Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Bold As Love: What Can Happen When We See People the Way God Does

Thomas Nelson Bold As Love: What Can Happen When We See People the Way God Does

We live in a diverse cultural landscape where Christians, Jews, Muslims, and atheists view each other with suspicion. Must it be this way? Challenging you to a new understanding, Roberts shows that we don't have to fear others' beliefs if we allow our lives to preach our faith and reach out in love as Jesus commanded.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 1090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bold As Love: What Can Happen When We See People the Way God Does
Review 1 for Bold As Love: What Can Happen When We See People the Way God Does
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

bold as love review

Date:May 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
"Bold as Love" by Bob Roberts Jr, is a pretty good book. It's about a pretty sensitive subject, however. Roberts writes about his church in Texas that starts a multifaith movement involving Baptist, Muslim, and Jew. The churches are not actively converting, rather they are sharing. But if you want to convert, they are more than willing. The book follows Roberts' journey both in Texas and around the world on his mission to serve. It is his belief that Christians are to serve others, not be served by religion. This book could lead to a lot of healthy, and quite frankly, violent discussions. It is an interesting book, in both theory and writing. I enjoyed it. I can see where it would tick some people off. I received this book for free from the publisher, Thomas Nelson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bold As Love: What Can Happen When We See People the Way God Does
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great book to challenge the way we live

Date:December 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brenda Risner
Location:Charlottesville, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Subtitled “What Can Happen When We See People the Way God Does,” Bold as Love takes a candid look at how to truly love your neighbor. Mr. Roberts points out that it’s easy, particularly in our American culture, to love those who believe like we do, who value the things we value, etc. But the world is becoming smaller every day. We have Christians, Muslims, Jews, and Atheists living next door to one another. On page 27, Mr. Roberts says, “Loving others isn’t something we do when we agree with them, or when they’re like us, or even when we like them. Loving others was made for when it’s hard, scary, and near impossible.”
Frequently using Paul as an example, Mr. Roberts wrote, “Serve not to convert; serve because you are converted.” He is not saying that you don’t care if the person(s) you are serving choose Jesus, but that they don’t care how much you know until they know how much you care. When you show that you’re going to love and serve someone despite your faith difference, when you show respect for their beliefs, they will be open to discussing faith differences. Just be sure “truth is wrapped in boldness, but with humility, not arrogance or hate.” (p. 39)
I found this book encouraging, particularly as I currently have Hindu, Jewish, and Muslim neighbors. It was an easy read and while it was not as organized as I would have liked, it did all come together as a treatise on developing respectful and loving multi-faith relationships. There are other nuggets to be found as well. Witnessing to and praying for your other-faith friends is certainly part of the process.
This is a great book to challenge the way we live in and interact with the world as we enter the new year. Filled with stories of his own encounters with people of other faiths, Bold as Love is a call for Christians to live radically, love boldly, and serve unconditionally, as Christ did.
A complimentary review copy of this book was provided with no expectation of a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bold As Love: What Can Happen When We See People the Way God Does
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love your neighor.... all neighbors!

Date:December 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
HS Mom of 4
Location:Georgia, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How do you relate to your neighbors who are different from you?
No, I'm not talking about how much money they make, what fancy toys they have,
or even their ethnicity.
How do you spend time with neighbors who are not Christian?
Maybe they are Muslim, Hindu, Buddhists, or atheist. Do you keep your distance or just say a passing hello if you meet to cross the street at the same time?
We are no longer separated from other cultures by our countries or nation. With our global economy, many faiths live in America and most likely just down the street from you. In Bold as Love, Pastor Bob Roberts, Jr. shows us what is looks like to truly love our neighbor regardless of faith, culture, or nationality.
Bob Roberts, Jr. is the founding pastor of Northwood Church in Keller, Texas. He has made it his mission to not only teach about sharing your faith with non-Christians, but has also introduced it to his own congregation. We are reminded that we need to first have relationships with others. Without spending time with people, we cannot share the gospel of Jesus Christ. Why would they listen to us? He and his church have teamed up with a Jewish congregation and a Muslim one. The not only serve the community together, they also share worship service time. Not for the sake of converting each other, but to better understand the other faiths and respect the people and their beliefs.
Bob Roberts, Jr. journey has taken him to many corners of the world which he shares in Bold as Love. We can live out our faith while forging relationships with non-Christians. It just takes faith!
It is a whole new world just outside your front door.
Go and embrace others and spread God's love
through acts of kindness and frienships!
I received a complimentary copy of Bold as Love from Handlebar Publishing and Thomas Nelson for my honest opinion. I received no further compensation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bold As Love: What Can Happen When We See People the Way God Does
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Bold As Love is VERY bold!

Date:December 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sandy Sandmeyer
Location:Pinellas Park, FL USA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was given the opportunity to review the book “Bold as Love” by Bob Roberts, Jr. There were so many wonderful things that I read in this book. Moving beyond the ‘love God, love others’ Great Commandment of the New Testament, “Bold as Love” teaches you how to put it into practice.
Bob Roberts, Jr. tells how he steps out in faith to get to know and build relationships with leaders in the local Jewish and Muslim communities. He puts is so well, “I am convinced that few will respond to our gospel message if we are combative and attacking, [but] many may be interested if we humbly share the truth of the Gospel in love, within the context of relationship.”
Bob challenges everyone to start getting to know people to work for a comment good for the community. He tells a story of an multifaith gathering at the church that he pastors and the Muslims visiting started to sign up for projects that his church was leading. This experience lead to people working side-by-side and getting to know each other. We forget that before we can convert people, they need to see our faith put into practice. We need to give them a reason why they should want to be a Christian.
What really touched me was Bob’s definitions of interfaith and multifaith. Interfaith, in Bob’s words, “it’s the nebulous, fuzzy-feeling; it’s a we’re-all-going-to-the-same-place-just-different-roads religion, a kind of Kumbaya experience”. Multifaith is “the idea that we all had unique faiths that we wouldn’t compromise, but that we could still get together and get along”. It’s more than tolerance; an indulgence for beliefs or practices differing from or conflicting with one’s own. It’s meeting someone different than us and making friends and working with someone to do good for the community. It’s not about seeing people as a target for evangelism, but focusing on how you can change the world around you.
I love what he said to a group of Muslim imams, “Because I have rejected Mohammed as a divine prophet, I cannot go to heaven. Any imam and most Muslims would tell you that. But it doesn’t mean they’re bigoted or evil. It means that they value the truth of their Qur’an. In the same way, I cannot reject my Bible and what it teaches.” This level of honesty allows open conversation and the ability to learn about one another because we are speaking the truth and not trying to convert one another. It also forces us to put aside offense so that we can truly learn about one another.
Christians have forgotten that we were called to make disciples and we’re failing to be Jesus to those whom we have the greatest contact with. Because of this, we are actually failing in our major task because of fear, political correctness, and fear of offense. We seem to forget that we all proverbially put on our pants the same way. Their woman bear the children, their men are the leaders of the household, and we are all families. Just just have a different religious belief.
I highly recommend this book to any Christian who wants to live their faith boldly and live it as Jesus called us to live it. If you want to learn how to be friends with people of different faiths and live your faith out loud, then you should read this book. Being a Christian isn’t just a Sunday morning life style. It’s an everyday, 24/7, 365 habit, practice, behavior, conduct. Choose to treat your faith that way. And, if God loves the whole world, then shouldn’t we?
Be bold, my friends and love EVERYONE boldly!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bold As Love: What Can Happen When We See People the Way God Does
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Find More Joy in Your Life in Christ

Date:December 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
samcivy
Location:Eugene, OR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bold as Love
What Can Happen When We See People the Way God Does
Bob Roberts, Jr. ©2012 by Bobby Gene Roberts, Jr.
Thomas Nelson Publishers
ISBN 978-1-4002-0420-5
182 pp plus notes (ppbk)
Bob Roberts, Jr. has experienced the methods he’s promoting in this book--effective ways to spread the great news about Jesus to those of other religions. He explains how to gain the respect of Muslims, Hindus and folks in any other group you encounter.
Roberts is totally honest with these people that he is a committed follower of Jesus, and he explains that when asked. He’s learned that by being a true friend and being open about his own beliefs, others are likely to ask what he believes and listen to the Word of God.
This author has learned to be filled with the joy of the Lord and the love of God that attracts others who may want to know more. This book can encourage all Christians to find a fuller life in Christ for themselves by reaching out in the power of the Holy Spirit, as Bob Roberts teaches.
Bold as Love is an easy to read, well-written, encouraging and challenging book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bold As Love: What Can Happen When We See People the Way God Does
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A New Way To Look At & Live In Our Community

Date:December 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bob Roberts, Jr. in his new book , “Bold as Love book coverBold as Love” published by Thomas Nelson shows us What Can Happen When We See People the Way God Does.
From the back cover: As Christians, we’re called to love our neighbors—all our neighbors. But is that even possible? And can we truly love them well?
People often think of their neighbors as those already belonging to their “tribe” or community. It’s safe, it’s easy, and it doesn’t often cause conflict—politically or religiously. But in today’s world, everyone and everything is interconnected globally in an ever-changing cultural landscape, while religious strife runs rampant. Is it feasible for Christians to live their faith boldly and lovingly while entering into a true relationship with “neighbors” of other faiths, both locally and globally?
In Bold as Love, Pastor Bob Roberts shows you what it looks like to live out your faith daily in the global public square among people of other faiths—Jews, Muslims, atheists, Hindus, Buddhists. While he admits that it can be challenging to engage people of other faiths whose beliefs are as strong as yours, he demonstrates how to enter into this critical dialogue in a radical yet loving way. “We have to learn to speak with one conversation and give the same message everywhere to everyone,” he says. “We are commanded to love God and love others. And sometimes that requires risky boldness.”
Roberts invites you to respond to this call to live a life of fearless and loving engagement with the world. So take the risk! Your faith wasn’t made to live in isolation. It’s something you do face-to-face, heart-to-heart, hand-to-hand. Whether you are in a suburb of Houston or a village in India, put away the fear and suspicion and, instead, answer the call to radically love others the way God loves. And get ready to see your life and the lives of those you touch—your family, your community, even your enemies—transformed!
I don’t know about where you live but where I live the nationalities seem to be expanding. Within just a few blocks of my home there are Vietnamese, Koreans, Chinese, People from India, Pakistan, Central & Northern Europe as well as the Middle East. Quite a diversity wouldn’t you say? Leads to a number of new restaurants to try out with lots of new recipes. This diversity also leads to lots of different religious beliefs in the area. Is this something to be frightened about? Should we shun them? Absolutely not! We need to embrace them. How can we learn about anyone unless we make friends? They may not believe what we believe however they are human just like us and we all need friends. Shutting people out of our lives only leads to hurt feelings and walls that take a long time to break down. Bob Roberts, Jr. shows us how to build multifaith communities where we can all get along and live and work together in prosperity and harmony. “Bold as Love” is an eye-opening experience that if taken and used will greatly open and enrich your life and those in your community. I think you will want to give this book to family and friends so that they can have a new perspective also. They will always remember your gift and thank you for it. I recommend this book highly!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Handlebar Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bold As Love: What Can Happen When We See People the Way God Does
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

open your mind to receive the teaching.

Date:December 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:momentswithmylord@gmail.com
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bold as Love by: Bob Roberts, Jr.
Pastor Bob Roberts shows the reader what it looks like to live out our faith daily. He challenges us to see people the way God sees people. He also addresses that our faith was not meant to live in isolation we are to go out and share the gift of Salvation. I enjoyed some portions of the book but I did not agree with other parts. I did understand that Pastor Bob Roberts Jr. wants us to see people as God sees others and that is a challenge, but he also challenges the Christian to respect the people of other faiths. Not to build a wall and think your faith is all there is. At first I thought that Jesus said He is the way the truth and the light, no one comes to the Father but through Christ His Son. I do believe that but also we need to remember Jesus left us the example of the woman at the well. He did not tell her she was wrong. He drew from what she knew, and I am sure that we all experienced the same. So in the end God wants us to relate to those on what they know and present Salvation not shove it down the person's throat. I did enjoy the book after I kept and opened mind and receive the message. I pray you learn from this book. God Bless.
I received this book for free from Thomas Nelson I was not influenced to write a positive or negative review. It was solely my thoughts after reading Bold as Love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bold As Love: What Can Happen When We See People the Way God Does
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Can we live peacefully in a multifaith culture?

Date:December 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We are alive at a time when God has allowed us to live near all kinds of people who need to know the love of Jesus. We no longer need to travel thousands of miles to minister to Muslims, Hindus, Buddhists, or those of other religions. They probably live on our street, Roberts reminds us.
He believes these immigrants hold the keys to our future. These neighbors enable us to connect to the rest of the world. Loving and building relationships with these people allow us possibilities not before seen.
But are Christians prepared? It is not easy to learn a new way of relating to people of other faiths. Loving others doesn't mean we will agree with them. It may mean clearing up misconceptions about each other.
Roberts writes, “This book is about what our congregation has experienced while becoming missionaries in a multifaith world, and how it has deepened our love for Jesus and enhanced our witness for him.” (27)
He addresses fears to overcome and describes congregations meeting together. He shares many of his own experiences and explains how to connect with Muslims.
He explores existing in multifaith communities. He says the concept is perfect for religious conservatives, is for the common good, is honest, creates lasting relationships, and deepens our faith.
Roberts ends the book with suggestions for challenging your own tribe. He adds three things pastors must do if they want to be a force for peace in their communities and the world.
He concludes: “Where is Jesus? He is where we take him. Where are we taking him? He didn't enter us to stay cooped up, but to be bold as love.” (182)
This is certainly a challenging book. Roberts has developed a good relationship with an imam, a rabbi, and their congregations in the DFW area. He has been welcomed in Middle East countries.
I am troubled, however, when I compare his experiences to those of Christians in Muslim dominated cultures.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from a publicist for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bold As Love: What Can Happen When We See People the Way God Does
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Review of the book Bold as Love by Bob Roberts, Jr

Date:November 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
britluver20021
Location:Arnold, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I didn't really enjoy this book because while this person claimed to be a preacher, he misapplied many parts of the bible and when he claims to be preaching to people, he isn't even telling them the truth.
I do like the quote on page 16 which reads " We cannot practice this bold love of people unless we first focus on GOD. I reach out to someone I don't know, not because I love that person-I probably don't, because I don't even know him or her- but because my bold love is directed at Jesus and following his commands to love others." I also like the quote on page 87 which reads " Non-christians are used to empty promises groups. Who's for real? How can they tell how serious we are? Only sweat equity will tell them how serious we are. "
I also like the quote on page 114 which says " When I'm asked hard questions about my faith that can be controversial or seem politically incorrect, I do my best to stay calm, smile, and answer the questions honestly." I like this because the bible answers questions such as is it ok to the gay, is abortion right or wrong,etc. And people make not like the answer but the bible clearly answers all and any questions we may have.
My one major complaint is how the author says that Jesus and GOD are one person and talks about the trinity but that is simply not true. There are many examples in the bible that show otherwise. GOD had the virgin mary give birth to the son Jesus and perform miracles on the earth. Another example is how Jesus got baptized at one point and Jehovah GOD sang down from Heaven how proud he was of his son.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bold As Love: What Can Happen When We See People the Way God Does
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Swimming Upstream is Worth It

Date:December 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Darien Gabriel
Location:Summerville, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished reading Bold as Love by Bob Roberts, Jr. Wow. This quick-reading and engaging book both inspires and paints a picture of what could and should be in the church today. As a pastor myself, I am energized as I reflect on it!
What an impassioned plea to pastors, Christians and other ordinary people to love each other as Jesus did. But this isn't your ordinary "love your neighbor" book. This one is radical.
Roberts is an evangelical pastor in Dallas-Fort Worth, TX. His church is heavily flavored by his passion to make disciples of Jesus Christ of all nations as described in the New Testament. And he has been. But he way has not always been popular in even his own church.
Roberts has been swimming against the American evangelical stream for quite some time. A stream that makes it hard to love people who believe differently than you do. It's not just American Christianity--it's just American to keep your distance from others who believe differently than you do.
Roberts points to Jesus' example as the better alternative. Jesus taught and modeled loving all people of all ethnicities no matter what they believe. And he called his followers to do the same. All of them.
Roberts shares story after story of both his local and global activities to make disciples. At one point he even says that while he still believes in planting churches he has turned his emphasis to making disciples.
His local and global activities are both personal and strategic. They are personal in that he is literally befriending Muslim Imams, Jewish Rabbis and other religious leaders. Strategic in that he wants his church to do the same.
He also talks about the important differences between interfaith and multi-faith initiatives. Interfaith, which he doesn't like, seeks to bring various faiths together under a watered-down set of agreeable beliefs that takes the teeth out of all of them. Multi-faith is what he embraces. People from various faiths openly and honestly transparent about their key differences but doing so in a respectful, peaceful and friendly way.
He spends time sharing how he shares Jesus with these new friends of his too. It starts with serving them. They have a saying at his church. "Don't serve to convert. Serve because you've been converted." This sounds like Jesus! He clarifies that this isn't serving instead of witnessing (he doesn't like witnessing without serving either). He believes we "show and tell" God's love. That leads to conversations about Jesus that are genuine, rich and transforming.
But sometimes they don't lead to converts. Roberts doesn't lose sleep over that. He knows that God is in control of salvation. He reminds his readers that it's not them but God who saves people.
Roberts does a tremendous service to the church in writing this book. He throws down the gauntlet to pastors to love those in other religions (whether they convert or not) and to lead their congregations to do the same. He acknowledges that it will likely get you into hot water with your own tribe. But I think he smiled as he wrote that you'd be in good company (Jesus) if that happened.
This book is also unique (to me) in that while it's written primarily to Christians, it could easily (and inoffensively) be read by Muslims, Jews, Buddhists, Hindus, atheists and those of other religions. His humility, stories, humor and honesty is totally disarming.
Read this one and then hand it to someone else. Then go make a friend who isn't a Christian. Highly recommended!
Disclaimer: I was given a free copy of this book to review. I was not required to give it a positive review. I did choose it to review as I love what Roberts is doing and read his previous book Glocalization and liked it. So I was eager to read it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.