapter, highlighting in detail Ephesians 2:8-10, namely that we receive it as a gift from God, it is not of our own doing, and we need to have evidence of it in our lives.
Although it seemed a bit repetitive at times (but then, repetition is the key to remembrance), I enjoyed reading MacArthur's work. I do not agree with his soteriological beliefs, but I did appreciate the amount of study dedicated to this subject, including both scriptural references, as well as multiple references to the original Greek, which is always key in understanding the true meaning and intent behind words. I also appreciated his analogies and concepts throughout this work. MacArthur questions whether "the experience of God's grace in your lives is a thrilling thing" (p43) and I think that is a key question. Though I may not believe in limited atonement, to which this book strongly advocates, I valued the reminders of my own sinful nature and how completely depraved and lost we are without the mercy, love and grace of God, and what God, in Christ, suffered for this incomparable gift offered unto us. This is not a work I would recommend without restraint, but more on a case-by-case basis.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Truth About Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Definition and a Whole Lot More

Date:July 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
JanM
Location:San Diego, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've all heard the word 'grace,' but my guess is that most of us couldn't define it. Author, John MacArthur, proposes that misunderstandings about grace have led to some of the church's greatest problems. So, what is grace?
John MacArthur defines grace in two ways. First, there is "common grace," which is a sincere token of God's goodwill to mankind in general. "The Lord is good to all, and His tender mercies are over all His works." (Psalm 145:9) Think of the last time you laughed, smiled, or enjoyed something... you can probably immediately think of a few examples.
Then, there is "saving grace." This is what frees us from the penalty and power of sin. Grace saves, sanctifies, and brings the soul to glory. (Romans 8:29-30)
I love Dr. Donald Grey Barnhouse's definition of grace, which is quoted in chapter 2, "Love that gives upward is worship; love that goes outward is affection; love that stoops is grace." God stoops to give us grace.
This book is a part of the The Truth About series, designed to give readers a focused experience that centers on God's character. John MacArthur has written hundreds of books and study guides and is known for his candid approach to teaching God's word. He has served as pastor-teacher of Grace Community Church in Sun Valley, California since 1969. I've wanted to read a book by John MacArthur since I first heard my pastor quote his writings. I'm glad I had the opportunity to read and review this book.
In The Truth About Grace, John MacArthur goes far beyond the definition of grace, dealing with how grace is commonly misunderstood and how we can live out grace the way God intends for us to. It answers some very deep questions, such as why there is suffering in the world, yet the author has a style of writing that is clear and concise. It reads as though you are chatting with a friend. Many Scripture verses are provided throughout the text, which give the opportunity for further reading and study, if you choose.
The book is short enough to read through in a day or two, but I took quite a while with it, looking up references, savoring the learning and letting it sink in before moving on. My copy is full of sticky notes marking sections I'd like to re-read later. This book works well for personal reading, but would also be great for a group study.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Truth About Grace
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Helpful for Foundational Teaching

Date:June 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nellie Dee
Location:Stone Lake, WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I chose to read this book because of the great reviews as well as my own personal desire to gain a greater understanding of grace.
I had not read any of John MacArthur's books, so I wasn't sure what to expect, although I must admit, that I was a bit apprehensive that the book might be too deep for my intellect.
Although this was not a lengthy book, it was not one to be read quickly. John explains what grace is as well as how it is received. He also tackles the ways grace has been misunderstood as well as how it has been twisted and abused.
This book is packed with punch and scripture. It was slow going. I found it difficult to get into and there were times when I did not understand either a word he used or what he had written.
I would have to say that this was not my favorite book, but I'm glad I read it. This book would be most helpful to anyone who has questions or doubts. It would a helpful tool for a newer Christian.
The author gave me a greater understanding of The Beattitudes, and this book has caused me to pray differently. It has given me specifics to pray not only for a greater appreciation for grace, but for a spirit of submission and obedience.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Truth About Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!

Date:June 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
J Kramasz
Location:Mpls MN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grace is a word we, as Christians, use a lot. But sometimes it seems we don't stop to consider what it really means. This book is an excellent resource for learning what grace truly is and for fully understanding this powerful truth. Packed with Scripture quotations, I was encouraged, uplifted, and edified reading this book.
It is short and very easy to read. Theological terms are defined, making it understanding even for new believers who may not know the "Christianeese."
I loved this book and it is one that I'm sure I will read again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Truth About Grace
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well Written!

Date:May 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
1kyteacher
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have you ever wanted to understand God's grace a little better? Well, this little book is a great resource just for that.
John MacArthur takes a biblical look at God's grace, His saving grace. He digs deep within Holy Scripture to show readers that salvation is soley based on God's grace, not the works of man. He clearly proves that we are utterly unworthy of salvation, but because God's love for us, His sovereign grace, we can be saved.
MacArthur defines grace and discusses how some misunderstand and twist it around. He also discusses how Christians live out grace.
I thought this was a well written, easy to understand book. It would serve as a fabulous resource for Bible study and and pastoral aide.
I received a free copy of this book for the purpose of an honest review through the Booksneeze program by Thomas Nelson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Truth About Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is the TRUTH about Grace

Date:May 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
LisaC
Location:Post Falls, ID
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Do you ever read a book and before you are ever done, you want to read it again? Well, I am not one of those people. I rarely read a book twice (with the exception of the Bible). Well, this is a book that I am going to read again, and again. It is THAT good.
The Truth about Grace is one of three in John MacArthurs "The Truth About" series. It does not disappoint. I have now read two of the three books, and this one is so far, my favorite.
America has twisted the doctrine of grace into a very loose and free and easy, anything goes fallacy. Yes, grace is an absolutely a free gift from God. But we abuse that, and excuse sin under the guise of grace. On page 85, Pastor MacArthur says: "Freedom from the law means freedom from sin's bondage and freedom from the law's penalty - not freedom from moral restraint. Grace does not mean we have permission to do as we please; it means we have the power to do what pleases God. The mere suggestion that God's grace gives us license to sin is self-contradictory, for the very purpose of grace is to free us from sin. How can we who are the recipient of grace continue in sin?" Amen!
The last chapter, chapter five (Grace Lived Out), is my favorite. In one section, Pastor MacArthur breaks out the beatitudes and explains them in a thought-provoking way and show's God's grace in all of it.
This entire book is rich in doctrine, Scripture and full of grace! You cannot go wrong with this book. It will be a great addition to your library.
God Bless
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not asked or required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are completely my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Truth About Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Refreshing

Date:May 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaryRuth
Location:Midwest
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really wasn't sure what to expect when I picked this book up, but I was delighted with what I got. The Truth About Grace is not a cutting-edge, ground-breaking revelation like so many books flooding the market today claim to be. Instead, it is just what the title says: a straightforward look at the fundamental truths about grace as laid out in the Bible.
The book is heavily referenced, which I love. To make it even better, the references are all from scripture rather than from other theologians or scholars.
I wouldn't call this book a heavy-duty study, necessarily (although I do plan on re-reading it in the near future), but it made a wonderfully refreshing look into the founding principle of the Christian faith. And it's always good to revisit the basics of what we believe; otherwise it becomes very easy to get lost in the details. This is a book that will be staying on my shelf for a good while, I suspect.
I received this book free of charge from the publisher in exchange for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Truth About Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Deep read, but worth the effort.

Date:May 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Eunice
Location:Iona Station, ON
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Truth About Grace is a small book, but packed with insight about the grace of God, the foundation of our very belief system. John MacArthur opens our eyes to “the free and benevolent influence of a holy God operating sovereignly in the lives of undeserving sinners”, as he uses hundreds of verses to thrill us with the richness of that grace. The author also explains how human misunderstanding or twisting of that grace has led to some of the greatest errors in theology and church conflicts.
The depth of knowledge packed into a few short pages is tremendous; the reader is reminded of his/her own sinfulness, but the goal is victory, not defeat. It is as we come to the reality that God gives grace in each and every situation, we are encouraged to submit to His authority, and claim that grace to face each and every circumstance in our lives – to cooperate with the transforming work of the God who has begun, and will complete, His work in our lives.
The Truth About Grace is not an “easy” read, but the truths it reveals are more than worth the time and effort. Take your time, take it in, live it out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Truth About Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God's Grace Explained Well

Date:May 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dorie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The entire book is about grace, but not just any grace. No, it is an entire book devoted to helping readers understand about God's saving grace. Within five chapters John MacArthur defines grace, clarifies a few misconceptions about grace, and outlines how grace looks in a life devoted to Christ. MacArthur tackles tough topics like freedom from the law, obedience, and good works all in relationship to God's grace.
The Truth about Grace may be a brief book, a little over one hundred pages, but it is jammed pack with life changing truths about grace. As part of a series, there are currently two other titles within the series: The Truth about Forgiveness and The Truth about the Lordship of Christ. I look forward to exploring these books as well.
In exchange for an honest review, I received a complimentary copy of The Truth about Grace from the publisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Truth About Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing book!

Date:May 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mazzou
Location:St. Louis, MO
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Truth About Grace by John MacArthur is a book just FILLED with amazing truths about God's grace to undeserving men. I applaud the author for explaining everything so clearly, yet staying reverent and Scripturally sound throughout it all!
I am astounded at the author's depth in such a short volume- only 5 chapters long! A definitive must-read for Christians and unbelievers alike! Experience truths as rarely heard today. Read this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Truth About Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Understanding of grace is key to Christian growth

Date:April 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
tg35
Location:Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Truth about Grace by John MacArthur
In a series of books about the fundamentals of the faith, John MacArthur explains the true meaning behind grace.
This small book (only 105 pages) expounds upon grace with a verse by verse study of what the Bible says about grace. Grace is one of the keys concepts for the believer to understand and live in his life for grace is not the license to sin but the ability to change in spite of our sin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Truth About Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
David Shaw
Location:Tecumseh, OK
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Truth About Grace is one installment in a series from John MacArthur covering the topics of forgiveness, the lordship of Christ and grace; important topics to say the least. They are taken from teachings he has done over the years and packaged into small books that one can digest quickly and come away with a deeper understanding of that particular topic.
In just five short chapters the readers has grace defined, shown how we receive grace and how it is misunderstood and twisted. John also explains how grace is realized and how we are to live it out.
As with all of John’s books and teachings he explains the topic with Scripture and counters differing views, all with clearness, detail and love. No one can read this book and come away with any questions.
I am always encouraged after I read John’s books and this is no exception. With a clearer understanding of God’s grace I am drawn to worship God more than ever. God is so very good to me even though I don’t deserve it. He works constantly in my life, empowering me to do His work. That is how John defines grace in this book: “the free and benevolent influence of a holy God operating sovereignly in the lives of undeserving sinners.”
If you are looking to find teaching to help learn about or gain a deeper understanding of grace this is the book for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Truth About Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
DUCKgirl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Simple definitions can make grace feel like an obvious―even mundane―concept. Nothing could be further from the truth. Grace is the defining feature of the Christian faith. Once we understand how undeserving we are and how much favor we’ve been given, grace becomes shocking, thrilling, inspiring, and contagious.
Best-selling author and pastor John MacArthur illuminates this profound concept with verse upon verse of Scripture. He also shows that misunderstandings about grace have led to some of the church’s greatest problems, perhaps because grace is her most precious gift.
For decades, MacArthur has encouraged countless Christians to develop a deeper understanding of the Bible and a greater respect for God’s truth. In The Truth About series, he now gathers his landmark teachings about core aspects of the Christian faith in one place. These powerful books are designed to give readers a focused experience that centers on God’s character and how it applies to their daily walk of faith.
Each page is saturated with scripture that you want to look up as you are reading to get the full context. You can use this book as an easy devotional or simply read it straight through.
Great book. I really enjoyed it. You should read it. It was fast and easy to read but with lots of depth to it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Truth About Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Truth, The Hard Truth, Nothing But the Truth

Date:April 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heather King
Location:Gloucester, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It’s a quirky misfortune when it comes to basic concepts of our faith like grace, forgiveness, and salvation. We kind of know what they are, but we stumble all over ourselves at times in an effort to define them.
Or, we sadly mis-define them, twisting and deforming “grace” until it suits our own opinion and makes life easy and comfortable, but hardly righteous and Godly.
So, when John MacArthur tells us from the very title of the book that he’ll be telling “The Truth About Grace,” I was intrigued. It especially caught my attention because I have a massive tome on grace sitting on my bookshelf that I’ve never fought my way through. MacArthur’s book, however, is more like a booklet. The book is brief (only around 100 pages) and to the point, no frills or fancy storytelling. It’s neither a theological treatise suitable only for seminary grads nor a light-hearted jaunt through the New Testament.
It’s a handbook for Christians who want to understand the truth about the faith we profess. It’s challenging and may step on the toes of those who prefer a more legalistic religion, as well as those who think grace excuses any and all behaviors, and proponents of what MacArthur terms the “cheap grace” of repeating a prayer being adequate for salvation. With an extensive discussion on the distinction between faith-based works and works-based faith, it’s a fantastic companion to the book of James, which is how I used it in my small group.
It’s also quite timely, addressing many of the misunderstandings about grace we can find anywhere from our church pulpits to our seminary classrooms and television preaching.
(I’ve received this complimentary book from Thomas Nelson Publishing House through the Book Sneeze program in exchange for a review. A positive review was not required and the views expressed in my review are strictly my own.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Truth About Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life changing; Real salvation not false assurance

Date:April 5, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is filled with a beautiful overview of how the grace of God affects all aspects of Christianity. When nearly every Christian book is preaching a false inadequate gospel, MacArthur sticks to the gospel truth and explains to readers the difference between God's true gospel and today's easy-believism gospel that doesn't even save! This book is so important to read and I cannot recommend it highly enough.
The part of this book that stood out the most to me was when MacArthur went into the difference between true salvation and false assurance of salvation and how these relate to sin. If we receive the true gospel, we will receive the Holy Spirit and this Spirit will change our hearts to desire the things of God (truly, not just halfway). By the grace of God, we are given faith, repentance and a desire to obey God's law (in deed and in spirit/heart). If we receive the false easy-believism gospel, we will never really receive the Holy Spirit but only think we have. And so all our good works will be from our own efforts. We will have no Holy Spirit to help our good works. These will be self-righteous works, just like the Pharisees. Works from the hands of human achievement. MacArthur rightly points out, the good works of a Chrisitan are from God. All good things are from God. I think it is so important to know the difference between NOT accidentally trying to earn your salvation through works vs actually living for God and because of your love for God and His things (His law), then good works naturally flow from a believer. The motivation and power from which good works flow are different in a believer and unbeliever. This is so key. Please read this book because your salvation or someone you know will need to know this true gospel and realize that they may have been tricked into false assurance of salvation all along.
Disclaimer: I received this book free of charge from the publisher but I am not required to give a positive review in exchange for the book. This is my critical review of the book as if I had bought the book with my hard earned money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Truth About Grace
This review is fromThe Truth About Grace - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life changing; Real salvation not false assurance

Date:April 5, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is filled with a beautiful overview of how the grace of God affects all aspects of Christianity. When nearly every Christian book is preaching a false inadequate gospel, MacArthur sticks to the gospel truth and explains to readers the difference between God's true gospel and today's easy-believism gospel that doesn't even save! This book is so important to read and I cannot recommend it highly enough.
The part of this book that stood out the most to me was when MacArthur went into the difference between true salvation and false assurance of salvation and how these relate to sin. If we receive the true gospel, we will receive the Holy Spirit and this Spirit will change our hearts to desire the things of God (truly, not just halfway). By the grace of God, we are given faith, repentance and a desire to obey God's law (in deed and in spirit/heart). If we receive the false easy-believism gospel, we will never really receive the Holy Spirit but only think we have. And so all our good works will be from our own efforts. We will have no Holy Spirit to help our good works. These will be self-righteous works, just like the Pharisees. Works from the hands of human achievement. MacArthur rightly points out, the good works of a Chrisitan are from God. All good things are from God. I think it is so important to know the difference between NOT accidentally trying to earn your salvation through works vs actually living for God and because of your love for God and His things (His law), then good works naturally flow from a believer. The motivation and power from which good works flow are different in a believer and unbeliever. This is so key. Please read this book because your salvation or someone you know will need to know this true gospel and realize that they may have been tricked into false assurance of salvation all along.
Disclaimer: I received this book free of charge from the publisher but I am not required to give a positive review in exchange for the book. This is my critical review of the book as if I had bought the book with my hard earned money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.