Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House A Place to Belong, Wild West Wind Series #3

Bethany House A Place to Belong, Wild West Wind Series #3

As winter settles over the ranch, the Engstrom brothers are much on the mind of Cassie Lockwood. The way Lucas smiles at her should set her heart to tripping. But it doesn't. Shouldn't there be some attraction to him if they are going to be married? His vow to make her love him does not seem to be working, no matter how considerate and charming he is.

Average Customer Rating:
4.467 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
14 out of 1593%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Place to Belong, Wild West Wind Series #3
Review 1 for A Place to Belong, Wild West Wind Series #3
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Boring!

Date:October 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mossy
Location:Louisville, KY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
A Place to Belong was one of the most boring books I have ever read! It seemed like all the main characters did was cook. This series should have been combined into one or two books and not had a third one. One and two were a lot better than this one. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys very boring books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Place to Belong, Wild West Wind Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I Thoroughly Enjoyed the Story

Date:July 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cassie Lockwood is still recovering from the gunshot wounds she received while trying to protect herself and her friends during the night-time raid where her show wagon and former home was destroyed by fire. Despite her wounded arm she is determined to pay off her debts. To that end, she is practicing her shooting in order to compete in an upcoming contest that she has been invited to, and she is determined to win.
Ransom has noticed how Lucas has matured since Cassie’s arrival and gives Lucas his blessing to marry her. Although Cassie doesn’t love Lucas, other than the way a sister might love a brother, she accepts Lucas' proposal. Everyone is thrilled that Cassie will officially be joining the Engstrom family. But Cassie wonders if marrying Lucas is the right choice or if God has a better plan?
During the months that follow, Ransom starts his furniture business with the help of their friend and neighbor Arrnet; and the family prepares to have paying guests stay at their ranch after the town’s Wild West Show. Cassie participates in more shooting contests, but with the Dakota winter Cassie wonders how she will be able get enough shooting and trick riding practice in before the upcoming Wild West Shows.
A Place to Belong is the third and final installment in the Wild West Wind series. I have always enjoyed Lauraine Snelling’s books. Her writing draws me into another time and place, and her characters come alive within a paragraph or two. Even though I thoroughly enjoyed the story, I do not want to say good-bye to Cassie, Mavis, Gretchen, Ransom, and Lucas, as well as the rest of the cast of characters that I have had the pleasure to meet and grow to love as I read through this series.
**A Place to Belong by Lauraine Snelling was provided for me free by Bethany House in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Place to Belong, Wild West Wind Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Nice Conclusion

Date:June 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Alicia
Location:New York, NY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
A Place To Belong, the conclusion to the Wild West Wind series, is what Cassie has always wanted- a home. After spending her entire life performing in a wild west series, then moving into a home of strangers, Cassie has never had a place to call home.
I definitely enjoyed the conclusion to the series. I feel like the author did a great job tying up all loose ends. This book was my favorite out of the three. This story included spiritual topics, romance, and action. The series did seem to drag on to me, but I think that is just the writers style.
All the characters were easy to love. By far Mavis, the matriarch of the family was my favorite. She was mother, friend, teacher, cook, and she exemplified a truly God-filled woman.
I enjoyed my stay in South Dakota, learning about country life, city life, and the spiritual life. I give A Place To Belong a 4 out of 5.
I received a complimentary copy, from Bethany House, in exchange for this independent and unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Place to Belong, Wild West Wind Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Valley of Dreams and Whispers in the Wind are the first and second novels in the Wild West Wind series. Here, readers get to read the third installment of the series with Cassie Lockwood as the main female character in A Place to Belong. At one time, Cassie belonged to a traveling Wild West show with her parents and many other people, including her father’s partner Jason Talbot. Now, Cassie has found the place her father long desired to retire to since he became half-owner of the Bar E ranch.
In one night, Cassie loses all her personal affects when riders descend on her small cabin, firing shots and the setting ablaze her wagon. The one remaining link and treasure from her parents is lost, and Cassie is wounded. Now, she can no longer travel nor work on her trick riding or shooting skills until her arm heals. In the meantime, she begins to learn what it takes to make a home, cook meals and run a ranch. At one point, Cassie is all set to be married when the unexpected happens, and though disappointed she realizes something was missing in the relationship with Lucas…love.
Cassie is feeling like she still must earn her way even as part owner of the ranch, but she has no clue how to do any jobs. From milking a cow to baking bread, the one thing Cassie wants above all is a home. Not just any home, but one filled with the love of the Lord as well as a loving husband. Will Cassie see the delight of her heart become a reality? Read this novel to find out all the action, adventure and conclusion to the dreams of Cassie Lockwood.
I really enjoyed reading this novel as the theme about family and the acceptance of so many different people made it special. The conglomerate of various people, differing in ages, backgrounds and personalities keeps the story engaging. I also thought the characters having faith and some not so sure about their faith was a real reflection on real living. It was interesting too that the author gives readers introspective moments into some of the thoughts and internal wrestling some players were going though.
One can appreciate the simple pleasure of sitting back and getting lost in a romantic, adventure-filled story. As I was reading, the scenes were changing between city life and ranch life, showing the contrasting lifestyles and changes that were occurring in both places but in different ways. The author, I believe, highlights the impact a mother with faith can have, balanced with giving room for her grown kids to make their way. The mother figure is an example of how mothers can be prayer warriors and receive strength by reading the Bible and then, in turn, being a conduit to share her knowledge and faith with others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Place to Belong, Wild West Wind Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
nirak
Location:Albuquerque NM
Age:55-65
Gender:female
It's very refreshing to read a book with high moral standards and a book that's not afraid to credit God with good things that happen in our lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Place to Belong, Wild West Wind Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Charlene Dalrymple
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed the mix of romance as well as mystery and excitement that the book presented. Of course, I am a great fan of Laurene Snelling, having read all her books. She does an excellent job of presenting the historical in a fictional way that is most enjoyable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Place to Belong, Wild West Wind Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Final Decisions About The Ranch and Romance

Date:May 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lauraine Snelling in her new book, "A Place To Belong" Book Three in the Wild West Wind series published by Bethany House brings us into the life of Cassie Lockwood.
From the back cover: The Exciting Conclusion to Lauraine Snelling's WILD WEST WIND series
As winter settles over the Engstrom ranch, Cassie Lockwood has a lot on her mind. The way Lucas Engstrom smiles at her should set her heart to tripping. But it doesn't. Shouldn't there be some attraction to him if they are going to be married? His vow to make her love him doesn't seem to be working, no matter how considerate and charming he is. And then there's the look she caught him sending Betsy Hudson at church one Sunday. Are she and Lucas drifting apart?
During a short trip away, Cassie realizes she must make other plans for her future. But what will the Engstroms say when she announces plans to leave the ranch and join a Wild West show?
In "A Place To Belong" Lauraine Snelling brings the whole Wild West Wind series to a conclusion. The title pretty much says it all as this is something that Cassie Lockwood has always wanted. Her life in her father's traveling Wild West Show is over and she has come to love being a part of the ranch with the Engstroms. She was even going to marry Lucas. When that failed Cassie decided it was time to join another Wild West show. However there are others involved and her decision does not just affect herself. "A Place To Belong" is all about finding yourself so that you can also find rest where you are which is something that Cassie needs to learn. All the characters are so easy to fall in love with and Ms. Snelling is such a wonderful writer that we easily get caught up in everyone's life. These are wonderful people and we wish that we had these kind of people for our neighbors. There are no car chases, nothing blows up however "A Place To Belong" is exciting, interesting and will keep you flipping pages as these characters work to deal with their new set of circumstances. I enjoyed this book and while I am sorry to see it end I am looking forward to the new series from the very talented Lauraine Snelling.
If you missed the interview for "Whispers In The Wind", Book Two in this series and would like to listen to it and/or the other interviews in the Home To Blessing series and/or interviews with other authors and professionals as well please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Place to Belong, Wild West Wind Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another winner for Lauraine Snelling!

Date:May 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cassie Lockwood is recovering from her gunshot wound on the Engstrom ranch, which she co-owns. She is learning what it's like to have a home, how to cook and how to take care of a home. Lucas Engstrom declared his love for her before he even met her, he'd seen her in town and fell in love then found out she was a co-owner of their ranch since her father had passed on years ago.
Cassie knows she isn't in love with Lucas but doesn't refuse him, just asks for time to think. She is also learning to have faith in God and asks if she is supposed to marry Lucas. Her feelings are more like brother-sister love not like husband-wife but she does know that a lot of couples actually fall in love after being married for some time. When Cassie finally tells Lucas she'll marry him, it seems like he's acting funny, won't even help to plan the wedding, just keeps saying anything she wants is fine with him.
The wedding is set for New Years Eve and things are falling into place. The morning after a wonderful Christmas it is discovered that Lucas has disappeared and no one knows where he's gone. When he isn't found and doesn't return the wedding is called off.
Now what is Cassie going to do? Will she depend on her arm getting better so she can win some shooting matches, will she find a travelling show to join up with, or will she continue to live in the Engstrom home with no Lucas, feeling like Ransom hates her but Mavis and Gretchen love her and want her to stay?
Lauraine came through again with a great book that you don't want to put down. I love Lauraine's writing style and look for her books whenever I'm online or in a book store. You won't be disappointed with this one at all. Wonderful job Lauraine!
Thank you to Bethany House for providing this book for review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Place to Belong, Wild West Wind Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love Western stories-must read...

Date:May 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Paula Osborne
Location:Ga
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Place to Belong by Lauraine Snelling
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Series Wild West Wind by Lauraine Snelling book #3"A Place to belong"
When their show went bankrupt, Cassie was devastated that her Uncle would let them all go, she left with an old wagon-her horse "Wind Dancer" -George the old buffalo who was gentle as a lamb and little else...Cassie soon found an old letter and realized that her father had been part owner of Bar E Ranch in South Dakota, she had a place to go.
Cassie Lockwood knew all there was to know about a wild west show, how to shoot-working with buffalo and other animals but here in South Dakota where her father Adam had lived and worked she was like a "fish out of water"...Cassie had always yearned for a home in one place and a family to share things with but this was going to take some getting used to.
Lucas Engstrom wanted to court and marry her soon after he met this wonderful pretty girl. He loved her spirit and truth be known they were "kindred spirits" because Lucas was a go getter,he was not happy being at the ranch working each day and would many times find reasons to be gone from the ranch. He was not like his solid take charge responsible brother Ransom, they were as different as night and day. She come to care for the family but knew in her heart of hearts that she cares for Lucas like a brother not a husband. She loved his mother Mavis who becomes like a mentor teaching her all she needs to know about running a home in this wild country. Many a marriage had been good ones on a close friendship that turned to love later through years of working together in a home, could she marry Lucas and become part of the wonderful ranch she is fast coming to love....
Cassie was a quick learner and did many of the chores well but she was more comfortable with her horse "Wind Dancer" whom she had been a trick rider with in the shows then in the home.
As time moves along Cassie feels as if she has found a place to Belong on this ranch with these wonderful people yet her heart yearns for the "Wild West Shows" she had been a part of for so long.
Can she have both? read and learn how hard times shows them they can. I enjoyed reading this series from Lauraine
View all my reviews
I was given this book by Bethany House Publishing for an honest review, thank you for the opportunity to read this wonderful author...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Place to Belong, Wild West Wind Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another series closes leaving you wanting more...

Date:April 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
simplysherryl
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did not realize this was the end of the series when I agreed to read and review the book. However, within the first two chapters I found that I understood the characters and had a good grasp on the major events in the previous books.
I enjoyed reading this book. So much that I plan on reading the first two in the series and having my daughters read the series too. The author takes time to set up the details of everyday life on a ranch in South Dakota. I felt I had experienced some of the challenges of life and living on a ranch. I found her attention to details exceptional.
Of course it’s a love story… blew the plot did I? I found this book to be an easy read, yet one that I didn’t want to put down. I loved the interactions of the characters and how their lives intertwined. I would recommend this book to others that are looking for a comfortable, comforting series to relax with while reading about life in another time and place. This series would make a great gift or group reading project.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Place to Belong, Wild West Wind Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A Place to Belong is the third book in a series. I did not realize this when I originally began reading the book, however, I found that after a couple of chapters, I understood who all the characters were and had a good idea of a few major things that had happened in previous books.
I enjoyed this book. The author is very thorough in her details of everyday life on a ranch in South Dakota. After reading this book, I definitely felt I had experienced the ups and downs of life back then. Her attention to details is amazing.
The two characters who fall in love sure did take a long time to figure that out! I prefer a little more tension between the characters as the attraction builds. However, when the author got around to getting the two of them to realize their feelings, I did think she did a good job.
All in all, an enjoyable book, and I am glad I read it. I received a copy of this book from Bethany House to read in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Place to Belong, Wild West Wind Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good story

Date:April 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
JoyAnne
Location:TN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't usually read books set in the Wild West but I'm such a fan of Lauraine's I read all of her books! She always has a great storyline with good strong female characters. The is the last in the series and has Cassie deciding to marry Lucas, a man she doesn't love, for her it will be a marriage of convenience. Since arriving at their home Lucas' father notices the changes in him and encourages him to marry Cassie.
Hoping to win enough to pay off her debts she enters shooting contests and is getting pretty good at it. Winter is coming quickly, wedding plans are being made. This may be Cassie's biggest mistake ever or does she change her mind?
I really enjoyed this story, the characters were very likeable, the plot was good. A fun read!
I received a copy of this book free from Bethany House in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Place to Belong, Wild West Wind Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jeanne Z
Location:Wenatchee, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When a Lauraine Snelling novel comes to me—as did this one as a review copy—I look forward to an easy-reading, feel-good story line that reminds me of the industriousness of hardy immigrant stock. Past novels have given me strong women characters who just get stronger. This one gives me a woman with gaps in her past from growing up in the traveling show circuit. Because I buried my parents as a young adult, before I married, I felt a kinship with the “I’m all alone” feelings of main character Cassie Lockwood. She learned that the slender thread of security in property doesn’t satisfy like the greater security in strong family relationships. In some ways this book reminded me of the classic prairie romance, “Love Comes Softly,” in that Cassie believes she will “make do” with a marriage with someone she doesn’t really love “yet.” The Prodigal Son twist at the end was a surprise, yet not a surprise, and packs some tough lessons about families finding their strength in forgiving. In some ways I was disappointed by the outcome in the epilogue, thinking this whole new twist on “love comes softly” could be developed in a sequel book. Overall, the book delivers a good story about a young woman willing to be a learner, both of life’s practical skills and faith’s life-changing lessons.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Place to Belong, Wild West Wind Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Place to Belong is the third book in the "Wild West Wind" series by Lauraine Snelling. What a satisfying ending to this series!!! I wish there were more books in this series because I love reading about Cassie and the Engstrom's. :- )
Cassie Lockwood is settling in for her first South Dakota winter at the Engstrom's house. She has been practicing for more shoots and her arm is slowly, but surely, getting better. Cassie receives an invitation for another shoot and is determined to win so she can pay off her debts.
Ransom sees how Lucas has changed for the better since Cassie showed up and tells Lucas he has his blessing to marry her so when Cassie accepts Lucas' proposal everyone is thrilled that Cassie will officially join the Engstrom family. Cassie doesn't love Lucas, but after praying about it she believes it is what God wants her to do.
Over the next few months, Ransom starts up his furniture business, the family decides to have paying guests stay over after the Wild West Show, and Cassie takes on more shooting contests. But with the Dakota winter how will Cassie get enough shooting and trick riding practice in for the Wild West Show? Will marriage to Lucas work out or will it be the biggest mistake of her life?
This whole series is awesome! Try it out! You won't be disappointed. :-)
I was given this book from NetGalley (courtesy of Bethany House) as long as I review it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Place to Belong, Wild West Wind Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best story of the Wild West Wind series

Date:March 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
BettyD
Location:Fort Myers, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
To be honest, I kind of struggled through the first two books of this series; felt they were slow moving and too involved in detail. But the third book made up for it! It moved much faster and though I suspected how it would end, had no idea how they would get there. I wish the first two books had been as gripping and heart-warming as the third one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.