Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Valley of Dreams, Wild West Wind Series #1

Bethany House Valley of Dreams, Wild West Wind Series #1

Formats: Wild West Wind Series, Vols 1-2 , eBook

Cassie Lockwood's mother died when she was little, so Cassie traveled with her father's Wild West Show and became an amazingly skillful trick rider, likened by some to the famous Annie Oakley. When her father died, she continued to work with the show, having nowhere else to go.

Lauraine Snelling | Wild West Wind Series

Average Customer Rating:
4.316 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 out of 19100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Valley of Dreams, Wild West Wind Series #1
Review 1 for Valley of Dreams, Wild West Wind Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Quest To Find The Father's Ranch And A Home

Date:September 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lauraine Snelling in her new book, “Valley of Dreams” Book One in the Wild West Wind series published by Bethany House brings us into the life of Cassie Lockwood.
From the back cover: When Cassie Lockwood’s mother died, Cassie began travelling with her father’s Wild West Show. Along the way, she became an amazingly skillful trick rider and sharpshooter, likened by some to the famous Annie Oakley. When her father passed away, she continued to work with the show, having nowhere else to go.
Now Cassie has discovered that “Uncle” Jason, the show’s manager, has driven the show into debt, and he’s absconded with what little money was left. Devastated, Cassie decides to try to find the hidden valley in the Black Hills of South Dakota where her father had dreamed of setting down roots. She has only one clue. She needs to find three huge stones that look like fingers on a giant hand. With Chief, a Sioux Indian who’s been with the act for twenty years, and Micah, the head wrangler, she leaves the show and a bundle of heartache behind and begins a wild and daring adventure.
Will they find the valley before winter closes in on them?
In “Valley of Dreams” Lauraine Snelling has given us a quest. The life that Cassie Lockwood knew is over. Her father’s traveling Wild West Show, that she grew up in, is over as the show is bankrupt (at least that is what she has been told). Cassie’s father had always told her of a ranch that he was half owner of is S. Dakota so she teams up with Chief and Micah, her friends from the show and they set out on their long journey to find this land to make it their new home. Along the way they encounter a young Indian woman named Runs Like A Deer and she joins this little team. How do four individuals who have never had a real home learn to deal with each other? Along the way this little team encounter all sorts of adventure that serve to draw them closer to one another as they learn that they need each other in order to survive. ”Valley of Dreams” is all about a blended family as the four of them join forces with Cassie taking the role of leader and mother. All the characters are so easy to fall in love with and Ms. Snelling is such a wonderful writer that we easily get caught up in everyone’s life. These are wonderful people and we wish that we had these kind of people for our neighbors. There are no car chases, nothing blows up however ”Valley of Dreams” is exciting, interesting and will keep you flipping pages as these characters work to deal with their new set of circumstances. I enjoyed this book and am looking forward to the last one to know how everything is all going to work out.
If you missed the interview for “Whispers In The Wind”, Book Two in this series and would like to listen to it and/or the other interviews in the Home To Blessing series and/or interviews with other authors and professionals as well please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Valley of Dreams, Wild West Wind Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lauraine Snelling book lovers will love this book

Date:November 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cassie Lockwood grew up in a traveling Wild West Show, she is an amazingly skillful trick rider and sharpshooter. Her parents have both passed away and she has continued to travel with the show with "Uncle" Jason, her father's best friend and partner, continuing to manage it. Too late Cassie finds out that "Uncle" Jason was a very poor manager and he's run the show into debt and it's about to be taken by the bank. All of the money she let him keep out of her pay is also gone, except for a roll of bills he hands her when she confronts him after he announces to everyone that they are on their own, out of a job. Jason does let her keep her horse Wind Dancer and the Wagon as her father had owned those, he also lets her keep some of the animals including George, the old buffalo.
Two of the crew go with her, Chief and Micah, in search of the valley of her father's dreams. He talked about the valley in Argus, SD all of the time. They leave very early the morning after the announcement and find themselves in the middle of a blizzard and staying in one spot for several days, they get robbed, and find an injured Indian woman, Runs Like a Deer, along the way.
They reach Argus and meet with some acceptance and some resistance, the community is experiencing some cattle rustling which hasn't occurred for years. Will they be blamed for this, after all they are new in town and their group includes two Indians? Some people are friendly and a few try to chase them out of town because of the Chief and Runs Like a Deer.
Oh Lauraine! You really did leave me hanging at the end of this book. I got the second book in the series, Whispers in the Wind, to review for Bethany House but did not want to read it until I read the first one so I bought it, and boy am I glad I did. I had a hard time getting into the book, it took me until about the 8th chapter, but was so glad I continued, and people, DON'T read this series out of sequence! The way Lauraine ends Valley of Dreams, you absolutely have to continue reading.
I've read so many Lauraine Snelling's books, all of the Red River of the North, Return to Red River, Daughters of Blessing, Home to Blessing and Dakotah Treasures series and have loved them all. I think this series will be worth my time also, she has not let me down. Keep up the good work Lauraine and I would suggest if you like her writing, do NOT pass this series up.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Valley of Dreams, Wild West Wind Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting Characters

Date:July 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
KBucholtz
Location:California
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I read the back cover copy for Valley of Dreams, I was intrigued. A story about a young girl in a Wild West Show who is a trick rider and sharpshooter? That's my kind of story! But the publisher didn’t word the back cover very well - the Wild West Show part is only in the first couple of chapters. Then it's a book about a girl, Cassie, who knows nothing outside of life in the show who has to hit the road and find the valley her father bought long before Cassie was born.
Once I got over my disappointment that there was going to be no trick riding in the rest of the book, I became interested in the "road trip" aspect of the story. Cassie and her little band of travelers are a quirky bunch, from a buffalo named George to an Indian woman who is confused about why Cassie asks what her dog's name is - it's Dog. It was interesting to see how Cassie reacted to one new experience after another, growing up even more on this trip. Then there is the other story woven in, another family that you get to know and root for. I spent the last third of the book wondering what would happen when the stories collided.
While I don't usually like endings that don't wrap things up but are prompts to get you to read the next book, this ending did indeed make me wonder what will happen next. (This is the first book in the Wild West Wind series.) If you like Lauraine's other historical fiction, you'll probably like Valley of Dreams.
(Note: I was given a copy of the book in return for an honest review.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Valley of Dreams, Wild West Wind Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
cemmom
Location:Pleasant Hill, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another good, "clean" novel by Lauraine Snelling. I can't wait to read the next one in the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Valley of Dreams, Wild West Wind Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bird Lover
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was quite a departure from Lauraine Snelling's previous books, and it took me a while to shift gears from the Bjorklund family and the people of Blessing. I am looking forward to the next book in this series.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Valley of Dreams, Wild West Wind Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Quick read, uplifting and cute.

Date:March 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Janet Mcgee
Location:Southern California
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed the book. It kept my interest. I learned a few things about carnival life. I will pass this book on to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Valley of Dreams, Wild West Wind Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It needed one more page

Date:February 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ruth
Location:Clintonville, WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I liked the book. Finding a Norwegian "Annie Oakley" was an interesting twist. However this book is a cliff-hanger and it ends just when you want to know if she gets to stay on the ranch. Waiting until August for the sequel will mean I may have to review this book a bit to get into the next one. Over all, it was a great story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Valley of Dreams, Wild West Wind Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well done!

Date:February 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
kcjeanette
Location:Columbus, MS
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are a L. Snelling fan this story line is different than her other ones, however it is very well written! As with all of her books they are a must read for me. It is very easy to get into the book and once you do so you will be very glad you did! Reading about the Wild West shows was not something I would of grabbed first but since it was written by L.S. I just had to try it and I was very, very happy I did. Now I am ready for the rest of the series of these books! Job well done!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Valley of Dreams, Wild West Wind Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

New series from a great author

Date:February 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
In The Hammock Blog
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a huge fan of this author, and when I found out she was writing about a Wild West show, I knew I had to read it! It wasn't as much about the show itself, but more about the core characters leaving the show to find the Valley of Dreams. But still, with the heroine and her sharpshooting skills, her gorgeous, attention getting pony, and even a buffalo too old to perform anymore, there were enough references to the show to satisfy me.
The only drawback to the book for me was that it didn't feel complete. It felt like the first book in a series, but not one that could really be read on its own. It was like act one and two of a play, and we were cut off right before there was any real conflict.
I loved the characters, and enjoy reading stories about journeys just as much as the destination, so I did really like the book. I just would have liked for there to be just a few more chapters devoted to an ending so I would feel like there was more closure.
The first book in a new series by a fantastic author, I just wanted the end to sum up a little more of the issues.
book was sent by publisher in exchange for honest review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Valley of Dreams, Wild West Wind Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a very interesting , fast read story .

Date:January 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Leona Lu Thorson
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book continues the high standard that Laurine Snelling sets forth in her writings. It was interesting and hard to put down. I liked the courage and faith that Cassie showed in her determination to find her father's valley. I know that there will be more books in this series, but I was a little disappointed in the ending. I know this is to hold your interest for the next book in the series but to me it seemed abrupt. I still will highly recommend it to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Valley of Dreams, Wild West Wind Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Can't wait for the next book in the series

Date:January 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
grands
Location:Stapleton, NE
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am the church librarian, and it is my job to pick out several new books each year. It is a daunting task, but so exciting when the books arrive. Of course I have to sit down and review each one before it goes on the shelf! The church members have favorite authors and new ones have been introduced, so they eagerly await the new reading material.
There are those of us who still enjoy a real book with page turning suspense. Thank you for your wonderful service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Valley of Dreams, Wild West Wind Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another winner from Lauraine Snelling

Date:December 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cassie Lockwood is one of those characters that you wish existed in real life. What I wouldn't give to be able to watch someone like her shooting an apple off of a dog's head or shooting the ash off of a cigarette someone is smoking (a talent that might come in handy in convincing someone to give up smoking!). So much about her left a smile on my face, such as her scandalous actions of wearing pants to ride a horse, and her loving relationship with a Buffalo named George.
Lauraine Snelling has absolutely succeeded at creating a host of characters who are entertaining and larger than life. I found myself flying through this book, not because it necessarily had non-stop action or unexpected plot twists (though the book does move at a fairly good pace), but because I simply couldn't wait to see what the characters would do next. I was captivated by all the adventures Cassie was having, which contrasted nicely with the author's portrayal of life on the ranch in the hidden valley Cassie was seeking. The writing was strong, and although some parts were slower than others, I have no doubt that fans of Lauraine Snelling will be utterly pleased with this new series and the promise of more to come in these character's lives. My only complaint is that the end of the story leaves the reader hanging. However am I going to wait for book 2 in the series?
I highly recommend this book and give it 4.5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Valley of Dreams, Wild West Wind Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good characters and setting

Date:December 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Once the star of a Wild West show, Cassie Lockwood is determined to carry on to her father's Valley of Dreams, after the disbandment of the show. So with the help of an elderly Native American and her friend Micah they make theri way through North Dakota and into the Black Hills of South Dakota, to the Valley of Dreams.
This book was more of a character development and backstory book, introducing us to the characters that we will see later on it the series. It was slow moving at times and there just didn't seem to be enough story for the whole book. I needed more of a story to draw me in.
The characters' were likable and well developed. Though, I really wanted more of a story. I think the next book will have more going on, because there's definitely some foreshadowing going on!
Overall, this was not my favorite by this author and it was hard to get into. But the imagery was good, and the characters were well done, though I would have loved to see more emotional depth from them. I really was hoping for more depth, but in the end this book serves as a sturdy set up to the books to come.
Final Rating: 3.3 out of 5
I received this book from the publisher in return for an honest review, which I have done my best to express here :) Thank you.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Valley of Dreams, Wild West Wind Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pleasant but plodding

Date:December 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Josi
Location:Baker City, OR
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Valley of Dreams is the first book of Lauraine Snelling’s Wild West Wind Series- so prepare yourself- it will end before you’re ready, because it was clearly written with book two in mind. This is the story of Cassie, a skilled trick rider and shooter in a Wild West show, who faces dramatic life change when the show that she has been part of all her life suddenly shuts down. Cassie has known no other life, and she quickly finds out just how ill-prepared for any ‘normal’ life she is. With her deceased parent’s wagon, two unlikely friends, and an assortment of show animals, Cassie sets out to find the valley of her father’s dreams. It’s a plodding journey, though not uninteresting. It is, however, fortunate that author Lauraine Snelling also begins developing what will surely become the central theme of the second book in this series; the relationships and circumstances of the family that already lives in Cassie’s valley –particularly the two brothers, Lucas and Ransom, who are struggling (often with each other) to keep their ranch going. Cassie’s protracted wagon journey is a time of self-discovery and maturation, but there’s not a lot of interaction between her and her traveling companions. So it is the frequent change to Ransom Engstrom’s perspective and the much more interesting events and relationships in his life that keep this story appealing and give it a sense of momentum.
Overall, I enjoyed this book; the flatness of Cassie’s character and the events surrounding her is compensated for by the much more dynamic Engstrom family and the development of their story. I also enjoyed the build-up; the reader knows that Cassie will meet Lucas and Ransom, and that an exciting and uncertain turn of events is coming- and we are certainly left hanging in the wait.
The true test of a series’ book’s worth is this: does the reader impatiently anticipate the next book, and snatch it up as soon as it hits the market? I’m going to venture the guess that few readers will be impatiently waiting for book two, but once it’s released the majority will come back for more.
I received a complimentary copy of this book for review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Valley of Dreams, Wild West Wind Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Valley of Dreams

Date:December 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Review:
Lauraine Snelling is one of my favorite authors. So, when I saw that her newest book Valley of Dreams, the first book in the Wild West Wind series, was available to review I didn’t need to make the difficult choice over which book to choose. I wasn’t disappointed!
I felt in love with the main characters right away. I could feel Cassie’s nervousness as she waited for her turn to perform during what would be her last Wild West Show. As well as, her disappointment, and anxiety when she heard that the show her father had started many years prior, the only thing she knew, had come to an end.
The scene description took me there where I could see, feel and hear what the characters were experiencing.
I am looking forward to the next book in the series, as the book ended leaving me wanting to read more.
The Blurb:
WILD WEST WIND
Exciting New Series from Bestselling Author Lauraine Snelling
When Cassie Lockwood's mother died, Cassie began traveling with her father's Wild West Show. Along the way, she became an amazingly skillful trick rider and sharpshooter, likened by some to the famous Annie Oakley. When her father passed away, she continued to work with the show, having nowhere else to go.
Now Cassie has discovered that "Uncle" Jason, the show's manager, has driven the show into debt, and he's absconded with what little money was left. Devastated, Cassie decides to try to find the hidden valley in the Black Hills of South Dakota where her father had dreamed of setting down roots. She has only one clue. She needs to find three huge stones that look like fingers on a giant hand. With Chief, a Sioux Indian who's been with the act for twenty years, and Micah, the head wrangler, she leaves the show and a bundle of heartache behind and begins a wild and daring adventure.
Will they find the valley before winter closes in on them?
** Valley of Dreams by Lauraine Snelling was provided for me free by Bethany House in exchange for my honest review.
Blessings,
Tammi
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Valley of Dreams, Wild West Wind Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good First

Date:November 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Alicia
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cassie Lockwoods' life has been completely surrounded in traveling with her father and performing in wild west shows. When her father dies, Cassie is heartbroken but is determined to go forward with life and fufill all her fathers dreams. All of a sudden her "Uncle" Jason, the shows manger, tells her the show will be closing down. Jason has led the show to debt and has fled, leaving Cassie alone. Hurt and abandoned Cassie determines to find the hidden valley her father always dreamed about.
Finding her Fathers valley is not an easy task. Cassie knows the valley is located in the Black Hills of South Dakota. The only other clue she has is to look for three huge stones that look like fingers on a giant hand. She travels with a Chief Sioux Indian who has acted on the show for twenty years. He has known her father many years before and knows his way around that familiar territory. Cassie also chooses her faithful friend and head wrangler, Micah to accompany her. All Cassie knows how to do is trick ride and sharp shoot. She does not know how to cook or hunt, but is determined to arrive at the valley before the wild winter sets in. Journey with the trio as they battle emotions, weather, robbers, and their pride. Will Cassie ever find her valley or will that be a forever dream?
Ransom is frustrated living in defeat. Ever since his father passed away their ranch has been failing. His brother, Lucas is tired of the ranch and ready to forget about it. He would love to sell it but his mother has completely and utterly forbade it. Is she keeping it for sentimental reasons or is she not telling Ransom the whole story?Despite their daily struggle, there are some days of partying, building, cooking and some obvious prayer to the One above. Will the Lord ever see them through this difficulty?
I thought this book was a well written book. It was a great read. It was not romantic, action filled or suspenseful, but it was definitely a page turner. I was completely captivated with the story plot that I just had to finish the book. Cassie is such a brave fun loving character you will immediately befriend her. I think what makes this book so enjoyable is the down to earth characters. You immediately form a bond with them and want to see what becomes of them. Just when you think you know everything there is to the book there is a surprise ending. You definitely have to read the second book to complete the story. I would have like the story to have more action and romance. It being the first in a series I hope each book surpasses the next.
I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my honest review.
If you would like you may purchase this book in CBD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Valley of Dreams, Wild West Wind Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Slow reading

Date:November 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:N.C
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Valley of Dreams is slow and not very interesting. It has a lot of filler which takes up most of the story. Just when it might get interesting it ends. Maybe the next book will be better
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Valley of Dreams, Wild West Wind Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Inyokern, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Lauraine is a gifted author. Many of her books are in my study. But this story left me unsatisfied. The plot see-sawed between Cassie and her band redoing the same things, as the Dakota family redid their same things; ending with Mor's, "welcome home". Great tease to book two, but Chief gave away that connection. There was very little progress. Yes, a farm deed and valley. One dance, one bias guy, one accident, one Indian situation, one drinking confrontation, etc.; would have sufficed. I did enjoy the book, just not as much as I had hoped for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Valley of Dreams, Wild West Wind Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Promising beginning of a series . . .

Date:November 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sasha
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was super excited to have the opportunity to review Lauraine Snelling's newest book, Valley of Dreams. It is the first of her brand new series, Wild West Wind. I grew up on one of her series' for young adults during my horse loving phase and always appreciated Snelling as an author.
After all these years, I still loved her knowledge of horses. I appreciate the way she writes about them and the terms she uses. That being said, I know most of you aren't reading this to know about the author's knowledge of horses!
The book itself was the start to what I am sure will be an interesting series. It was ironic, because I just read a negative review of this book yesterday that was negative because the commenter thought that the book was going to be more like Water for Elephants. That was actually my first thought, too, that this was a transformed version of that book, which *I* really didn't care for. It starts out with a traveling Wild West Show setting. However, that setting quickly passes and is not the focus of the story. So, don't go into the book expecting a version of that book. And if you didn't care for Elephants, rest assured, this is nothing like it. ;)
The book ultimately only receives 4 stars from me. I have decided it is really hard to review the first book in a series. I think it is going to be a good series, but at the end of the day, I have finished the book and don't know how it's going to end. The book seemed to drag in some places, but I do think it laid a good groundwork for coming events. I did really like some of the characters, which is always promising. My review ultimately is that the jury is out until I complete the rest of the series.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher and was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.