Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House She Walks in Beauty

Bethany House She Walks in Beauty

For a young society woman seeking a favorable marriage, so much depends on her social season debut. Clara Carter has been given one goal: secure the affections of the city's most eligible bachelor. Debuting means plenty of work--there are corsets to be fitted, dances to master, manners to perfect. Her training soon pays off, however, as celebrity's spotlight turns Clara into a society-page darling. Yet Clara soon wonders if this is the life she really wants. Especially when she learns her best friend has also set her sights on Franklin De Vries. When a man appears who seems to love her simply for who she is and gossip backlash turns ugly, Clara realizes it's not just her marriage at stake--the future of her family depends on how she plays the game.
Average Customer Rating:
4.659 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for She Walks in Beauty
Review 1 for She Walks in Beauty
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Both Entertaining as Well as Heartbreaking

Date:December 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I have always fancifully wished myself in some other era other than my own - preferably one with gorgeous fashion, busy social events, and an enviable last name - but after reading Siri Mitchell's tale of Guilded Era New York with it's tight corsets and marrow shovels, I think my wishing days are over. Siri's portrayal of a young 17-year-old debutante hoping to catch the hand of uber-rich Franklin de Vries was both entertaining as well as heartbreaking. Truly, this novel overflowed with opulence and finery, but the cost such beauty exacted was far too high. Sadly, our culture has not changed over the years in spite of the fact that women no longer wear lacing corsets, but we are still surrounded by the noise and imagery of whether we are "pretty enough." I applaud Siri for tackling such a difficult subject matter amidst the backdrop of the Guilded Era, but I shouldn't be surprised. She has become one of the best authors in Christian historical fiction, and I always appreciate that I gain a bit of history paired with an exciting tale in every one of her novels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for She Walks in Beauty
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A MUST for all girls!

Date:November 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Leorah
Location:USA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an absolute MUST for all girls! This is the first book I read by Siri Mitchell but it most certainly won't be the last! It taught me just so much about what girls were expected to do in the 1890s. What their life "purpose" was and that was to catch the best match possible. What I found extremely interesting though was how they caught that match. They went through like, so much to "be the best!"
The book not only gave me all information I ever wanted to know about what life was like for girls in my great, great grandmother's days but it gave it to me in a way I wanted more. In a fun and interesting way that kept me going.
Now those are just the educational purposes to buy the book. The book in itself was amazing!
I loved the plot and the characters were just so real! It kept me going and it was so hard to tear myself away from the book! In the end, I was sad to finish the book but loved the ending and I realized just how much I have to be grateful for. Besides everything I have, I am never going to have to give up my dreams to marry a man for my family. That is something totally worth being thankful for!
Anyway, as I said I loved the book! I totally recommend it. This is a new favorite of mine and I will be buying a copy for several friends. I am so excited about this because this is a book that I feel safe giving to a friend with the strictest of parents who guard everything their kids read. Not like that is bad or I would ever give them a book I wouldn't read to my mother but at times it is really annoying. I want to share my taste for books yet have never really been able to because romances are basically out of the picture for them. I mean they can read romances but those ones never seem real to me. I have read them and they all seem so dry and the oldest who is fifteen daughter, is starting to really complain about this. She wants to read richer stuff. Not trashy stuff or anything but she has been begging me to find a book that gives the "love butterflies" but is completely safe and is something her mother would feel OK to read to her and she to read back to her mother. This one fits the bill! It is completely safe while giving off the butterflies everyone (especially teen girls!) loves and at the same time, it has some good lessons in there. I just thought I would explain this because this is a book no one should miss out on and I want everyone to feel "safe" to give this to someone else or to read it themselves. It is an amazing book! Love it so much and am so excited to read Siri Mitchell's latest book, "The Messenger!"
P.S. I LOVE the cover! All Siri's covers in fact...take a look at them if you haven't! They alone speak for the book...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for She Walks in Beauty
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Glad to Help
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved this book about young ladies "coming out."
Learned alot about the upper society and that young girls were expected to 'debut" to find the right husband
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for She Walks in Beauty
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A refreshing Christian Historical Fiction Romance

Date:May 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Holly Weiss
Location:New York
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
She Walks in Beauty examines the societal role of a debutante in the gilded age of 1890, New York City.
Seventeen year old Clara Carter begins her debutante preparation at the insistence of her prickly aunt.
Motherless Clara dreams of going to Vassar College, but feels compelled to follow the prodding of her father and aunt to snag the heir to a fortune in order to rescue her family from ruin.
Clara resents putting aside her studies in Latin, mathematics and Italian for lessons in deportment, dance and singing. Endless instruction in appropriate conversation topics, use of tableware are nothing compared to the torture of wearing her corset to bed to trim her waistline to eighteen inches.
Her friend, Lizzie Barnes, on the other hand, longs for the debut as much as Clara dreads it. Lizzie’s utter acceptance of the “coming out” process provides a stark contrast to Clara’s reluctance.
Mitchell’s depth of historical detail is impressive and she paints a clear picture of 1890’s society. Clara’s character has many dimensions. “Why do we have to pretend to be people we aren’t?” reveals her dilemma. Her social concern for those in the slums of New York is admirable, but these plot threads are thin. Clara’s struggle between accepting the superficial requirements of society and doing what she deems honorable is the most compelling story in the book.
The book is full of description: the aunt’s three fat, fluffy Pomeranians, dance steps, use of the correct fork, gown design and fabric. Short on character development, She Walks in Beauty does give us a clear picture of the trials and triumphs of young girls entering their debut. A most interesting character is “The Tattler,” the author of the society page of the city newspaper.
She Walks in Beauty is a light and an easy read, and seems best suited to young adults. Young people will enjoy the endless discussions of dresses, private balls and buttoned gloves. They will relate to the fear of not fitting in and being snubbed at parties. The School Library Journal approves the book as appropriate for Grades 8 and above.
Reviewed by Holly Weiss, author of Crestmont
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for She Walks in Beauty
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Stunning!

Date:March 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Erin McIlroy
Location:Harrisburg, PA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was absolutely amazing! The story of Clara Carter is my story and I was so able to identify with her feelings, as I am sure any 18 old girl who reads it will be. Clara thinks too much about what others think of her. She worries too much about boys and is blind to the one that God really has for her. She does not understand the implications of what God loving her really means for her life. This book taught me to place myself in God's hands, as I do everything. It is one of my favorite historical Christian fiction books, and I read it twice in three days! I absolutely adored it, and I'm positive you will too.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for She Walks in Beauty
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jona
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“She Walks in Beauty” by Siri Mitchell
This book takes place in the Gilded Age in New York. Young Clara Carter is forced into putting her own passions and desires away, to follow the strict regimen of becoming an eligible society girl for marriage. This had a great and wonderful ending. I would recommend this book. This book was given to me from Bethany House Publishers.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for She Walks in Beauty
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An eye opening book

Date:October 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Adrienne
Location:U.S.A
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had expected something different, but I was not disappointed. A very eye opening experience to women in corsets and the high price of beauty.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for She Walks in Beauty
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Corsets!!!

Date:October 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Martha
Location:Kalispell, MT
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oh, how I was shocked at the lengths women would go to for perceived beauty…Siri Mitchell goes into great detail to show you the history of corsets, and the mutilation of the female body for beauty as well as the consequences there of. Ms. Mitchell does not disappoint us as this book is filled with historical facts and info, and for me was the best book I have ever read by her. It made me think how all through history women have mutilated themselves in the name of beauty and what we think is beautiful. I look around even now, in this age of “freedom” and still see the excessive dying of hair, tattoos, piercings, exposure of skin, and see we have not not come very far in all of history. Throughout history, everyone is the same, trying to live a certain way to achieve a certain place in society and at what cost?
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for She Walks in Beauty
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2010
Siri Mitchell is such a unique writer, you can't help but love her. She really does make a book different than what you would imagine, which just makes it all the more interesting. This was a great story!! It's ideal in having Clara choose what's best for her life and for her family. In that time era to against what your family has planned is an absolute "NO-NO." I really enjoyed this book and there wasn't anything that disappointed me!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for She Walks in Beauty
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sara Cart
After finding out that the most desired bachelor in all of New York as returned from Europe looking for a bride Miss Clara Carter is thrown head first into a world she does not understand nor want to be a part of. After hearing about her families lost money at the hands of the De Vries family Clara reluctantly accepts her widowed aunts tutelage of the finer parts of catching a husband, specifically Franklin De Vries. Yet, as she journeys through the New York ballrooms two things weigh heavily on her mind the poor suffering of the immigrants and Franklin De Vries brother, Harry.Out of the three I disliked this novel the most. It was boring. The book was predictable and the discussion questions were lacking. They reminded me of the questions that young children get in Sunday School. Every answer is Jesus, no thought, now real discussion. I usually enjoy stories about Victorian America and Victorian England, but the story was lacking. The reasoning for the heroin's family to force her onto the marring block was not a valid one even for the upper class of Victorian New York. Also, it lacked the Christian substance that I had hoped for. Sadly, I cannot recommend She Walks in Beauty.
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for She Walks in Beauty
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
LaTanya
Set during New York's gilded age, "She Walks in Beauty" shows the pressure young women faced to meet family expectations of marrying well. They not only had to learn appropriate social etiquette, but also secret fan gestures, proper dance steps, and wear that torturous corset. This story follows Clara Carter as she is forced into the social season a year early just so she can try to win the hand of one of the wealthiest heirs. Clara had dreams of going to college and had secretly hoped to skip the social season all together.Amazingly, Clara goes from a shy girl to a beautiful, confident woman. She becomes the societies hottest debutante and has a really good shot at securing a proposal from the most sought after bachelor. But Clara is also a romantic, and struggles with following her family's demands or following her heart.This book will make you think about true beauty. During this period of time, there was so much focus on looking outwardly beautiful even if there were health consequences. This is eerily similar to the period of time that we are living in now. It is amazing what we will do to look and feel beautify when it is inner beauty that really should define us. This was one of the best fiction books that I have read in awhile. Once I started reading, I could not put the book down. I will definitely be reading more of Siri Mitchell's books.This book was sent to me by Bethany House Publishers as part of their book review program. I was sent a free copy of this book to review. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for She Walks in Beauty
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2010
SHE WALKS IN BEAUTY bySiri Mitchell is an Inspirational historical fiction set in 1891 New York City during the Gilded Age.It is well written with great detail and depth. It has deception, forgiveness, romance, wealth, privilege,friendship, fashion, finding ones true self, keeping ones faith,desires of the heart and family obligations. It gives insight into the social class of the Gilded Age. Clara is bright, intelligent, pretty, passionate,and is a pawn in her father and aunt's game to right a wrong to their family.She is having her debut into society and is being forced to marry the heir to a banking kingdom. She does not realize the deception until after her father is dead. She would sacrifice her heart to help her family, but soon realizes she can not do what they expect of her. Franklin, the heir to the famous De Vries fortune, is selfish, arrogant, a womanizer, and Clara does not like him every much. Harry, is the youngest of the De Vries's son, he is friendly, handsome, down to earth, and Clara finds herself attracted to him. Lizzie, Clara's friend, finds herself attracted to Franklin, Lizzie enjoys the social scene where as Clara only endures it. They have their friendship tested because both of their families want the young women to marry the famous heir Franklin. This is truly an insight into our tragic Gilded Age history with all its glamor, parties, beautiful gowns and injustices to the lower social class. What women did back then to be beautiful will make you wonder why beauty was so important to the upper social class. If you enjoy the Gilded Age of 1800 New York City you will enjoy this one, for it has drama, injustice, glamor,beautiful balls and gowns. This book was received for review and details can be found at Bethany House Publishers and My Book Addiction and More.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for She Walks in Beauty
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tami @ ThisMomsDelight.com
It's tragic to see how far some women of that time would go to obtain or maintain a certain status in wealth and privilege. When I finished the book, there was a note to the reader sharing how women really did put themselves through the things told about in this book.My favorite character in the book was, of course, Clara. The author gave the reader hints as to what was really going on, so when Clara didn't see it I wanted to grab her and tell her! LOL You'll see what I'm talking about when you read it!I wanted to dislike like the aunt with every bone in my body, but it was hard not to feel sorry for her. She could have made better decisions, but she wanted the best for her niece and family, and to her having money was everything!I hope you'll read this one!In exchange for my honest review, I received a copy of the book from Bethany House.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for She Walks in Beauty
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bookish in a Box
She Walks in Beauty is a gorgeous book, seamlessly blending a history lesson about the 1890s with a girl's modern desire for independence and true love.This is a book to be consumed in one sitting, maybe two. I was impressed by Siri Mitchell's candid and graceful writing style and the captivating Clara. Clara was stubborn and smart, and the only issue I had with her is her refusal to actually make a decision regarding her future. She thought she had...but she hadn't. That, I guess, is part of the point of the novel though, watching Clara grow into a true woman.The supporting cast was delightful, especially Clara's best friend. I really thought that Lizzie was going to turn out differently and was pleasantly surprised to be proven wrong. If it weren't for her flightiness, Lizzie could have stolen the show. The two main eligible bachelors of the book were fun characters too.Aunt is the character that stood out to me the most. She is presented to the reader (and Clara) as a headstrong, bullying matron, intent at marrying Clara off at any cost. That's true...to a point. Eventually Aunt is shown to possess a loving heart, and the transition is natural and one of the best character expositions I have ever read. It was subtle and believable, and nothing about the 180 degree change felt unrealistic.I really enjoyed learning about the debut process in detail, from dress-fittings to the family politics involved. She Walks in Beauty employs a method of exposition that uses two fake newspaper clippings of the day to show two different views of one event, one from The New York Journal and one from The Tattler. I really enjoyed that small piece of immersion.She Walks in Beauty is considered Christian fiction, and other than a few paragraphs here and there, it was mainstream YA and was also completely clean, which I appreciated. I hadn't heard of Siri Mitchell before receiving this book for review, but I will be seeking out more of her work.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for She Walks in Beauty
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
This book is a gentle reminder that while we have come so far from the Victorian era in many ways women are still abusing their bodies to be accepted and achieve perfection. I love historical fiction that actually teaches me something while Im enjoying the read and Siri Mitchell did that for me in this book. I knew that during the Victorian era, womens fashions were a bit barbaric but I had no idea the extent of physical damage that corsets caused and just how many women died from the tight lacing method to achieve a small waist. While this story doesnt necessarily focus on just the fashions of the time period, it interjects enough about that portion of history to give the reader a sense of what women put themselves through to achieve the perfect appearance, snag the perfect husband and live the perfect life. Another very interesting book by Siri Mitchell.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for She Walks in Beauty
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cindy Sears
She Walks In Beauty a book review Another book review from the books I receive from Bethany House Publishers. She Walks In Beauty is set in 100 New York City. Debutant's, glitter, balls, and rich heirs dominate the book. Clara Carter is destined to win the hearts of high society. Though her Dad is manipulative and buying her way into the papers and high society. Clara is holding out hope for true love though, she doesn't want to conform to the mold of the day.I enjoyed this book. Admittedly not the best I have ever read but I wanted to finish the book because I really didn't know how it was going to end. I wanted to know the ending and was looking forward to see how the author summed up the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for She Walks in Beauty
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2010
Clara Carter is dreading her debut into New York society. When she discovers she's to debut a year earlier than she'd expected, she is not happy. In 1891 the traditional age for young women to make an appearance as a debutante is 18. Despite the fact that Clara is only 17, her aunt and father think it necessary to enter society now in order to secure a marriage to Franklin De Vries, the heir to the coveted De Vries fortune. Although well educated, Clara is far behind in the social skills necessary to debut, and a crash course ensues for everything from identifying which fork to use when to ballroom dancing. Clara begins a journey into society, one she is barely prepared for, yet one she realizes that she must embark on in order to preserve her family's honor. Her father and aunt care little for her true happiness, or that she find love in marriage. Clara is relieved to hear that her best friend Lizzie will debut as well. Lizzie has been looking forward to this ritual and promises to stand by Clara throughout the process. Clara learns that there are certain rules she must abide by to play the game right and win Franklin's favor. These rules include stepping on toes and potentially alienating Lizzie. Harold De Vries, Franklin's younger brother, becomes a key player in the game, too. Will he help Clara get what she's pursuing? Ms. Mitchell writes an intricate tale that entertains and warms the heart. I knew that society debutantes of the day were often their parents' puppets, marrying for wealth and prestige rather than love. I had no idea, however, of how extensive their training was with customs that sometimes endangered their health. My heart went out to Clara, and to those who had to endure what she did. I chafed, as she did, at the expectations and silly rituals undertaken to play this ridiculous game. I won't give the ending away, but I enjoyed this book thoroughly from beginning to end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for She Walks in Beauty
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rachel
She Walks in Beauty is the story of Clara. Clara is a young woman who has grown up as part of the privileged high society of New York. The novel is set in the late 1800s when dbutantes and the social season were as news-worthy as Hollywood celebrities and movie premieres. This story does not focus on the beauty and glamour of the time. Instead, the focus is on the great personal sacrifices women made to be fit an ideal of beauty.Clara's aunt has decided that Clara must debut this season, a full year early. Clara's education in language, science, and literature is exchanged for learning dancing, comportment, and the art of conversation. The biggest challenge facing Clara is her appearance. She's too tall, her mouth is too wide, her hands are too big, and her waist is a terrifyingly large 21 inches! As her aunt sets about rectifying these obvious weaknesses, Clara begins to question whether or not it is all worthwhile.Clara's best-friend becomes her greatest rival for the affections of the DeVries heir. Clara's family will settle for nothing less that her engagement to Franklin DeVries, heir to a great fortune. Clara, however, is drawn to the younger brother who seems to care for her in spite of her physical "defects." What will Clara do? Will she be willing to sacrifice to be acceptable to society?Ms. Mitchell's novel is very well-written. The details of the Victorian era are rich and authentic. If you've ever wondered what it was really like to wear a corset or shove your hands in gloves two sizes too small, this story will show you with word pictures that will make it real to you. The premise of the novel will make you think twice about accepting society's dictates about beauty.She Walks in Beauty is filled with encouragement and reminders that the One who made us is the only one whose opinion really matters, and He loves us just as we are.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for She Walks in Beauty
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carrie at In the Hammock Blog
I loved the message of this book- be yourself! Sometimes, beauty has a very high price as does social popularity and power. I was happy to see the overall message of female empowerment in the book.Sometimes, reading historical fiction, the reader gets the big picture, but some of the everyday details are left out. This book really helped me to see, in shocking detail, all of the aspects of daily life of the not quite so glamorous Gilded Age. A lot of times these details are overlooked and we only see the glitz and glamour. Poor Clara was squeezed into an extremely tight corset, shrinking her waist to 18 (!!) inches. She was even forced to wear gloves that were several sizes too small, all in order to catch a man.And what a man Harry was! Always making awkward social mistakes, but always saying the right thing to support Clara. Harry would question why she should feel so hemmed in by society and her family, helping her to let go of the restrictions she had placed on herself.I can't say enough how much I love the message of this book. Even though it's about the Gilded Age, you can see mirrors to our society today. We can still learn from our past and remind ourselves not to pay such a high cost for beauty or to cave to the demands that society puts on us, especially on women.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for She Walks in Beauty
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
A House Upon The Rock Reviews
It is set in late-Victorian America, high society of New York City. This book takes a fascinating look into a world that we typically romanticize. We don't really understand the struggles, the social stress, the pressures and the health risks that were placed on the women of the time.It is unlike a lot of historical fiction in which a snippet of history makes for the background with a modern view of life at a particular time. Mrs. Mitchell gives a lot of historical facts and data to the book. She has done her homework when it comes to understanding the time period and she weaves it beautifully into the story.You will not be disappointed with this read. Well-researched, well-written, the reader feels for the heroine and all the players in the story. You root, you cry, and most of all, you walk away realizing that maybe it wasn't all glamorous as we like to think.Great book. I really liked and and would recommend it highly. Now, to go grab another Siri Mitchell and see if I'd like those too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.