Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Prayer Warrior Mom: Covering Your Kids with God's Blessings and Protection

Thomas Nelson Prayer Warrior Mom: Covering Your Kids with God's Blessings and Protection

Look out, forces of evil - Mom's on the warpath! Sharing personal stories, biblical insights, and practical strategies, Alupoaicei shows mothers how to effectively intercede for their children and impact their spiritual lives. Learn to pray the Scriptures; discern God's will; arm your family against Satan's attacks; and stand in the gap for your kids.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 out of 1090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Prayer Warrior Mom: Covering Your Kids with God's Blessings and Protection
Review 1 for Prayer Warrior Mom: Covering Your Kids with God's Blessings and Protection
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

book every mom needs

Date:July 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
apple blossom
Location:Grand Forks, ND
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In her book, Prayer Warrior Mom, Marla Alupoaicei shares with the reader how they can engage in spiritual warfare so that their children may thrive in Christ. She gives simple ideas and activities to implement in mom's and child(ren)'s life. Alupoaicei shares strategies on how to powerfully, specifically and effective pray for your child.
A copy of this book was provided by Thomas Nelson in exchange for my honest review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Prayer Warrior Mom: Covering Your Kids with God's Blessings and Protection
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Tool for Moms

Date:June 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Proverbs 31 Wannabe
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so glad I requested a review copy of Prayer Warrior Mom. God has entrusted parents with a huge responsibility and He has also given us an amazing gift. We want to be the parents God has called us to be, but we don't always know how to intercede for our precious children. In her book, Marla Alupoaicei gives wonderful insight into exactly how we should pray. It includes scriptural references that tell the how and why.
This book includes fifteen chapters with titles such as:
Pray Scripture, Stand in the Gap, Pray with Power and Authority, Fast for Spiritual Breakthrough, Hold Your Children Loosely...
At the conclusion of each chapter is Today's Prayer followed by a page called Sword of the Spirit with more scripture relating to the chapter. Also, there are small group discussion questions to follow each chapter. This book could be done in a group of moms who come together to support and discuss or it could be done alone as you prayer and seek discernment in your own prayer life for your kids. I think it would be neat to go through this book and keep a journal of ways the Holy Spirit touches your heart through this book and then to journal the prayers you pray for your children after having read it.
I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. I am not obligated to give it a positive review. However, I think this book is a fabulous resource and plan to keep it at arm's reach so I can refer back to it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Prayer Warrior Mom: Covering Your Kids with God's Blessings and Protection
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Helpful Reminders and Advice for Praying Moms

Date:May 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
MIMom
Age:25-34
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Prayer Warrior Mom, by Marla Alupoaicei, is a book that strives to teach mothers how to intercede to the Father on behalf of their children. Each of the fifteen chapters begins with an applicable quote before focusing on a specific principle that Alupoaicei argues is essential in successfully praying for our children. At the end of each chapter, the reader will find Bible verses that related to the chapter, as well as a sample prayer and small group discussion questions.
I’ve always felt that prayer is a weak spot in my life and have oft times felt guilty, because I know it is not only powerful, but required for true intimacy with our Lord. Since having children, I’ve become convicted even further, as I know their Creator is also the divine Author of their lives, and he has given me the responsibility (or as Alupoaicei so aptly put it, the “holy privilege”) to raise them for Him. I was thus drawn to this book the moment I saw its title.
I know there are other books similar to this one on the market, but I can’t compare it to others as it is the first book on the subject that I’ve read. For the most part I appreciated her down-to-earth, personal writing style, interwoven stories and practical advice. It was a fairly quick read, although at times I felt it was a bit redundant, abstract and didn’t flow from one subject to the next. I think it is best suited to be read slowly, to make it more applicable in a mother’s life, so that by the grace of God she can focus on practicing and growing in areas of her prayer life in which she might be weak. There were many take home points that resonated with me, such as the reminder of the power in praying Scripture, cultivating a grateful heart that radiates the grace God has given us, having a positive and prayerful perspective on that will help our kids live with a Kingdom reality, and remembering that labels applied to our children have the potential to be “soul killers”, so we need to focus on their heart rather than their behavior, and the positive potential of negative behaviors that might be displayed (e.g. instead of seeing a child as stubborn, viewing them in the light that they are showing characteristics of assertiveness and persistence in the face of obstacles) and how to mold that to glorify God. I would recommend this book, though I do feel like it could be a bit overwhelming and could almost cause a mother to focus on working to become a godly prayer warrior, versus drawing closer to God, and thus growing in Him to become the mother He desires you to be for your children.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze® book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Prayer Warrior Mom: Covering Your Kids with God's Blessings and Protection
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring book for all mothers

Date:May 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cassie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was a fantastic encouragement for me. Each chapter takes moms into different attitudes, methods, reasonings, and ways to pray for their children. From specific "stand in the gap" type praying, to all-encompassing protection and blessing, Marla opens the door to prayer a little wider so that everyday moms can easily see the importance of being an intercessor for their children. This was an easy but extremely motivational read that cut me to the quick- showing where I needed to improve on the important job of praying for my 2 children. There is so much power available to us through prayer that we, unfortunately, sometimes forget about or fail to access- simply because we don't know how to pray or just don't take the time/energy to. Prayer Warrior Mom is an inspiring book that is relevant to all God-fearing women... from those who are seasoned prayer warriors, to those who are just getting started on their prayer journey. I would recommend this book to any mother, and am very thankful to Booksneeze for freely providing (yet another) amazing book for me to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Prayer Warrior Mom: Covering Your Kids with God's Blessings and Protection
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

standing in the gap

Date:May 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
lorealle
Location:pa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i was so super excited when i read the description of this book. i knew straight away that it was one i just had to read. having two teenage littles of my own, i crave being a prayer warrior mama.
the description on the back of the book reads:
Moms, are you struggling with patience? Worrying about your children’s spiritual development? Concerned about their social or behavioral issues? Wondering how to get it all done when there’s just never enough time?
Today's Christian moms want to be prayer warriors, standing in the gap for their kids. But many mothers haven't been equipped with the prayer skills, scriptural knowledge, and practical strategies needed to fight the spiritual battle.
"The only real power we have on earth is the power of prayer. Our potent prayers for our kids connect them with the reality of God and His will for their lives," Marla says.
this book was absolutely amazing and not only met but exceeded, far exceeded, all my expectations of it. i am a self-proclaimed "bad prayer". i know there isn't such a thing, but i've always felt like one. i know that God knows my heart and he hears my prayers before they even leave my lips. i just feel like a times i stumble through them, not quite knowing what to say. this book has helped me more than i could have ever dreamed.
what is a prayer warrior mom? being a prayer warrior mom means we release control to our Father and trust Him with every aspect of our children's lives and well being. that means giving Him our children's future, even though our dreams for our kids might not align with His plan for them. God longs to honor our prayers for our kids, isn't that sooo comforting?
each chapter beings with an encouraging quote then dives into the subject. it ends with a prayer, a few Bible verses relevant to the chapter (call the Sword of the Spirit) and small group discussion questions. this book could oh-so-easily be used for a ladies Bible study or a moms group. and the discussion questions would prompt some amazing, helpful discussions.
i would recommend this book to every single mom. all of ya'all, whether you are an experienced prayer veteran or new to the program. this book will walk you through, step-by-step, how to stand in the gap for your children. it's an extremely well written book that was a joy to read, from front to back.
this book was provided to me free of charge by booksneeze.com in return for my honest review. the opinions i have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Prayer Warrior Mom: Covering Your Kids with God's Blessings and Protection
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Encouragement for Every Mom

Date:May 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kelly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Prayer Warrior Mom by Marla Alupoaicei is an amazing book that encourages mothers to understand and develop their abilities to pray for their children in powerful ways. She includes 15 short chapters, each containing a different principle of prayer that can significantly improve how we can pray for our kids. She also includes a sample prayer, relevant scriptures for each principle, as well as discussion questions to be used in a small group or accountability partner environment. The read is very simple, very compelling and very applicable.
From the first page, the author had my attention and was able to accurately discern my challenges and obstacles in regards to praying for my children. The following chapters were so applicable, and doable. I felt so encouraged from what she wrote. This book was a great encouragement because it helped me to realize how easily I can improve how I pray for my children and the eternal value behind doing this job well.
I am a member of booksneeze.com by Thomas Nelson Publishers. In exchange for writing a review, I received this book for free.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Prayer Warrior Mom: Covering Your Kids with God's Blessings and Protection
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Worth it for Chapter 5 alone!

Date:April 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dalyn
Location:Yakima, Wa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What a valuable book. We pray for our kids, right? Don't you sometimes wonder if your prayers could be more effective. or powerful, or something? I do. I was glad to review this book because I felt it timely in my own questioning mind.
The author is thorough and covers a lot of ground with fifteen principles. She also includes some illustrations to help in comprehension and memory of the concepts she's teaching. There are discussion questions too, making it perfect for a study.
The book is well worth chapter 5 alone. "Pray With Power and Authority" I have read and prayed over that chapter, and will continue because it's just that crazy good.
I received this book in exchange for a non biased review from Thomas Nelson and Booksneeze.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Prayer Warrior Mom: Covering Your Kids with God's Blessings and Protection
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great gift for every mom...

Date:April 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dillon Burroughs
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The stories and principles in this book encourage and inspire mothers to earnestly pray for their children. A perfect gift for moms, "Prayer Warrior Mom" serves as both a "thank you" and a reminder to those who love us best and care for us most.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Prayer Warrior Mom: Covering Your Kids with God's Blessings and Protection
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not What I Expected

Date:April 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Columbus, GA
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Marla Alupoaicei obviously cares very deeply about the women she is writing to in her new book, "Prayer Warrior Mom: Covering your kids with God's blessings and protection." It is evident that she has read through many books on the topics she wants to share with her readers in order to offer as many helpful ideas as she can. In her new book, she opens up her brain and lets all that she’s taken in spill out. (Readers who don’t recognize ideas from these books within the text itself will find the books listed as resources in the back of Marla’s book.) Marla wants women to learn how to pray.
"Prayer Warrior Mom" wasn’t what I expected, though. First of all, because of the subtitle, I expected a book full of ideas on how moms can pray for their children. Instead, the book tells women, in great detail, what they “should” or “must” do in order to become Marla’s definition of a woman qualified to pray effectively. Instead of focusing on the children, Marla's book focuses on fixing their moms.
Second, I expected this book to be a small group Bible study. A few times in the book, including in the introduction, Marla recommends it as such. Though the book does, in fact, have Scripture scattered throughout, this is not presented as a Bible study. In a true Bible study, one reads the Bible to learn what God has to say. In this book, Marla uses, and sometimes misuses, Scripture to make her own points.
Overall, I was disappointed in this book. Marla’s writing style is hard to follow. She jumps very quickly and randomly from one idea to another. Trying to keep track of them all was exhausting. Trying to accomplish all she suggests would be exhausting, too. Women need encouragement to go to God just as they are, right now, to build a loving Father-child relationship with Him that will naturally include fervent prayer for their children. The more time we spend in His Presence, the more He will make us into the mothers He’s meant for us to be. It’s His work, not ours, that turns us into prayer warriors.
Thomas Nelson Publishers sent a complimentary eCopy of this book for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Prayer Warrior Mom: Covering Your Kids with God's Blessings and Protection
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must Read for All Moms

Date:March 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
DJMARTIN
Location:Terre Haute, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a mother of five children, I was really blessed by Marla Alupoaicei's book, "Prayer Warrior Mom."
She encourages moms to pray scripture for their children, to pray for the authority and power of God in their lives, to be persistent in prayer, to learn to engage in spiritual warfare to keep their children protected from Satan, and more.
The stories of moms facing gut-wrenching trials, including Marla herself, and their break-through prayers, are very encouraging.
Prayers, scriptures, and discussion questions are included in each of the fifteen chapters.
Moms of all ages, with children of all stages, need to read this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.