Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House A Constant Heart

Bethany House A Constant Heart

Born with the face of an angel, Marget Barnardsen is blessed. Her father is a knight and now she is to be married to the Earl of Lytham. Her destiny is guaranteed...at least, it would seem so. But when her introduction to court goes awry and Queen Elizabeth despises her, Marget fears she's lost her husband forever. Desperate to win him back, she'll do whatever it takes to discover how she failed and capture the love of a man bound to the queen.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
4
1 out of 333%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Constant Heart
Review 1 for A Constant Heart
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Better than expected

Date:March 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sqwiggles
Location:California
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my second book by Siri Mitchell. I am surprised at how much I enjoyed it. The main reason I didn't give it a 5 is because the way the point of view changes from Marget to Lytham was confusing at times. Usually authors start a new chapter with a new person's perspective and include the name at the beginning of the chapter. Sometimes I had to read a few sentences before I knew who's perspective I was reading.I enjoyed that it wasn't predictable and it wasn't like a typical love story. The era was really fascinating and fun to read about. It was easy for me to get lost in the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Constant Heart
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Shallow Love Story

Date:January 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mary
This was my first time reading a book by Siri Mitchell and sadly be my last.
I was extremely intrigued of the lifestyle at court during Queen Elizabeths reign. This book gave me a great description of what both men and women of that time went through to receive earthly rewards and a "prosperous" life. As I was reading through it, I was waiting for some christian aspect in this depressing story to appear and was highly disappointed. I felt Marget was some hypocrite of a Christian, if one at all. Im not sure why this book is being sold as a Christian book, with not once the characters showing any sign of a personal relationship with Christ.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Constant Heart
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Disapointed

Date:June 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
amazed
Location:Ontario Canada
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very much looking forward to reading this book was very disappointed.
I didn't like how the author wrote in first person for both the main characters. It made it difficult to follow who you were reading about and I continually had to skip forward to see the context to understand who was speaking. I read all the time so this is very frustrating to me to have to put so much effort into a novel.
Also, I didn't like the Earl of Lytham's character, he was difficult to relate with and very frustrating for the better part of the book. He was overly selfish and treated Margaret like a leaper because she was beautiful.
Margaret’s character was noble in spirit, but frustrating in deliverance. She was also trying to improve on the Earl’s station and assist him whenever possible, but she seemed hopelessly naïve and wasn’t willing to stand her ground.
All in all I was quite disappointed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Constant Heart
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brittany
Being a History Ed major in college, I love to read historical fiction novels for recreation. This was the first time I have ever read a book by Siri Mitchell and I was not overly impressed. I learned interesting facts about fashion of the day and how deadly it can be, but there were some other things the author presented as fact that I was certain were not valid. First of all, the author said Queen Elizabeth's father, Henry VIII had 7 wives when he only had 6. I was not certain that Queen Elizabeth herself was actually portrayed correctly. Yes, she was was controlling and jealous, but I think some things were exaggerated for effect. To me this book never really seemed to go anywhere, and semed to appeal only to emotion. It was the same problem all throughout with a bunch of random scenes that had no bearing on the story. In my opinion it was not very well developed. The story idea was an excellent, but I don't think it reached its full potential. Like many others I could hardly see where God was an important part of the character's lives, and though scenes between Marget and Lytham were never explicitly described I thought it enough said just by the little that was said and some of the innuendo in it.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Constant Heart
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
becky
I was very disappointed in this book. Although it is filled with historical comment, it has too much crude language and sexual content. I bought it to put in the church library but cannot do that with a good conscience. I would rate this more of a cheap dime store novel.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Constant Heart
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sandi Jasso
I am still trying to figure out just what role God played in this story.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Constant Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2009
Siri Mitchell has penned a compelling and moving story of a young girl striving desperately to please her husband and appease the whims of an jealous Queen. The pursuit of physical perfection as decreed by one woman resulted in disfigurement, miscarriage and early death of many women. Set in the sixteenth century during the reign of Elizabeth 1, A Constant Heart sadly reveals that not much has changed in five hundred years with society today still enforcing an unnatural expectation of acceptable beauty and woman, young and old alike, tormented by it's pursuit, even unto death.Written beautifully in the first person, Siri has captured a sixteenth century feel to the dialogue without resorting to thees and thous. Descriptions of the court and society of the day are excellent and Siri's characterisation shines. Lytham, is particularly well developed, torn between his devotion to his Queen and his blossoming love for his young wife. His desperation to climb the social ladder to gain wealth and acceptability is palpable and seems destined to fail.There are many contemporary truths exposed by this novel which are challenging yet the story is ultimately uplifting. A Constant Heart is an excellent start to Siri's new series and I eagerly look forward to Siri's next book, Love's Pursuit, set in a Puritan community in Massachusetts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Constant Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rachel Hauck
What an incredible book. Well written, well researched and such a vivid picture of Queen Elizabeth's court and how it impacted the women in her kingdom.Mitchell is an skill story teller. Spiritual themes are woven in the lives of the characters. In the love of Marget for her husband -- giving her all to please him, to please the Queen. Are we all not called to be as devoted and wholehearted to Jesus?The story ends with a satisfying, happy ending of love prevailing.I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Constant Heart
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Hannah Martin
This book really disappointed me because there were hardly any references to God and the whole time the main character was worried about whether her husband loved her and was faithful to her or not. It depressed me because she was constantly doubting and trying to make herself fit in, something I've struggled with and tried to overcome.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Constant Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2009
i hesitated in ordering this book and now that i have read it, i can't believe how much i would have been missing had i not read it. first of all, the historical information was fascinating and also given in a way that made you always want for more to be said on the subject. (i usually skip these parts in other books). i loved the romance between the two characters, it was so tender and so real and the fact that they were married made it even more romantic. especially the scene where they are flirting by the language of food..... i have never read about a couple quite like them. and finally, after i had finished it, i found it had contained in it a great deal of spiritual messages, but they were woven through it so gently and the plot was so fascinating, that i almost missed them. the message about being who God made you to be and putting His priorities as your priorities was really strong. also, the vanity of the queen quite shocked me, as i had known her to be a very beloved queen, but finally i realised the facts mantioned in the book are the result of what begins as a "little sin" and slowly becomes this monster that finally, most probably, killed the queen. (you know, the poisoning through the dyes on her hair and face) i recommend this book very highly as a christian book, as a historical novel and as a beautiful romance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Constant Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tori Smith
This book was an amazing read. I didn't want to put it down. It was so well researched and very well written. Siri Mitchell has become one of my favorite authors.Her ability to capture you in the story is so powerful that you never want to leave the characters and the story. Marget and Lord Lytham are some of the best characters I've ever read about. They are so real that you never want to lose them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Constant Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Melanie Dickerson
From the author of Chateau of Echoes comes a very well-researched novel about Queen Elizabeth and her court life. It is also a love story involving an arranged marriage. Imagine marrying someone youve never met, and having him take one look at you and shun you. Imagine being a virtual slave to a queen who holds your future in her hands. One false moveincluding falling in love with your husband or wifewill ruin you forever. Marget wants nothing more than to please her new husband, but he seems to want nothing more than to hate her. She desperately wants to be accepted by the queen and the members of her court, but they seem to hate her without cause. How is she to win her husbands love? How is she to figure out the rules to the game of court? She does eventually figure it out, but not without grave consequences.Wow, this book is truly unique. And if youre a true historical romance fan, you cant help but lose yourself in the story and the details. It is a bit depressing to learn how Queen Elizabeth treated her subjects, and what the heroine and hero, and everybody else, has to go through, but I promise it has a happy ending. And the romanceooh la la! It is very romantic, in spite of all the sad things the heroine goes through. I have to recommend this book. It will stay with you for a long time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Constant Heart
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cara
This book is a fascinating look at the court of Queen Elizabeth the First. I found myself swept into the book, with the author's attention to speech, customs, and dress making it easy to find myself in the throes of the dream. I enjoyed this book even as it twisted and turned through hard places like the stillbirths and miscarriages of the heroine. This book also confronts the lengths women have gone through to look beautiful as well as the consequences of those choices. If you like novels that place you fully in a time, even though they deal with hard topics, then this is one you will like.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Constant Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Siri always makes me think about our culture and other cultures when she writes. I could see how women over the centuries have done just about anything to look beautiful. I found that concept fascinating and told many people about this story because of it. What a great premise! I'd always wondered why courtiers had such a high rate of infertility. If you wanted to be a mother, chances were better if you stayed far away from the queen and her court. I also found the portrayal of Queen Elizabeth to be very well done. There was so much richness and depth to this story, I could go on for hours. But in short, the definition of love and faithfulness is explored in detail in A Constant Heart, and the way the author showed the many different perspectives was nothing short of brilliant. If you love realistic historical fiction that is honest and contains some edgy content, you'll want to devour this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Constant Heart
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Stormi
Mitchell's book was a different sort of read for me. I like historical fiction, but usually they have more of a romantic theme in them. Mitchell's book to me was just historical fiction with a bit of romance. A Constant Heart was about the courtier's during the reign of Queen Elizabeth I. Marget is a beautiful woman in a world where beauty is not allowed. She marries a courtier, Lytham, who thinks that beauty is a curse not a blessing and despises his wife for her looks. Marget encouraged by her faithful friend Joan, tries hard to fit in and make her husband love her. When she sees that the queen dislikes her she does what she can to change her appearance and gains some affections from her husband. Love is not allowed in the Queen's Court, as the courtiers are only suppose to be in love with the Queen. How can Marget keep a constant heart, her virtue, her love for her husband in a world where friendship, trust, virtue is bought and sold every day you are at court.Mitchell does a great job of weaving a great story into a historical setting. I will admit that I wasn't sure about this book at first, but I like a challenge when it comes to reading. I love giving all books a try. I love this era in history and I found it very interesting to learn about, I believe this would have been a hard era to live in and Siri Mitchell really made great characters that you felt for as time when by. By the time I was almost done I was really curious about how it was going to end and that is what kept me going.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Constant Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
L Dickinson
This book was a wonderful read. Unlike some Christian novels that sanitize the characters and tie everything up in a pretty ending, These characters were allowed to be real. Lytham and Marget find themselves caught between what they want to be and what the reality of their lives will allow. I found the historical aspects intriguing and left me wanting more. The reader was given a behind the scenes look at life in Queen Elizabeth's court as well as an opportunity to see what courtiers sacrificed to be near the Queen. The descriptions of the time period are detailed and beautiful. A great read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Constant Heart
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Creative Madness Mama
I give this book three out of five stars, but in a split manner. If I were to rate the book solely upon my enjoyment and escape into it's historical aspects, it would be two stars; yet if I were to rate this book on the detail and descriptions of this historical journey at hand it would four stars. Thus, I settle at three. Starting out reading this book, I was quite distraught and not at all drawn in. The cover is gorgeous and the summary sounds interesting, but in the reading I was just not there. I searched the internet for some reviews to find what others might have thought and was shocked to find all but poor reviews, minus one that only praised the author and said nothing about the book. With all that said. I would not suggest this book as a light hearted Christian Historical Fiction to escape into the lives of those in a courtier of Elizabeth I. It is just not quite in that category. By most standards it is not a Christian Fiction as God is not mentioned in much reverence or detail nor is his role at all hinted to more than any secular novel. However, as a book for historical and educational value, I could easily suggest and see this being read and used for vast discussions and open minds and curiosity to know more about British history. So as confusing as this must sound, it solely depends upon why you wish to read this story as to whether or not you would enjoy it. That is up to you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Constant Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Barb Salzer
Siri Mitchell is an excellent author. One thing I love about her books - not only does she entertain me, she also makes me think. A Constant Heart gives us a look into another time and place with the same questions we have today. Am I willing to be honest with those I love? What price is worth paying for what I want? To whom should I listen?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.